Waukegan, IL 
Bevier Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #16
3 / 284ft.   3 / 284ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A tale of three courses

2-4    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
-Great signs and baskets that guide you to the next teepad
-Good distance, you will need to use a variety of discs for the different holes
-Hole 11 had clever signs along the fairway that signified the distance to the basket
-Holes 12-15 have decent fairways that were cut out of thick woods
-Plays around a nice pond (non-hazard)
Cons:
-Holes 6-11 (prairie holes) should be skipped. 10-20 ft wide fairways sorrounded by a sea of tall grass. Mostly flat and more windy than the rest of the course. I spent more time looking for my disc than actually playing the game.
-Holes 16-20, despite being under wooded cover, are also rather weedy. For a couple of these holes the fairways are tight which increases the odds you will throw into the brush.
-The course ends about a quarter mile from the parking lot and hole 1
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, this course can be described in three parts. The first part is 200-300 foot holes playing in a sparsely wooded part of the park. It was rather enjoyable. Holes 6-11 play through the prairie and I did not find these holes enjoyable at all. Prairies cannot be tamed for disc golf and should be avoided. All this is on top of the fact that the park district has clearly done a lot of work on the land to keep the grass short and the fairways delineated. That kind of hurts the claim that disc golf is a largely non-invasive game, at least in this case. The next 9 holes play through more wooded areas. The first several of these holes were fun, shooting between the tree line and through other wooded obstacles. But sure enough the woods got weedy again and the fairways tight. Once again I spent a lot of time looking for my disc.

There were around 9 holes on this course that I enjoyed playing, and if this course only consisted of those 9 I would rate it a 3 or 3.5 depending on my mood. The rest of the holes only bring the rating down. Not an absolutely terrible course, but not worth traveling from far either.

Coming from the south I would rather play Adler, coming from the north I would rather play Silver Lake (BTW, this course very much resembles UW Parkside). Coming from the west I would rather play Silver Lake or Fairfield.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. There has been significant mowing to make it easier to find discs across the street. Those tee pads have been fixed too.

You got unlucky with the course being super muddy. Wood chips have been laid and this course stays fairly dry.

Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

 C+ = As average as the come

5+    4/19/2007   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

 Pitch and putt course

4/12/2007   6/28/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee pads
Good signage
Intuitive flow
Creative use of limited space
Good course to practice specific shots/strategies (forehand, opposite hand, various approach shots/discs)
Good course to introduce friends to the sport
Cons: Somewhat redundant
Once people show up, it's very tough to play certain holes unobstucted
People camp out near baskets with blankets, etc
Other Thoughts: Having went to H.S. in Waukegan and having some family back there I was glad to find a course.
This one is good for some warm-up and practice but not extremely challenging.
As I was playing my second round there people started showing up and I can't imagine how much of a challenge it would be playing this course on a weekend or during a busy summer day.
I hear Bowen Park just got a face lift...that would be a great place for a course...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.