Rock Hill, SC 
Fewell Park Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #7 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 65ft.   3 / 128ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Lunchtime Fun

5+    5/14/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: cvlngnir
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short game practice.
Plenty of trees on some holes to require you to plan shot lines more carefully.
Very seldom is it crowded.
Baskets in good condition.
Cons: Way too short to work on any kind of drive.
Dirt tee pads.
Some local schools will use the course for non-dg use during the day.
Other Thoughts: You can play the whole course twice in a lunch hour with a group of five. We play just about every Friday during lunch just get out of the office and have some fun. I have gotten at least two new DG'ers b/c of this course.

Found and returned my first disc here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 20 minutes of Practice

2-4    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: AndyBernard14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice to practice your short game on. Hole 7 is a mild joke: it's only 65 feet. I played the whole thing with one disc so it was pretty casual. I kind of liked the whole idea because I could play it a few times through and maybe hole a few. Makes the average player feel good. Great for a novice looking to learn the game.
Cons: Not really a real course. Just a practice course that you can go mess around at. If you want a nice 9 hole course, go to Tirzah. Nothing really bad though. Just a nice course that you can play a casual few rounds on.
Other Thoughts: Good place to go if you're bored and you wanna play by yourself. Good and casual and nobody will make fun of you if you don't play well. You also can't lose a disc so there's not much downside.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 kiddie course

1    2/26/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good for putt and approach practice, a good place to bring a new player. little park in a nice neighborhood.
Cons: too short, the baskets looked acient, maybe mach 1's. every hole had someones name on them and how they aced that hole...whoppty doo.
Other Thoughts: i went here just to check it out, that being said, i wont be back. if you are in rock hill and want to play a 9 hole course, goto tirzah church or the high school.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fewell Park-Home Of The 20 Minute Round!

1    7/22/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a cross between a pitch and putt course and a disc golf putt-putt course. I think it needs to grow up a little to full achieve full pitch & putt status. That being said, it's a great little course for someone to learn the game on. A great course for the local 10-15 year olds to hang out and throw. A interesting course to practice your short game and a place to go if you want to rack up another Ace. Or bring the girlfriend who can only throw 75 ft.
Cons: I think only one hole is over 200 ft. The baskets are the single chain type and the teepads are dirt. But you probably don't need a run-up on 125 ft. holes, do you?
Other Thoughts: # 6 is a 65 foot open, sightly downhill shot where you need to give it a little anhyser. One of disc golfs truly memorable holes. It ranks right up the "Top of the World" # 18 at Delavega. Well, I aced # 6 here on my second round of the day. And no, I'm not retiring my putter to the wall anytime soon. But I did write the Ace information on the back so my friends at home can bust my balls about a 65 ft. ace. I talked to a group of the local pre-teens who play here and asked them how many Aces they have. They all had three or four already. Take this course for what it is! And then figure out a way to enjoy it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little Course

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: DiscnDude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, short course - Not very much trash. Locals aren't lowlifes. Wide open, so if something goes down your not in the woods (if you know what i mean). Would be a great place to get an ace.
Cons: Not to much parking alot of people were parked on the side of the road.
Other Thoughts: Great for practice, the baskets werent the new Innova Discatchers or w/e but who cares.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C = An unashamed pitch & putt course

5+    5/22/2004   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (counting everything as a Par-2, so a birdie is an ace):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+ (Aces feel great even on 100' holes)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+ (Surprisingly, for such short holes you gotta shape your throws pretty well to get ace runs)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C- (The big Oaks are nice, but on such a small piece of land you never feel like you are getting away)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You won't believe it til you see it

1    8/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good place to work on your approach and putting.
Cons: Small, short, not much of a challenge. More like a Pitch and Putt.
Other Thoughts: As long as you don't expect much, this can be fun. Only 9 holes. The total area is probably less than 5 acres.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Easiest course I've ever played

1    6/28/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 78  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent course to work on midrange, putting, etc. You only need two discs (max) on this course.

- This course is great for beginners, and a confidence-builder for anyone else. Lots of ace possibilities and birdie probabilities.

- Whether you play 9 or 18 (from the alternate tee positions), it's the quickest round of disc golf you'll ever play.
Cons: - Definitely cramped, as mentioned before. I actually aimed for the wrong basket on one hole (9/18) because there was another basket in the same general direction.

- Not much variety, as one would expect with a course this small. The course is moderately wooded, though, so at least it's not like you're playing 9/18 holes out in a field somewhere.
Other Thoughts: - I enjoyed this course because I played 36-hole match play with a friend. Even that was a quick round. I can only imagine how quick it would be for just one player. All I can say is that you have to know going in that it's a short course and there isn't much challenge to it. If you go in with that attitude, it can be a great opportunity to work on your short game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable pitch-n-putt course

5+    6/28/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fewell is the ultimate pitch and putt course. Only 1 hole is over 200 feet.
- Leave the bag in the car. Seriously, if you bring a bag, it will slow you down on this course. You're much better off carrying the 2 or 3 discs you'll actually use on these holes.
- 9 baskets, dual tees make it 18. 2nd set of tees at least give some challenge. And by challenge, I mean, you'll actually have to do a little work for birdies.
- Birdies galore on this course, especially on the short layout. You can take aim for the basket on every hole, making plenty of ace runs. You shouldn't be penalized too much for overaggressive play. Barring bad bounces off trees, or missed putts, shouldn't see many, if any, bogeys on a scorecard.
- Quick, easy rounds. Played 36 holes in under an hour. As such, this is the type of course you bring kids or first time players to. And with so many short holes, even the greenest of players should have chances for birdies.
- Nice, little neighborhood park. There's a nice playground, walking trails and tennis courts here. Good course to practice your short game on.
Cons: Baskets are in bad shape. Several are dented and crooked. Yet in some way, that adds a slight challenge.
- Dirt tee pads. Not a major issue because run-ups aren't needed for short shots.
- Course is cramped. Holes come real close to overlapping. If the course is crowded, could pose a real issue.
- Hard to take any course with a 65 foot hole seriously. I could only see two of these holes realistically ever being used on a traditional, advanced level (non pitch & putt ) course. And even with that, they'd still probably be the easiest holes on a more advanced course.
Other Thoughts: For such a poorly kept course, it actually wasn't that bad to play. You gotta enjoy birdies no matter how easy the course.
- Course is great to introduce kids to the game. Good course for the casual player, clearly not for the serious player.
- It's probably a good course to use as a warm up before tackling Winthrop. Other than that, or if you don't live nearby, you don't need to go out of your way to play.
- Perfect course for an ace race, skins match, one-disc challenge or other type of games to play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Little slice of heaven

4/29/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: powell7020
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2008
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park is really small, but an excellent place to work on your short game. The opportunities to ace holes is abundant. This course takes lees than 30 minutes to play by yourself.
Cons: You dont have a chance to pull out your driver even from the long tees.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.