Fletcher, NC 
Crookston DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9
5 / 510ft.   3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee (after heavy rain)

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Course Does Not Suit Park

1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 121  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: -I really was a fan of the hole design on most holes. They are all pretty long holes that force you to work for a 3. Despite being a mostly open course, they did a good job with what they had to work with.
-Despite being old single-chain DISCatchers, the baskets caught surprisingly well.
-The course was very well-manicured. The grass looked great and was cut short.
Cons: -My first advice to anyone playing this course is to either print or draw the course map as the layout and course transitions can be long and confusing.
-This course is in the middle of a busy park. Lots of runners, dog walkers, family reunions, etc.
-All of the designated undisturbed areas make losing a disc not only possible, but probable if you throw into the rough. Many holes set you up to lose a disc in this fashion as they are tucked into the tree line surrounded on all sides by terrible rough.
-The mando on hole8 is beyond absurd. To protect hole 7's tee they direct you to throw right at the much busier walking path and the rough covered in poison ivy.
-Speaking of poison ivy, this course had more of it than any course I have ever played and that's saying something. All the more reason to keep it on the fairway!
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a reasonable course with some fun throws that allow you to rip some long drives. The course just doesn't suit the park. Being a busy community park I would generally expect a pitch-n-putt type course with some nice ace runs, but that was not the case at all. I really feel like with the land they had available they could've installed 18 solid holes instead of 9 solid holes spaced out between long transitions.

Wear long Pants!

2-4    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Bowman101
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great long shots that really test your arm
Cons: Poison ivy everywhere.
Difficult to find tees
Near parking lots
Near playgrounds
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to me because its a new course and it allowed me to drive it as far as I can. The holes are almost always around 3-400 feet away from the tees, which are extremely hard to find. Also you better be great with your drives because the woods full of poison ivy. Another thing is that the holes are near/on a walking path and a picnic area, so at one time a woman came down and sat in the middle of the fairway which was difficult. Even though it only has nine holes, I only parred the second one. I ended up with nine over when I played because of the difficulty and there was a strong wind. My advice when playing is to play with all of But overall I had a fun time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ok course

5+    7/5/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: ncjay
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's an ok course, nothing spectacular here. Some long drives straight across open fields so you get to really see what your disc can do.
Cons: Very flat and wide open. the wind can come into play alot. also a very popular park so there is alot of time spent waiting on walkers/joggers and bicycles.
Other Thoughts: close to home so i get to play it alot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Let 'er rip

2/10/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: dherdt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want long holes that reward distance, this is it. Some pins are protected by woods and shrubs, but all of the tees have wide open fairways. Great for the big arm.
Cons: Very flat and not a lot of variety. Jogging track in play on many of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park ~ Okay Course

3/21/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This Course is set in a really nice park. There are several holes where you can really let it rip.
Cons: The holes weren't marked very well at all. We spent a lot of time trying to find tees and there aren't many obstacles so the wind can really come into play. The park is also pretty busy (we were there on a Friday afternoon) and we spent a lot of time waiting for folks to be out of the way.
Other Thoughts: If I lived near this course I would play it fairly often but i didn't feel it was worth the trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.