Tampa, FL 
Cypress Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #8 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 539ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful park, poor design

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Jabberwocky
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: The best thing about this course was the beautiful park. Very scenic setting. The baskets were also very nice and marked well. Bugs were very non existent.
Cons: I know it's a new park but signage is really needed to help navigate course. The layout requires crisscrossing of holes. The low canopy would have been nice for a challenging course if the numerous palm trees weren't so good at trapping discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course has a lot of potential. It is a challenging course that was a lot of fun to play. Because of crisscrossing holes however, tournaments might be too congested to be enjoyable to play. Also the low canopy of Palm trees will slow play as people try to retrieve discs which can be a challenge with Palm trees. Fun, beautiful course, that needs a little more work to get a 4 star rating.

Nice park

1    6/3/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: WAR813
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
Pros: - Great length.
- Great use of space.
- Great shot diversity.
- Nice park.
- Great tee pads.
Cons: - Got stung by some wasps trying to retrieve my putter from under some palms.
- Needs more trash cans.
- Needs better signage.
Other Thoughts: I really loved that the course had some par 4's and 5's. I'm sure that trashcans and signage issues will be handled as the course is still pretty new.

Great new course

1    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like courses that require a big arm and this one makes you bring it. Huge hyper and anhyzer bombs to be had here. Tee pads were perfect length and baskets are pristine. A wonderful, beautiful course in a nice park.
Cons: Not much to say that hasn't already been said. No hole signs or next tee directional signs. Few trash cans. A few benches have been put it which is nice and the killer bees are gone. Grass needs to be mowed a little, but other than that it was a great course. Tons of fun.
Other Thoughts: Super fun. Big long shots. Plenty of Palm trees to thread between which always is a nice challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pro Level Course

1    5/5/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads and signage! Very thoughtful layout that takes advantage of every bit of topography available. The trees provide a canopy to shoot under on most holes, while a few are wide open. I had to use every disc, shot and trick i had on this course, and was spent at the end. There's even a proper practice basket that is segregated from the rest. Plenty of shade to be found on this course to give you a break from the sun. I believe hole 5 was my favorite, 550ish through to the back of the course, with a water side basket that might make you rethink your putt
Cons: Not much to really complain about, but giving it an honest review: there are a lot of other park users that are friendly, but could delay your throw on a few holes. The landing planes are fun to watch while warming up, but distracting when playing. The reality is, the only things keeping this course from getting a 5 is lack of benches, trashcans, and next tee directional signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a gem! I would bring the bug spray during the rainy season, but other than that, bomb on !

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great one in Tampa

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout. Need to be able to play a wide variety of shots of varying lengths. Course is in good shape and was fun to play.
Cons: Need to get those killer bees out of there...they affect three holes. Needs signage.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tough (but fair) Course

1    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set-up in a nice park. Holes are a mixture of open & woods (mostly Palm trees). Even though there is major length here, there are some Birdies to be had for Amateurs, & Intermediate players alike. There are Restrooms near the Beach area, which is not too far from the 1st tee. The flow of the course is good, and I did not get lost from hole to hole.Nice lay-out. Tee pads are cement & are just the right length. Baskets are new Disc Catchers. I like the par 66 set-up. Tough but fair.
Cons: Okay. This did not bother me, but other players, maybe. Just above the 1st tee is the southern runway approach for Tampa airport. It's loud & often, so be prepared.(after #1, I really didn't notice the Jets until #16, 17, & 18) .The course is new and I won't be too critical of lack of signs, trash cans & benches. I'm sure most of these things will be addressed in the future. Bet this place gets "Buggy" during the rainy season. Bring th' Deet!
Other Thoughts: Not having a big arm I thought this would be a punishing course to play, but it wasn't. The longer holes seemed to have nice "landing areas" to set up the next shot.The big open shots are #1, 16, 17 & 18. The fairways were a bit rough and unmowed, but the course is new. I'm sure this will change over time. The Back 9 (w/ the exception of 16, 17, & 18) weaves around a Palm tree forest w good sight lines. Nice mixture of Hyzer & Anhyzer throughout the course. It's just nice to have a new course to play in the T.B. area. Thanks to Ken Climo & Patrick King ( & all involved) for your work on this new DGC!! I'll be back, for sure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I got killed but loved every minute of it

1    4/6/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Rustyham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has lots of weird shots, and few that are straight. You'll be using just about every disc in your bag. The holes that are par 5 are not obnoxiously long, they go through a fun array of terrain and obstacles. There is plenty of shade and some beautiful flora.
Cons: Since it is still new, I hope these issues are remedied: There are no trash cans or benches, except for on hole 1. There is a colony of Africanized Killer Bees in the back nine, but at least it's blocked off with caution tape. Too bad it's in the middle of a fairway. Also beware the quicksand on hole 18- Stay away from the fairway, as this bog is right in the middle of it.
Other Thoughts: Despite being killed by this course, I had so much fun playing it. Great elevation (Florida elevation), great trees to work with- narrow ones in the fairway and bushy ones in the rough.
I will definitely be back to improve my score.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 not fun

1    4/4/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: macfleming1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 31.2 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This course is for the pros. Very scenic, good baskets, fantastic tee pads.
Cons: At age 50, I play DG for fun. Cypress Point is not fun. It reminds me a little of UCF back in the day, except replace the 8,000 pine trees there with 7,000 palm trees here and triple the length. On most holes, it takes 2-3 perfect drives to get within chipping distance.
Other Thoughts: Definitely for younger players, who won't have to ice their shoulders the next day.

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Epic course; thanks, 'Champ!'

1    4/4/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was the first time I've played a brand new course since Ed Medard, and I have to say, this is the most I've enjoyed a round of disc golf since I started playing. Cypress Park made me throw every disc in my bag and tested every shot in my arsenal. Roller approaches, thumbers, annys, spikes… I threw everything in my arsenal and this place still schooled me; that said, I had a blast here!
Kenny and Patrick made the most of the lay of the land. The space is well utilized and there's something for everyone. Nice mix of par on the holes and a good variance in distances to the pins. #2 is a tight, short tunnel shot and #16 makes the finishing hole at Cliff Stephens look like a kiddie hole! Love the brand new Innova baskets.
I love the mix here. #2, #3, and #11 test your skills, #4 and #14 test your brains, and the last three test your arm.
The tees here are great; nice and long and really scuffed and rough; I'd bet these play great when they're damp. A lot of the pins offer up a tester for a pro but still have an easier line for an amateur.
There's plenty to do in this park besides disc golf. A huge beach area sits on the bay and there are biking and skating trails and picnic shelters.
Awesome use of the Florida foliage… Avoid the disc eating palm trees and saw palmettos at all costs!
Plenty of parking at the beach lot and the course is nice and open so you're not constantly running over other players on course. And a big practice/warm up area with a basket and benches.
Love the proximity to Tampa Airport; the sound and sight of those planes only a hundred feet above your head is awesome!
Cons: A few of the baskets are in close proximity to each other. We weren't sure which bucket as #1 until we were on top of it. A lot of the holes are blind as well (tee signs will fix this; none installed yet but I'm sure they're working on that.) Not sure about alternate pin positions either; didn't see any extra mounts on course.
Some of the underbrush is a little overgrown and some of the dead palm fronds still need to be removed. A little cleanup will open up some more lines and ease up the difficulty a touch.
The course doesn't return to the parking lot at all until you finish. Not an issue for me, but maybe for others. Also, we didn't see any water fountains on course, though we weren't looking very hard.
No tee signs as of yet. Hopefully these are coming. Navigation arrows under the baskets would also be helpful. The course map is helpful but it doesn't really give you the lay of the land. (If this course gets anything close to the amenities Taylor has, I'm giving Cypress Point a 5; the place is just that good.)
Ant hills are a major issue here. I don't know how much can be done about it; it's more just something to think about. And with the underbrush, long pants are already a good idea. 'Off' and sunblock are also musts; the longer holes have little shade, and insects are a problem in the woods.
No real on course seating save for some picnic tables between #8 and # 14.
#16, #17, and #18 go through a huge field that has a drainage pond in it. If you're playing following a storm, stay clear of the lowest bit of these fairways (right around #16's basket is where it's the worst.) The fairway for #16 also runs right along the parking lot for the industrial park, so watch the cars.
Other Thoughts: Really, the faults are minor. Kenny and Patrick outdid themselves in the layout of this course. It really is the most challenging course I've played, and I would put it ahead of Ed Medard in terms of difficulty. This is a day trip course for sure, especially with the beach locale and proximity to International Plaza and the Tampa Airport.
Hole notes:
#2 - Tight tunnel shot.
#3 - Short but blind tee shot that fades right; watch the rough and palms on the right close to the green.
#4 - It's really long but you can't run the green; there's a creek right behind the bucket, there's almost no green to hit, and that water is deep and rancid. Watch your approach.
#7 and #15 - It's easy to confuse these holes; they actually share a fairway. Make sure you're throwing from the right pad after #6; #7 is on the right, #15 is on the left.
#8 - Not sure you want to have to hop this fence. Stay in bounds.
#11 - The bucket is a bit blind from the tee and the green is really close to Cypress Street; don't miss long.
#12 - The dead tree in the fairway is infested with bees. It's clearly marked.
#16, #17, and #18 - These holes all share a huge open field for fairways, but #17's first bit of fairway and the approach to #16 go over a drainage pond. It's deeper than it looks and will probably be a big issue once rainy season starts.
Once this place is finished up, it will be the best course in Tampa Bay. It's that much of a challenge to play, but even someone with little experience should have fun here; it's tough, but nowhere near impossible. Make a day of it by hitting Picnic Island then shooting up Westshore Blvd. to play here. Big thanks to Kenny and Patrick for setting up an epic course!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    3/28/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: this course is a mixed bag. has everything you could ask for. any level of player can become a better player onthis course.
Cons: being a new course, it has not been manicured yet. this will change soon.
Other Thoughts: congrats to the champ.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.