Springfield, MO 
Tom Watkins DGC Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #10 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Open course in a small park

1    7/3/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: hhardaway
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Looks cramped at first, but tee and hole placement makes for some open shots where you can rip it in the middle of the course.
Tees are clearly marked with maps of each hole (some still took scouting for my first time).
Minor elevation changes make for some fun shots
Grass was well kept, keeping discs visible
Cons: No basket on hole one
A few holes in the middle are close together and hard to tell which is which (probably cleared up by playing a couple of times).
Natural tees are worn and rocky in some places, tricky for my bad ankles, but easy to just step off tee a little for a good run-up.
Some holes on the outside run right along residential yards, making it a hassle to recover shank shots.

Other Thoughts: It's nice to have an 18 hole course right here in town. Smallish park but with enough variety of shots to make it a fun relaxing course. I played at 1pm and was the only one on the course, and from what I here it's almost never busy. Overall an easy course with a couple shots to let your driver fly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long Holes, Good for Working on Drives

5+    9/9/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some pretty long holes, with some decent elevation changes. Great for working on your drives. You can really grip it and rip it on most holes. Not alot of trees around, but those that around are used effectively.
Cons: In a pretty crummy area of town, and those that live on the course aren't really very friendly to disc golfers. Tee pads are washed out in some places. 2 of the holes can interfere with other park activities, like kids playing and the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Great location for those who live north of Springfield. I really like playing here, despite it's obvious downfalls. Since all of the other courses in the main part of Springfield, this one is a nice change of pace.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not returing

2-4    7/19/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Bigben932
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A decent day time course. Not ever crowded. A few decent holes(very few). Excellent for practicing your distance shots on middle holes.

Great for a driving range and practice
Cons: Unkempt rough by the trees. I lost 2 discs on simultaneous "bad" throws. Bad neighborhood after 5pm.
Monotone, bland, boring holes. Unfriendly yard owners next to course. The challenging holes are only challenging because they are next to a tree eating forest and 3 foot tall grass land.
Other Thoughts: Straight shot only. A decent walking course, No bathroom or water(i think not 100% on that one)

The only thing I would use this course for is to practice your throws on the open holes, because there is almost no one ever there.

Please don't lose your disc on hole 14, 15 or the holes next to the yards. You will be lucky to find your disc after a bad shot.

For a good 18 hole course go to Ozark. Or Play the short and longs at Oak Grove

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hmmm....

1    7/14/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Disc_Legend
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open enough to grip it and rip it on some holes.
It is the only 18 hole course IN Springfield.
Fun to play while in the area, but not worth it to drive up to play.

The valley adds some good signage to the course which helps what little the course has.
Cons: Baskets are in poor condition.
There are no tee pads which makes navigating the course that much harder!

ALSO: I found a shotgun wad and a beer bottle in the park so it can be a little shady. BE CAREFUL

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Maybe, Maybe Not

1    5/20/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: nocohammerhead
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There were 18 baskets, some pads had maps next to them. Open park with little traffic.
Cons: Maps were very inacurrate, baskets ranged in height from the ground, baskets were on top of each other making it hard to determine which one you're throwing to, not very technical.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood is ROUGH, be careful and be aware of your surroundings. Luckily the park is open and you can see the parking lot from most baskets.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and rip it.

5+    10/3/2011   1/22/2012
Review By: Bender
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is open with some lengthy holes. This makes it a great course to play on the super windy days. Prolly my favorite course in the area to play for that reason. Good layout keeps you out of the way of other golfers. Great use of the space that is given at the park. Great course to play barefoot. Tee signs are a few years old and are very helpful.
Cons: Chains on the baskets are stiff and like to kick out discs. Not many trees on the course as a whole so if there is no wind when you play its easy to shoot 10 down or better. Dirt tee pads will be muddy from time to time.
Other Thoughts: Good course to hike around and grip it and rip it. When I first started playing I thought some of the holes were impossible due to length. After playing a few years I am now able to get to every hole in one shot. Careful on the north side there are lots of thorns and its easy to lose a disc in the trees when the sun is going down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

1    6/6/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: christopher2313
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Easy course to navigate. Great tee signs that show you around. Great course for a new player. Perfect place to get somebody interested in the game. Course was well maintained and mowed.
Cons: Dirt tee pads and some construction on a building next to the course.
Other Thoughts: I will play this course again. This course was not like some of the other reviews said. Alot of work has been done to make it a better place to play.

 very blah

5+    2/1/2011   2/4/2011
Review By: dudiablo
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a valley that runs through the center of the course that adds a bit of excitement on holes 1 9 10 (if the basket is there and in the right place) 15 and 17 and adds some difficulty on 8 13 16 and 18 with some elevation change.

Decent variety in length (a few ace runs as well as holes where you can try to trow for some real distance.)

Some older trees adding some difficulty.

The tee signs are top class.
Cons: not enough trees to make things very interesting

open enough that wind comes to be a big factor.(could be seen as a positive because the same course will play very different from day to day)

hole 5 is just a bad design (mando around a backstop 300+ feet from the pin makes you throw about 100 feet out of your way to get to the pin making birdies a miracle and aces impossible.

Very shady area (not from the sun); Lots of skeptical characters in parking lots and sleeping int wooded areas surrounding park.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately this is the closest course to my school so I play here very frequently; but if I would NOT travel to play this one. Its a great place to throw the disc and kill time between class though. AND its the only 18 hole course in Springfield so that adds to its appeal as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Course to play

5+    8/8/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: cookrite
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good mix of long and short holes.
- Some mix in elevation.
- Good Signs, easy to navigate.
- Some Good use of out of bounds and mando.
Cons: - The park is not very well taken care of.
- It is not mowed nearly enough.
- Dirt Tee pads.
- A little too open (could use some more obstacles).
Other Thoughts: Some people have mentioned that there are no signs and that there are baskets are missing. This is no longer the case. As of Aug 2010 everything is in order so many of the early negative remarks on this course can be disregarded.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Boring

2-4    7/3/2003   7/28/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It's been along time since I have played here so I hope I am think of the right course.
-Long tee shots
Cons: -Boring
-No shade
-Most of the holes were in open areas, no use of trees
Other Thoughts: I just remember hating to play this course.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.