Disc Golf Store
LaPlata, MD 
Turkey Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: neanderthal85   (Taken 9/2014)
Course Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Well planned course

2-4    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You really can't ask for much more in a disc golf course. Adding to what was already mentioned in previous reviews that I agree with,

I thought the layout featured a really good mix of left and right turning holes.
There was enough difference between the two tees to make you change disc & shots on many holes.
Tee signs at both tees is a major plus and something you don't see often at other courses.
Great flow to the course from hole to hole and in & out of the woods.
Course feels secluded although its played around the other park areas.
Cons: Not much really here to con but I will so the club has something to work on!

The hole 6 area has potential drainage issues during wet times.

To get that 5 star rating I feel the course needs to be longer for pro's or at least add some difficult c-pins. I realize I did not play all B pin locations but as a solid amateur playing mixed tees, I thought the course could be longer for pros. I shot 54 from red tee and 58 from blue, if I am doing that pros will tear the course up. You want a course you can grow into not out of. There are many holes I thought had potential for c-pins. My biggest complaint on length is Hole 11 - Not sure if the property allows you to cross over the ravine on hole 11 to add c-pin but that would be a major improvement and also a lot of work. Hole 12 - Up the hill then to the left for a c-pin. 10B could also work for 12C!

Hopefully the spot-o-pot will remain in the parking area and perhaps one placed around hole 9 would be nice but that's really nit picking.

13 blue tee - with the red tee perfectly placed, I thought the blue tee had much more potential located below and behind the red tee. The blue tee seems to be as if your out of bounds and all you can do with it is tee a short mid range hyzer back into the fairway. Down below you have potential to use driver or mid range, take a high risk shot thru the thick trees straight ahead or control midrange hyzer thru or attempt to hit the red tee corridor from a different angle.This hole does contain some beautiful trees so you want to be stairing right at them when you tee from both sets of tees.

Its really hard to complain about anything this course has to offer as is and more attention should be paid to how awesome this course is.
Other Thoughts: The course is so well groomed & just fun to play that it makes you feel guilty your not paying green fees!
The signature hole is probabbly 18 but my vote goes to hole 4. That hole is as good as it gets and favorite over any I have played!
This course is worth traveling to as I did from 1-1/2 hr away, you will not be disappointed!
There is potential to lengthen some holes or for tougher c-pins so down the road there can be room for improvement.
Thanks for all the hard work on this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/28/2014 Designer Response by: jrawk
Thank you for the constructive comments. We do plan to expand hole 11 after we overcome some difficult environmental hurdles. There actually is a porto-jon right behind the left side tree line on hole 9 (facing the football stadium). Hard to see from the fairway. As the course ages we'll identify the best places for extra/alternate basket locations. Thanks again for playing and hope to see you again.

Excellent New Course

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Crooow
Played: 162  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two full size cement tee pads on every hole (except one shared pad). Parking lot at hole 1 and large beautiful course layout diagram. Tee signs at both pads with distances and both pin locations shown (only one pin location used at a time). Nice directional signs to lead you from hole to hole. Nice variety of holes (see below): open, wooded, uphill, downhill, water throws. Great local club (SOMD - Southern Maryland Disc Golf) and good support by the park system. Friendly people; beautiful park; lots of parking; easy access off Route 301; plenty of food choices nearby; athletic fields and dog park; right next to Fun Haven Golf with batting cages and mini-golf; dog-friendly park; benches at every hole (I think); plenty of rest rooms. Practice basket next to parking.
Cons: Not much. Course didn't drain well after rainstorm. Could use bag hooks as a future enhancement. No indicator of which pin location was in use although in most cases you can see the basket from the tee. Only a couple of truly challenging holes - they all play fair but some people want every hole to be hard. The water will intimidate some beginners (even with the bailouts).
Other Thoughts: Course begins with some open relatively easy holes and then you get to the first water throw on 4 which isn't that scary (unless you are new to DG). You start getting more trees at that point as you wind around the border of the park and the fun picks up. #11 is a short downhill with a big curve (from the longs i.e. Blue tees). #12 follows with a short but steep uphill. Then came #13 which features a big left turn on a hillside through a gauntlet - a very nice hole. #14 (I think) features a basket on a mound which adds more fun. You finish with a longer throw over water to a very scenic elevated basket in a double ring of stone.(see the photos on this site).
The course is a lot of fun and worth the drive. I only played the course once (from the Blues) but the Reds look fun for inexperienced players and do give a different look to many of the holes. I wish I could remember details about the other holes but overall it was fun. I expect to be back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What a course should be

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 28.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The short course is fun and challenging. The long course is tough for advanced & should challenge pros. Good mix of open & wooded holes. Multiple pin placements, Uphill & downhill shots. Water plays on several holes. The amenities for this course are professionally done, Full Sized concrete tees, professional tee signs on long & short tees. well built benches & bridges, trash cans through the course. A few wooded holes that tee is on a slope the tees were built and leveled very nicely.
Cons: The only con was it rained heavily the night before and there were some boggy wet fairway spots. But it was not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I realize some will scoff at my 5 star rating. But from a regular player's perspective this is the kind of course you will enjoy playing. This course is a great example what can be possible when you get full participation from county parks & rec. Turkey Hill is the most professionally built course I have played. It was well thought out and you can easily see there was a lot of time, work & materials put in to the building of this course.
Usually new courses need a "Breaking In" period to get trails and walkway worn in but this course was ready to go.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great new additon to Md disc golf

1    4/26/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicest signage I've seen in a while.
Both tee's have signs
Every other hole has a trash can
Nice tee pads with plenty of space
Benches on holes to rest
Prettiest 18th basket I've seen!
Cons: 13 can be a little risky with your shots. A deep gully on the right hand side is marked OB and is sure to claim it's fair share of discs!
Other Thoughts: I played this course on it's first day and it played great! Very easy to get to via 301 South. Jerry and his crew have made a excellent course in La Plata!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.