Springfield, MO 
Tom Watkins DGC Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #18 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 290ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Typical Springfield Park

1    7/19/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 145  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice tee signs. Variety of lengths of hole and some variety in obstacles.
Cons: The course and park is in the need of repair and maintenance. Two baskets were missing, the tee pads were short or just grass, dirt, or mud. The grass looked like it had not been moved in two weeks. The baskets did not have hole numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: The secret to this course is to study the very nice tee signs. This is your key to know where the next tee pad is located. I played this course early on a Monday morning. There were about 30 players spread about the course. I saw one other person playing with their dog and ran into a fellow geocaching. Other than that, there wasn't anyone else using the park. You would think the park board would drop a little money into making the necessary repairs on a course that is well utilized.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Which Came First: The Baseball Field Or The Course?

1    6/15/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has been update since the previous reviews. This course uses elevation and some old trees well. There are lots of holes with OB. The tee signs are brand new now and some of the tee locations have been adjusted. So, the problem with #6 tee is no longer. With all the updates, this course is not so bad anymore. There is a good hole length variety here. There is one really unique hole here. #15 is a very short hole on a downward slope with a large tree blocking a sharp right turn into an opening in the brush/woods where the basket is resting on top of a rock pile.
Cons: The basket for #9 is still missing and yes, the locals use basket #13 for the hole which adds about 100 feet to that hole. The dirt/grass tee pads are not in great shape. The tee box itself is undefined. There is still the hole with the baseball backstop in the way. The hole is actually about 100 feet past the back of it. So, it still doesn't make sense, but it is not impossible to play, except during a game of course. It makes me wonder which came first, the baseball field or the course. I would obviously ignore the mando if people are present on the ball field. The grounds are not that well maintained, but it isn't too bad. Be aware that some of the residence where the course runs along does now have some big dogs. Now, they all seemed friendly enough, but they were not chained up.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK. This is a wide-open course and the fact that many holes were along people's yards was a bit frustrating. I hate thinking I could be bothering them. The dogs were all fine with me, but some were decent sized and may scare a few people. This course was not bad, but not really a "go out of your way to get here and play" kind of place.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better and Better

5+    7/19/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park has a nice valley that runs through the middle, so you can get some decent air without elevating the discs too much. The wind does come whipping through the valley, though, so be ready for that. Pretty open course, but a few trees here and there to contend with if you're prone to off-line throws.

The long-drive holes are wide open so you can really put everything into your tee-shot without worrying about OB. The challenge for the shorter holes come from close OB areas.

Hole 9 has been replaced to its original location, making it a well-treed hole with a medium distance. A great improvement that rounds out this park very well.
Cons: There has been some disrepair, but this is a public park and it has slowly been improving. The tee signs are in better shape than the older reviews would indicate, but could use some freshening up because of weathering and bird deposits. The Mando around the backstop is a little annoying, but this park was around decades before disc golf was even a concept, ad DG is be about skill in throwing as well as distance. The OB areas are pretty close, since the park is directly bordered by residences.
Other Thoughts: Don't let a few bad reviews that are years-old now push you away from what can be a great DG experience. Unfortunately, some reviewers may be basing their initial opinions on the neighborhood that the park is located in, but that shouldn't be the case.

This course is a great mix of long wide-open drives and short skill throws, with a couple of surprises thrown in (I'm lookin' right at you, Hole 15).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 terribly rundown course

1    3/25/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: none
Cons: refer to the other reviews. as of march 09 it certainly hasn`t gotten any better and if anything it`s gotten worse. we were there so we played it. we found tees that had no numbers or hole description. as mentioned the course is so jumbled you can`t figure out which basket you should throw at from the unnumbered tees. we fumbled through the course because we were there and we wanted to play.
Other Thoughts: skip this course or if you live in springfield call up the parks department and tell them it needs a lot of work. there`s a lot of potential here but it`s wasted at this time.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Waste Your Time

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Grass was mowed?
Cons: Let's see where to begin? Boring. Very difficult to navigate. Layout just didn't make sense sometimes. A little run down.
Other Thoughts: You'd be better off enjoying one of Springfield's other courses.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Yuck!

1    5/5/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None that come to mind!
Cons: This is one of those classic terrible courses. You stand on the first tee and wonder which of the five baskets you can see is the one you should throw at. The tees signs are no help, they were written with magic marker and are washed out. The whole course is wide open, and very poorly laid out. There were a few longish holes, but nothing about it was challenging.
Other Thoughts: # 5 is a fine example of poor hole design. The tee was in right field of a baseball field and the hole played back toward the ball field. The basket was behind home plate on the other side of the backstop. The post on the third-base side of the backstop was a mando, so you are forced to throw AT people playing on the ball field. I thought this was weird but figured it out when I got around the backstop. The tee for six was between the backstop and the basket, so if you took the anhyzer route around the first base side of the backstop to avoid the ball field (which seemed logical,) you would throw right at the # 6 tee. Not that the other way was much better. The tee and the basket were so close that when my approach shot hyzered out a little it landed right next to the # 6 tee anyway. The whole thing was a perfect example of horrible course design.

*Update: According to some reviews, the course has been improved since I last was there. It's around a two hour one-way trip for me to play this course, and as bad as it was I'm not optimistic that it will be worth the trip even with improvements. It will probably be quite some time before my review is updated. *

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.