Waukegan, IL 
Bevier Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 606ft.   4 / 606ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A mix of everything

2-4    7/5/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety
(6 holes with mature trees)
(6 holes on the prairie)
(6 holes in moderate to heavy woods)
- The variety lends itself to many different playing styles and will test your whole game.
- Concrete teepads on the original nine and rubber on the added nine.
- Tiny water hazards. (Unless you shank a drive into the pond).
- Solid baskets
- Fairly easy navigation, except between 5 and six.
- Nice tee signs on the concrete holes though some are outdated
Cons: - Some thick rough in places, especially on the prairie. the tall grass seems to eat discs watch your disc finish and mark it with a TALL landmark.
- Newer tee pads are rubber and do not have signs.
- Navigation could be an issue between 5 and 6.
Other Thoughts: Overall the greatest attribute Bevier Park has to offer is its variety. You cannot go there as a one trick pony and expect to play well. You start with six holes dicing through tall mature trees where hitting a line is necessary. You then move onto the prairie section in which you have all the air space in the world. This portion becomes more about landing your disc in a particular area rather then hitting a line. And the last portion is wooded require some crucial line shaping to score well. It tests all parts of your game. Though the original nine holes have signs, they have not been updated to accommodate the new holes. Thus number #18 has a sign that says it is #9. If these signs were updated it would really help the course flow and navigation. I personally feel like the added holes are still incomplete. Concrete tees and updated signs would really solidify this course as a solid 18-holer. As of right now it still feels kind of "makeshift" for lack of a better word. It has a solid mix of long and short holes to keep things interesting. The water hazards are barely hazards, and the creek usually does not have water in it, so if you are afraid to throw water holes, don't skip this course because of it. Currently the course sits at a 3.5/5 for me. By making the course complete with new signs, all concrete pads and some trimming of the thick rough, it could bump it up to a 4/5. Bevier is not a destination course, but one to hit on the way. I personally drive an hour to play this course and it is worth every minute of the drive.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/5/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 129  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bevier park started out as a well manicured, relatively short nine hole course with well placed trees requiring the player to shape lines. The course was expanded into two different areas, a wide open prairie across the street from the rest of the course (6 holes) and the forest south of the course (3 holes). The original holes and the tree new ones in the woods are well balanced with regards to rightys and leftys. I throw RHBH ans RHFH and found myself using both equally. The holes in the prairie add much needed length to the course, but there is not a single tree to force limit your choice of flight paths. The holes in the woods are narrow with thick scule off the fairway. The original nine holes have nice, roomy concrete tees. All baskets are in good shape, with the ones on the new holes slightly newer and in near perfect shape. A few of the prairie holes have the baskets placed on small mounds to add danger to long putt attempts including the 600' par 4 hole 11. Wind is a big factor on the praire holes. Water is in play on a few holes, especially 16 where you have a choice of going long over an OB creek or laying up in front of it and having a more difficult up shot. I saw a few extra sleeves for different basket placements. These may be old placements or the pins on some holes may be rotated.
Cons: The course has almost no elevation change. Other than the wide open holes, this is a short course. There are walking paths in play on some of the original holes. They appear to be frequently used, so you may be waiting to tee. This course has major navigation issues, the original nine holes have great signs. Too bad they use the original numbering layout and most if not all of the hole lengths have changed. The layout is so confusing that at a tourney I played there recently, the TD waived the rule against playing the course out of order and said just play all the holes. The added holes have rubber tees which have settled and as a result are wavy and bumpy. One rubber mat appears to have been mowed over, and the top layer has a gaping hole right at the center of the tee. There is poison ivy in the woods so keep your eyes open when off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played the course I was unable to find the three holes in the woods. I would highly recommend printing out a copy of the course map as it will save you a lot of headaches. After hole 5, cross the street on your right and follow the path past the fence. The tee for hole 6 is on your right. Holes 6-11 are on this side of the street. Mowed pathways show you where to go. After hole 11 cross the street at the same place you crossed previously. Hole 12 is marked as hole 6 on the sign. After 12 follow the path back into the woods for 13. Hole 14 is back out of the woods and is marked as hole 7. Hole 15 is the next tee you can see and is marked as 8. After 15 follow the path into the woods for holes 16 and 17. Follow the path from 17's basket to 18's tee which is marked as hole 9. After reading this, I hope I have convinced you to print out the course map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bevier Park is a nice course with great variety. Roughly a third of the course has large mature trees to deal with. The next third is prarie golf with a few long bombs. The last third plays through the woods. There is a nice variety shots and distances on this course.

Water is in play on 7 holes, but is only a major factor on holes 16 & 18 where you cross the stream. You only need to worry about water on the rest of the course if you shank a drive.
Cons: This used to be a nine hole course that has been upgraded to 18. Because of this, navigation can be difficult in a number of places and the holes are not numbered correctly. Please print out a map your first time here. Only the original holes have concrete teepads, the rest are rubber.

When I was here on 7-5-10, the prarie holes only had a 15 foot wide strip that had been mowed with the rest left to grow. Finding discs wasn't too difficult but keep a close eye on them.

There is one 600 foot par 4 on the course which is cool, but the hole is completely wide open.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that is worth playing if you're in the area and have a map with you.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
Come back and play the course. Navigation is much easier now and tee signs are correct. All baskets have number plates as well.

Rubber tee pads have been fixed across the street and all the holes on the east side are concrete.

 I love Biever!

1    9/18/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixed bag... very good and not good yet are both here. Fonrt portion of course: Great signs. Nice tee pads. Easy to navigate. 1, 2, 3 play in the open. 4, 5 offer some tree challenges, 6 and 7 are dog legs to the right with woods as a backdrop. 8 and 9 play within the woods for an additional interest. Most holes play pretty straight forward. 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 do offer shot options if you play here frequently so there is opportunity to work on your game and specific shot styles. Water in ares does not really come into play unless you are waaaaaaaay off w/ a throw.
Cons: Holes across the street are not quite yet a disc golf course. Not sure what it is. Baskets in a priaie? Poorly designed , nearly dangerous rubber tee pads are out here somewhere. A 17 year old with a gas powered week whacker could turn this into a disc golf course in half a day... but right now... these holes are not a course. No fairways, not even a worn trail from the basket to the next tee. w/o the basket arrows you would have no idea what was up. I have played many prarie courses that play great. No trees, no problem. These are great fun when the brambel is bigger and thicker later in the summer. By then, if some rough fairways are carved out these holes will be great. if not, this entire group of holes will be functionally unplayable. if this bramble is any higher... you will never spot a disc... and you will never see a basket... and you will not want to walk through here. No major work needed, save fixing up the tee pads a bit... add some simple signs and let's go throw! Numbering is a bit wacky... front nine are numbered 1 thru 9 on the posts, but different on the baskets from 6 on. See the baord at tee #1 for renumbering that incorporated the holes across the street and the extras in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course to play. I might get a bit tired of the 2 in a row dog legs on 6 and 7 if I played here as my neigborhood choice, but for a once in a while visit, it is O.K. I am looking forward to coming back for the holes across the street. I did see options for basket placment, however by the looks of the lawn and the recepticles they have not used the options in a while. No real issues with the shared use of the park. Walkers and others were not in the way. No overlapping of holes or fairways makes for fun, safe play. Bugs in the woodsiness are getting bad as of this update 6.10.10.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Greatly Improved!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 233  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has gone from nothing to a truly challenging 18 hole course. There are some long open holes and some deadly tight wooded holes. Shooting in the 40s on this course requires some excellent shots. Baskets across the street are placed on mounds which create a risk/reward factor to putts. Usually windy at this course (near Lake Michigan) which creates more of a challenge. This has really become a fun play that alot of people don't know about. Course gets limited play for an 18 hole course, so expect to play your round at whatever pace you desire.
Cons: 9 holes have cement tees, the other 9 have rubber pads which aren't the best, but not terrible. The 6 holes across the street are wide open. A few pretty short holes which are fairly easy birdies. In a heavily used public park, so beware of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: OB pond/creek comes into play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Open park, distance prairie, and tight technical wooded! all in one course

1    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice big concrete tee pads on the original 9 holes. Rubber pads on the other holes are adequate for now, but it doesnt even seem like they did any levelling before putting those down.

2) Nice signs on the original 9 holes although I think the distances have changed now that the course has been altered, because the distances listed on this site seemed more accurate and they were done by hand.

3) Nice arrows and one of the metal prongs on each basket are helpful in directing you to the next hole, especially if you are new and want to play the new holes too.

4) This is the ultimate in course variety. It has some parkland holes, some wide open prairie holes, and some tight technical wooded holes.

5) Nice scenic park with a pond, sports fields, facilities, other sporting activities, and plenty of parking. I am sure this place gets lots of use, there were hundreds of people here on SUnday afternoon and I could imagne it is packed a lot of the time. The course only had about 20 people on it during my whole round! I enjoyed that escpecially because it was my 8th course of the day and I had an hour drive home to Milwaukee.
Cons: 1) Distances seem incorrect on many of the signs. Hole #'s should also be changed on the last 4 holes of the original 9 to not confuse new people (6, 7, 8, 9 should be changed to 12, 14, 15, 18)

2) Rubber pads are better than dirt but they are already deteriorating, not sure how old they are but I would have saved the money for concrete instead of investing in those rubber pads, unless they were already used when put in place.

3) Open prairie style holes are too similar. More distance than the other holes on the course, but they are simply too wide open, Hitting the fairway isn't too difficult and you can usually find your disc fairly easily. Spotter would be helpful but not necessary if you watch where you went into the tall grass ( because it is pretty thin fescue . . . at least it isnt full of thistle and nettles or anything that can be vicious).

4) Wooded holes could use a little more definition, meaning some maintenance to take down a few of the minor trees in the fairways. I also think the mowed fairways could be a little more defined.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously a work in progress. They have found new places to develop new holes, and they could still do some work to make the section of the course better. Some well placed trees on the prairie holes would do wonders, tee signs with accurate distances on the original 9 holes, and a slightly bit more maintenance to define the wooded holes. I also think signage on the wooded holes with a clear description and diagram of the hole would certainly help a new person (which I was). I actually like that this course has three different type of holes, some might see it as a negative but it is a course that favors noone. You have to bring all your discs, all your shots, and some fortitude to adjust to the three different styles of holes. I had a good time on this course and will return in the future, from the sounds of it, this is the local favorite for northeastern Illinois! It isn't overwhelming in beauty or challenge, but it is a solid course!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bevier: Gettin Better Every Year

5+    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 189  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was originally 9 holes. Then they added 3 holes in the woods. Then an additional 6 holes were added to make Bevier 18 Holes. This course would not be nearly as nice as it is without the help of the local Discontinuum Disc Golf Club + the volunteer work of many local golfers.

Anyway, the course. The original 9 are some of the best maintained disc golf holes I've ever seen (That would be current holes 1-5, 12, 14-15, and 18). The grass is perfectly groomed. The original 9 surround a lake also. Not that throwing into the lake is common unless you try some tricky shots such as on 5 (That would be me, yesterday, dont worry, I got my Wraith back :) ). There are many different ways to appraoch the basket at Bevier. It is definatly not a RHBH favored course.

Good length variety. Short holes, decent length, and a monster 600 footer. I like the variety on this course. There are completely open holes (The new 6 across the street after 5), Lightly wooded to moderatly wooded holes ( the original 9) and heavily wooded holes. On most of the holes there is no set route to get to the basket.

Signage: The original 9 have great signage. Across the street there are NO signs at the tees, BUT, thanks to a discontinuum club member, there are wonderful bright orange arrows on the bottom of ALL of the baskets. As long as you go across the street after 5 and follow the signs you should be fine.

18 holes (this shouldn't need to be put here but IL as you probably know has TOO MANY BAD 9 HOLERS)

A small ( but big enought to lose your disc in) creek comes into play on 16. Discontinuum members have made a sweet bridge over the creek.

Awsome Concrete tee pads on the original 9.

Some elevated baskets and tees.
Cons: Depending if you like open holes or not, the new 6 across the street could be a con for you. They are completely open prairie holes. Maybe in the future some trees could be planted or some man made obstacles made.

Also the rough (prairie) is super easy to lose your disc in. I repeat, THE PRAIRIE IS A DISC MONSTER, keep it on the fairway and definitely use a spotter. The rough is supposed to be mowed by the park district I believe but it has not been mowed recently.

Signage: The 3 wooded holes and the 6 open holes across the street have NO signs at the tee.

Lots of other people use this park besides disc golfers. Watch out for pedestrians on the original 9.

Tee pads on the 3 wood holes and the 6 across the street are rubber tee pads. They dont bother me but some people could loathe them.

Could use more elevation but what can I say, it's originally flat prairie land.
Other Thoughts: Bevier is improving every year. The Original 9 holes are nearly perfect and picturesque. The wooded holes and open holes could be greatly improved with concrete tees and signage. Also the open holes could get some obstacles put in. If you're anywhere near Bevier then come play a round or 2. I guarantee you will enjoy it (as long as you keep track of your discs :) )

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the tale of three courses...

1    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -some pretty immaculate tees, signs, baskets on the main park course
-huge ripper holes on the new addition holes
-well designed last couple of holes
-restroom facility
-plays like three different courses.
-baskets have a unique orange arrow to point you to the next tee location
Cons: -pitch and putt for first couple of holes
-sketchy rubber tees for new across the street holes
-rough on the new addiction is disc losing tall
-no signs on new addition
-no pro am tees
Other Thoughts: Quite the interesting course to say the least. Originally started as a nine hole course in a public park. Great signage, great tees, and pretty decent baskets. So I will review the course based on the three diffrent layouts encountered.

Holes 1-6
This is part of the original nine. Just a very pleasant public layout. No elevation changes or truly challenging holes. Some short holes, a few medium ones. Grass is manicured nicely. A few trees being the only obstacles. Simplicity at it's finest.

Holes 7-15
The new addition lies across the street in a huge field of weeds and slightly rolling hills.If the first 6 holes made you feel that your guns wouldn't be tested, well you are wrong. Super long holes with very unforgiving rough. No trees to be found on this addition. The tee pads here are the rubber type that seem to already be wearing away. Some elevated baskets to make it interesting.

Holes 16-18
the last few holes take you back to the original nine BUT here lies the prized little gems. Three holes that use the parks tree line to weave in and out of it for the most technical shots on the course. Baskets guarded by trees and on 18 by a nice little creek. Very well designed ending.

Interesting, yeah. Not so much a destination course but one that should be played for it's uniqueness. It's only 18 or so miles south of UW Parkside in Wisconsin and makes a perfect pairing for the day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Feels like three different courses

1    5/29/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large mostly flat park with all different kinds of foliage. Some of the holes play through a grassy park with scattered trees of all sizes, some of the holes play through a bumpy open field with tall grass rough, and some holes play through dense woods with narrow fairways. There is a nice pond, but it only comes into play if you have a particularly bad shot on a couple holes. I enjoyed the mix of open and wooded holes, and it kept the course more interesting.

The course was expanded at some point, but it still had good flow throughout. There was a sign at the first tee with a map of the course that was plenty detailed and easy to follow. The tees were a mix of nice concrete pads and well-laid rubber pads, with good footing on all the tees.

The holes were a good mix of straight holes with a few that were right or left turning. The open holes were made more challenging by the wind and by the thick rough if you got off the fairway. For a short course, there were a few holes with good challenge, and enough variety to make an enjoyable round.
Cons: The course is a little on the short side. There aren't any holes where you can really open up and throw. There are also a few too many holes in the open area, and this gets a bit repetitive as they all feel very similar. I wish that the pond had come into play more on the course, it would make a nice obstacle and add another dimension to the course.

The park is multi-use, so the holes that aren't across the street or in the woods had some foot traffic that didn't seem to realize they were on a course. There are also a few holes that play pretty close to tennis and basketball courts, so watch out for other park users.

This isn't a big deal to me, but the wooded holes were pretty buggy. If you have an issue with mosquitoes and other bugs, bring bug spray or stay out of the woods.
Other Thoughts: This park had a nice variety of holes, and is certainly worth playing if you're in the area. It's not exciting enough to warrant a trip way out of your way just to play it, but it has a few nice holes.

There are some spots where a beginner might lose a disc, but all the holes are reachable for inexperienced players. More advanced players probably won't find this course very challenging, but it does at least have some different types of holes for approach and putt practice.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/11/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

A tale of three courses

2-4    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
-Great signs and baskets that guide you to the next teepad
-Good distance, you will need to use a variety of discs for the different holes
-Hole 11 had clever signs along the fairway that signified the distance to the basket
-Holes 12-15 have decent fairways that were cut out of thick woods
-Plays around a nice pond (non-hazard)
-Holes 6-11 (prairie holes) should be skipped. 10-20 ft wide fairways sorrounded by a sea of tall grass. Mostly flat and more windy than the rest of the course. I spent more time looking for my disc than actually playing the game.
-Holes 16-20, despite being under wooded cover, are also rather weedy. For a couple of these holes the fairways are tight which increases the odds you will throw into the brush.
-The course ends about a quarter mile from the parking lot and hole 1
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, this course can be described in three parts. The first part is 200-300 foot holes playing in a sparsely wooded part of the park. It was rather enjoyable. Holes 6-11 play through the prairie and I did not find these holes enjoyable at all. Prairies cannot be tamed for disc golf and should be avoided. All this is on top of the fact that the park district has clearly done a lot of work on the land to keep the grass short and the fairways delineated. That kind of hurts the claim that disc golf is a largely non-invasive game, at least in this case. The next 9 holes play through more wooded areas. The first several of these holes were fun, shooting between the tree line and through other wooded obstacles. But sure enough the woods got weedy again and the fairways tight. Once again I spent a lot of time looking for my disc.

There were around 9 holes on this course that I enjoyed playing, and if this course only consisted of those 9 I would rate it a 3 or 3.5 depending on my mood. The rest of the holes only bring the rating down. Not an absolutely terrible course, but not worth traveling from far either.

Coming from the south I would rather play Adler, coming from the north I would rather play Silver Lake (BTW, this course very much resembles UW Parkside). Coming from the west I would rather play Silver Lake or Fairfield.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: #19325
If you are back in the area check in. There has been significant mowing to make it easier to find discs across the street. Those tee pads have been fixed too.

You got unlucky with the course being super muddy. Wood chips have been laid and this course stays fairly dry.

Many improvements this summer. More to come in 2014.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.