Waukegan, IL 
Bevier Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #12 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 231ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Greatly Improved!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has gone from nothing to a truly challenging 18 hole course. There are some long open holes and some deadly tight wooded holes. Shooting in the 40s on this course requires some excellent shots. Baskets across the street are placed on mounds which create a risk/reward factor to putts. Usually windy at this course (near Lake Michigan) which creates more of a challenge. This has really become a fun play that alot of people don't know about. Course gets limited play for an 18 hole course, so expect to play your round at whatever pace you desire.
Cons: 9 holes have cement tees, the other 9 have rubber pads which aren't the best, but not terrible. The 6 holes across the street are wide open. A few pretty short holes which are fairly easy birdies. In a heavily used public park, so beware of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: OB pond/creek comes into play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Open park, distance prairie, and tight technical wooded! all in one course

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee pads on the original 9 holes. Rubber pads on the other holes are adequate for now, but it doesnt even seem like they did any levelling before putting those down.

2) Nice signs on the original 9 holes although I think the distances have changed now that the course has been altered, because the distances listed on this site seemed more accurate and they were done by hand.

3) Nice arrows and one of the metal prongs on each basket are helpful in directing you to the next hole, especially if you are new and want to play the new holes too.

4) This is the ultimate in course variety. It has some parkland holes, some wide open prairie holes, and some tight technical wooded holes.

5) Nice scenic park with a pond, sports fields, facilities, other sporting activities, and plenty of parking. I am sure this place gets lots of use, there were hundreds of people here on SUnday afternoon and I could imagne it is packed a lot of the time. The course only had about 20 people on it during my whole round! I enjoyed that escpecially because it was my 8th course of the day and I had an hour drive home to Milwaukee.
Cons: 1) Distances seem incorrect on many of the signs. Hole #'s should also be changed on the last 4 holes of the original 9 to not confuse new people (6, 7, 8, 9 should be changed to 12, 14, 15, 18)

2) Rubber pads are better than dirt but they are already deteriorating, not sure how old they are but I would have saved the money for concrete instead of investing in those rubber pads, unless they were already used when put in place.

3) Open prairie style holes are too similar. More distance than the other holes on the course, but they are simply too wide open, Hitting the fairway isn't too difficult and you can usually find your disc fairly easily. Spotter would be helpful but not necessary if you watch where you went into the tall grass ( because it is pretty thin fescue . . . at least it isnt full of thistle and nettles or anything that can be vicious).

4) Wooded holes could use a little more definition, meaning some maintenance to take down a few of the minor trees in the fairways. I also think the mowed fairways could be a little more defined.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously a work in progress. They have found new places to develop new holes, and they could still do some work to make the section of the course better. Some well placed trees on the prairie holes would do wonders, tee signs with accurate distances on the original 9 holes, and a slightly bit more maintenance to define the wooded holes. I also think signage on the wooded holes with a clear description and diagram of the hole would certainly help a new person (which I was). I actually like that this course has three different type of holes, some might see it as a negative but it is a course that favors noone. You have to bring all your discs, all your shots, and some fortitude to adjust to the three different styles of holes. I had a good time on this course and will return in the future, from the sounds of it, this is the local favorite for northeastern Illinois! It isn't overwhelming in beauty or challenge, but it is a solid course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bevier: Gettin Better Every Year

5+    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was originally 9 holes. Then they added 3 holes in the woods. Then an additional 6 holes were added to make Bevier 18 Holes. This course would not be nearly as nice as it is without the help of the local Discontinuum Disc Golf Club + the volunteer work of many local golfers.

Anyway, the course. The original 9 are some of the best maintained disc golf holes I've ever seen (That would be current holes 1-5, 12, 14-15, and 18). The grass is perfectly groomed. The original 9 surround a lake also. Not that throwing into the lake is common unless you try some tricky shots such as on 5 (That would be me, yesterday, dont worry, I got my Wraith back :) ). There are many different ways to appraoch the basket at Bevier. It is definatly not a RHBH favored course.

Good length variety. Short holes, decent length, and a monster 600 footer. I like the variety on this course. There are completely open holes (The new 6 across the street after 5), Lightly wooded to moderatly wooded holes ( the original 9) and heavily wooded holes. On most of the holes there is no set route to get to the basket.

Signage: The original 9 have great signage. Across the street there are NO signs at the tees, BUT, thanks to a discontinuum club member, there are wonderful bright orange arrows on the bottom of ALL of the baskets. As long as you go across the street after 5 and follow the signs you should be fine.

18 holes (this shouldn't need to be put here but IL as you probably know has TOO MANY BAD 9 HOLERS)

A small ( but big enought to lose your disc in) creek comes into play on 16. Discontinuum members have made a sweet bridge over the creek.

Awsome Concrete tee pads on the original 9.

Some elevated baskets and tees.
Cons: Depending if you like open holes or not, the new 6 across the street could be a con for you. They are completely open prairie holes. Maybe in the future some trees could be planted or some man made obstacles made.

Also the rough (prairie) is super easy to lose your disc in. I repeat, THE PRAIRIE IS A DISC MONSTER, keep it on the fairway and definitely use a spotter. The rough is supposed to be mowed by the park district I believe but it has not been mowed recently.

Signage: The 3 wooded holes and the 6 open holes across the street have NO signs at the tee.

Lots of other people use this park besides disc golfers. Watch out for pedestrians on the original 9.

Tee pads on the 3 wood holes and the 6 across the street are rubber tee pads. They dont bother me but some people could loathe them.

Could use more elevation but what can I say, it's originally flat prairie land.
Other Thoughts: Bevier is improving every year. The Original 9 holes are nearly perfect and picturesque. The wooded holes and open holes could be greatly improved with concrete tees and signage. Also the open holes could get some obstacles put in. If you're anywhere near Bevier then come play a round or 2. I guarantee you will enjoy it (as long as you keep track of your discs :) )

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the tale of three courses...

1    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some pretty immaculate tees, signs, baskets on the main park course
-huge ripper holes on the new addition holes
-well designed last couple of holes
-restroom facility
-plays like three different courses.
-baskets have a unique orange arrow to point you to the next tee location
Cons: -pitch and putt for first couple of holes
-sketchy rubber tees for new across the street holes
-rough on the new addiction is disc losing tall
-no signs on new addition
-no pro am tees
Other Thoughts: Quite the interesting course to say the least. Originally started as a nine hole course in a public park. Great signage, great tees, and pretty decent baskets. So I will review the course based on the three diffrent layouts encountered.

Holes 1-6
This is part of the original nine. Just a very pleasant public layout. No elevation changes or truly challenging holes. Some short holes, a few medium ones. Grass is manicured nicely. A few trees being the only obstacles. Simplicity at it's finest.

Holes 7-15
The new addition lies across the street in a huge field of weeds and slightly rolling hills.If the first 6 holes made you feel that your guns wouldn't be tested, well you are wrong. Super long holes with very unforgiving rough. No trees to be found on this addition. The tee pads here are the rubber type that seem to already be wearing away. Some elevated baskets to make it interesting.

Holes 16-18
the last few holes take you back to the original nine BUT here lies the prized little gems. Three holes that use the parks tree line to weave in and out of it for the most technical shots on the course. Baskets guarded by trees and on 18 by a nice little creek. Very well designed ending.

OVERALL.
Interesting, yeah. Not so much a destination course but one that should be played for it's uniqueness. It's only 18 or so miles south of UW Parkside in Wisconsin and makes a perfect pairing for the day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like three different courses

1    5/29/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large mostly flat park with all different kinds of foliage. Some of the holes play through a grassy park with scattered trees of all sizes, some of the holes play through a bumpy open field with tall grass rough, and some holes play through dense woods with narrow fairways. There is a nice pond, but it only comes into play if you have a particularly bad shot on a couple holes. I enjoyed the mix of open and wooded holes, and it kept the course more interesting.

The course was expanded at some point, but it still had good flow throughout. There was a sign at the first tee with a map of the course that was plenty detailed and easy to follow. The tees were a mix of nice concrete pads and well-laid rubber pads, with good footing on all the tees.

The holes were a good mix of straight holes with a few that were right or left turning. The open holes were made more challenging by the wind and by the thick rough if you got off the fairway. For a short course, there were a few holes with good challenge, and enough variety to make an enjoyable round.
Cons: The course is a little on the short side. There aren't any holes where you can really open up and throw. There are also a few too many holes in the open area, and this gets a bit repetitive as they all feel very similar. I wish that the pond had come into play more on the course, it would make a nice obstacle and add another dimension to the course.

The park is multi-use, so the holes that aren't across the street or in the woods had some foot traffic that didn't seem to realize they were on a course. There are also a few holes that play pretty close to tennis and basketball courts, so watch out for other park users.

This isn't a big deal to me, but the wooded holes were pretty buggy. If you have an issue with mosquitoes and other bugs, bring bug spray or stay out of the woods.
Other Thoughts: This park had a nice variety of holes, and is certainly worth playing if you're in the area. It's not exciting enough to warrant a trip way out of your way just to play it, but it has a few nice holes.

There are some spots where a beginner might lose a disc, but all the holes are reachable for inexperienced players. More advanced players probably won't find this course very challenging, but it does at least have some different types of holes for approach and putt practice.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

A tale of three courses

2-4    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
-Great signs and baskets that guide you to the next teepad
-Good distance, you will need to use a variety of discs for the different holes
-Hole 11 had clever signs along the fairway that signified the distance to the basket
-Holes 12-15 have decent fairways that were cut out of thick woods
-Plays around a nice pond (non-hazard)
Cons:
-Holes 6-11 (prairie holes) should be skipped. 10-20 ft wide fairways sorrounded by a sea of tall grass. Mostly flat and more windy than the rest of the course. I spent more time looking for my disc than actually playing the game.
-Holes 16-20, despite being under wooded cover, are also rather weedy. For a couple of these holes the fairways are tight which increases the odds you will throw into the brush.
-The course ends about a quarter mile from the parking lot and hole 1
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, this course can be described in three parts. The first part is 200-300 foot holes playing in a sparsely wooded part of the park. It was rather enjoyable. Holes 6-11 play through the prairie and I did not find these holes enjoyable at all. Prairies cannot be tamed for disc golf and should be avoided. All this is on top of the fact that the park district has clearly done a lot of work on the land to keep the grass short and the fairways delineated. That kind of hurts the claim that disc golf is a largely non-invasive game, at least in this case. The next 9 holes play through more wooded areas. The first several of these holes were fun, shooting between the tree line and through other wooded obstacles. But sure enough the woods got weedy again and the fairways tight. Once again I spent a lot of time looking for my disc.

There were around 9 holes on this course that I enjoyed playing, and if this course only consisted of those 9 I would rate it a 3 or 3.5 depending on my mood. The rest of the holes only bring the rating down. Not an absolutely terrible course, but not worth traveling from far either.

Coming from the south I would rather play Adler, coming from the north I would rather play Silver Lake (BTW, this course very much resembles UW Parkside). Coming from the west I would rather play Silver Lake or Fairfield.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. There has been significant mowing to make it easier to find discs across the street. Those tee pads have been fixed too.

You got unlucky with the course being super muddy. Wood chips have been laid and this course stays fairly dry.

Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

 Well Kept Course

5+    5/22/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes. There are not very many courses in Illinois that have 18 holes, but this is one of them. This course is a great place to play. Mostly concrete tees with painted wooden hole signs in the ground (they look really nice). The front nine holes are very open and all par 3s. The only par 4 on this course is hole #11 which covers over 600 ft. Towards the end of the back 9 there are some wooded holes they can produce a bit of a challenge. This is very beautiful course and must be checked out. It was host to IOS #1 this year.

The landscaping on this course is top notch and I am always amazed because this course keeps getting better and better by the kind help of all those who love disc golf.

This course requires a disc golfer to be able to throw a large number of different kind of shorts and can really improve your game playing here in alll aspects. This course is never boring and is good for even those golfers who are not that addicted and want to play every once in awhile because there is a short nine option through the woods.
Cons: All the open holes may get kind of boring after a while. There all places to lose discs, but then you also have the chance of finding discs with this course. There are joggers to watch out for mostly when you are playing around by the tennis and basketball courts. This can also be a little bit confusing to navigate if it is your first time playing this course. You play the first several holes on one side of the road and then you have to cross the road to play some prairie holes on the other side before coming back to the other side of the road again (where you started) to finish it off. Because this was once a nine hole course the back nine tees don't always say the correct number.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses in Illinois and is a must check out. The park itself is a very beautiful place to play in and I garuntee that you will have a great time playing here. This is probably my favorite course in the area, and if not #1 definately a secure #2.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come

5+    4/19/2007   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

Best Course in Lake County, IL

5+    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some great changes in 2013!
Very well kept park.
Good signage.
Very easy navigate with the addition of next tee signs.
Wide variety.
Requires you to throw many shots.
Several elevated baskets.
Best course in Lake County, IL
Option to play the beginner friendly old 9 or 21 hole layout.
Park District continues to work with the local club to improve this course every year.
Decent restroom facilities open May to October.
Cons: Old classic 9 is on the short side.
Not all the holes have cement tee pads. Although solid to throw from the 6 rubber tee pads across the street are not uniform with the rest of the holes.
Very little rough in the park and rather open across the street.
Other Thoughts: Bevier Park has had a face lift over the last few years. It went from 9 holes to 20. Several of the existing holes have had baskets moved making it more challenging. It's a prety solid course for the other 11 holes being laid like a jigsaw puzzle.

Park near the bridge leading to the tennis courts. Hole #1 is just across the bridge. Check for printable map on the links/files. Bulletin board near #1.

Holes #1 & #19 have long tees.

More improvements are coming in 2014.

Currently new signs are being made for all 18 holes. They should be installed by Spring of 09. The baskets have been painted to point out the direction of the next tee. Next tee wooden arros have been added to the baskets Spring 09. You should have no problems navigating this course with these.

Holes 1 thru 5 are pretty stright forward.
Holes 6 thru 11 are across the street. They have rubber pads.
Hole 12 is the first cement tee when you cross the street again.
Hole 13 is down the trail in the woods to the south. Rubber tee pad.
Hole 14 & 15 are back to concrete and pretty easy to find.
Holes 16 & 17 are in the woods with rubber tee pads.
Hole #18 has concrete and is tucked across the creek.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and putt course

4/12/2007   6/28/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee pads
Good signage
Intuitive flow
Creative use of limited space
Good course to practice specific shots/strategies (forehand, opposite hand, various approach shots/discs)
Good course to introduce friends to the sport
Cons: Somewhat redundant
Once people show up, it's very tough to play certain holes unobstucted
People camp out near baskets with blankets, etc
Other Thoughts: Having went to H.S. in Waukegan and having some family back there I was glad to find a course.
This one is good for some warm-up and practice but not extremely challenging.
As I was playing my second round there people started showing up and I can't imagine how much of a challenge it would be playing this course on a weekend or during a busy summer day.
I hear Bowen Park just got a face lift...that would be a great place for a course...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.