Rock Hill, SC 
Fewell Park Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #7 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 65ft.   3 / 128ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Teeny tiny "park"

2-4    2/17/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, small park in Rock Hill with an easy disc golf course in a very nice neighborhood, not sketchy or anything.
-You can play 4 rounds here in less than an hour because it's very short.
-It's short but every hole can blow your birdie, for example, #1, you can't throw straight, #2 is a good bit downhill and has a dropoff and #5 is slightly uphill with a bunch of trees and ya have no line. Thing is, every hole can stop you from getting a birdie except #7. You really should birdie that one.
-#2 is pretty fun! It plays nicely downhill and has a dropoff, it's fun AND aceable, like #15 at South Mountain. #9 is also interesting, it's a dogleg left that goes into the woods.
-Baskets are 17 to 18 years old and they catch very well still. I got a hole in one on #7 so it shows that they catch well enough.
-Nice, mild challenge for beginners considering the fact that it's wooded.
-Arrows pointing back where the long tees are. The front tees are blue and the longs are yellow.
-Long tees so it can be a bit more interesting.
Cons: -Mainly, the "Parking lot" is tiny, only a few parking spots and a couple were reserved. It felt like pulling into a driveway and playing in a man's backyard which was an interesting layout but lack of parking spots.
-As a freshman in high school, I was frustrated that the front office wasn't open on weekdays. So no bathrooms on the weekends.
-#4's long tee was pointless. It's only maybe 4 feet behind the short tee.
-18 years old and has no teepads, only 18 inch carpet and the longs have no teepads at all. -Course seems to be neglected since the baskets are very old and there still are not real teepads. I don't think this "park" is good for a dg course.
-#2's long tee crosses #9's green.
-No benches or trashcans but they aren't really needed due to the course being really short.
-#7 isn't a real hole. It's got about a four to five foot drop and it's only 65'. It's just a long putt with a 0/10 challenge.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course was super easy with a couple nicely designed holes for the small space availible for the course. I thought it was boring but I was happy that I got a 1 on #7 even though it's 65 feet long, It definitely has potential to get a higher rating if it gets maintained better. I woundn't consider it good but it was an okay place to practice your approach shots but since I got a hole in one, I don't think I'm coming back. It will get boring quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

do you like woods?

5+    10/12/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: terryjoshbennett
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very short, example: hole 7 is 65 feet. It is located in a very beautiful park/complex area. The first ace that I ever shot was at this course on the aforementioned hole 7. This course will make you feel great about your skill level.
Cons: This is a con and a pro: it is heavily wooded. It is bad in the sense that many trees are right in the flight path of many normal shots. Don't be deceived, even though this course is very short, it can still be a challenge to any level of player.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing this course twice on one visit, making it a simple 18. In my experience, if you can't make it out of this park at par or under, then you need to come back and keep trying. The challenge of the trees will make you better!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 you dont have an ace? Play Here!

1    9/14/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 212  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place for beginers or those trying to improve their short game or ace count.

I was qable to play it in less than 15 min by myself.

The course flowed really well and it was easy to find every hole

I felt that the design was great for the tiny piece of property the course is on.
Cons: The baskets are old school and have bolts that stick out of the top that I bet would tear up your discs.

It is just a pitch and putt.
Other Thoughts: There really isnt much to say about this one because I felt that it was a good course for the space and the objective of creating a beginer course. I wouldn't say that it was a bad course by any means but its definatly not championship caliber. If your in the Rock Hill area and want to play a quick round to add a new course. Stop here and carry 2 discs. YOu'll be through in no time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs to be updated

2-4    8/20/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 54  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short game haven. - ace runs (made one on the 65ft hole with my putter) lol

Fast play here. We saw no other DGers there.

Baskets were in good shape for being so old.

-Alternate set of tees, so course can play as 18.



Cons: Needs to be redesigned. The course was built with old style frisbees in mind. There is plenty of room tomake a nice 9 hole course with alternate tees.

Some existing tees were difficult to find.

No water nor bathroom on site.

Mulch and dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Had fun there playing all forehand and I NEVER do that lol. All you need is a mid range and a putter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun to be had here.

2-4    8/20/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of ace runs

-Great course to work on your midrange or putter game or to work on a specific skill (backhand, forehand, offhand, etc.)

-Close proximity to other courses. This course is easily played in just a couple of minutes.

-Pretty well maintained, wasn't overgrown.

-Alternate set of tees, so course can play as 18.
Cons: -Does not use available woods.

-This is not the place to work on your driver game.

-Some tees are difficult to find.

-Old baskets that frequently spit out.

-Lack of amenities. No water nor bathroom on site.

-Mulch and dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course and great place for an ace race. A friend of mine and I played 3 rounds different ways (iron man, forehand, etc.) in under an hour.

All in all, this course is a welcome break from the long and difficult holes of Winthrop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

5+    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: freakinback
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for short game and noobs like me. Locals are cool and some are helpful. There are two tees for each hole. playing both allows for a round of 18. One set is short the other shorter.
Cons: You never get a chance to air it out. I don't think there is a hole over 200 feet. Can get crowed quickly on nice days.
Other Thoughts: I play here every day after work rain or shine. I can play a round with just my putter in under 10 mins. For me this is a good way to unwind from work. There is a field behind the course if you want to test out

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: discgirly
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the atmosphere of this course and the beauty of the park setting. I am an amatur disc golfer and find the more "pro" courses too difficult but this one is pleasant place to play.
Cons: Sometimes a bit crowded and some of the baskets need repair.
Other Thoughts: I bring my children here almost every weekend, they are hooked on disc golf and beg me to take them. When they get older I plan to take them to Winthrop more often.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch n Putt

5+    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: bretttallen
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You can work on your wooded short game!! Great for skills challenges. Easy to learn all of the holes very quickly without alot of difficulty.
Cons: VERY SHORT! Only a putter needed for most and watch for discs flying from other holes....tight setup. The terrain is very flat also so mechanics are a big part of this course. The baskets are also a little older so be careful with the speed putting....the small pans spit out discs.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed it from day 1. I learned how to play here. Definitly recommended for kids and new players!! They have cool events several times a year with players packs and prizes at each event. The people in the area are fantastic!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just for practice

2-4    5/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: jnuzz17
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very short course good for pitch and putt practice. many aceable / par at worst holes. If you have young kids take them here to give them confidence.
Cons: Course layout seems very basic and not well thought out. Baskets are in rough shape. Holes can be boring and basic after playing it once.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT go here if you want a challenging course. Use this course for sharpening short game skills only!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Newbies and Those Looking to Improve Short Game

5+    4/23/2009   7/23/2010
Review By: LiquidIce
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Your bag can stay in the car (only 2 discs needed: mid-range and putter)
-Great course to show newbies how to play
-Great place to improve short game
Other Thoughts: This is a short course, just like my review :) IMO, the reason for building it was to introduce the game to more people and it does that quite well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.