Tampa, FL 
Cypress Point Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #17 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 608ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not a very interesting course

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: domromer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through some scenic palms.
Cons: No signage
hard to find your way around
course does not flow
Not an easy course to walk up and play
Other Thoughts: This course is fine if you play ti all the time and know where all the pads and pin are located. But if you are visiting I'd give this course a miss. As of right now it's a pain to navigate without signage and not interesting enough to make it worth while.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This Course Made My Friend Butthurt, Literally!

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A somewhat scenic, pro player style, coastal Florida course with a some positive aspects, but also a few cons.

The course zig-zags through a heavily wooded, grassy fairway, no rough to speak of, low lying area. Alot of the longer holes have open fairways, followed by well guarded pin placements. There is a nice mix of short and long holes, but the course definately leans to the longer side.

Nice concrete tee pads, and fresh Innova baskets.

Some interesting bumpy, rolling terrain features.
Cons: The first thing that you will notice is the almost constant, extremely loud noise of airplanes coming out of the Tampa Int Airport.

Only one set of tee pads. Could use a set of Am tees IMO.

Almost complete lack of tee/next tee signs. Print The map, and get a guide if playing for the 1st time. You can see multiple baskets on some of the tees, and on some of the tees you can only see a basket that you don't want to throw too.

There is alot of standing water on this course, I'm guessing usually this time of year (summer). Be prepared to get wet feet.

And standing water could lead to mosquito infestations.

Other Thoughts: The course is new, so I reserve the right to edit this review as revisions to the course are made.Get another set of tees, some decent sinage, work on the drainage issue a little, and I think this course will proly be a 4 in the future.

As of right now, I prefer Medard and Taylor, for the Tampa area courses. But I could see the pro level players liking this course a little more than I did, as you can air it out here.

Oh, how did my friend get butthurt? He was teeing off at around hole 16, and we were running out of steam a little bit, and he sprained a glute trying to go large. "Dude, the Climo course made you butthurt!" Lol!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big arm of love

2-4    6/6/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: set right on Tampa Bay near the airport, some very long holes and some mid length and some short holes, a very good mix of shots needed. This course can be open and can be quite technical, I heard Ken Climo designed this course so be prepared for a challenge (multiple multiple world champ what do you expect) the first time I played this course it was pretty much dry the next time there was knee deep water on 1, 17, 17 and 18.
Cons: except for the water issue and the lack of signage on each hole not to many to speak of
Other Thoughts: play it when there has not been a lot of rain or you will be wet. Bring your Icy Hot you will need it after you huck this long monster (thanks Ken) When we played there bugs were incredible a couple of mosquitoes tried to pick up one of my discs and fly away with it. they were horrible bring your DEET. the fire ants were also pretty terrible other than that it is a super course that I will play over and over

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful park, poor design

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Jabberwocky
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course was the beautiful park. Very scenic setting. The baskets were also very nice and marked well. Bugs were very non existent.
Cons: I know it's a new park but signage is really needed to help navigate course. The layout requires crisscrossing of holes. The low canopy would have been nice for a challenging course if the numerous palm trees weren't so good at trapping discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course has a lot of potential. It is a challenging course that was a lot of fun to play. Because of crisscrossing holes however, tournaments might be too congested to be enjoyable to play. Also the low canopy of Palm trees will slow play as people try to retrieve discs which can be a challenge with Palm trees. Fun, beautiful course, that needs a little more work to get a 4 star rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice park

1    6/3/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: WAR813
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
Pros: - Great length.
- Great use of space.
- Great shot diversity.
- Nice park.
- Great tee pads.
Cons: - Got stung by some wasps trying to retrieve my putter from under some palms.
- Needs more trash cans.
- Needs better signage.
Other Thoughts: I really loved that the course had some par 4's and 5's. I'm sure that trashcans and signage issues will be handled as the course is still pretty new.

Great new course

1    6/20/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Rich.Carrozza
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like courses that require a big arm and this one makes you bring it. Huge hyper and anhyzer bombs to be had here. Tee pads were perfect length and baskets are pristine. A wonderful, beautiful course in a nice park.
Cons: Not much to say that hasn't already been said. No hole signs or next tee directional signs. Few trash cans. A few benches have been put it which is nice and the killer bees are gone. Grass needs to be mowed a little, but other than that it was a great course. Tons of fun.
Other Thoughts: Super fun. Big long shots. Plenty of Palm trees to thread between which always is a nice challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pro Level Course

1    5/5/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads and signage! Very thoughtful layout that takes advantage of every bit of topography available. The trees provide a canopy to shoot under on most holes, while a few are wide open. I had to use every disc, shot and trick i had on this course, and was spent at the end. There's even a proper practice basket that is segregated from the rest. Plenty of shade to be found on this course to give you a break from the sun. I believe hole 5 was my favorite, 550ish through to the back of the course, with a water side basket that might make you rethink your putt
Cons: Not much to really complain about, but giving it an honest review: there are a lot of other park users that are friendly, but could delay your throw on a few holes. The landing planes are fun to watch while warming up, but distracting when playing. The reality is, the only things keeping this course from getting a 5 is lack of benches, trashcans, and next tee directional signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a gem! I would bring the bug spray during the rainy season, but other than that, bomb on !

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great one in Tampa

1    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: BeauRoch
Played: 48  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout. Need to be able to play a wide variety of shots of varying lengths. Course is in good shape and was fun to play.
Cons: Need to get those killer bees out of there...they affect three holes. Needs signage.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tough (but fair) Course

1    4/9/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set-up in a nice park. Holes are a mixture of open & woods (mostly Palm trees). Even though there is major length here, there are some Birdies to be had for Amateurs, & Intermediate players alike. There are Restrooms near the Beach area, which is not too far from the 1st tee. The flow of the course is good, and I did not get lost from hole to hole.Nice lay-out. Tee pads are cement & are just the right length. Baskets are new Disc Catchers. I like the par 66 set-up. Tough but fair.
Cons: Okay. This did not bother me, but other players, maybe. Just above the 1st tee is the southern runway approach for Tampa airport. It's loud & often, so be prepared.(after #1, I really didn't notice the Jets until #16, 17, & 18) .The course is new and I won't be too critical of lack of signs, trash cans & benches. I'm sure most of these things will be addressed in the future. Bet this place gets "Buggy" during the rainy season. Bring th' Deet!
Other Thoughts: Not having a big arm I thought this would be a punishing course to play, but it wasn't. The longer holes seemed to have nice "landing areas" to set up the next shot.The big open shots are #1, 16, 17 & 18. The fairways were a bit rough and unmowed, but the course is new. I'm sure this will change over time. The Back 9 (w/ the exception of 16, 17, & 18) weaves around a Palm tree forest w good sight lines. Nice mixture of Hyzer & Anhyzer throughout the course. It's just nice to have a new course to play in the T.B. area. Thanks to Ken Climo & Patrick King ( & all involved) for your work on this new DGC!! I'll be back, for sure.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I got killed but loved every minute of it

1    4/6/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Rustyham
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has lots of weird shots, and few that are straight. You'll be using just about every disc in your bag. The holes that are par 5 are not obnoxiously long, they go through a fun array of terrain and obstacles. There is plenty of shade and some beautiful flora.
Cons: Since it is still new, I hope these issues are remedied: There are no trash cans or benches, except for on hole 1. There is a colony of Africanized Killer Bees in the back nine, but at least it's blocked off with caution tape. Too bad it's in the middle of a fairway. Also beware the quicksand on hole 18- Stay away from the fairway, as this bog is right in the middle of it.
Other Thoughts: Despite being killed by this course, I had so much fun playing it. Great elevation (Florida elevation), great trees to work with- narrow ones in the fairway and bushy ones in the rough.
I will definitely be back to improve my score.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.