McKenzie, TN 
McKenzie DGC Share
Uploaded By: HB553 Hole #18 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Best course in Northwest Tn

5+    4/4/2016   4/10/2016
Review By: 6.5swede
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4
Pros: The course offers a good mix of open and technical holes. Elevation is used very well and comes into play on most holes. It's definitely a course that makes you think and execute your shots. There are lots of birdie opportunities but some of the holes will absolutely punish you if you don't hit your line. The course is well designed and is the best HB Clark course I have played. Increased foot traffic and local club work have opened up some of the underbrush making it more player friendly. The course drains exceptionally well and does not hold any water. If it's pouring rain just wait under the pavilion until it quits.
Cons: The majority of the baskets are hidden so if it's your first round you will walk it twice by going up the fairway to spot the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is not an easy course and it will make you throw every shot you have. If another city in the area was thinking of designing a course I would recommend walking this course for reference.

Very cool course

2-4    12/30/2015   12/31/2015
Review By: tdortch
Played: 70  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: McKenzie is a fun, challenging course that will test your accuracy in some spots, and your distance in others. It's located in a nice park, with easy access from the local highway. Hole 1 plays along one of the creeks that borders the course, and you can get into trouble if you cut it too close to the trees.
From there, you go up the hill to tee off back down towards the same creek, and in true H.B Clark fashion, there is a tree right in front of the tee pad that will force you to go left or right.
3 tees off from the creek, and goes up and over the big hill to a blind basket that's protected by a few big trees.
4 goes back up the hill, with a window shot to get you out and over.
5 is a longish hole with a tee pad placed on top of the hill, a few tight gaps at the tree line (that's probably 200' away) as your way into the basket, which is at the bottom near the other creek that borders the course. Tough little hole, especially if you miss the gaps!
6 throws up and over a hill to yet another blind basket, is along the creek with trees bordering the left side, and a smallish window to get through to the basket that will play downhill and to the left.
7 goes uphill, through another small gap that's 150' or so from the pad, then dog legs right to a basket that's on the side of a slight hill. The second round we played, half of our card went back up fairway 6 and had better shots than the rest of us who took the fairway. I don't know if this route will be open in the summer, and for a tourney, i could see mandos in place for safety.
8 plays back up the big hill with another set of really tight gaps to get through to get back to the top of the hill where the basket sits, mostly unguarded.
9 is a tough, right hand turning hole that has a barrier about 200' away of thickets, trees and bushes. The first 200 is all field, but if your drive is off, you're in trouble!
10 plays up another hill, towards the big water tower. The gravel road is casual, thankfully, because pretty much the whole card landed on the road! Not too hard, but still requires precision.
Now, you get to hole 11, scratch your head, look in your bag for a remote control disc, realize you don't have one, and throw a midrange off the pad just to try to get to the 'landing zone' that's in the middle of the 'fairway'. Yup, it's a booger of a hole. Lots of trees, tight gaps, slight downhill to a slight uphill, and you don't get out of the woods until you're about 30' from the basket. Really tough, and i can't imagine it in the summer. PHEW!
12 is a probably 90 degree dog leg right, with the turn coming on really quick. We tried everything - rollers, thumbers, annie (RHBH), etc. They all pretty much gave each player the same approach, just from a different spot. Best thing to do here is walk it, and figure out where you want to land.
13 is another story altogether. Very tight, uphill, winding hole with lots of trees, OB fence around the water tower up near the basket, and lots of "hmmmm what am i going to do now??" in your head. One of the guys on my card made it up to the hedgerow that's between the tower and the faiway, and managed a thumber up and over all of it for an easy 3. But, it takes landing in a certain spot and a really strong thumb game to pull that off. It's a really hard hole, for any skill level, in my opinion.
14 gets you back in the open, with a long look downhill through somewhat sparse trees (maybe 20 on the entire area, which seems wide open after 11 and 13). Pretty cool run and it's park-able if you have a solid drive.
15 plays over the creek to a downhill basket guarded by a huge tree. Fun shot and cool hole.
16 tees off behind the baseball field, down by the creek to an uphill, slight left shot that has some trees near the basket to guard, and a hill that will roll you away.
17 is a long, downhill to uphill shot that plays over the creek and all the way back up to the water tower. There are low hanging limbs to deal with, and those sparse trees i was talking about earlier.
18 plays from the water tower back to near the parking lot. Putter is a good shot here, and it's easy to go long OB into the creek, hit some tree down at the bottom or simply get a bad roll and end up OB. Fun shot, and a nice finish to a really fun, challenging round of DG!
Cons: I think with time, holes 11 and13 will become more fair, and will open up some. This is a fairly new course, and i can only see it getting better with age.
Really not too much bad to say here.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling from Paducah or somewhere where you would be going through Paducah to get there, travel through Murray, then Paris, TN to get there (and stop in either city to play their fine courses). We went through Mayfield, and it's a long way on 2 lane, winding country roads. Totally worth it to go the other way.
This course will test your patience, as well as your skills. It's rewarding to shoot well, and it has fair pars. Great course. I wish it were closer to home!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    7/16/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: hawgman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: Fun course, well maintained. fairways cut regularly. Nice concrete tee pads new baskets. All the tee signs are clear and defined. water only comes to play on few holes. Very easy to navigate to the next tee. A few ace runs but most holes are longer on this course. 1,2,16,18 are challenging but easily a birdie. But other than those you need a great drive to have a shot for a birdie.
Cons: Hole 9 has a small gap to shoot with lots of vegetation on each side which make very challenging to set up second dog leg anny shot.

11 is tough and 13 nearly impossible to birdie pretty much a 4 is a good score on them.
Other Thoughts: Love this course wish it was closer to me definitely a good course to stop at and try very close to hwy 22.


  Will be a Popular Course

5+    8/12/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: DiscChump
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Full 18 Hole Course
-Presents hole locations challenging for pros and great for teaching beginners
-Well marked, easy to follow the course
-Grass is well kept
-Close to a college campus so the course is used regularly
Cons: -Can't see the basket from the tee on several holes
-Holes 11 and 13 are nearly impossible to birdie
-Course could use minimal trimming on wooded holes (hanging dead branches and vines)
-Lots of poison ivy and oak if you have to retrieve a disc in the woods
-Lots of thorns
Other Thoughts: The creek gets no deeper than 2 1/2 feet so losing a disc in there shouldn't be too much of an issue. Easiest places to lose a disc are in deep wooded areas off the path. The course caters to players of all ability levels so this course will become more popular with time.

Easiest Holes - 3, 9, 16, and 18
Most Difficult Holes - 11 and 13

Hole 18 is the only hole someone has signed for an Ace that I've seen.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course Close to Campus

2-4    5/8/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: mcbrown91
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 holes
-At the City Park
-Difficult but not too difficult for beginners
-Short walk from Bethel Campus
-The only hilly part of Carroll/Henry County (joking)
Cons: -Not officially open (will update - Play at your own risk)
-Needs more bridges across the creek.
-Beware of thorns in the woods.
Other Thoughts: McKenzie has done this right! There have been students playing for a while now. I can't wait for the Grand Opening. I have played at one other course in NW Tennessee and it is not worth the drive now! UDisc is a great app for keeping score and I have enjoyed tracking throws and my progress as a beginner. See you on the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well done McKenzie

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 297  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Pretty park
-Good variety
-Elevation changes
-Longer than most other NW Tennessee courses
-Very nice tee pads
-Most of the course does not pose disc finding problems
-Adequate signage
Cons: -Many shots are blind
-Wooded holes are still in a rough, post-construction state
-Course isn't entirely finished
-At least one more bridge for crossing the creek would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This will likely develop into the top course in NW Tennessee as it wears in with use. The technical wooded holes are very challenging with unforgiving, complex lines. The fun factor is very high as there are usually multiple lines to throw and a bad drive isn't heavily punished.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.