Williamston, NC 
Farm Life Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Dtrain22   (Taken 12/2009)
Course Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
ECUDG

1    3/29/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical course and pretty well laid out. Only go if hasn't rained for a couple of days some of the holes are next to a swamp.
Cons: Not worth the four star rating! Some of the holes might work if it were maintained a little bit. This course reminds me more of Covenant DSC in Greenville or the OLD ECU course.
Other Thoughts: Course is set in the woods and mixed in with swamp land. If you play this course make sure you bring multiple discs or at least another person to watch your disc (very easy to lose a disc). If they cut some of the smaller trees down it would open some of the fairways.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tight but fun

1    11/23/2013   11/24/2013
Review By: Jawa
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout uses the land very well. Easy to find the next tee. Baskets are really good for a private course. Tee pads are natural, most are flat and even only two had roots in the run up.
Cons: Be prepared to lose discs, water could be an issue and as always in the fall leaves can hide discs very well.
Other Thoughts: Short, Tight, Very Technical. Only threw a distance driver once. You will need to be able to throw every shot to have success here.

Look forward to playing again someday

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

2-4    3/1/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 214  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a private course that offers seclusion that you don't get at many of the other courses in the northeastern part of NC

Really good baskets for a homegrown private course.
Cons: Lots of water that makes the lost disc factor really high and on a few holes gets a little ridicules.

several of the holes are typical plinko homegrown fairways with undefined lines.

There is a lot of sogginess on this course which comes with the area that the course is built in.

Teepads are getting worn out and have trippers and roots

Teesigns and directional signage is non-existent
Other Thoughts: I went to this course expecting an exceptional design and a very fun experience. I was very disappointed as there was very little that I found exciting or memorable about the design and the course overall. I say this is the most overrated course that I have played on this site and it is not the destination course that it seems to be.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 tight and short and tight

5+    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: tombraiderchuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: thin lines that must be hit. 6ft fairways with some sneaky lines, if you know them. Baskets are solid slightly rusted and completely perfect for a private course also has a practice basket. well thought out risk reward. Throw a good drive and don't miss the putt going somewhat downhill. benches are around on almost every hole. Kent is an awesome owner.
please call him ahead of time to ask permission. on a Thursday we were the only ones playing.
got enough garbage cans just wait for them and throw recyclables away
Cons: none
course is tight so the first ten times you play here you will say it is tight. and dangerous. my friend "lost" 2 discs today because of tree pings. so throw it right to keep your disc
Other Thoughts: great local scene go on sundays around 1 o'clock or call Kent to get more info. play doubles on Sunday

1 dollar donation for found disc go to the barn and get it back. my friend will get his 2 back he just wasn't dedicated

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 SIMPLY GREAT!!

1    12/7/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Great layout. Peaceful. Well marked. fair amount of diversity for left-handed and right-handed players. And the environment and surrounding areas are PERFECT!! The owner, Kent Roberson, is amazingly nice and helpful. And his rule of call before you play topped with the fact that he is there at the horse stables right off hole 2 assures that there is little to no chance of having to share the course with non-playing stragglers or jerk players! Very strict "find and turn in rule" You find a disc taht is marked with a name and number, you are to turn it over to Mr. Roberson.
Cons: Swamp on the back 9 will catch you off guard and eat your discs. The pond on 18 has no bank to speak of, so if your disc goes it, its history until warm months when Mr. Roberson's grandkids go swimming to fish them out. ($1 returned disc fee or volunteer to help on course clean up day will get your disc back)
Other Thoughts: I have played this course once. I fell in love by hole 3. It's a very tight course with plenty of challenges. Not for the feint of heart. If you are looking to catch an easy 18 hole, low score promising round, keep going... YOU WILL WORK for every par or birdie or, in my case, bogey, you get. Mr. Roberson has done a PHENOMENAL job keeping this course running and maintained.

Trash cans are placed throughout the course, please use them to keep this course clean as it is the cleanest course I have yet to play.

oh... and there is a dog on the farm named Duke. Friendliest lab I have ever met. He showed us to the first tee box from our car, accompanied us through the first 2 holes and then went back to the stables. He plays fetch with LIMBS!! Treat him well.

Overall, I love this course. I didn't rate it a 5 because i feel a few of the holes are really left to chance and not skill. But you couldn't ask for much better in our area!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ain't no life like Farm Life

5+    12/19/2010   12/22/2010
Review By: Waylin
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very beautiful course in the woods on a farm in the country of eastern NC. Benches on every hole. Very technical course, hit your line or pay for it with strokes. Very well maintained Private course. The owner Kent is awesome. Very nice and friendly guy. The locals rock! Friendly welcoming crew. #18 throws over a pond, I like the risk to reward ratio, some don't. It's a finesse course, your long arm won't help you out. Most of the holes are around 200' to 250', almost all are very tight.(I like it!) Playing this course regularly can really improve your game.
Cons: Water is in play on #9, sometimes #11, and always #18.(not really a con to me though, no risk no reward) The only con I can really think of is that during the fall, the leaves on the ground are THICK, and can cover up even the brightest disc.
Other Thoughts: Definetly my favorite course! Call Kent and get permision before you play. Respect the course, pick up your trash, or put it in the bins, there are plenty of them.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Farm Fun

1    12/11/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course! I gave Kent a call and he gave us permission to play his course without hesitation. As you pull on to the property there are signs pointing you where to go and where to park and where to find the first tee. The entire course is well marked and no map was needed to navigate. There is an outhouse before the first tee which is nice to have on private grounds.
Other Pros:
-variety of distances, turns, fairway tightness, challenging hazards, elevation changes
-well kept, with garbage bins and debris free fairways
-picnic tables and bag posts on many holes
-great tee sings
-baskets catch well
Cons: The only thing was the tees. They are natural and sometimes the tee area is short. I did play on a rainy day and slipped twice. The tees are level without ruts or roots however.
Other Thoughts: The club house at hole #1 was decorated with broken discs. My favorite hole was #9, it had a slightly tight fairway with water on the left and elevation changes. That swamp water on the left was deeper than expected. #18 is a very challenging shot, that pond is a disc eater. There are poles near the water to retrieve discs but it gets deep quickly. I really enjoyed the course, I didn't get to meet Kent but I hope to since I plan on playing there more!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: jamchiroguy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Farm life is a nice course. It is very technical, tough, and makes you work for your score. Farm Life has tight alleyways, tough holes, and easy to follow directions. There are OB areas, but they are clearly laid out. There is hardly any underbrush, so it is tough to lose a disc. Also, they have a return policy of lost disc. Practice putting near the first hole. Benches, trash cans and bag racks near every hole.
Cons: The only con of this course is most of the holes are an average of 240 feet, so big throwers like myself lose my only advantage.
Other Thoughts: Everyone should come check out Kent's course. It is put together really well.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/10/2008   3/7/2010
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 26.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: +Fun technical short course
+Good flow
+Variety of shots, challenges all players
Cons: -Middle of nowhere
-Gonna lose discs
-Alts aren't necessary(not enough change)
-Nasty in summer(course surrounded by swamp)
Other Thoughts: Worth the play if you are in the area. Fun short course, I believe you have to call ahead if you want to play.

: ) :

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Surprise

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: brian93stang
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, nice use of land, no throwing over other holes, great owner, technical course so big arm throwers have no advantage. good mix for right and left hand throwers.
Cons: bring your water proof boots, invest in a 150 Dragon or something that floats,
Other Thoughts: Wasn't sure what to expect from the description, but was really impressed! The course is very nicely done and easy to find holes. Baskets are painted yellow and easy to find from tee box. Definately worth the drive!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.