St. Louis (Hazelwood), MO 
White Birch Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 223ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Piece of History

1    5/10/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee-pads on each hole
-Concrete tee-pads
-Baskets are in solid shape and catch well
-The tee-signs that are still at the tee-pads are useful, with a layout of the hole and the distance of the hole.
-Some really tight wooded holes
-There is a solid mix of some more open holes and then some tighter wooded holes.
-Lots of baskets have drop-offs behind them, which adds to a little risk/reward to putting and makes some of the holes a little bit more challenging.
-There are a lot of ace runs on this course
-Good amount of elevation on this course, that is used fairly well.
-Pleasant park that made for a pleasant round.
-Hole 10 was my favorite hole on this course. It is the shortest hole on the course, but it plays straight uphill through a very tight wooded fairway. It was the hole I remember most from this course.
Cons: -All of the holes are really short on this course. I didn't need to use any drivers and I only used a mid-range once or twice.
-A lot of the tee-signs are missing
-The course can be a little hard to navigate. There are a lot of baskets in a small area and it can sometimes be a little hard to know, which basket you are actually throwing at.
-The course can start to feel repetitive after a while, especially on holes from 4 to 9. These holes basically feel like straight uphill or straight downhill.
-Lots of erosion. It can make some of the areas around the tee-pads dangerous, and also some of the slopes dangerous. They really need to do some work to help get rid of some of this erosion.
-Lots of crossing fairways and throwing near other baskets you just threw to. I would definitely keep an eye out for incoming discs if you are playing the course on a crowded day.
-Other than hole 10 none of the holes were very memorable.
-Not a very challenging course.
-Some thick rough that could be easy to lose a disc in.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad beginner course, but it is really starting to show it's age. This course really needs some work and maintenance. Due to the bad erosion, I would most definitely not play this course after the rain. Overall, this course is not worth going out of your way for, but it is good for players that don't throw very far and want to be able to reach some of the holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

watch out

2-4    2/2/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course for getting beginners started.

There are 2 sets of tees on most holes.

Disc golf only area of the park

The creek makes a nice risk reward type shot on most holes and requires accuracy.
Cons: the 2 sets of tees dont add much change to the course. most barley add any distance to the holes, and some of the "pro" tees almost seem easier and the concrete pads are tiny

the creek that runs through most of the course has "dangerous" drop offs into that can be risky to climb up and down to retrieve an errant throw.

most of the signs are missing

Several baskets are close to each other, and other tees, so dont be surprised to have discs flying at you.

Any rain or snow makes this course a muddy swampy mess
Other Thoughts: Several holes force a righty to throw a turnover or a forehand, which is a nice change of pace

hole 10 sticks out in my head. It is almost straight up hill but really short

Nothing super exciting here, but it is the oldest course in Missouri, so if you are in the area play it for that reason but there are other better courses near by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Disc Golf

1    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 62  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has nice concrete tee pads (2 pads on most holes). There are many nice big mature trees that make the course much more difficult since it is so short. It is really nice having the office up the hill that sells some really nice plastic (at very reasonable prices). Did well with the small amount of land that they had to work with.
Cons: This course was way too close together...all the holes are right on top of each other. I went out and it was not terribly crowded but was constantly having to keep an eye out for incoming discs. The signage on many of the holes were destroyed. The course had some terrible erosion issues which makes many of the greens unplayable. The guy I was playing with put about 4 or 5 right up by the basket...they then caught an edge and rolled on the dirt (no grass around most baskets) down off some pretty steep drop offs into creeks. The course was also littered with all kinds of trash.
Other Thoughts: This course really only has enough land there to make a 9 hole course...and I think it would make a nice 9 holer that you could even make some longer holes on. It was an interesting look into what our disc golf roots look like...having said that...I really can't say that I will be going back to play here anytime soon.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 it's like stepping back into 1979

1    12/20/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -two sets of concrete pads
-some nice elevation and decent risk/ reward with steep drop offs to the creek on many holes.
-A lot of safety mandos here because there are a lot of fairways close to each other. These mandos generally make the holes a bit more challenging. Like hole 2 is probably only 180 ft away if you throw straight at it, but there is a rhbh hyzer mando off the pad which adds to the hole.
-A lot of work has been done here to help maintain the natural beauty of the course. A lot of bank stabilization, erosion control by pins and tee pads. These all make this a special place because they are trying to maintain the land in it's 1979 glory.
Cons: -This course is super crowded younger folks, so be careful of people throwing in on you, people stealing your plastic etc.
-Although a lot of the aforementioned erosion control has helped, there is still a need for more land conservation as there are large gullies on some of the fairways.
-Obviously this course is super short, which I'm not really holding against it as it was a different game when the course was made, so if you bring a putter only, you will have a great time with a little bit of challenge.
Other Thoughts: -This course would be great and a lot of fun for superclass, so bring out the zephyrs and throw some old school disc

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mini-Golf

4/2/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: Shaggy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easy Course. Not far from my home (apologies for irrelevance.) Wooded Area. Good practice for mid range and putt shots/aces.
Cons: So so so so so short. I started on the wrong hole and threw to the wrong tee which was about 100ft. I knew the course was short but i could not believe that. So some others started playing and i followed em'. Still ungodly short.
Friendly locals. Maybe there was a course map somewhere, maybe not, but I was very lost.
Other Thoughts: A group of park maintenance workers doing absolutely nothing making more money than I am were all just chillin' at hole 9 or 10 or something. Very distracting and awkward.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nostalgic

5+    8/11/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was designed by Ed Headrick in 1979 and has not been significantly altered since. It is a good time capsule of the original disc golf courses. It also has one of the best mix of hyzer-anhyzer shots of any course I've played. There have been recent efforts to use more aggressive landscaping to control the erosion problems that plague the property, and these upgrades have been a welcome addition.
Cons: It was designed for Midnight Flyers, so it has been obsolete since 1983! The holes are short and shorter. A lot of the trees that made up the challenge of the original course are gone. The course has a terrible erosion problem, so playing after rain is an adventure. The tees are too short to take a run-up on, but the holes are so short that it does not really matter. The course is usually packed with people, and the holes are really close together. You have to be ready to duck!
Other Thoughts: There sometimes is an attendant at the skate park who collects a $1.00 fee to play. When there is no attendant, the local skate punks will often pretend to be the attendant and try to scam you out of a buck.

At one point the parks department made the curious decision to put some plastic flower garden border-type rings around the baskets. Originally they were filled with mulch, but they were never dug into the ground. The ones that remain no longer contain mulch and just sort or sit around the basket, looking odd and trashy. They do make a nice disc stop for your upshot.

Like a lot of old courses, if you stick to throwing putters you can have a good time. Just don't expect a great challenge.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.