Disc Golf Store
Waukegan, IL 
Bevier Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #14 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 287ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/22/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: Hickory
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice layout and best markings I've seen at a course. It was easy to find the basket and next hole. Will play again, the narrow fairways did at least help with practicing accuracy.
Cons: narrow fairways almost impossible to not lose a disc at least once. They really should widen ten feet
Other Thoughts: nice back holes but not a fan of holes where there are so many trees that you can't possibly drive without hitting a tree 2/3 times.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/27/2012   3/27/2013
Review By: MrKnowitall85
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great flow. Very nice scenic quality. The fairways are very well kept on the original 9. First few holes are simple but not gimmes, and the challenge grows as you move through the course. Nice couple of wood holes.
Cons: Narrow fairways across the street. And check for TICKS! Most of the holes are open-not too many trees.
Other Thoughts: The park can get a little traffic in the summer, but other than a couple holes near the pond, everyday park goers aren't an issue.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you get a chance to play again the fairways across the road have been mowed wider and several paths have been created.

 nice clean park

2-4    9/9/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: jivey311
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -One of the few 18s in the northern burbs area
-Very clean park, with a nice mix of wooded shots and open bombs
-Great mix of distances with right and left finishing shots.
-seems like it's 3 different courses. 1 open lightly wooded course (which i believe is the original 9). Then you get into the woods for some tight technical shots. And then you cross the street for some long bomber shots for about 6 holes, but watch out for that rough!
Cons: -The 6 expansion holes across the street, threw me off a little bit the first time playing, I didn't know they were there until I read the map at hole 1. A few more "next tee" arrows would have been helpful.
-The fairways on the holes across the street are ridiculously small, probably only about 6-7 feet wide. While this does make for some accuracy practice, veering off into the rough does make this a little unpleasant, especially once the tall prairie grass grows in.
-The rubber teepads for some of the expansion holes can get slippery.
-Not really too many long holes in the "main" part of the course, you can play most of them with a mid or fairway driver.
Other Thoughts: -Overall it's a beautiful, well maintained multi-use park. Discontinum uses this park for thier leagues and it's great to have a nice 18er up in the north burbs. But still doesn't come close to the quality of the joliet area courses.
-There are a couple other smaller courses in the area that would be worth checking out if someone wanted to make a day trip coming up here from the southern burbs.
-If you live in this area, this definitely would be my home course in terms of quality.
-Go play this course and then go to six flags! it's a win win!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    11/28/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large multi-use park, but is well separated from everything else. There are pretty much three sections; a mowed grass field littered with medium sized trees, an open prairie with mowed fairways, and a dense forest.
- Holes out in the grassy field use the trees to force some interesting shots, with some obvious left and right curves of varying lengths. Also borders the forest in a few spots, including some blind and protected baskets.
- Prairie area provides some real bomber holes, with tons of length and thick rough. Drivers are definitely needed out here, as well as accurate approach shots. Elevated teepads and baskets add some fun and difficulty.
- Remainder of the holes are set in the forest, or at least going into it. Three holes enter the forest going left, straight, and right from an open area. Other holes have tight, tunnel-like fairways, and one has a creek crossing to a well protected basket. Great test of accuracy.
- Good variety in hole length and difficulty, with plenty of bomber holes across the street to complement the more technical ones. The course can also be played as a 9 or 18, based on the old tees still existing among the new layout.
- Good baskets, good teepads and signage on original layout. Numbered rubber pads and arrows on the baskets make the additional holes easy to play as well.
Cons: - A decent amount of the holes in the open areas have little to no obstacles at all, just a wide open shot with little thought. A lot of bombs in a row can get a little tiring. Holes with tough lines are generally on the shorter side as well.
- Some minor elevation changes in the prairie, otherwise it is pretty much flat.
- Layout can be confusing with the original tee signs up; following and understanding the map is a must the first time through.
Other Thoughts: - This course has great variety between the three different sections. I personally end up using a ton of different shots, BH and FH, in the areas with lots of trees. A straight shot is also a must in spots; plenty of line-shaping needed. At least one bomber hole for even the biggest of arms as well.
- I think this course is well-suited for almost skill level. Experienced players might find it a little too easy, thought, due to some shorter hole lengths. The option of doing 9 or 18 should make it accessible for beginners as well as a typical recreational player.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bevier park started out as a well manicured, relatively short nine hole course with well placed trees requiring the player to shape lines. The course was expanded into two different areas, a wide open prairie across the street from the rest of the course (6 holes) and the forest south of the course (3 holes). The original holes and the tree new ones in the woods are well balanced with regards to rightys and leftys. I throw RHBH ans RHFH and found myself using both equally. The holes in the prairie add much needed length to the course, but there is not a single tree to force limit your choice of flight paths. The holes in the woods are narrow with thick scule off the fairway. The original nine holes have nice, roomy concrete tees. All baskets are in good shape, with the ones on the new holes slightly newer and in near perfect shape. A few of the prairie holes have the baskets placed on small mounds to add danger to long putt attempts including the 600' par 4 hole 11. Wind is a big factor on the praire holes. Water is in play on a few holes, especially 16 where you have a choice of going long over an OB creek or laying up in front of it and having a more difficult up shot. I saw a few extra sleeves for different basket placements. These may be old placements or the pins on some holes may be rotated.
Cons: The course has almost no elevation change. Other than the wide open holes, this is a short course. There are walking paths in play on some of the original holes. They appear to be frequently used, so you may be waiting to tee. This course has major navigation issues, the original nine holes have great signs. Too bad they use the original numbering layout and most if not all of the hole lengths have changed. The layout is so confusing that at a tourney I played there recently, the TD waived the rule against playing the course out of order and said just play all the holes. The added holes have rubber tees which have settled and as a result are wavy and bumpy. One rubber mat appears to have been mowed over, and the top layer has a gaping hole right at the center of the tee. There is poison ivy in the woods so keep your eyes open when off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played the course I was unable to find the three holes in the woods. I would highly recommend printing out a copy of the course map as it will save you a lot of headaches. After hole 5, cross the street on your right and follow the path past the fence. The tee for hole 6 is on your right. Holes 6-11 are on this side of the street. Mowed pathways show you where to go. After hole 11 cross the street at the same place you crossed previously. Hole 12 is marked as hole 6 on the sign. After 12 follow the path back into the woods for 13. Hole 14 is back out of the woods and is marked as hole 7. Hole 15 is the next tee you can see and is marked as 8. After 15 follow the path into the woods for holes 16 and 17. Follow the path from 17's basket to 18's tee which is marked as hole 9. After reading this, I hope I have convinced you to print out the course map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I love Biever!

1    9/18/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixed bag... very good and not good yet are both here. Fonrt portion of course: Great signs. Nice tee pads. Easy to navigate. 1, 2, 3 play in the open. 4, 5 offer some tree challenges, 6 and 7 are dog legs to the right with woods as a backdrop. 8 and 9 play within the woods for an additional interest. Most holes play pretty straight forward. 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 do offer shot options if you play here frequently so there is opportunity to work on your game and specific shot styles. Water in ares does not really come into play unless you are waaaaaaaay off w/ a throw.
Cons: Holes across the street are not quite yet a disc golf course. Not sure what it is. Baskets in a priaie? Poorly designed , nearly dangerous rubber tee pads are out here somewhere. A 17 year old with a gas powered week whacker could turn this into a disc golf course in half a day... but right now... these holes are not a course. No fairways, not even a worn trail from the basket to the next tee. w/o the basket arrows you would have no idea what was up. I have played many prarie courses that play great. No trees, no problem. These are great fun when the brambel is bigger and thicker later in the summer. By then, if some rough fairways are carved out these holes will be great. if not, this entire group of holes will be functionally unplayable. if this bramble is any higher... you will never spot a disc... and you will never see a basket... and you will not want to walk through here. No major work needed, save fixing up the tee pads a bit... add some simple signs and let's go throw! Numbering is a bit wacky... front nine are numbered 1 thru 9 on the posts, but different on the baskets from 6 on. See the baord at tee #1 for renumbering that incorporated the holes across the street and the extras in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course to play. I might get a bit tired of the 2 in a row dog legs on 6 and 7 if I played here as my neigborhood choice, but for a once in a while visit, it is O.K. I am looking forward to coming back for the holes across the street. I did see options for basket placment, however by the looks of the lawn and the recepticles they have not used the options in a while. No real issues with the shared use of the park. Walkers and others were not in the way. No overlapping of holes or fairways makes for fun, safe play. Bugs in the woodsiness are getting bad as of this update 6.10.10.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open park, distance prairie, and tight technical wooded! all in one course

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee pads on the original 9 holes. Rubber pads on the other holes are adequate for now, but it doesnt even seem like they did any levelling before putting those down.

2) Nice signs on the original 9 holes although I think the distances have changed now that the course has been altered, because the distances listed on this site seemed more accurate and they were done by hand.

3) Nice arrows and one of the metal prongs on each basket are helpful in directing you to the next hole, especially if you are new and want to play the new holes too.

4) This is the ultimate in course variety. It has some parkland holes, some wide open prairie holes, and some tight technical wooded holes.

5) Nice scenic park with a pond, sports fields, facilities, other sporting activities, and plenty of parking. I am sure this place gets lots of use, there were hundreds of people here on SUnday afternoon and I could imagne it is packed a lot of the time. The course only had about 20 people on it during my whole round! I enjoyed that escpecially because it was my 8th course of the day and I had an hour drive home to Milwaukee.
Cons: 1) Distances seem incorrect on many of the signs. Hole #'s should also be changed on the last 4 holes of the original 9 to not confuse new people (6, 7, 8, 9 should be changed to 12, 14, 15, 18)

2) Rubber pads are better than dirt but they are already deteriorating, not sure how old they are but I would have saved the money for concrete instead of investing in those rubber pads, unless they were already used when put in place.

3) Open prairie style holes are too similar. More distance than the other holes on the course, but they are simply too wide open, Hitting the fairway isn't too difficult and you can usually find your disc fairly easily. Spotter would be helpful but not necessary if you watch where you went into the tall grass ( because it is pretty thin fescue . . . at least it isnt full of thistle and nettles or anything that can be vicious).

4) Wooded holes could use a little more definition, meaning some maintenance to take down a few of the minor trees in the fairways. I also think the mowed fairways could be a little more defined.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously a work in progress. They have found new places to develop new holes, and they could still do some work to make the section of the course better. Some well placed trees on the prairie holes would do wonders, tee signs with accurate distances on the original 9 holes, and a slightly bit more maintenance to define the wooded holes. I also think signage on the wooded holes with a clear description and diagram of the hole would certainly help a new person (which I was). I actually like that this course has three different type of holes, some might see it as a negative but it is a course that favors noone. You have to bring all your discs, all your shots, and some fortitude to adjust to the three different styles of holes. I had a good time on this course and will return in the future, from the sounds of it, this is the local favorite for northeastern Illinois! It isn't overwhelming in beauty or challenge, but it is a solid course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bevier: Gettin Better Every Year

5+    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was originally 9 holes. Then they added 3 holes in the woods. Then an additional 6 holes were added to make Bevier 18 Holes. This course would not be nearly as nice as it is without the help of the local Discontinuum Disc Golf Club + the volunteer work of many local golfers.

Anyway, the course. The original 9 are some of the best maintained disc golf holes I've ever seen (That would be current holes 1-5, 12, 14-15, and 18). The grass is perfectly groomed. The original 9 surround a lake also. Not that throwing into the lake is common unless you try some tricky shots such as on 5 (That would be me, yesterday, dont worry, I got my Wraith back :) ). There are many different ways to appraoch the basket at Bevier. It is definatly not a RHBH favored course.

Good length variety. Short holes, decent length, and a monster 600 footer. I like the variety on this course. There are completely open holes (The new 6 across the street after 5), Lightly wooded to moderatly wooded holes ( the original 9) and heavily wooded holes. On most of the holes there is no set route to get to the basket.

Signage: The original 9 have great signage. Across the street there are NO signs at the tees, BUT, thanks to a discontinuum club member, there are wonderful bright orange arrows on the bottom of ALL of the baskets. As long as you go across the street after 5 and follow the signs you should be fine.

18 holes (this shouldn't need to be put here but IL as you probably know has TOO MANY BAD 9 HOLERS)

A small ( but big enought to lose your disc in) creek comes into play on 16. Discontinuum members have made a sweet bridge over the creek.

Awsome Concrete tee pads on the original 9.

Some elevated baskets and tees.
Cons: Depending if you like open holes or not, the new 6 across the street could be a con for you. They are completely open prairie holes. Maybe in the future some trees could be planted or some man made obstacles made.

Also the rough (prairie) is super easy to lose your disc in. I repeat, THE PRAIRIE IS A DISC MONSTER, keep it on the fairway and definitely use a spotter. The rough is supposed to be mowed by the park district I believe but it has not been mowed recently.

Signage: The 3 wooded holes and the 6 open holes across the street have NO signs at the tee.

Lots of other people use this park besides disc golfers. Watch out for pedestrians on the original 9.

Tee pads on the 3 wood holes and the 6 across the street are rubber tee pads. They dont bother me but some people could loathe them.

Could use more elevation but what can I say, it's originally flat prairie land.
Other Thoughts: Bevier is improving every year. The Original 9 holes are nearly perfect and picturesque. The wooded holes and open holes could be greatly improved with concrete tees and signage. Also the open holes could get some obstacles put in. If you're anywhere near Bevier then come play a round or 2. I guarantee you will enjoy it (as long as you keep track of your discs :) )

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the tale of three courses...

1    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some pretty immaculate tees, signs, baskets on the main park course
-huge ripper holes on the new addition holes
-well designed last couple of holes
-restroom facility
-plays like three different courses.
-baskets have a unique orange arrow to point you to the next tee location
Cons: -pitch and putt for first couple of holes
-sketchy rubber tees for new across the street holes
-rough on the new addiction is disc losing tall
-no signs on new addition
-no pro am tees
Other Thoughts: Quite the interesting course to say the least. Originally started as a nine hole course in a public park. Great signage, great tees, and pretty decent baskets. So I will review the course based on the three diffrent layouts encountered.

Holes 1-6
This is part of the original nine. Just a very pleasant public layout. No elevation changes or truly challenging holes. Some short holes, a few medium ones. Grass is manicured nicely. A few trees being the only obstacles. Simplicity at it's finest.

Holes 7-15
The new addition lies across the street in a huge field of weeds and slightly rolling hills.If the first 6 holes made you feel that your guns wouldn't be tested, well you are wrong. Super long holes with very unforgiving rough. No trees to be found on this addition. The tee pads here are the rubber type that seem to already be wearing away. Some elevated baskets to make it interesting.

Holes 16-18
the last few holes take you back to the original nine BUT here lies the prized little gems. Three holes that use the parks tree line to weave in and out of it for the most technical shots on the course. Baskets guarded by trees and on 18 by a nice little creek. Very well designed ending.

OVERALL.
Interesting, yeah. Not so much a destination course but one that should be played for it's uniqueness. It's only 18 or so miles south of UW Parkside in Wisconsin and makes a perfect pairing for the day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Lake County must Play

5+    3/27/2010   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Good shot variety
- Good mix of open, semi-open, and wooded holes.
- Other park amenities do not negatively affect course play
- The 6 new holes, although wide-open are well designed with challenging rough.
- The new pin placement on 18 is a great finish hole.
- The creek is well used as a risk/reward obstacle.
- The pond in the center doesn't threaten losing a disk
- The cement pads are long and wide
- Under each basket is a red arrow pointing to the next tee.
- Locals seem to know the game and don't get in your way
- Wind can play a major factor and being so close to the lake can appear out of nowhere
- Dogs allowed on leash
Cons: - The creek and pond running thru the course is NASTY. There is often green foam floating in it.
- Hole 1 has been ruined with the loss of two trees that really shaped the hole
- It would be nice to have some descent bridges installed instead of stones and sticks pilled up or the one wood bridge that is cock-eyed and rickety.
Other Thoughts: This is probably the only course in Lake county that I would say you should play if you're in the area. The additional 6 holes and some of the new pin placements have really improved the course. Before you didnt need to bring out anything but mids and putters. Now a full and ready bag is more appropriate.
Favorite Hole #16 - This is a tight tunnel shot slightly downhill with a gentle right curving fairway. About 2/3 of the way is the creek that is about 4-6' wide at most times. The basket is protected by a few skinny trees upon entering the green. Although its a short hole finishing the hole with a birdie feels really satisfying.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.