Jacksonville, FL 
Out Yonder Country Club Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 172ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Blue Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: deadpuppy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bring your A game , and your arm , well manicured holes , awesome wild life , risk / reward abound ...
Cons: Signage, the course is still new, course map , again still new
Other Thoughts: We had the course to ourselves , " the park is mine "
Galloping horses made picturesque shots

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky n fun

5+    6/20/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Smorski
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every throw makes you think, and you won't throw the same shot twice. Different fazes of open, water, tech, light wooded and heavily wooded shots keep you on your toes. As the course meanders around the property the wind will come into play from different directions. You can bomb a few drives, there's some touch shots, couple trick shots...lots of variety. .

Private 40 acres with pond, tall/short pines, open grass fairways, 19 baskets...camping ok-just ask
Cons: Flat terrain. Carpet pads, but they are on every hole for both red & blue tees...im sure cement is on the way soon!
Other Thoughts: ....this is a super fun course and a great venue for huge events!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/11/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course definitely needs some polish, as one would expect from a newly created project. To be honest, I think it plays like a 3.0 at the moment, but have no doubts that it will be a 3.5 in the very near future and there is potential for a 4.0 course on the property. It features a solid variety, with a few chances to air it out, as well as some open shots with creative OB and two really fun water carries. There are even a few more technical holes that play through light forest and over segments of vegetation.

There are two sets of tees, I played mostly the blues but occasionally threw a red when I couldn't immediately spot the blue tee, (I could hear the thunder and felt compelled to quicken my round.) or on four, because the red tee is the one with the great carry. The two tees really offer some flexibility to the player, which is only increased by the option to honor or not honor some of the artificial OB.

There's also a really cool vibe. It's out there. Way out there. Out yonder even. Yes, it's aptly named. It's a farm. Various associated outbuildings. Horses running free. Really fun place to throw discs. More than likely, your group will be the only one on the course. The fairways were cleanly mowed but in some places the grasses grow seven or eight feet high. (AKA as obstacles. They force a little line shaping.) I have to say that I found the experience restorative. Escaped the pressure of doubles or what not. Just got out there and was able to find the joy in the next shot being the only one mattered. Just watching them fly. Tossing over the pond. Hooking a disc around a tree line into a pocketed basket. Hitting a line through the tall grass. And just unloading a drive on 18.
Cons:
Navigationally, it still offers a bit to be desired. More than likely, the owner will be around with helpful tips but what the course really needs is nice scorecard/map. Just in a few cases where there is a bit of confusion. The baskets feature tape on a spoke, pointing towards the next tee. Typically this is good enough, especially considering it's a one-man operation that caters to the player who was informed enough to get there. But there are a few occasions where I walked in the correct direction but struggled to find what I was looking for.

The signs are up on the first few holes. Should be done soon enough. They aren't spectacular but they give the distance and ensure you that you are at the right tee. Combined with a course map, they'd be fine, but right now there are tees from which it can be hard to locate the basket.

Additionally, holes 18 and 17 are still being worked out. They are playable, but since the tee locations are not permanent yet, it can be hard to know where to throw from. Thus far these cons are all things that I am fairly sure will be cleared up in the near future. Like I said, it's a new course with kinks to iron out.

What won't change is that the course is very flat and is bit on the open side for my taste. It's not the most challenging course out there. While it has some cool shots and a nice variety, it doesn't have a ton of wow. Worth playing. Worth going out of your way for. Not world-changing. And of course the artificial OB. Never been a fan of that, but as they say, your mileage may vary.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential

1    3/20/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: MikeLinkenauger
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful, country property. Great feeling when you are on private property in the middle of nowhere, and don't have to worry about hitting pedestrians like we do in many city parks. Because it is also isolated, very few players are out there, so you may even have the entire course to yourself! Very different from the many public park style courses around, and is a great change of scenery.

Two tee pads for each hole (carpet). This course definitely asks for a variety of shots, with many holes having pretty tight lines also. Flickers & Back Handers will both appreciate the diversity of shots required.

Two water holes over a very beautiful, clean fishing pond (I believe holes 4 & 5). There are also several holes in the woods, especially on back 9. May be best to have a spotter on those to avoid loosing discs, especially on hole 16 (par 4).
Cons: Still feels like a "work in progress". No signs out on the property yet (when I played), but I understand they are marked now. You can find list of holes and hole lengths on the facebook page - https://www.facebook.com/out.yonder.3. Just look under the photos! Also, there were a few spots that were VERY marshy when I played. If there is a good bit of rain recently when you play, I strongly encourage you to wear boots out there. Not easy to navigate right now, you will need to call Dan to go out there and he will either give you a map or show you around.
Other Thoughts: There are a few out buildings scattered around the property, which are all considered OB! Also, I believe it was like hole 11 or 12 (in the open field) has ropes around the basket. This hole plays as an "island", so if you don't throw it within the ropes, you threw it in the water!

I felt privileged to be one of the very first the play the entire course right after it opened. This course definitely has great potential, as the designer and property owner has designed many top parks and really cares about keeping his personal property top notch! Anxious to see it once concrete pads are in and signs are up!

Definitely worth checking out, even if it is a little out of your way!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.