Fletcher, NC 
Crookston DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 9/2009)
5 / 510ft.   5 / --   3 / 510ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Fairway to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ehh

1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: MattyIce
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fairways are kept short.....that's it
Cons: If your disc even thinks about going int the rough, you might as well kiss it goodbye. Bushes and bushes of poison ivy and honey suckle make it pretty much impossible to find or retrieve discs.
Everything is way to close to the walking trails, and most of the people in this park are older so they have no idea what you are doing or do they care at all.
Other Thoughts: very sub par course for the potential that this park probably has.
Whoever designed it took no account as to keeping it away from high traffic areas I.e. throwing over roads, over picnic tables, over walking paths, or next to areas that you aren't allowed to go in if your discs do stray.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Layout

1    10/10/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the baskets and tee pads. It was easy to follow the layout after hole 2. The grass is kept short also. The tee signs are good for a general idea of the hole. It is also a good course to practice rollers on because of the open fairways with well trimmed grass.
Cons: The layout is to close to the walking trails for most of the course. Hole 3 even has a basket in the middle of a walking path. I had to keep checking to be sure no one was walking towards the basket on that hole and it is by far the worst. You can't see far up the trail from the tee and runner could easily end up in the path of your disc after you have thrown. The hazard wasn't marked well for number 7 either. The water on the left side of the hole is deep and muddy and you can't see any thing past the surface. The course is lacking in variety, but this is because they don't have much to work with because of the walking trails through the woods.
Other Thoughts: I think that if layout was tweaked on a few holes the course would be safer for the walkers and runners using the trails. I don't see the course getting more than nine holes because it seems that it is restricted to the back half of the park and the park isn't very large. I still can't grasp how hole 3 was approved by the park. Maybe the walking trail came later but I doubt it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A giant football field with a disc golf course.

2-4    6/29/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is at Fletcher state park and it's very pretty. It's fair because for recreational players because three of the holes are considered par 5's for recreational players. If you are one of those players who throws over 400+. You probably would want to play the real way considering every hole a par 3.
-#9 is definitely the best on the course. Although I don't like the wetlands at Brevard, I really like that they are to the left of the fairway. Once you go past the wetlands, the fairway goes left. On days after heavy rains, the wetlands are gone and it's fun to try to bomb you drive over the pond.
-Every hole allows you to bomb a big drive and that is fun. You will possibly have your longest birdie hole here. This is good for a warm up round for the big arm players.
-Grass is cut and the fairways are groomed.
-There are trashcans on the course and bathrooms as well.
Cons: -In my opinion, I think the tees that are just rocks are not good.
-The holes are kinda long, there is a lot more land and if some holes get a bit shortened. The course would be better and could possibly be 18.
-I did say in the pros the grass is cut, but on the greens it's tall and you could lose a disc.
-All the holes are too open and long, there are no ace runs or wooded holes. No variety here either, it's all flat and open and long.
-Hole 3 is too close to the parking lot. It needs to be moved and there are cars parked in front of #3's tee. Sidearm or you will have to pay for car repairment.
-The mando on 8 on the telephone pole needs to go. On 8 you throw right of it. Forget the stupid mando, the woods are a bit thick. They share a mando. Stupid idea, don't play it. A good example of a good mando are the ones at Bradley Center in Gastonia. If you want to know an awful mando, you can find it here.
-There are people driving past hole #2 looking for a parking spot.
-Lack of wooded holes as well. This is just a course basically to have long drive challenges or something which it would be fun for.
-The course has the running trail on it. Watch out for runners who are in the way.
Other Thoughts: Crookston isn't a bad course but it needs major improvement. I did like hole #9 a lot and found that probably as the best on the course. There are a few decent holes here and they do allow big drives which you can't go wrong with on open holes. I don't think a disc golf course should be this long and be on a state park. People eat lunch here, they jog, fish, play baseball or football or play on they playground. The course takes a lot of space and some holes should be shortened.

Hole by hole.
#1. Decent starting hole, it's pretty long and you go over the pavement after about 200' feet and small trees are in play past the pavement. This is a pretty good starting hole.
#2. A fail, there are cars roaming by and people jog on this hole it's also close to the road. Should be shortened and moved closer to #3's tee.
#3. Bad tee design but the basket location isn't bad. Grass should be cut on the green though. Sidearm since it goes right. Needs to be shorter because hitting a car is possible.
#4. Not bad but needs to be cleared out to the right and on the green. Sidearm to the left. The green goes a bit right.
#5. Very tough once you get to the green, it's got trees around it. The hole does allow a big drive but it's not a pleasing one.
#6. It's long but has no challenge. It's way too open but it's not too bad. You can bomb a nice big one out there.
#7. Awful, the mando has got to go. It would be a great hole without it.
#8. Would have been good if it didn't have the mando, you go right of it and if it goes badly right, you are in the overgrowth. Besides that, the hole is okay and the wetlands are to the left.
#9. Great finishing hole. The design is brilliant. The wetlands make it a nice challenging hole, but you can still bomb a nice drive.

Crookston is good for the big arms but don't go there if you are a beginner. The course is for at least intermediates. I mainly agree with heelboycraig's review. Go to Richmond. I hear it's much better and actually has hills. Or Waynesville, it has a bunch a cool teeshots. This is completely flat and long. I have no problem with the distance but none of the holes are fun except #9. It ends very well. James Nichols has many better courses than this.
-This course is too open. It felt like playing on a football field. No signature holes here, maybe #9 when there is a recent rainfall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 An afterthought

2-4    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of opportunities to throw your max D drivers, in fact this might be the best course in town for testing your distance drives. The hole layouts are a mixed bag.The ones that aren't totally open field are actually pretty good. Holes 2, 3, and 9 stand out as quality holes.
Cons: The biggest con is that the course is designed around a very popular walking trail. This means constant waits to throw, and usually playing a hole really wide to avoid the people who hang out in the middle of the fairway. The tee pad for 1 is hard to find but since it's totally open and flat it doesn't really matter where you throw from.

If you can't drive at least 300', this course is not going to be very fun for you. There's no elevation change at all, which makes for an easy round at the expense of variety.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if they planted a few trees in the MASSIVE open field the course plays around and moved the baskets there. As it is it's frustrating to have to share the course with a LOT of walkers. There is definitely enough land here that this should not be an issue, but thanks to poor design it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ouch... My Back!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Wow! Not many pros. I suppose it's a pro that the course is here. I mean, a course is better than no course - right?
- The only real pro I can see (other than mentioned above) is this would be a great place to practice your distance.
Cons:
- This course is too long for its own good. I think only one hole was under 400' and there were at least four over 500'. If you like this... I guess this is a pro. But, to the average man it's monotonous bomb after monotonous bomb... half the time even your second shots are bombs.
- Another reviewer mentioned this would be a good course for beginners... No Way! Besides being too long and spoiling their interest, the "little" alcoves the baskets are placed in are surrounded by thick disc eating vegetation most of which is poison ivy.
- You can't even practice rollers cause the grass is so thick.
- There is a serious lack of birdie-able holes here. I might have only had one reasonable birdie chance the whole round.
- The basket placement requires you to throw near the non-disc golfing public... over picnic tables, near a hiking trail, along the parking lot, again near the hiking trail. Not only do you have to wait to shoot, it's dangerous.
Other Thoughts:
- I wish the designer would have thought about the quality of shots and not just the distance of shots. So much more could have been done here. A much more fun, user friendly, safer, 18 hole course could have been designed... too bad.
- Did I mention my back - OUCH!
- My Score: +4

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent but unexciting

1    3/29/2007   8/21/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park; well maintained, good facilities.
Cons: Very little variety- holes mostly go counter-clockwise around edge of park so there's a lot with trees on the right, wide open on the left and/or most of the fairway itself. Flat. Not much challenge on most holes other than distance- any obstacles are usually around where the basket is placed, with most of the fairway wide open.
Other Thoughts: There are at least some friendly locals here; I lost a disc in the pond on hole 9 and somebody fished it out and called me to come get it less than 10 minutes after I left- good thing since I was visiting from out-of-state! Still, I won't go back next time I visit (this course is about a half-hour from my parents' house); there's just not much to this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.