La Porte, CO 
Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
awesome putter course!

1    8/16/2013   9/28/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short but tight, challenging but fair
-baskets in good condition
-ace runs!
-perfect course for school kids to learn the game
-variety of lines in the tight woods and a little minor elevation on a couple holes
Cons: -natural tees in poor condition, at least you won't need a run up
-very short, only one hole over 200'
-closed during school hours
Other Thoughts: This is the most fun course I've played on a school campus. There are tight woods and a variety of lines. You really need to be able to work your putter to get your deuces. Most holes have a ceiling that you have to work under and narrow fairways to navigate.

This is a perfect course for a school campus. It's not too long and even though there are tight fairways it shouldn't be too hard to find discs here. It's easy to run through two rounds here and if you're driving up from Ft. Collins you'll probably want to. Not worth going out of the way but a surprising treat if you're in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice change to the driving range courses in Ft. Collins

5+    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout for a small area. They maximized the small amount of room they had. The shortest shots have the most obstacles, and while this is definitely an ace run course, you can't pretend that an ace is a given. It is really pretty area, and you would think you are a lot longer from town with the forresty atmosphere. The shade will be great for day rounds in mid summer.
Cons: It is quite short... no getting around that. The only hole I had to pull anything longer than my Roc out for was 9... and it's still only around a 250 ft. hole. The holes are a little squeezed together, but it isn't the worst thing, since you get 9 holes out of it. The barbed wire is rough, it is pretty close to one of the baskets as well.
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 3 because it serves its purpose. It isn't going to stretch your arm, but what it lacks in distance, it more than makes up for in technical requirement. You can walk away with a bad round just as easily as you can a great round. This course will sharpen your mid-range game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short but Fun

5+    1/12/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: Fresh Hound
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun, technical, short course. If your looking for your first eagle this is the course to do it.
Cons: Cant play during school hours, expect to spend some time looking for your disk. Especially around dusk.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Putt Putt

5+    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: fantomhockey
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as close as disc golf gets to a putt putt course. Unless we're throwing into a clown's mouth, that would be closer. Seriously though, bring your straightest midrange and your most reliable putter and you'll be able to shoot the course under par. Like other reviewers have said, this is an ace race course. You may want a fairway driver for hole 9, but my Lat64 Mace has gotten me more than a few birdies on it.

As a single, the course can be played in under 15 minutes which gives plenty of opportunity to try and make up for missed opportunities on your previous 9. 3-4 rounds can easily be played in the time it takes to play 18 at a longer course like Edora. Just be ready if you're in a group of 3+ to let some folks play through.
Cons: Bugs. There's a creek that can come into play on 6 (if you go too far left of the basket) 7 and 8 (if you shank one off a tree). The creek itself is shallow and clear (UPDATE- the creek can get murky, I put my Lat64 Mace in, dove in after it and couldn't recover it, but the next day the water was nice and clear again and I got it back) so you don't need to be worried about losing your brightly colored disc (use a brightly colored disc). The real problem is this creek acting like a love shack for blood sucking insects. Get your spray on.

Our first time we had trouble finding hole 4 (from hole three walk to the bike path and turn left, the tee-off will be on your right directly across from the tee-off for hole 9) and hole 5 (follow the arrow underneath basket #4 to the bike path and turn left. Walking down the path pass the first opening back into the woods and take the second, follow this around to the right and you'll walk right onto the tee-off for hole 5) Everything else is really easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: Mind the school hours. Right now it's summer so it's open season, but come August the course doesn't open until after 3:00pm.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/26/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun short course, some real cool technical shots, but you won't need anything more than a midrange for this course. Very accessibly. Real quick play, could play through the course in 15 minutes if your trying to play fast.
Cons: It's at a school so you can't play during school hours. Poor dirt tee boxes. Could use a couple signs.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course, great beginner course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Putter

1    10/13/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ace runs!!!!!!!! I hit chains twice in 2 rounds and was playing conservative, you could have an ace race here with no adjustments.
-Great for teaching beginners but the lines can be challenging to a more experienced player as well as very fun going for aces.
-Baskets are good
-Layout is easy to follow
-Probably won't lose a disc unless you throw into the water and even that isn't too bad looking
-Baskets are well placed to be fair but challenging
-It is at a school so it was clean, mowed, and safe
-A little bit of elevation, makes it a little more interesting.
-A good mix of holes that required shots straight, right, and left. You have to be accurate with a putter to guarantee yourself a two.
Cons: -Natural tees are pretty bad, if you needed a run up they would give you trouble
-Not a lot of variation in length
-You can sometimes see more than one basket. Go for the shorter one, it is probably right!
-There were a lot of people playing when I was there and that was late in the evening. This course could get crowded at peak times.
-Limited signage- not really needed.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that you have to take into context. It is at a middle school and is great for teaching middle schoolers the game. At the same time, it was very fun for me to run aces and see how many birdies I could get. If you are experienced you don't need anything but a putter except maybe for the last hole. I threw a Fuse at that one. I had a great time playing this course twice and would like to play more if it wasn't getting too dark and I wasn't using my black Aviar. It had a very high fun factor for me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How Many Aces Do You Have?

2-4    7/16/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's amazing how much fun a course this short can be. Only # 9 is over 200' and it's probably only 225'. But the design is outstanding and the fun factor is off the charts and that is proven by the amount of use this course gets. It's busy with families, teens and players just having fun. No-one's taking things real serious. The teepads are natural, the signs are very basic and the baskets are just fine here. Each and every hole is an ACE waiting to happen. The course record has to be a negative - 10, I'm guessing.
Cons: The fact that it's on school property and should not played during school hours. Knowing you won't need a driver here should now not be a Con, right? You don't need a run-up on any hole so the natural tees should be OK. I don't know about in wet weather?
Other Thoughts: Enjoy it. Go for those ACES! It's a great course to introduce someone to the game at. There's a reason all these people are playing here. You finish a round and just want to keep doing it again and again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small but mighty

1    6/8/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: Luke Francis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great practice for new players. A lot of putter action! And the course offers tons of tree hazards and even some water. A good challenge for beginners
Cons: Small course. Finish quickly. And with the exception of the 9th and final hole, no long distances.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play with friends. A good challenge. And hole 6 is an infamous "resting" point =)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Race to Chase an Ace

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an ace race if I have ever seen one! Holes 1-8 are hardly over 150 feet, and even hole 9 is not much over 200. Having said that, if you know what you're getting into this is a great course. This course is mainly putter/midrange practice… I use the term midrange lightly because I play the course using exclusively my vibram putter. But if you don't have much power you may need to bust out a mid-range a few times. If you are reasonably good you should be aiming to get a score under -3 your first time out. Every hole is an easy birdie if your first throw is on point. Since all holes are so short and reachable, pars are a given for players of almost all abilities.

While each hole is certainly an easy birdie, this course is AWESOME putter practice, and a great place to chase an ace! I hit chains twice (sadly no ace) on my second round here. While this is on a small plot of land, surprisingly every hole presents a different challenge and requires a different throw. Holes 4-8 are all reasonably small corridors through gorgeous deciduous forest: Each of these "fairways" clearly indicate the throw you will need, and I loved the fact that I could throw my putter 9 times (from the tee) and threw the same shot only a couple of times. I do want to be clear about the "different throws" though… most were simple variations of subtle lefts, rights, and straight aways. There were few hyzer or anhyzer shots necessary… but there is certainly room to try them if you want.

Finally this place only takes between 10-15 minutes to play when nobody is infront of you. To some this is a con… but yet again you have to know what you're getting into. This course allows you 4 rounds of putter practice, and 36 chances to get an ace in an hour. Not to mention it goes through a gorgeous tiny little stretch of woods next to a creek. I can imagine this place sees many-an ace from locals.
Cons: This place is on school grounds and can only be played after hours. I certainly don't like public courses that have restrictions on play times. This course is also fairly confusing for a first timer considering how small it is. Most holes have a wooden post with a number next to them, but a few of the numbers are smudged and hard to read. The actual tees are denoted with a semi-rotten piece of wood in the ground in front of a patch of dirt. The tees themselves are not that bad (some are a bit short), but simply finding where they start is sometimes an issue.

TIPS FOR FIRST TIMERS: To get to hole one you must walk through the gate next to the parking area. Take a right, follow the bush on your left, and take a left at the end of it. Tee one is in front of you. To get to hole 4, stand at hole 3 basket and look at the bike path. Walk to the bike path, take a left, and walk about 30 feet. Hole 4 is a small corridor on your right. To get to hole 5, continue walking straight past hole 4 basket. You will see another basket, and the hole 5 tee is a little bit past this basket to the right.
Other Thoughts: This place is nice considering the amount of land they had to work with… they did their best. Go out there and chase an ace! I shot a -7 my second round here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While this course is very short, it does make you throw a number of shots. I usually play with just a putter, could even reach all of the holes with a lid (9 may be a streach)
This is a great place to work on your short game, and getting out of trouble (if you don't manage to stay out of it).
Cons: While the course is great, it has become very little of a challenge for me, even the worst drives are usually easy enough par saves. As mentioned the tees are bad, but with the course this short, you never need more than a step to get where you are going, so tee's are unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the play, and a great place for a summer casual round (or 4).
Please pick up your trash, its really embarrassing that I usually clear at least a 6 pack's worth of beer cans off this MIDDLE SCHOOL grounds.
If they never trimmed the guardian tree down on hole 9 (it used to have 2 or 3 more trunks branching out right) I would almost consider a 3.5 rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.