Houston, TX
Agnes Moffitt Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 324ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Green Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun Course

1    9/26/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: GreenDisc101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Gives some challenge to beginners ( like me)
- Not exact same layout every hole
Cons: - Baskets arent in best of shape
- Navigating holes and which basket to throw at is awful
- For most part wasnt to trashy except for one of the back nine holes by the tee box has a big build up of trash
Other Thoughts: Like i said it is fun and is a good course to go play by yourself or with a group of people.

Careful #7 tree WILL hold your disc in the limbs and has thorny branches lol

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/14/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: neilyounglyric
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept, clean, concrete tee boxes on every hole that are well-marked and point you in the right direction to throw.
Cons: All the tees and baskets seem to be on top of each other with multiple possibilities as to which tee box is the next to play from.
No elevation changes, no water, throwing into wide open fields with the occasional cluster of trees -- what you would expect from Houston, TX.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oldie and Still A Goodie

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that players of all levels can play and get some good practice throws in. I liked this course for the concrete tees and the layout in general. Ms. Lehman made good use of the land she had to work with here. This was a course that I could play off the long tees and still had a more than good chance of achieving par on most, if not all, holes. I only got turned around twice while I was playing here the first time. Most courses similar to this one might have nine to twelve or so holes, but these are 18 holes of good practice play. I found this course to be similar to one I played last year in Temple. It too, did not have a lot of land to work with, but there were 18 holes and concrete tees as well. One thing I can give the designer credit for on this one is that a player doesn't get that cramped feeling that you would get on a lot of other courses.
Cons: Slightly muddled navigation between holes 6 & 7 as well as 13 & 14. When you finish hole 13, if you were to go straight, a player would encounter hole 16. Other than these two items, I find very little wrong with this course. The baskets are even still in pretty decent shape.
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a course a little closer to me to play and I had heard some talk about this one. This course filled the bill nicely and I know I will come out here to play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Recreational Course

5+    5/9/2013   5/9/2013
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For starters the 36 new concrete tee pads and hole number posts are a huge plus for any level of play.

For amateur and recreational players, the holes are not too intimidating as they are all in the 200-360 ft range (red tees) and devoid of insurmountable obstacles. The fairways weave moderately around a few large oak trees for the most part. From the red tees almost every hole is birdiable when playing from the red tees--an enticing challenge for recreational and low amateurs. The white tees are longer and a little more challenging, but also very manageable.

There are no water hazards where you are likely to lose a disc.

The baskets are excellent quality disc catchers, although a couple are banged up a bit.

Parking is ample. The grass is generally mowed. The disc golf course is set aside from other park attractions, so typically no risk of hitting other park patrons with a wild throw.

All in all, it is a very enjoyable course for recreational play.
Cons: As of May 9, 2013, hole distances are not indicated on the number posts by the tee pad. The only way to get distances is to measure yourself, or download the hole info from this site.

The course layout can be confusing, until you have played it once or twice, and there is not an accurate map posted anywhere (that I observed), so print the map on this site and bring it with you.

It is true that some of the holes and tee pads are quite close, but it is not as extreme as other reviewers have indicated, now that the tee pads are marked with hole numbers and red or white posts.

There are some low spots that retain standing water after a big rain, but no worse than most other Houston courses.

Finally, if you are looking for something really challenging as an advanced amateur or pro level, you probably won't be satisfied with the Moffit challenges, and it is true that some of the holes can seem a little repetitive, but this has not bothered me yet.
Other Thoughts: As a RHBH thrower, my most memorable (red tee) holes are ...

Hole #2 Anhyzer flight path in to the basket loosely surrounded by trees, or a risky low ceiling hyzer path.

Hole #3: Big straight tunnel shot out of the tee box, which then opens wide up approaching the basket

Hole #10 Another longer anhyzer into a clearing where the basket is loosely surrounded by trees.

Hole #11 Tight tunnel shot out of the tee box with a necessary anhyzer path with thick vegetation on the left all the way to the hole.

Hole #12 Low ceiling shot out of the tee box with a little room for an alternate big hyzer over thick trees on the right into the basket.

Hole #16 Big dogleg right into a clearing 270 ft to the basket.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent Very Open Course

5+    11/4/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: +new dual tees for each hole add variety
+full 18 holes (which is more than most of the courses close in proximity to me in this area)
+the wide open holes try to make up for the lack of obstacle by having relatively long distances
+other than disc-ers the park is almost always close to empty so you dont have to worry about other people getting in the way too often
Cons: -very easy to confuse what tee and hole to play next - I spent quite a bit of time figuring out how the course worked the first time i was there
-few obstacles
-the park itself isnt that well taken care of and there are several large low spots that get muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: I keep playing this course so I guess it is good enough to keep me coming back but mainly just because it has a full 18 and is closer than other nicer courses. plus, its fun to be able to practice my drives and try out new discs here due to its lack of obstacles.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is a practice basket. The baskets on the course are old but all of them still hold their structural dignity.

-The new dual concrete tee pads are awesome. A huge improvement from the previous tee pads which were basically holes at this point. The dual tee pads also changes the look of the hole completely on a couple different holes.
-The new hole design for #17 and #18 flows a lot better then before. The 18th hole ends right by the parking lot rather then a couple hundred yards away like the previous pin placement.

-The course has a few technical shots that need a good anny or flick for a chance at a 2.

-On that note, this is a good beginners course, nothing is too long to discourage newer players but every hole is birdie-able and even ace-able which could result in record low scores for experienced players.

-This park is 100% disc golf so there is no worries about hitting oblivious walkers.

-There is a restroom and water fountains on site. There are also a few benches on the course.
Cons: -There are not too many obstacles in play here and some of the holes are very repetitive and can get boring very fast.

-The course layout is very confusing. There is a point where at least 5 tee pads for different holes are sitting within a 10 foot radius of one another. Some of the colored sticks are missing in this part of the course so it can make knowing what tee you need to shoot from very difficult.

-This is one of the more popular courses in Houston because of it's location so you can always expect a bit of a wait for shots and you can expect a very crowded course.

-Because there is a lack of trees and obstacles the wind can be very bad at times.
Other Thoughts: This course compares very well to MacGregor Park. At one point both courses had a good number of trees but with last summer's drought the trees have died and been cut down which means that holes are repetitive and open.

-This course may not be the epitome of great disc golf but this is a course that should be checked out as it is one of the older courses in Houston. It also has it's memorable holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Drive?

2-4    3/15/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 18 holes with alternative tees mean you can play this one a number of times through before growing weary of repetitive play.
- Good mix of obstacles on short to mid-distance holes.
- I enjoy the scenery of the last couple of holes that walk the tree line perimeter of the park.
Cons: - Tee layout can be confusing and somewhat over-lapping. Sometimes the tees are on top of the fairways for other holes.
- As usual, I list lack of elevation as a con but this is more of an observation than a discredit to the course. Unless levees are integrated, courses on the west/southwest side of Houston are typically flat.
Other Thoughts: I've driven out to this course from Sugar Land a handful of times. I would say it's worth the occasional trip from the southwest side of town, but certainly no Mecca destination for DG enthusiasts.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 16 holes of straight throws

2-4    8/8/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: erwilleke
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A couple of the alternate tees create some interesting decisions, and the back nine feel like a pleasant walk around the woodline. All of the players were very friendly and considerate to letting me play through as a single. Overall, the course seems well enough maintained other than the massive erosion in the tee pads (which they're in the process of replacing with concrete pads)
Cons: Front nine is very back and forth across a field, and the limited trees don't do anything to prevent it from being "throw straight and putt". Back nine adds a couple interesting tree placements with low canopy, but only one hole could be considered a challenge or even offering interesting decisions.
Finally, without a course map, it's hard to figure out where the next hole is because everything is crammed together, and there's real risk of hitting people on other holes with even mildly poor throws... one tee-pad was even in the middle of a legitimate fairway for another hole. A couple of the alternate tees are also very hard to find.
Other Thoughts: They really did the best they could with the course layout given the constraints around them. There's not much you can do with "perfectly flat with a pool and basketball court in the middle". As a result, almost every hole is a potential ace run.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wind Was GREAT!

1    11/3/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: Goliath
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 32.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course was in okay shape, dry and dusty. All tees are rutted (hfds.org is raising $$ for concrete tees to be installed). Baskets were in good shape. Play was smooth with all distance wasily within the 3 par. Trash cans on every other tee or so. Benches were a welcome sight and in very good shape.
Cons: Tees need some work, concrete tee project will help (see www.HFDS.org ). Wind was terrible or least for our group. One of our players had a disc stuck in the tree on #7 ( I don't know how?) Some tees were a challenge to find after holing out but other players did offer direction assistance.
Other Thoughts: Great day for play. Lots of other players on the course having a good time. Scorecard reflects our play. Not too bad for no play in many years. Bring a water bottle and relieve yourself before taking the course. The restroom (porta can) was in the parking lot and very clean.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun rec course

1    11/2/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alt. Tee boxes offer a mix up for players. The tees themselves are deeply routed. But playable. The back nine tees are in pretty good condition. Baskets are pretty worn. The basket on hole 10 is crooked. I actually think it adds character to the course. The front nine is mostly open with a few trees surrounding the baskets. The back is moderately wooded with some plantation pines and a mix of hard wood trees and srubbs. The park is pretty clean. Benches at most holes. The park can be a little busy with players. So try to let those who are faster play thourgh. I had a lot of fun playing this course. I played all 18 from the pro tees. They are marked with red posts. The Amtr. Tees are marked with green posts. There are numbers on the posts. Parks offers other activities that might interest you. Course does have a course layout by the practice basket. Hole one os located torwards the middle of the park. The baskets you see when in the parking lot that are off to the right of the swimming pool are holes 14 16 and 17. Go left of thw swimming pool by the basketball court. There you will find hole 1. Or if the front nine looks busy, hole 9 is off to you right. When looking at the layout. Really nice rec. Course. Advanced players might enjoy something a little more difficult.
Cons: Tee boxes are deeply routed. Some of the tee posts are rotten and fallen. Baskets are old. Not a lot of distance. Only obstacles on front nine are tress and they are mostly located near baskets. Pretty easy to drive up to them and then putt once or upshoot and putt for par.
Other Thoughts: Back nine was the most fun. Almost had a skip ace on hole 10. Hole 16 was my favorite. I threw down the wooded and narrow fairway on the right from the red tee box and made it within 30ft of the pin! If the tee boxes were raked and flattened I would give this course a 3.5. If the baskets were newer on top of that and a little more distance on the front nine would make this an easy course to rate as a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.