LaPlata, MD 
Turkey Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: jrawk Hole #18 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 'B' Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great mix of woods and openness.

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: gregorco
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the tee pad post signs identifying the A & B basket positions and the signs directing you to the next holes, and the creative use of the grounds around the park for positioning the pads and baskets. Having the course loop around the park allows for three different places to park and start playing.
Cons: Very few cons. It would be convenient for tee pad post signs to have a moveable indicator to identify in which position the basket is currently set. There are some holes that happen to cross some spans of ground that don't soak up heavy rains very well, so your shoes will get wet or muddy walking to the basket. The other thing is that some of the wooded holes are shorter than expected, so birdies are not too difficult - if you can avoid the trees.
Other Thoughts: Very grateful that any new course nearby is constructed. Thank you for designing and providing yet another great course to enjoy in the region.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Great Turducken Hill

2-4    9/3/2014   5/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual color coded Discatcher baskets with nice red/blue concrete/flypad tees per hole. Practice basket, plentiful benches, trash cans, sweet tee signs and navigational signs make this course great for the first time visitor and is an excellent intro course to an area of Southern MD that has been devoid of any courses and should serve as a model for future professional course construction in the area. Good use of the ponds and the features of the more open holes in general. Nice mix of distances from ace runs to solid par 3 and a few generous par 4s. You get a chance to air out the disc on a few holes and it generally comes with some risk the further you try to go. Other holes will test your accuracy and hitting the line. Really enjoyed holes 3, 4, 6, 8, 15, 16, 17 and, hole 18 was fun to end with over the pond. The park and course was nicely manicured and easy on the eyes. Port-a-potty in the parking lot. Easy to find the course.
Cons: Nothing major that should keep anyone away, overall the course is fantastically playable. These are just some mentionables. The Waldorf Rt 5 / 301 area is prone to heavy DC area traffic. The course plays through some shared areas of the park and there are other park users that dgers need to be aware of and may need to wait for the hole to be clear. The fairways are generous for the most part, but the rough can be tough get into to retrieve discs even if you see it. Moderate chance of losing discs, more-so on the holes that play sneakily near water rather than the ones that play obviously over water. One big loop of 18 holes, bring H2O for the whole round. The only decent elevation on the course is in the woods, but the few holes in woods leave a bit to be desired. The flypads in the woods get slippery. A few of the short baskets get in the way of the long baskets and the short baskets are often much better placements than the longs. A couple of the long baskets really don't add anything to the course. Some of the actual basket placements are different from the tee sign and map. There a number of longish par 3s that are not going to provide much scoring separation or a reason to attempt going for a 2.

Hole 1 from the blue tee to long basket is going to yield a lot of 3s with little variation and basically a NAGS approach. Fenced in Dog park behind the basket, beware of dog poo around the basket. IMO reversing the hole would be better to tee close to the dog park playing away from it rather than throwing toward it. The walk transition from hole 1 to 2 is a little long especially for the first holes of a course.

Hole 2 playing between the practice fields is a bit weird and a little concerning if/when they get used.

Hole 3 plays over walking path and near practice field.

Hole 11 is more like short upshot than drive.

Hole 12 short basket is right in the way of the long basket.

Hole 13's blue tee unfortunately was not put it the correct position, and renders it borderline useless, which could have been a really sweet hole. Also on 13, currently without bridging/steps, getting into and across the creek to retrieve discs is difficult, and anyone using the blue tee will likely end up there unless you go at the wall of trees and hope or throw a layup. Poison ivy on 13 as well.

Hole 17's approach to the baskets is a bit narrow with good chance of losing a disc if it fades out or gets kicked toward the pond. The short basket is right in the way of the long basket.

If I were designing the course I actually would have reversed the entire course. Holes 18 and 4 backwards would make better use of the ponds for more risk vs reward, and many other holes would actually play better reversed IMO. The flow would also be better to start on hole 18 as the weird long transition would be avoided from hole 1 to 2.
Other Thoughts: In the world of great culinary creations, one triumph reigns supreme during the holidays: the Turducken. For those not intimately acquainted with this meat masterpiece, the Turducken consists of a de-boned chicken stuffed inside a de-boned duck stuffed inside a de-boned turkey. Each layer is padded with stuffing. This new beast is then prepared as a traditional turkey would be: roasted, braised, fried, grilled, barbecued, it's up to you. In its glory days, the Turducken was popularized by the great Chef Paul Prudhomme, but no one is exactly sure who invented it. We do know it originated in the specialty meat stores of South-Central Louisiana. There is some evidence that it may have found its American origins in a meal created by the unnamed owner of Corinne Dunbar's, a Creole restaurant in New Orleans.

While its past can be debated it's safe to say that the future of the bird-within-a-bird-within-a-bird is in America. Some chefs have taken the recipe and made it bigger by adding a small pig into the mix - it essentially swallows the Turducken and is then cooked. Others have tamed the monster and made it more elegant. The Quaduckant is the upscale version consisting of a quail stuffed in a duck stuffed in a pheasant. The fowl-based Frankenstein monster may be viewed as a symbol of American decadence, but its history suggests so much more, so eat up and know you're participating in a great tradition.

Speaking of food, I stopped in the Red Oak Bistro for some good beer and food, highly recommend this place! They are sponsors of the first tournament here, so I support those companies that support disc golf. They have a really nice selection of craft beers. I really liked the Schlafly Pale Ale, and the Jailhouse Double IPA. I had the crab tacos and they were delicious! The bartender is also an avid disc golfer so we had a lot to talk about between beer and disc golf!

Much like the Turducken, courses will have variations of the recipe that maybe bigger, longer, and stuffed with other ingredients that some will like better that others. Turkey Hill is stuffed with the all the variety and professional niceties you can ask for and reminds me of a slightly longer Scarboro Hills with less elevation, they are both more geared toward intermediate level players, and do a great job in that regard. I could sense the influence of John Houck in the design as I had some deja vu of Harry Myers in places, but shorter.

That said, I prefer playing more elevation and harder layouts in general. I also prefer playing through more mature wooded areas with a shaded canopy. Turkey Hill reminds me too much of Texas style golf with unshaded open fairways and thick rough to the sides. If I were to rate this course on the professional build and amenities alone I would rate it 4.5, but personally these niceties don't mean much to me in any of my reviews. The design is excellent for beginners to intermediate players to the short baskets and I can understand players of this level giving it a high rating, but IMO the course is lacking for more advanced to pro level players. Turkey Hill also reminds me of New Quarter in Williamsburg which is an excellent course I rated 4.0, but I have a hard time justifying giving Turkey Hill the same rating because it's not quite on the same level, I would give it a 3.75 rating if I could. At any rate I would definitely recommend Turkey Hill to anyone in the area looking for a great course to play, you will enjoy it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/7/2014 Designer Response by: jrawk
I prefer my Turducken deep fried in peanut oil, served with white wine and tarter sauce.

Thanks for the constructive review.

The practice fields are rarely used. The parks department is prepared to modifiy the facility without impacting the disc golf hole if the fields become an issue. Hole 4 and other recovery options will be opened up as we vet and fine tune the course. Hole 1 and 6 drainage is being addressed by the Parks Department. HOle 11 is planned for expansion beyond the ravine in the future. Hole 12A pin is awefully short, i agree. The B is much more diverse. Hole 13 concrete was set slightly out of original position as i understand it was necessary for a proper foundation. From the blue tee the throw is a down hill RHBH left fade shot to run along with the side of the hill, which is not a hard throw to execute. There is more room to navigate the fairway than it appears from the Tee. We will explore adding more signage to deter first time players from intentionally throwing accross the creek.

 don't get stuck in cat town

1    4/26/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: oiratno
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Has a good variety of holes, topography, and cover.
-Uses available land sensibly with other park users with minimal conflict of use.
-excellent park infrastructure and intuitive layout.
Pretty park
Cons: -didn't see any dedicated water/restrooms
-the water carries are interesting, but the final one is fairly aggressive, maybe too much so though there are closer tees that get around them.
-underbrush is thorny which might be a problem as the season progresses
Other Thoughts: The course felt raw, but it is brand new so that is to be expected. This was a worthwhile destination course. Definitely a good add to the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/30/2014 Designer Response by: prerube
There was a porto potty in the disc golf parking lot on the day you played as well as on holes 3 and 9. Calling a course raw on opening day when there is mulched trails, new signage, manicured fairways makes no sense. The walk up to 14 now has a brand new set of stairs.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.