Jacksonville, FL 
Out Yonder Country Club Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
 Tests All your Bag

1    6/2/2015   6/5/2015
Review By: flyingitalian
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Difficult, but in a way that will help you improve as a player
Makes you work on all aspects of your game from putting to mid-range to driving
Beautiful environment, well taken care of course
Good mix of open and wooded
Fun course for beginner to pro
Cons: Not many, wear long pants or long socks, because more then likely one of two throws may end up in the woods
Carpet tee pads, but Dan is always improving the course everyday, you never know whats next
Other Thoughts: It is not just a fun place to play, but a great place to learn about the game. Dan Berman has been playing the game for many many years and great to talk to to improve your game or just to learn more about the history of disc golf. Definitely talk to him, he is always innovating and supporting the growth of disc golf.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

2-4    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: larry kirk
Played: 693  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout
tricky but fair tee shot lines to baskets
course was clean well kept up
Makes you use every shot in your bag
easy to go from hole to hole
Other Thoughts: A mile on an unpaved road to course from main road but level and very passable

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    2/16/2015   2/23/2015
Review By: bdudical
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a very nice flow. My first time there I did not get lost. It is a nice mix of open field and woods. There are plenty of opportunities for low scores.
Cons: The wooded holes a very tight and the out of bounds is very dense. So there is little room for error.
Other Thoughts: Be sure and give Dan a call it is a little tricky getting to the course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Out yonder

2-4    1/22/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Aceraser420
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great landscape. Beautiful course wonderful waterholes. Dan is a great mentor and host. Also the availability of of a pro shop is great!!
Cons: Still putting the course together. Amazing since the last time I played. Still need some signs.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/10/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Dbldfresh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I loved most was the privacy of this course. Dan is a great host. I was able to bring my Lab out to play. The course has lots of factors that come into play. The more arsenal you have the better. Some good bomb holes and some good technical stuff as well. Signage was good. The layout had a great flow. You can tell that Dan loves to frame the baskets. He really put a lot of thought into each and every hole. It feels like you're "Out Yonder" when you're playing this beautiful country club!! Go see Dan and make sure to leave some time to hang with him and talk about the sport. He loves it just as much if not more than we do! Ask about his collection as well!! Miss ya Dan ;)
Cons: Although you can see the pin from most tee pads I would have liked to have seen more in depth signage or some directional arrows out in the fairways. Keeping in mind that this course is less than a year old, it just needs a little time to grow.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1    11/20/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: mega_man_madden
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is hands down one of my absolute favorite courses that I've played. A very fun, open/technical course set on a 40 acre horse farm out in the middle of nowhere outside of Jacksonville, Fla.

Very well manicured lawns. The two horses that freely roam the course just add a certain element that most courses just don't have and should be greatly desired.

Definitely need to bring your "A" game when throwing this course. I love how this course has the perfect blend of total wide open shots that turn into these tight, technical tunnels 40-50ft from the basket. Adds to the degree of difficulty that everyone needs in their game.

This place is a disc golfers retreat. The owner allows camping on his property for a very small fee and he also is renovating a couple of trailers to be rented out for weekend trips in the near future. This place has so much to offer besides disc golf. Camping, fishing, horseback riding and so much more. A very laid-back, relaxing atmosphere. The owner is beyond hospitable and will greet you with open arms and make you feel right at home.
Cons: I was having so much fun playing this course that I didn't really pay too much attention to many (if any) negative aspects of this course.

Two very minor things come to mind though.

1) Navigation. It's a little tricky finding one hole from the other, but once you realize the red tape in the basket points you in the direction you need to go, then it's smooth sailing from there.

2) Stumps. Once you're in the back 9, think it's holes 14-16, you may or may not come across some baby pine stumps near the tee pad or further down the fairway. This is a minor concern just for the fact that it's a somewhat of a new course and stumps are the way of the world when it comes to disc golf in Fla. So, watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Once your done throwing this amazing course, do yourself a favor and stop and talk to Dan Berman. It was an absolute honor meeting this man and listening to all his stories about disc golf and his accomplishments in freestyle. He has a massive collection of discs that he is willing to sell and he is a bevy of disc golf/ frisbee history. I had just as much fun talking to him and going through his collection as I did playing his amazing course.

If you don't visit this course, and stop and talk to Dan, then you are doing yourself disc golf a grave injustice.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

From a Local Yokel

5+    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: FoxxKaleo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes and shots. Course is mowed often and all holes have distance markers as well as red and blue tees. Course is getting tweaked to keep play interesting. Beautiful scenery and friendly & helpful owner/designer/resident. This is an excellent opportunity for disc golfers on the west side of Jacksonville as well as Baker, Clay, and Bradford counties. We no longer have to drive past Jacksonville or to Gainesville to play a great course.
Cons: A little off the beaten path and GPS might send you down CR-217. Make sure to go down McCleland Rd. to Girl Rd.
Other Thoughts: Bring a hat and bug spray as this is Florida. Don't get too caught up in the golf and forget that this is a gorgeous place out in nature as turtles, birds, fish, deer, and foxes (not to mention mosquitodactyls) about around here. Dan has a couple of horses that you're as likely to see running around 12 & 18 as you are to see them in the barn. This place is dog friendly as well. I think it'd also make a great weekend getaway for a Boy Scout or church group.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: deadpuppy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bring your A game , and your arm , well manicured holes , awesome wild life , risk / reward abound ...
Cons: Signage, the course is still new, course map , again still new
Other Thoughts: We had the course to ourselves , " the park is mine "
Galloping horses made picturesque shots

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky n fun

5+    6/20/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Smorski
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every throw makes you think, and you won't throw the same shot twice. Different fazes of open, water, tech, light wooded and heavily wooded shots keep you on your toes. As the course meanders around the property the wind will come into play from different directions. You can bomb a few drives, there's some touch shots, couple trick shots...lots of variety. .

Private 40 acres with pond, tall/short pines, open grass fairways, 19 baskets...camping ok-just ask
Cons: Flat terrain. Carpet pads, but they are on every hole for both red & blue tees...im sure cement is on the way soon!
Other Thoughts: ....this is a super fun course and a great venue for huge events!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    5/11/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 265  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course definitely needs some polish, as one would expect from a newly created project. To be honest, I think it plays like a 3.0 at the moment, but have no doubts that it will be a 3.5 in the very near future and there is potential for a 4.0 course on the property. It features a solid variety, with a few chances to air it out, as well as some open shots with creative OB and two really fun water carries. There are even a few more technical holes that play through light forest and over segments of vegetation.

There are two sets of tees, I played mostly the blues but occasionally threw a red when I couldn't immediately spot the blue tee, (I could hear the thunder and felt compelled to quicken my round.) or on four, because the red tee is the one with the great carry. The two tees really offer some flexibility to the player, which is only increased by the option to honor or not honor some of the artificial OB.

There's also a really cool vibe. It's out there. Way out there. Out yonder even. Yes, it's aptly named. It's a farm. Various associated outbuildings. Horses running free. Really fun place to throw discs. More than likely, your group will be the only one on the course. The fairways were cleanly mowed but in some places the grasses grow seven or eight feet high. (AKA as obstacles. They force a little line shaping.) I have to say that I found the experience restorative. Escaped the pressure of doubles or what not. Just got out there and was able to find the joy in the next shot being the only one mattered. Just watching them fly. Tossing over the pond. Hooking a disc around a tree line into a pocketed basket. Hitting a line through the tall grass. And just unloading a drive on 18.
Navigationally, it still offers a bit to be desired. More than likely, the owner will be around with helpful tips but what the course really needs is nice scorecard/map. Just in a few cases where there is a bit of confusion. The baskets feature tape on a spoke, pointing towards the next tee. Typically this is good enough, especially considering it's a one-man operation that caters to the player who was informed enough to get there. But there are a few occasions where I walked in the correct direction but struggled to find what I was looking for.

The signs are up on the first few holes. Should be done soon enough. They aren't spectacular but they give the distance and ensure you that you are at the right tee. Combined with a course map, they'd be fine, but right now there are tees from which it can be hard to locate the basket.

Additionally, holes 18 and 17 are still being worked out. They are playable, but since the tee locations are not permanent yet, it can be hard to know where to throw from. Thus far these cons are all things that I am fairly sure will be cleared up in the near future. Like I said, it's a new course with kinks to iron out.

What won't change is that the course is very flat and is bit on the open side for my taste. It's not the most challenging course out there. While it has some cool shots and a nice variety, it doesn't have a ton of wow. Worth playing. Worth going out of your way for. Not world-changing. And of course the artificial OB. Never been a fan of that, but as they say, your mileage may vary.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.