Disc Golf Store
La Porte, CO 
Cache La Poudre Jr. High DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 What a Short Course Should be Like

2-4    8/14/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro is that this little course exceeds expectations on what little area it has to offer. Covered by ample old-growth trees and running along a shallow creek, it's truly a beautiful wooded area. Besides hole 9, everything is set fairly far from the school, so most of the time you forget your even on school property.

Even thought the holes are short they are very tight, using the landscape and fauna to force you to be accurate with your shots. If you want to work improving your mid-range game, this is the perfect course for you. It's also the perfect course for new players based on the length and lack of crowds. I took out two people who had never thrown a disc before, and by the end of the first round they wanted to play again. By the end of the second round they wanted to know where they could by discs so they could get into the sport. Tight and short, but fair and beautiful made for a fantastic first experience for them.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #7; #8
Cons: Cache La Poudre has some obvious negatives that any skill level should take into account before heading out. First, it's a short nine hole course and without any distance markings. My guess is that 8 out of 9 holes are less than 200 feet. Second, it's located at a school, so playing during school hours is surely frowned upon. However, with the majority of the course is in the woods, so if you didn't have to park on school property, no one would probably even know you were there.

Besides the two big negatives for most players, there are other small issues to note. There are minor flow issues between holes four and five if you've never played before - (just keep walking) and hole 6 pin plays precariously close to a barbed wire fence making even an accurate shot hazardous. The pins are in average condition, and the tees are natural, so wet days may be an issue. There are no real facilities, so pack it in and pack it out.

WORST HOLE/S: #2
Other Thoughts: In what I would consider the best "short course" I have ever played, Cache La Poudre Junior High is a gem in the foothills. Granted, there are obvious negatives that would ever prevent it from attaining a high rating, but that doesn't mean you won't enjoy the heck out of this course. The tight treed area along the trees makes you feel more lost in the forest than on a piece of school property. It simply makes me wish I could have grown up with a place like this at my disposal.

Now more than ever - I believe the rating is fair and just but doesn't accurately reflect my enjoyment factor for this course. After sitting behind the multiple parties at the heavily used and very popular Edora Park, being able to run through this course in 20 minutes was fantastic. And then yes, you enjoy playing again since you had so much fun the first time. Newbies to the sport, short players off the tee, and true amateurs will find this the perfect course to learn on, grow on, and become a more accurate player.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The most fun I have had playing

2-4    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course I could play 6 times through in the same day. Even though the holes are short the trees make for some very interesting shots. Coming from Denver up to Laporte this course was a 180 degree turn from the mostly flat and open courses I have played down in Denver. IF you hit Edora in the morning make sure you play this course. This course gives you practice on shot selection by far more than 90% of the courses I have played.
Cons: While not giving this course a 5 you would think there were cons. The course is short yes and the tee pads are natural yes. Both of these things add to its charm. The barbed wire fence that runs near holes 7 & 8 seems excessive. The water running near theses holes look nasty and I am glad a few trees saved me.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for anyone who is looking to improve their shot selection techniques. Even though it is short and small you will have fun playing here no matter what. We played in the early Spring time so the trees and vines are not in full bloom. When all the vegetation is high it will add another degree of difficulty.

Make wise decisions about the way you throw here. One bad toss can cause you to end up behind a tree.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am relatively new to the game so this is a great course to get out and practice my short and mid-range game. It is a very wooded course so it is a very technical 9 hole. I enjoy playing this course . It's relatively a quick course so you can play multiple rounds in a short amount of time.
Cons: In the summer and fall there are a LOT of mosquitos due to the creek that runs through the course and the abundance of trees. So wear long sleeves and pants or make sure to have bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course nestled in Laporte, Co just NW of Fort Collins. After the last hole there is a nice wide open field to just throw your drivers. This is a fun technical course that goes quick. If you have a bad shot you might end up with 5 or 6 shots, on a short hole, due to all the trees. This course provides diversity to the other 9 holes around Fort Collins.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun course!

1    2/18/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and learning to control short mid-range drives through moderately wooded fairways. Tall trees scatter the course making accuracy necessary. You will only need a couple discs if not just a putter to play this course. It takes less than half an hour to play a round with a friend.
Cons: The course is on school property which limits playing time to weekends and weekdays after 2:30pm. You have to carry bug repellent during late spring and summer to avoid the infestation of mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: This is simply a fun and easy course in the woods. Try making up safari holes to complete 18 if there aren't players occupying the holes. Also, CLP is a good shield from windy days if you don't like the wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ditto

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What can I say that hasn't been said? It is a very short course that is great for short throw practice. You know when you have a bad drive and need a perfect throw to get out of trouble? There are several holes at Cache la Poudre that feel like that. It was dry, warm, and mosquito-free when we played. There were a lot of players there in large groups since Edora had a tournament. I liked that all of the players on every hole were in such close proximity to each other. You could see every throw and hear every conversation. The whole course is like that until nine which is the longest hole at about 200 feet. I never had anything out of my bag but a mid-range driver and a putter. We played two rounds in about 40 minutes.
Cons: No tee pads, but who cares? Some holes were so short, they could fit in my house!

There is a fence along the West side of the course that could be a bother, but it never affected our game.

There is a stream with gross, still water on the far West side. Don't go in there.
Other Thoughts: Fun, fun, fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 CLP

5+    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: originalcracker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has to be my favorite 9 hole course in Fort Collins. It is insanely short, but it allows you think about different lines to approach. This is an approach practice course. If you go there, don't bring anything other than a putter and maybe a midrange. As I have said in all my other reviews of FTC courses, GREAT SAFARI course. Hardly anyone is ever there. Plays SUPER FAST, can walk a round in 5-8 minutes.
Cons: Plays SUPER FAST. Tee pads are to be desired. Some sort of map is needed for newbies.
Other Thoughts: This is a hidden jewel in FTC. This course is just a blast. Don't go to this course if you are looking for some major challenge, but it is the most wooded course in FTC. Great pit stop if you are on your way up to Redfeather Lakes Courses (Sundance and Beaver Meadows)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

5+    9/8/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tons of trees, mostly towering. Lots of underbrush/high grass. Accuracy very important. Not crowded. This course is in a cottonwood forest with a creek running through and in play on 6,7,8. The shade trees offer a great respite from the summer heat. Tees are now marked after not being for the first few years.
Cons: Mosquitoes!!!!! Shorter than average course length. Leave drivers in bag. This course is located on school property and open for play after school hours. You can get in an afternoon round almost anytime of year, though. I attended this school and remember kids having bad rashes from time to time so I'm pretty sure there is poison ivy in there somewhere, so be cautious when looking for stray discs.
Other Thoughts: Great course for working on accuracy shots, and shaping shots. Good for developing short game. Some people use this course for speed rounds/conditioning.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 quick

5+    4/1/2008   4/1/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine holes, heavily wooded, some blind spots and sort. The course follows a short stretch of Pudre River. Out here in the west trees are rare so its fun to bash a tree from time to time. A round of nine will go by fast. You do not have to wait near as much as near by Edora. You can play 36 here in the time it takes you to play 9 in Edora.
Cons: Its on school property so you cannot play during school hours. Watch out for the bike path and keep an eye on your disc. The course can be hard to find your first time. There is not much, if any, opportunity for throwing long.
Other Thoughts: I doubt there would ever be a tournament here but if you want to get a quick round in, or make ace runs in tight woods, this is your place. This might be my favorite nine hole course because of how fast a round can be played in.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best for Junior High kids and beginners

7/18/2007   1/23/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Mach III baskets were good. Hole 8 has a scenic creek running down the right side. Hole 5 has a tree hanging across the fairway that adds more challenge. Most of the terrain has nice trees, but the fairways are still pretty open. Hole 9 has nice grass.
Cons: The tees were uneven dirt and some had roots and rocks. Tees 1 and 5 are hard to find, and basket 8 is hard to see from the tee. The course is flat; the greatest elevation change is 3 ft. Since some holes didn't have lengths listed I paced them off, and I estimate the course length at 1400 ft.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Red. Borderline Red or Green. It's an easier Red or more challenging Green, but I gave the nod to Red..

Hole lengths range from 115-230 ft; only one hole is longer than 200 ft, though. This short course is a good way to introduce Jr. High kids to disc golf. It's most suitable for Juniors and beginners. Since it's on school property, you can only play the course after 3:00 p.m. on school days.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.