Disc Golf Store
Fletcher, NC 
Crookston DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8
5 / 540ft.   5 / --   3 / 540ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Your drive must pass to the right of the two (mando) poles



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wear long Pants!

2-4    10/11/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Bowman101
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Great long shots that really test your arm
clean
Cons: Poison ivy everywhere.
Difficult to find tees
Near parking lots
Near playgrounds
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to me because its a new course and it allowed me to drive it as far as I can. The holes are almost always around 3-400 feet away from the tees, which are extremely hard to find. Also you better be great with your drives because the woods full of poison ivy. Another thing is that the holes are near/on a walking path and a picnic area, so at one time a woman came down and sat in the middle of the fairway which was difficult. Even though it only has nine holes, I only parred the second one. I ended up with nine over when I played because of the difficulty and there was a strong wind. My advice when playing is to play with all of But overall I had a fun time.

Busy park but still fun

1    7/16/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: open layout (not counting trails)
distance shots
varying left/right baskets
Cons: Planned out around walking trails
crowded/busy
shots are basically the same
long shots (for those who cant throw far)
if i recall tees were non-existent
hard to find hole 2 tee off
wet/bugs
Other Thoughts: Over all i liked this course, if it was on a day that it wasnt busy.

This would probably be a home course for me if i lived in the area. Great for practicing throws as the layout is pretty open for most of the holes.

Like i said tho, downside is it the trails/paths. People were everywere.

Ehh

1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: MattyIce
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fairways are kept short.....that's it
Cons: If your disc even thinks about going int the rough, you might as well kiss it goodbye. Bushes and bushes of poison ivy and honey suckle make it pretty much impossible to find or retrieve discs.
Everything is way to close to the walking trails, and most of the people in this park are older so they have no idea what you are doing or do they care at all.
Other Thoughts: very sub par course for the potential that this park probably has.
Whoever designed it took no account as to keeping it away from high traffic areas I.e. throwing over roads, over picnic tables, over walking paths, or next to areas that you aren't allowed to go in if your discs do stray.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bad Layout

1    10/10/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the baskets and tee pads. It was easy to follow the layout after hole 2. The grass is kept short also. The tee signs are good for a general idea of the hole. It is also a good course to practice rollers on because of the open fairways with well trimmed grass.
Cons: The layout is to close to the walking trails for most of the course. Hole 3 even has a basket in the middle of a walking path. I had to keep checking to be sure no one was walking towards the basket on that hole and it is by far the worst. You can't see far up the trail from the tee and runner could easily end up in the path of your disc after you have thrown. The hazard wasn't marked well for number 7 either. The water on the left side of the hole is deep and muddy and you can't see any thing past the surface. The course is lacking in variety, but this is because they don't have much to work with because of the walking trails through the woods.
Other Thoughts: I think that if layout was tweaked on a few holes the course would be safer for the walkers and runners using the trails. I don't see the course getting more than nine holes because it seems that it is restricted to the back half of the park and the park isn't very large. I still can't grasp how hole 3 was approved by the park. Maybe the walking trail came later but I doubt it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A giant football field with a disc golf course.

2-4    6/29/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is at Fletcher state park and it's very pretty. It's fair because for recreational players because three of the holes are considered par 5's for recreational players. If you are one of those players who throws over 400+. You probably would want to play the real way considering every hole a par 3.
-#9 is definitely the best on the course. Although I don't like the wetlands at Brevard, I really like that they are to the left of the fairway. Once you go past the wetlands, the fairway goes left. On days after heavy rains, the wetlands are gone and it's fun to try to bomb you drive over the pond.
-Every hole allows you to bomb a big drive and that is fun. You will possibly have your longest birdie hole here. This is good for a warm up round for the big arm players.
-Grass is cut and the fairways are groomed.
-There are trashcans on the course and bathrooms as well.
Cons: -In my opinion, I think the tees that are just rocks are not good.
-The holes are kinda long, there is a lot more land and if some holes get a bit shortened. The course would be better and could possibly be 18.
-I did say in the pros the grass is cut, but on the greens it's tall and you could lose a disc.
-All the holes are too open and long, there are no ace runs or wooded holes. No variety here either, it's all flat and open and long.
-Hole 3 is too close to the parking lot. It needs to be moved and there are cars parked in front of #3's tee. Sidearm or you will have to pay for car repairment.
-The mando on 8 on the telephone pole needs to go. On 8 you throw right of it. Forget the stupid mando, the woods are a bit thick. They share a mando. Stupid idea, don't play it. A good example of a good mando are the ones at Bradley Center in Gastonia. If you want to know an awful mando, you can find it here.
-There are people driving past hole #2 looking for a parking spot.
-Lack of wooded holes as well. This is just a course basically to have long drive challenges or something which it would be fun for.
-The course has the running trail on it. Watch out for runners who are in the way.
Other Thoughts: Crookston isn't a bad course but it needs major improvement. I did like hole #9 a lot and found that probably as the best on the course. There are a few decent holes here and they do allow big drives which you can't go wrong with on open holes. I don't think a disc golf course should be this long and be on a state park. People eat lunch here, they jog, fish, play baseball or football or play on they playground. The course takes a lot of space and some holes should be shortened.

Hole by hole.
#1. Decent starting hole, it's pretty long and you go over the pavement after about 200' feet and small trees are in play past the pavement. This is a pretty good starting hole.
#2. A fail, there are cars roaming by and people jog on this hole it's also close to the road. Should be shortened and moved closer to #3's tee.
#3. Bad tee design but the basket location isn't bad. Grass should be cut on the green though. Sidearm since it goes right. Needs to be shorter because hitting a car is possible.
#4. Not bad but needs to be cleared out to the right and on the green. Sidearm to the left. The green goes a bit right.
#5. Very tough once you get to the green, it's got trees around it. The hole does allow a big drive but it's not a pleasing one.
#6. It's long but has no challenge. It's way too open but it's not too bad. You can bomb a nice big one out there.
#7. Awful, the mando has got to go. It would be a great hole without it.
#8. Would have been good if it didn't have the mando, you go right of it and if it goes badly right, you are in the overgrowth. Besides that, the hole is okay and the wetlands are to the left.
#9. Great finishing hole. The design is brilliant. The wetlands make it a nice challenging hole, but you can still bomb a nice drive.

Crookston is good for the big arms but don't go there if you are a beginner. The course is for at least intermediates. I mainly agree with heelboycraig's review. Go to Richmond. I hear it's much better and actually has hills. Or Waynesville, it has a bunch a cool teeshots. This is completely flat and long. I have no problem with the distance but none of the holes are fun except #9. It ends very well. James Nichols has many better courses than this.
-This course is too open. It felt like playing on a football field. No signature holes here, maybe #9 when there is a recent rainfall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 42  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: i enjoyed this course. it was fairly well marked, although i didnt know how to get to the 9th hole. this is a good course to unleash some long drives. the course is located in the back of a nice park, with a bit of human traffic so be careful.
Cons: with wide open courses you get wind, which can be a pain. other than that i really liked this course.
Other Thoughts: watch out for the small pond (wetlands) on hole 9. its pretty nasty.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    12/2/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Other Thoughts: Not much to say here that hasn't already been said. Too much unrealized potential here.

This course is not worth playing for me. Even if it were the closest course I'd probably drive further to play a better course such as Richmond Hill or Black Mountain.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ok course

5+    7/5/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: ncjay
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's an ok course, nothing spectacular here. Some long drives straight across open fields so you get to really see what your disc can do.
Cons: Very flat and wide open. the wind can come into play alot. also a very popular park so there is alot of time spent waiting on walkers/joggers and bicycles.
Other Thoughts: close to home so i get to play it alot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted potential

1    10/28/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park with some very good basket placements. The course layout unfortunately kills what could, and should, be a very good 9-holer.
- Great piece of land for a 9-hole course. Holes are all mostly open, with minimal trees coming into play on a few holes.
- Crookston has some great, challenging pin placements, with trees or wetlands playing good obstacles. Out of 9 holes, 6 or 7 have very challenging putting areas.
- Plenty of open space to unleash some big drives. Course definitely favors big arms. Average hole length is 441, with none less than 300 feet, meaning average throwers aren't going to see many birdie 2 putts. You can still get plenty of 3s with smart throwing.
- Great course to empty your bag throwing drives. Plenty of room, open and flat space make it ideal to work on adding distance.
- Course is in the far back of a great city park. It plays mostly around a walking trail, and also near a wetland. By wetland, they mean small pond, but whatever. Anything to be eco-friendly.
- It's a very clean and well maintained park. My wife even commended how clean the bathrooms are. Course has lots of amenities - ball fields, walking trails, picnic shelters, nice creek running along side the park.
Cons: This is one of the most disappointing courses I've ever played. It should be so much better than it is, and I blame that on 2 major flaws. Unfortunately for the course, these 2 issues come in to play on just about every single hole.
- The first is the length. It's not that the course is too long for me, but that it's too long for it's layout. You hear in football when a punter outkicks his coverage, negating a longer-than-normal punt. And that's essentially Crookston's problem. Sometimes less (distance) is more. I'll focus on holes #5 & 7 as my chief examples.
- Both holes have good distance (482 & 420 respectively), with legitimately challenging basket placements - #5 behind some trees, #7 nestled in an opening, surrounded by trees. These would both be difficult baskets to get close to from long range. So, why does the course make these holes too long that nobody is going to be going for them with a driver? If these holes were in the 300 foot range, these holes become reachable for most players, and suddenly become huge risk/reward holes. You might get close to the basket, and have a birdie putt, but you might also hit, or get stuck behind a tree, making it a difficult 2nd shot. By making these holes too long, the 300 foot thrower is now going for these tough baskets from a shorter, easier range (100 - 150 feet). It's much easier to get your disc close from shorter range, meaning the advantage goes from the course to the player.
- The other major flaw with the course is that it runs along the walking path, at times presenting unsafe, dangerous shots. For example, the "official" wide, walking trail runs behind the baskets for #2 - 4 (as you can see on the course map), but there's the walking trail that people actually use, which is in front of these 2 baskets, and also comes into play on #5, 7 & 8. On #4 you're throwing a blind shot over the walking trail, to a dogleg right basket, meaning your shot will cross back over the trail. On #2, you're also throwing down a fairway with the parking lot/road on the left, and benches, horseshoe pits, walking trail on the right/the most direct route. I played the course on a Thursday afternoon, and even with that, had to wait on 3 different holes for the few people on the walking trail. Again, if holes were shortened/moved, some of this would be eliminated.
- The mando on #8 is terrible, possibly the worst I've seen. As you can see in one of the pics, you're throwing through a narrow "fairway", mando pole on left, thick overgrowth on right. I could be ok with that because it prevents you from throwing back at #7 tee. My issue is the second mando pole you're supposed to throw around. After my tee shot, my second shot was maybe 150 feet, straight to the basket. But, I had to throw out of the way, around an unnecessary second mando. Mandos are only good if they're needed, not these artificial, "let's make it tougher" ones.
- The tee for #9 was way too close to the tall brush around the wetlands. You have to throw at angle on the tee, or off the tee to go around the brush.
- Not a beginner-friendly course at all. Most local park, 9-holers try to reach out to first-timers and/or families. I'd hope there aren't many, or any, people who play this as their first course, and get turned off to the game.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I don't know if I was more frustrated with the problems or with the fact there are simple solutions to all of them. Making each hole about 100 feet too long, and/or "challenging" (possibly unsafe) gave me the sense of someone wanting to have the longest course in the area. Having the best possible course would have been a much better option. Judging by the other reviews, I'm not alone in my disappointment with the course.
- #7 could have been another great hole without the mandos. Move the tee further down the path, past the first mando pole. Imagine the fun of pulling out a driver, knowing if your shot goes long, it's in the pond/thick brush.
- Fair or unfair, I played this course seeing the potential every hole had. I compared each hole to what it could have been.
- If you want to see a good example of making an open course fair and challenging drive 30 minutes to Brevard, and play that 18-holer.
- This course could have been one of the top 2 or 3 nine-holers I've played, instead, it's one of the top 2 or 3 most disappointing courses I've played. I feel bad for the locals who have this rated 2.5 or higher. This isn't anywhere close to an average course.
- I wish there was a 1.25 rating. 1.5 is way too high for this course, so it's getting a 1.0. It's sad that with so much possibility, this is the best they could do. On the bright side, at least this course has more room for improvement than most courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 An afterthought

2-4    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of opportunities to throw your max D drivers, in fact this might be the best course in town for testing your distance drives. The hole layouts are a mixed bag.The ones that aren't totally open field are actually pretty good. Holes 2, 3, and 9 stand out as quality holes.
Cons: The biggest con is that the course is designed around a very popular walking trail. This means constant waits to throw, and usually playing a hole really wide to avoid the people who hang out in the middle of the fairway. The tee pad for 1 is hard to find but since it's totally open and flat it doesn't really matter where you throw from.

If you can't drive at least 300', this course is not going to be very fun for you. There's no elevation change at all, which makes for an easy round at the expense of variety.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if they planted a few trees in the MASSIVE open field the course plays around and moved the baskets there. As it is it's frustrating to have to share the course with a LOT of walkers. There is definitely enough land here that this should not be an issue, but thanks to poor design it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.