Aurora, IN 
Cedar Sentinels Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #9 (Taken 4/2014)
4 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
If you want to truly "get away"

1    3/30/2016   4/2/2016
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 49  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good baskets.
I was a big fan of the teepads (squares that are more like stepping stones all placed together.) There's probably more texture to them than regular concrete and I think it would also make for easier repairs to simply replace the damaged square than to have to fix an entire solid concrete pad.
If you don't want to deal with people you are probably in the right place. Somewhere around #11 or #12 I heard a car door shut, but other than that the only evidence I heard of another person was my playing partner.
Several picnic tables at teepads (although there seemed to be less on the last few holes where you're more tired and more in need....and someone put the one on one of the holes IN the fairway--hoping that wasn't a player, but rather someone wandering through who didn't know any better moved it.)
Good change in elevation (not so good if you're in less-than-adequate condition like me, though.) If you've played Patoka Lake I think you might consider this Patoka's Little Brother, as the terrain and woods are very similar.
Cons: Seems to be a lot of holes close together (parallel fairways,) that could become a problem if there are tournaments.
An overabundance of the nastiest thorn trees on the planet.
There is a grassy area I assume can be used for parking but if it's wet at all I don't think you'd want to chance it. Otherwise, you have to park down the road a bit.
While the signs were generally helpful (and having distances marked for landmarks in the fairway is a nice touch,) I felt like a few didn't accurately represent the true angle of doglegs or have the basket marked in the correct spot.)
While I mentioned not having to deal with people, you also are in the middle of nowhere. You don't just turn off the main road to get there, you turn off the road that turned off the main road. Bring what you need because not only is it not there, neither are any stores that might have it.
Other Thoughts: #1-200' Fairly easy start. While there is a bit of a hyzer route for righties (or my lefty sidearm,) most people should be able to just go straight at it. A simple flick should give you an ace run.
#2 287' There's a few thin trees blocking a direct shot so hang it to the right and let it come back left.
#3 343'. Interesting hole. You might need to just lay up about halfway there, as the fairway turns a left dogleg and goes downhill.
#4 207' Uphill with about 3 trees in a line from the bottom right of the fairway to pretty much right in front of the basket to keep a righty from throwing a hyzer (unless maybe he goes really high with it.) Big dogs could probably throw a tomahawk or thumber.
#5 235' Downhill from the tee, then a dogleg right.
#6 205' Short hole, pretty much a straight-on shot, but uphill enough that the basket is not visible.
#7 262' Down & up, turns to the right.
#8 220' Narrow line through tall, thin trees. Basket is a bit uphill and you'll need your throw to break off to the left at the end.
#9 332' Plays like an "S". Fairway is on an incline from the right side up to the left. About 140 or 150 off the tee you'll need to turn left, with the opposite action needed at the top of the hill.
#10 323' Downhill through a narrow gap, then back uphill after it opens back up a bit more. You'll need to go slightly right at the bottom of the hill and then bring it back left on the incline.
#11 290' Felt like one of the more open holes since maybe the first couple as far as the fairway is concerned but there are trees on either side if you miss. Turns left.
#12 343' Narrow fairway, slopes from the left down to the right. If you've played at Iroquois in Louisville and are familiar with the "Tiger Woods" hole, this is very similar with the incline going the opposite direction.
#13 300' Sort of a sweeping turn going downhill then back uphill to the right
# 14 254' Fairly flat, open dogleg left. This could be an ace run. Hopefully when you play it there won't be a picnic table sitting in the middle of the fairway about 100' from the teepad.
#15 242' Pretty flat & fairly open, but you'll need to avoid trying much of a hyzer due to trees on the right side of the fairway not too far off the pad.
#16 338' A bit uphill, turns to the left. Fairway is not overly wide, but there is a decent landing area.
#17 402' Plays longer than listed distance because most people will need to lay up off the tee. A bit uphill and probably no more than 130 or 140' off the pad the fairway turns right. Don't cut it short because there is a fence that's OB (and runs the length of the right side of the fairway.)
#18 244' Pretty straight shot but you'll have to work it a bit to the right toward the end. I was hoping for a skip, which seems like the best way to work it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Deep in the Woods

1    10/16/2015   10/16/2015
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course fairways were mowed to a good height

The tee pad were awesome. First time on that type! Fantastic idea!

Navigation wasn't an issue. Arrows and red tape on tree was a really nice touch.

You could park on the grass very close to the first tee and it had a nice practice basket. Baskets were Discatchers and seemed to be brand new.

I liked the layout of the course. It forces you to play some different shots. Laying up on par 3's isn't always a bad idea here.

Nice use in change of elevation!

I did notice that there were picnic tables and benches on several holes!
Cons: The rough is brutal. You will find briars and 4 inch long thorns. You won't just walk into the rough and pick up your disc.

Some of the cedars were on the edge of difficulty. It was a windy day and having to play anny's over the cedar trees became very difficult to control. And as stated above... you don't want to be in the rough.
Other Thoughts: This place is a real nice grass roots type of course. The distances aren't that long, but don't be fooled. Most of the holes seems to play longer than you'd think. It was obvious to see that someone had put some work into getting the fairways in good shape on the landscaping from hole to hole. Even though it is heavily wooded, it was easy to follow the clues provided to find the next hole. You WILL need to control you disc to score well here! We enjoyed our round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Progress in the works

2-4    9/20/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: obeedave
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome tee pads! I am going to say that first so I don't repeat it too many times.
Love the woods and the elevation changes at this course.
You need every shot in the book here except maybe a huge arm. (good for me)
About time this part of the Tri-State got a course in.
Cons: The rough is rough.
Needs permanent signage.
Some fairways are very close to each other.
Other Thoughts: For the most part everything in the cons section is fixable and expected on a course of this age.
Hats off to all the volunteers as they have made huge progress in a short amount of time. Like to see more events next year.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Where was bsu12345 playing?

2-4    9/15/2014   11/15/2014
Review By: Alex_Sarringhaus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the perfect place to get far away from the hectic city life and relax amongst nature. It has the best tee pads in the tri-state, brand new baskets, tons of elevation, tight lines, challenging holes, ace runs, and a dedicated volunteer group that takes care of the course.
Cons: No open holes, everything is wooded. Despite it being a public park, disc golf is the only thing here right now and the parking lot isn't graveled yet. Get off the fairway and it is rough. Not as rough as it used to be, but you can still find briar patches with a bad enough throw.
Other Thoughts: Future improvements will continue to come as the volunteers have time and energy. Would be nice to see a league out here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out

5+    10/18/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: bsu12345
Played: 57  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 11/14/2014
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course.
Very wooded.
Cons: Almost been hit from discs coming from other fairways multiples times. I was playing hole 17 and some through a drive off hole 5 right into me. Also I was on hole 14 another day and almost got hit in the head by someone throwing on hole 9 ( hole 10s teepad is close too for the difficulty of hole 9)
Other Thoughts: Be careful and watch for other ppl throwing into your fairways.
Great piece of land.
Also I would not call this an intermediate course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Over the hills and through the woods!!

1    9/14/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: Chainchaser
Played: 41  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro for us is that this is a wooded course. Even though we are not that great we love the woods so this course gives us exactly what we wanted. This course has great teepads and uses the land in a great way to make it a very technical course.
The elevation changes definitely add to this course and makes it that more challenging.
Cons: Needs to be broken in. The rough was super rough and definitely disc eating monster. I don't mind the rough and know it is part of the game but some spots were just crazy. This course for now is probably better played when it dies down from the cold or early spring.
Needs closer parking because it kind of felt like we were going to be road kill targets for the locals flying by going 50-60 MPH. I have seen that this is in the plans so the sooner the better.
Rough is definitely rough so for now stay on the fairways.
Felt one or two holes could use some trimming because it seemed that unless you have a big arm you have to throw down to a spot then back up to the basket. I wanting to say hole 8 but I could be wrong.
Other Thoughts: Overall we had a blast here. This was a fun and challenging course. The lay out was fine and we never felt that we were lost going from the basket to the next tee. It will definitely be a course that we will visit again and again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf desert no more!

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 319  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots and plenty of elevation.
Best teepads in the Tri-State!!!
Tight and technical.
Different routes (don't be afraid to go over the top!).
Placement shot player will be rewarded.
Tons of wildlife to be seen.
Temporary tee signs posted on all the holes.
Field is available to park in next to the course now!
Cons: No girls in bikinis driving golf carts serving beer!
Briars galore (we will trim some but not all).
Too many branches (yeah, we are still trimming).
Lots of overgrowth if you get off the fairway.
No gravel in parking lot yet.
No grip it and rip it holes (well maybe your second shot on hole 17).
Other Thoughts: This course would take much longer to become reality without the help of these volunteers:

Steve Walker & Dearborn County Parks
Tony Vincent
Kevin Vincent
Jimmy Vincent
Jeff Armstrong

Please thank them if you ever run into them.

It took 3 years to finally convince a park to build a course in southeastern Indiana. Most of the park departments I contacted are not supportive to disc golf. So, the success of disc golf in this area depends on this course and the behavior of its patrons. Please be mindful of this.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fun, technical, and much needed - appreciated!

5+    10/12/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 267  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2014
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [Fully updated review as of the Inaugural Dearborn County Open 10/12/14] The first public course in what has until now been a disc golf desert in SE Indiana, now boasts a sheltered kiosk where you are encouraged to sign in (and show the Indiana parks in the area that courses here are played and wanted), picnic tables in the clearing at the start, as well as throughout the course (some are oak, so please take good care of these treasures!), a port-a potty, trash and recycling barrels, and some of the largest, flush-to the ground, all-season teepads in the region. Personally, I think this is the way to go for tees: box-framed, interlocking pavers. There is new parking available in the level corner of the field nearest the start of the course, which, if we respect it, the farmer who owns the lease is allowing the parks to use. The clearing done just this year of the rough along the fairly tight fairways, and the use of timbers to cover and mark some of the many sinkholes has been a Herculean effort, and is much appreciated!

18 (+1) brand-new Innova DisCatcher baskets, often situated just blind off the tee, and finishing with occasionally tricky greens at the end of rolling, turning fairways often defined by the numerous cedars spaced throughout this wooded acreage between a large farm field and Little Hogan creek (downslope to the west of the course). There are eight shorter holes ranging from 187 to 267 feet, but six relatively longer ones ranging from 328 to 388 feet. No monster bomb shots out here: you will be challenged more by the technical line shaping than the need for big 'D'.

The latest revision of the signage is really, really nice: each hole has a map with major obstacles and landing zones depicted, and there are often measurements to some of the more prominent features. Each sign also indicates the path to the next tee, so check these out. And the paths are marked by red arrows on the baskets and orange ribbon on the trees, but the course flow is actually pretty intuitive after you've gotten around once. The course has a pretty fair mix of left to right, straight, and right to left holes, but as a predominantly rhbh player, I appreciated the number of fade shots you get coming down the home stretch. The design is clever, using the available elevation and trees to create lines of flight accessible to the Intermediate disc golfer, and likely pretty good practice for the more advanced. Players at the recreational level and below who don't relish a challenge may get a little frustrated, as well as put some discs into the branches and rough.

So far, I'd have to say the 'signature holes' here are nine (a pretty brutally tight left-turning tee shot to a landing zone which will give you a long run into a tight little green at the end of the second lane), eleven (a gorgeous looking tee shot that can give you a fade left to the end of the fairway, but you'll have a small cluster of tree trunks between you and the basket), and seventeen (where you gun out through two cedars and still have to bend to the right to a straight 280' fairway, with the basket in the corner). But 12 & 13 tease you with the huge drop-off elevation to the west, and back across a tree-filled ravine, too.

In all, this course, and the nearby property, has some real potential as it 'weathers in', the rest of the park amenities are installed, and folks get out here to enjoy it.
Cons: Come prepared (long pants recommended) for the fact that there are still a lot of briars and thorns just off the fairways, but the intended flight path fairways are, well, 'fair'. One of the troublesome sink holes is just left of the third basket. You may still want to spray on some Deep Woods OFF, to guard against summer bugs (I picked up a couple of ticks in late April).

The course is situated in a somewhat remote area, just west of a crossroads-small town with nothing more than one gas station within a few miles, so you'll need to plan ahead for beverages and (running water) bathrooms for now.
Other Thoughts: Last words: I personally hope that a lot of disc golfers will make an effort to visit Cedar Sentinels, represent with class, and give feedback to Dearborn County parks, so that this corner of the state can look to it as a model for more courses in the region.

And don't be fooled into thinking that a 'shorter' course is going to be easy: After the first tourney out here, only one player has officially gone under a 53. You MUST control your shots at Cedar Sentinels, or you'll be searching the tall growth just off the fairway all day. Send spotters ahead. Better yet, disc down, and play this TIGHT course conservatively. The course will only get better and better as traffic and time wears it in. If you worry about your control, please plan on a visit after the leaves and undergrowth fall off in autumn.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.