Evergreen Park, IL 
50 Acre Park Share
Uploaded By: Kainbelmont Hole #4 (Taken 8/2016)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Another Chicago Area Course In A Lovely Park!

1    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On my trip thus far, I have discovered quite a few nice 18 hole courses, all in beautiful city park. And 50 Acre Park has some great hills to work with.

50 Acre Course features two nice large concrete pads for every hole except # 4. The pads have the hole number etched at the front of the pad. The Longs seemed to play 50-100 feet longer than the regular holes. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow ring. The tee signs give you the normal info; hole #, par, distance and a route to the basket.

I felt that the front 9 had the more creative and enjoyable holes. # 6 is a very pretty hole. It's 285' from the Longs but plays through some trees as well as crossing a small valley.

# 8 is kinda interesting. Playing the Longs, you're teeing from atop the sledding hill (I'm from Washington State, we don't build sledding hills) and the basket was set behind the trees fairly close to the bog. With the wind gusting, this was semi-scary throw.

# 10 from the Longs (again atop the sledding hill) is a really fun bomb around the large tree at the bottom.

The back nine has some long, tough throws which will benefit those players with bigger arms. 11, 12, 14, 15, 16 and 18 are all 400-550'.

The listed pars are generous making it fairly easy for even a recreational type player to shoot under par, even from the Longs.
Cons: Someone wrote of losing 2-3 holes when the sledding hill is in use. My feeling is why the hell would you want to be playing disc golf when it's snowing? You Midwesterners are tougher than me, by a long shot.

I found the back nine to be repetitive and maybe just long for appearances.

The wind was definetly a factor today.

Some benches would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It sits in a beautiful park, has enough fun downhills throws to keep me interested and is easy to navigate. Compares favorable with Katherine Legge DGC. I just know about wanting to play in the snow. That's hardcore!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

15 minutes from Midway Airport

1    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 208  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pleasant, park style course in a quiet neighborhood.
Disc play: Basically wide open with many well placed trees. Pretty much every hole presents multiple lines, encouraging some degree of decision making.
+ Elevation figures prominently on pretty much all of the first 12 holes or so. Many fairways play up or down hill to significantly change effective hole length, with several others playing over troughs and gullies. Lots of baskets on slopes create tricky putts and approaches - really augments risk/reward. The latter part of the course flattens and stretches things out a bit.
+ Distances range from Ace Runs to bombers with a pretty good variety therein. Open design allows for several lines, without forcing any one in particular.
+ Precision tee shots will likely result in birdies (assuming you have the distance), but aren't really required for pars.
+Dual tees: shorts are quite appropriate for Novice/ Rec players, longs are suitable for Intermediate, and should be fun (albeit not truly challenging) for Advanced players. Not at all intended to challenge Pro level players.

Nothing but grass and trees - absolutely no underbrush whatsoever... zero. The only threat of disc loss is where the ponds come into play (significant on 8 and 18, only in extremely unfortunate instances on 7 &17).

Flow/Navigation: Flows well from hole to hole once you know your way around. Finding the next hole can be a bit frustrating on a course this open - sometimes the closest tee isn't the next hole. Would really benefit from painting a spoke on the basket pointing you toward the next tee; red for shorts, whites longs - cheap yet effective.

Equipment: All brand new and in perfect shape at this point. Concrete tees are large with hole # etched at the front of each tee. Signs at each tee show distance, pin location and a few select trees to help determine which pin to target to when a couple are in view, as well as aiding course navigation. Yellow Innova baskets are easy to spot from all tees and you can often make out the hole # from many of the short tees to avoid throwing at the wrong pin.

Memorable holes:
+ 8 is a bit of a gut check, deuce or die hole. A sizeable pond looms left of the hole, with the pin perched atop a berm - an easily reachable Ace Run from either tee (for the appropriate skill level). RHBH hyzer lines can sail past into the swampy pond. RHFH shots that get flippy or a RHBH annie line that "stables up" can also cost you a disc. Factor in some wind, and I promise you'll take some time thinking about how to play your tee shot.
+ 18 is a fun finishing hole - nice water carry over a very scenic pond that's not too intimidating for newbs from the short tee, and a reasonably challenging for experienced players from the long tee.

Aesthetics: Nice and green... very much a pleasant walk in a city park type of course. Nary a speck of trash.

Extras: Trash cans every few holes (but no benches). Bathroom near parking.
Cons:
Gets repetitive. No variety in terms of fairway type or feel... none.

Long/short tees differ primarily in distance, although they are often positioned at different elevations and occasionally bring different trees into play. In all fairness, given the openess of the landscape, there's not much the designers could do to create significanty different looks without scattering tees around the course in a way that would be confusing to navigate, and possibly kill flow.

A few tees are close enough that bad, wind aided shots from the previous hole could result in shouts of "FORE!"

Open layout makes recovery easy - perhaps too easy. Some would list that under pros, but I think bad shots should affect your score.

I'm not sure how much non-DG traffic occurs here, but there's really nothing isolating the course at all. It's wide open enough avoid most problems... if people use courtesy and communication. However, several signs advising people to beware of flying discs seem in order, especially since several of the longs play 400-500+ft. What we're doing that far away isn't on most pedestrians' radar.
Other Thoughts: 50 Acre is essentially a one trick pony: quite open, avoid some well placed trees... but it performs that trick well. If you're looking for a course that really forces shot shaping by rewarding great placement while punishing errors, keep driving.

It's a well-executed course that some will find a blast to play while others find it kinda boring. Regardless which camp you're in, there's no denying it gets a bit repetitive and lacks variety, so I can't rate it excellent. That said, I appreciate what it does well and give high marks to the designer(s) for maximizing the DG potential this plot of land offers. Wonderful use of natural elements: trees, elevation and water are all used effectively to create several interesting holes and a reasonable challenge.

If not for all the elevation and a couple of really good water shots, this course would be pretty ordinary... 2.5, perhaps 2.75. Widespread use of elevation really adds to the fun factor, and the ponds create some intensity and eye appeal. Throw in a 2nd set of tees to accommodate a range of skills, and you have a very good course despite it's lack of variety (without which I can't award a 4.0).

Such a stark contrast (in nearly every conceivable way) from nearby Summit that the two would really make an excellent Yin-Yang combo.
You can all but guarantee wind will be a factor here.
Possible to shoot well below par if you're hitting putts...or well above if you're getting nasty rolls.
Lack of dense woods means no protection from the sun on hot days - sunscreen is your friend.
Fenced in dog park near 2nd hole.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Wind Practice!

1    8/4/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 86  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Every hole has two, level, and textured tee pads. Both have their own tee sign with fairly accurate distances. Some holes are the same shot but longer, others are different shots completely. A good mix in my opinion.

Navigation: Other than locating hole one, the course was extremely straightforward and the walks between holes weren't too lengthy. This was my first time out and did not get lost.

Basket Placement: A few baskets were on hillsides, a hole next to a water hazard on a ridge, open, behind trees, etc. This gives some good variety in attacking for the birdie, or playing it safe to avoid OB.

Baskets Themselves: DisCatcher Pros, besides the MachX's these are the best baskets on the market.

Park Maintenance: Park is well maintained, although the grass was pretty long at the time. This hindered rollers on the longer holes and there were no playable skips.
Cons: Shot Variety: We played the blues, and most drives off the tee seemed to be the same shot. Especially on the Par 4's, and even the holes through the tree lines. All long holes were pretty much big anny backhands for a RHBH player. There were a few other shots, but they were also mainly RHBH hyzers with a midrange. A little underwhelming.

Lack of Trees and Obstacles: The City of Evergreen cut down way too many of the beautiful mature oak trees that lined the old golf course. This not only is the reason for the lack of shot variety, but also allows the wind to howl across the course. Sometimes the wind was almost ridiculous.

Lack of Awareness: Other park users did not seem to be informed of the disc golf course. Runners and walkers walking through the course without any care in the world. There needs to be more sinage informing park users of the disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: The course is pretty awesome being so close to Chicago. Besides the Joliet/Channahon/Lockport courses, this is the best course on the Southside hands down. Mokena is pretty comparable to this one, but has much more difficult fairways and some tighter wooded shots, which this course lacked. I am a transported Southsider living in Raleigh, NC. The courses down here are much different, and I did appreciate the chance to bomb my Destroyers and Maxes into headwinds and tailwinds. Be sure to bring your max D for the blue tees, next time I am in town I will be sure to play the whites! This course is definitely worth checking out, but I rate it a 3.5. This would be a 3.0 course, but being where it is geographically it is definitely deserving of a 3.5. Without shot variety, and at least a couple tight fairways, this course is not deserving of a higher rating. This course will definitely be a good one for a PDGA tourney. Be sure to check it out if you're in the area!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Still under construction

1    4/29/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I will re do this review when it is complete... Just wanted to give it a rating. It is playable now but missing signage and tee boxes.
Cons: Again don't rate this review it will be redone later
Other Thoughts: This is going to be one of the best courses within a half hour of Chicago

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.