Fletcher, NC 
Crookston DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6
4 / 427ft.   3 / 427ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 An afterthought

2-4    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of opportunities to throw your max D drivers, in fact this might be the best course in town for testing your distance drives. The hole layouts are a mixed bag.The ones that aren't totally open field are actually pretty good. Holes 2, 3, and 9 stand out as quality holes.
Cons: The biggest con is that the course is designed around a very popular walking trail. This means constant waits to throw, and usually playing a hole really wide to avoid the people who hang out in the middle of the fairway. The tee pad for 1 is hard to find but since it's totally open and flat it doesn't really matter where you throw from.

If you can't drive at least 300', this course is not going to be very fun for you. There's no elevation change at all, which makes for an easy round at the expense of variety.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if they planted a few trees in the MASSIVE open field the course plays around and moved the baskets there. As it is it's frustrating to have to share the course with a LOT of walkers. There is definitely enough land here that this should not be an issue, but thanks to poor design it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ouch... My Back!

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 327  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Wow! Not many pros. I suppose it's a pro that the course is here. I mean, a course is better than no course - right?
- The only real pro I can see (other than mentioned above) is this would be a great place to practice your distance.
Cons:
- This course is too long for its own good. I think only one hole was under 400' and there were at least four over 500'. If you like this... I guess this is a pro. But, to the average man it's monotonous bomb after monotonous bomb... half the time even your second shots are bombs.
- Another reviewer mentioned this would be a good course for beginners... No Way! Besides being too long and spoiling their interest, the "little" alcoves the baskets are placed in are surrounded by thick disc eating vegetation most of which is poison ivy.
- You can't even practice rollers cause the grass is so thick.
- There is a serious lack of birdie-able holes here. I might have only had one reasonable birdie chance the whole round.
- The basket placement requires you to throw near the non-disc golfing public... over picnic tables, near a hiking trail, along the parking lot, again near the hiking trail. Not only do you have to wait to shoot, it's dangerous.
Other Thoughts:
- I wish the designer would have thought about the quality of shots and not just the distance of shots. So much more could have been done here. A much more fun, user friendly, safer, 18 hole course could have been designed... too bad.
- Did I mention my back - OUCH!
- My Score: +4

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Course

5+    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: jhalvor5
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wide open field always leaves a safe play.
Very good beginner course.
(Keep in mind the Par 3 is for Professionals. There is a recreational par of 39, not 27)
Cons: First two tees not well marked.
Can be boring with a lack of variety from hole to hole.
Non-pro par is not marked, not every hole is a par 3.
Beware of families picnicing on the second hole.
Other Thoughts: Holes are hard to hit, as they're in alcoves in the trees.
Flat field floods when it rains a bunch, as the current conditions are.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners luck

5+    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: masonrph2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2009
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Safe options on every hole. Risk/reward decisions on 5 holes. Water, woods, and OB lead to strategy but not too penal. Variety of distances 330' to 540'.
Cons: Weaves through walking trails and near a soccer field. This leads to some distractions. Very flat so puddling in field an issue after heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: A good course for beginners. Nice baskets. Free.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = i Don't throw 500'

2-4    7/12/2005   4/20/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 371  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.1 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- D
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Decent but unexciting

1    3/29/2007   8/21/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park; well maintained, good facilities.
Cons: Very little variety- holes mostly go counter-clockwise around edge of park so there's a lot with trees on the right, wide open on the left and/or most of the fairway itself. Flat. Not much challenge on most holes other than distance- any obstacles are usually around where the basket is placed, with most of the fairway wide open.
Other Thoughts: There are at least some friendly locals here; I lost a disc in the pond on hole 9 and somebody fished it out and called me to come get it less than 10 minutes after I left- good thing since I was visiting from out-of-state! Still, I won't go back next time I visit (this course is about a half-hour from my parents' house); there's just not much to this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My first

5+    12/27/2006   8/20/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 91  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2008
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good open spaces for long wide throws. Nice park setting with water fountains & air-conditioned bathrooms. 9 holes play fast. Pond & OB come into play on many holes.
Cons: No benches. No elevation. This course is a little boring compared to others in the area.
Other Thoughts: This is where I first played disc golf! This is a multi-use facilty so there are often picknickers, joggers, soccer players etc. around certain baskets. If the weather is nice it will be especially crowded.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let 'er rip

2/10/2008   4/22/2008
Review By: dherdt
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want long holes that reward distance, this is it. Some pins are protected by woods and shrubs, but all of the tees have wide open fairways. Great for the big arm.
Cons: Very flat and not a lot of variety. Jogging track in play on many of the holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park ~ Okay Course

3/21/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This Course is set in a really nice park. There are several holes where you can really let it rip.
Cons: The holes weren't marked very well at all. We spent a lot of time trying to find tees and there aren't many obstacles so the wind can really come into play. The park is also pretty busy (we were there on a Friday afternoon) and we spent a lot of time waiting for folks to be out of the way.
Other Thoughts: If I lived near this course I would play it fairly often but i didn't feel it was worth the trip.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.