Morton, IL 
Megiddo DGC Share
Uploaded By: sthomas128 Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 474ft.   -- / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    10/18/2016   10/19/2016
Review By: wfisher74
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes use the terrain and naturally flow for the most part throughout the woods. Due to the way they set it up you don't tee off going up a steep hill once that I can remember, and lots of down hill bomb chances (with very tight lines). Ace runs are there on a few holes, again much tighter lines than we have in Quincy but not scary tight in every case. This course was so fun, even with the tree hits aplenty. Baskets were nice bright orange and easy to pick out from afar. Signage was stellar, along with arrow markings to direct you to the next tee. Tee pads were very large 12-14' maybe larger and slightly trapezoid shaped, I was never anywhere close to stepping off and I was taking wide strides on my x-steps. Stairs and bridges were built where needed and where they really didn't need to but did anyways. Paths to the next holes were well beaten and easy to spot. They also used the naturally fallen trees as stairs, benches, hole features and other uses all over the place. You can tell there is a dedicated person or more likely people that tend to this course. They laid out holes so that you really cant see too many holes around you. While you can see some baskets from time to time, the other holes are protected by creeks, hills, and other features. We could hear another group playing once in awhile, but never saw them except when we were teeing off on hole 1 and they were playing hole 2. Very good mixture of right to left, straight, left to right and s-shaped fairways, with many having multiple lines to choose from, allowing one to throw the way and the disc they most prefer, but still being similarly same size windows to shoot through regardless of which line you choose. I found myself choosing using forehands almost as often as backhands off the tee, but that was mostly because I felt most comfortable with that line on that hole, but could have chosen the opposite just as easy.
Cons: Tough, trees, very tight, trees, lots of stairs (as you tee off downhill quite a bit), Creeks and creek beds to climb down into and then out of, did I mention trees? NO CARTS, I knew this before going and took my backpack bag. Many holes are hidden from the tee and sometimes even from fairways, due to large trees, slopes, or hills blocking your view of the basket. Having 2+ people would be very helpful to have as spotters for those blind holes and for after tree hits. I also carried a lighter bag than usual, about 14 discs total. I am super glad I did as this course is a great hike and workout just walking it was a tough walk. Lastly one needs to take all beverages they would want at hole 1, but if you forget something you go right past the parking lot after hole 2. The loop is basically all 18 holes (except for hole 1 & 2). All of these cons are SO easy to ignore while playing though. We were in constant amazement of the views, the tees and basket placements, the wildlife. It wasn't until looking back could I really find fault with things and that was knit-picking.

Other Thoughts: The views from the get go are great. Hills, bridges, trees, trees, and more trees. Ravines and creeks run throughout the course and come into play on too many holes to keep count including Hole 1 and 2 which you can see from the first tee. At the time of our play the creeks were fairly dry and easy to play from. I could see that the creeks could rise fast with a good few days of rainfall.
One could play it 100 times and have a different, approach and putt every time. Trees cause you to be accurate in both distance and direction but cause constant change in your shots. The 15ft putt I have one day will not be like the 15ft putt the next time, or the next due to each and every hole having trees surrounding each basket in almost every direction. Unlike our 2 courses where the baskets are fairly open almost all the way around. It would also make us all better players for sure, but the variety every time out would be so much fun to have in our backyard. Not to mention the wind was non existent on all but 1 hole, and that was a very small breeze, and 80% of the course was in the shade making it great for those hot sunny days. Today's forecast was 78F with 8mph wind, and we were never sweating, even with all the hiking and like I said, never really knew there was wind until one of the more "open" holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course! Best I've played.

1    9/5/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Cdarbly
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really great use of natural terrain, almost every hole has a ravine or some sort of feature to deal with. Some reachable short holes but still technical, some legit par 4's.
I really like the terrain, it's hilly but doesn't really feel like a straight hill climb.
Definitely my favorite course.
Cons: Slippery when wet, not much grass due to how wooded it is. If you miss the fairway there is in many cases a pretty steep dirt drop off, but still accessible on all fours.
Other Thoughts: The only course I've played that requires wood features to exist. They did an excellent job designing it. It has a ton of sweet bridges and stair cases, seems like they just keep adding to it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Caution When Wet!

1    8/20/2016   8/21/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 285  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Megiddo (aka Westwood, but not to be confused with the 'other' Westwood) is an astonishing piece of property on which to have built a disc golf course. It feels like they've taken a little bit of West Virginia, and dropped it in the plains of central Illinois. Then, the designers took advantage of every ravine for some gorgeous lines through the challenging woods. When the most 'open' hole (8) slopes 435 feet (from the short tee!) down an access road, never more than about 75 feet wide, to a brutal, side sloping basket position (with OB just at the edge of the 'circle', beyond), you know you need to be a technical billy goat to really shoot well here.

There is updated signage, large, level, trapezoidal concrete tees, beautiful orange DGA baskets with deep cages and the 'blade' top for added visibility. They've built literally hundreds and hundreds of stairs and dozens of bridges. They HAD to. When wet, the course has such steep slopes, you'll be focusing as much on staying upright as you play, as you will on making a good shot. The stairs are greatly appreciated (side note on how to play Megiddo when it's really wet: wait 'til it dries out!).

There are holes that give you a clean line all the way to the basket, and many that will force you to find the best landing zone to save par. There are holes that pretty much require a spotter (I'm talking to YOU, hole 4!), and some nice ace run opportunities (3, 6, 16). There are holes that shape in both directions. I personally like the fact that you're given many more downhill lines than uphill (in fact, I can't remember a true uphill hole). But (especially for plains states players) you will remember Megiddo for its tight tree-guarded fairways, and the climbing you'll be doing, even when you hit the 'best' lines.

The course is not intended for casual players. At all. While you're not really likely to lose a disc (the ground cover is minimal), beginners will just be frustrated here. It will challenge Intermediate to Advanced players. Beware! You throw a bunch of unique holes, and start to 'feel the burn' toward the end, and you'll still be finishing on the drop shot ace run 16th, climb a steep hill to 17, with its one of a kind basket position (IN a fallen tree!), and then climb literally four flights of steps up to 18, where first timers might not know there's a serious, 15 foot deep ravine just before the green!
Cons: If you aren't in fairly good condition, you won't enjoy the hills here. And I'm actually a little serious about wet conditions: we played the Ledgestone Open this summer with a few downpours, and there were times and places where you could barely STAND to throw, or make it up or down to the next hole. The next areas needing stairs are on 11, 16 and on the path to 17. They've done an amazing job already, but you might notice spots where they know it's rough, and the tournament had a couple of ropes out there.

Be careful throwing slightly to the right on hole 2: there's a culvert you can fly into. A couple of places (on 11 and on 13 were notable) where they've started to build up log bridges, but more permanent structures are needed. Other than that, there aren't a whole lot of cons to this course.
Other Thoughts: It's really tough to assign a simple numerical rating to this course (I hope folks are reading these reviews!). It deserves at least a 4 for what they've built, and the fun challenge of the course design. Yet I personally found it to be pretty grueling (that's partly due to my age and lack of being in shape...). I have to rate it amongst one of the better courses I've played, but can't claim it's a 'favorite' because of how tough it is (to survive!) when wet. Dry, it might be a 4.5 course, but I have to rate what I played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great technical course

2-4    8/8/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: IndyTyler
Played: 117  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete pads and great signs on the short tees.
incredible use of land
incredible stairs and bridges built
amazing terrain
Cons: DGA/Discraft baskets

Do not use a cart at this course. You will hate yourself for it.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of my favorite courses I've ever played. It is physically demanding with lots of elevation changes. It is a fair course. None of the tee shots really strike me as luck shots. You have to hit your lines here. Very well designed. I played it again yesterday after playing it last year at Ledgestone. It looks like the club is still doing a lot of work. Hole 6's stairs are amazing. Keep up the great work guys. It is an amazing course. GO PLAY IT!!!

I will rate it higher when the course is complete.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    7/14/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: americanhero9d
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2015
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: -New course
-Challenging for beginners, but will help improve game
-hole maps have good detail
Cons: -A few strange pin placements on hills
-Course not completely finished.(being don't by volunteers)
-No stairs or bridges on several holes
Not beginner friendly
Other Thoughts: Heavily wooded, pro favorite course. Will change this review after playing this course again later in August

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

5+    12/18/2014   12/19/2014
Review By: ToddT
Played: 60  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 11/10/2015
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course that will only get better with time. The course terrain is some of the most demanding I have ever played, and the course itself is probably the hardest I have played as well.
- Course plays up and down hills traversing a creek the majority of the time
- Excellent elevation changes to make some shots very memorable
- Forced lines
- Good mix of right and left turning shots
- Signs and arrows to the next hole on most holes
- Excellent baskets, Mach 5's.
- Excellent Tee pads just poured this year


Updated signs and trail upgrades thanks to the Ledgestone!
Cons: My cons would be pluses by some.
- Extremely hard course
- Course is a bit overgrown and needs to be trimmed down some
- Gets muddy and slippery very easily
- Almost rolled my ankle a dozen times
- Not very clear lines on several holes. Just needed to pick a few foot opening and hope for the best
- Too many small trees that need to be cut down
- Multiple paths are just muddy slopes
- Physically exhausting course
Other Thoughts: Despite it being exceptionally difficult and rough around the edges, this will now be my top rated disk golf course in central IL.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful. was...uh...words...anything...come on brain...say something!

1    10/17/2014   12/1/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Just for starters - this WILL be a top 3 or 4 course in the state by the time all is said and done. As it is, it's nearly right up there with Camden II, and has a very similar feel. It's going to be very hard for me to describe how great of an experience playing this course is.
- Wonderful terrain for a professional disc golf course. The course winds through ravines and gullies, playing both up and down the hills. GREAT scenery.
- Mostly amongst trees, making you pick lines and hit them. Mostly threw a lot of strong, specifically shaped putters and mids on most of the course. However, there are a couple holes that let you rip a solid distance driver.
- The bridges and stairs that have been installed so far are wonderful. When you see that locals care for a course as much as this, it goes a long way to how you feel about the course.
- Good tee pads - a few with dual. Looks like they may expand this in the future. Great baskets.
- Definitely a solid array of left and right turning shots required.
- There are too many favorite holes to count on this course. In fact, 4 or 5 of these holes could be the 'signature' hole on about any course you've ever played.
- #1 - Great starting hole, that certainly plays longer than it is.
- #2 - Wow do you need to pick a perfect line here, and stick it. Probably not worrying about getting it close to the pin, you just want to land in the open 'fairway' for a good approach shot.
- #3 - Easily one of my favorite holes. Slightly downhill, flying over the winding crick.
- #4 - Long, turning right to left, and then up a steep slope to the basket overhead. This one will break in over time, and become a signature hole.
- #6 - Awesome, straight as an arrow tunnel-shot. Very scenic.
- #11 - Phew. Got a straight, downhill laser-beam in your bag of tricks? Hit the landing spot, or you may be standing in some shallow water.
- I LOVED the walk from 11 to 12. It's long, but you get to walk straight up the spine of the spur to the next tee pad. Wonderful.
- #13 - Lots of lane choices here. Do yourself a favor and stay left.
- #14 - A great downhill shot that follows the gully they whole way. Good pin placement on the side of the hill just a bit up from the little creek bed.
- #16 - Is a lot like #11. Straight downhill, across a little creek. Just not as long. Might be one of the coolest short holes to get an ace on.
Cons: - Muddy in a lot of places if it's rained at all recently. This will likely never change, as the course plays in the woods along natural drainage beds.
- Thus, some more stairs and bridges (or step-overs) are still needed. Also, some benches or trash cans would be helpful.
- Signage is poor. Never really lost or confused on hole layout except for on #4, which needs some clarification.
- #7 - Kind of awkward "L" shaped hole. Not much going on here other than frustration, and probably slim chances at a deuce. Might break itself in eventually.
- #8 - This is the long bomb. Long from the short tee, loooooooong from the long tee. I appreciate it's inclusion on the course, but its length (and a roll-away prone green) is all it has going for it.
- #17 - Probably needs one less tree in the fairway; we'll see how the course matures. Fun basket placement though, probably 5 - 6 feet off the ground with the pole installed straight through a fallen tree. FUN!
- #18 - Unfortunately, after such a wonderful course, I found #18 a little wonky. It's difficult, don't get me wrong, with plenty of chances for round-killing roll-aways. But just didn't seem to wrap up my epic experience here. Great bridge though.
Other Thoughts: - THIS IS A HIKE IN THE WOODS. Not a con for me, but could be for some. Lots of elevation, steeper slopes that you have to walk on to get to a disc if it goes astray. Much like Camden II and Wildcat Bluff - steeper and more cumbersome than nearby McNaughton.
- Love this course, and I look forward to rating it a 5 in the very near future. Perhaps by next summer even? It's that good, and right in the middle of a wonderful group of great Peoria area courses. Just missing some finishing touches, signage, and that 'break-in' factor for me.
- I will echo a comment from dmbrun2's review from this July. There may not be a better opening 4 holes to a course in all of disc golf. If nothing else, it's pretty close to right on par with whatever you think is better.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

2-4    10/18/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: Donkeybong
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: You have a reason to buy new shoes when you are done with this course. WOW. this one is rough. Great course. extremely hard and not for newbies like me.
Cons: Still not 100% complete. need more bridges and stairs. very difficult terrain.
Other Thoughts: This course will be a great course once I get better. It is challenging and could be a problem in early spring. creeks running through it everywhere.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Megiddo, Best course in the peoria area

5+    4/23/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 143  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love a great woodsy course and this one is one of my very favorite. It has lots of elevation changes and hazards which make it my kind of course.The rough for the most part is not that rough.

Accuracy is all important on this tight course. There are holes that are long too, but control is the name of the game here. If you want to shoot par you had better sometimes think in stages rather than just throwing for the pin all the time.
Great tee pads, multiple tees on a few holes with more coming which will make it better suited for beginners to advanced players.

Mach V baskets and good signage with pointers to lead to next tee.(some of these need to be better fastened down because they move)
Cons: For some folks the footing may prove challenging at times due to its hilly nature.

I am not complaining I am a woodsman and like this sort of thing.
The creators have done a lot of work on the pads and bridges and stairs.

Still there is certainly a high probability that the tricky footing at muddy times may be unsuitable for everyone.
This is not a course to bring Grandpa and Grandma unless they are woods wise and sure footed.
Better signage is needed to point to #13, I think anyway.
Other Thoughts: Fun, challenging and not too busy. I love this course and "Risk and reward" style golf.
For the advanced player there is a lot of short 2 able holes (with an accurate throw) but get off line a bit and you may have some exciting recovery shots if you hope for par, or a four even.
Most holes are reachable and tempt you to try.

Great job with the design of this course in utilizing the hills and woodsy setting.

It can be fun to play, but at the same time if you don't demonstrate good control of your flights you could find yourself doing a lot of hiking up and down steep hillsides retrieving your discs.
Another result of going off the fairway is that you will get a lot of exercise. These hills aren't huge but they are steep enough that if you have to do much extra hiking about for bad throws the fatigue factor could come into play for many of us.

I love to throw from the tops of hills and there are many nice holes here to please me. Of course that means walking up hills, there is plenty of that too.
There are a great number of bridges and stairways that have been built and I imagine there are more of those to come.
At the time I played there were no benches yet, I imagine they are coming (And will be welcome).

My Short descriptions:
Hole 1- Pad near Megiddo sign, Slight uphill into woodsy fairway, breaks gentle right a bit.

Hole 2- Blind hole, Pin far side of creek, about 12' from creek bank. Flight path crosses creek 2x. Beware of Large drainage pipe to right of pin downstream.Creek water usually low, not much chance of loosing disc.Leaving Pin walk uphill to gravel road go right, 3 on left.

Hole 3- Short fun hole, a bit tightish over winding creek through woods. Pin on level of pad roughly.

Hole 4- Great hole. Blind, crosses creek 2x, you should scout it the first time to plan your landing for a uphill into the woods approach shot.Great hole. Think two well placed throws for a three.

Hole 9- This little 225? footer gives you ideas of an easy two, and it is,but for right handers especially, you had better execute well or you will be doing as I did the first time and ricochet off a tree and have to descend to the bottom of the steep hill on left side of flight path faced with a ridiculously crazy recovery shot if any chance of par is to be had.
Hole 11- Wow, love this hole! Great down hill, tight fairway, creek all along left OB on road on far side of creek. Another small creek at the base of the little rise to the pin. My favorite hole on the course.

Hole 14- Pin is roughly same elevation as Pad up the ravine breaking right. I like this hole, one of the "must twos" for a low score.

Hole 16- A short must "two hole". One of the two easiest on the course.

Hole 17- I like this hole, very twoable with an accurate drive.

Hole 18- Great hole, brutal and tight and feels longer than it is. The final approach to the pin is on the far side of a ravine which makes for a tricky hazard if you are shooting to be near the basket.Great heart breaker final hole.
I'm sure many will get to this hole hoping for a good round and end up picking up some extra strokes here.

My hat is off to the designers and workers who have created a gem for Illinois golf lovers. It is in my opinion the best course in the area.

I love a course which allows someone with a control type of game to compete well with the big guns. This course is that type of course I think.

It is a bit rough at the edges as it is a young course (10-2014) but I believe with time it will mature into a great course.

Right now it is very tight in spots, some may say "way too tight and unfair", but as I have witnessed time and again, courses mature and become more and more open with use and vandalism by people who damage trees and even cut them down to make the hole easier for themselves. :( So I approve of starting a course crowded and tight knowing that with time it will open up.

The course is only 5 min off I-74 which makes it really easy to stop in and play if you are driving past Morton (Peoria), Illinois.

Highly recommend this one to everyone who likes a challenging woodsy course.

Here is a link to some large images I have taken on 10-14. More to come as I can get them. There is also a link in the Links/Files tab on the Megiddo page here.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Monkey B@lls!!!

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 468  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenges: It's there. This is a rough and tumble course with long tunnel shots and lots of elevation changes.

Bridges and stairs: Someone put more money into stairs and bridges and it works. Thank GOD they're there.

Cons: Mud: After a rain this course is a soup of mud. The walking paths aren't all fully fleshed out and it can be slick. It's a work in progress so this won't be a MINUS that much longer.

Par: Some of the pars are a wee bit off. Most of the holes are Par 3 when they're marked Par 4.

Tee signs: Again, work in progress. What they have works fine for now.

Sight lines: You won't always be able to see the pin from the pad. You have to trust the tee sign. This is especially true for HOLE 4.

Bugs: You are the prey here.
Other Thoughts: Great course which is tough and fair. It's physically demanding and is probably not quite ready for carts. Not a beginner course. You need a lot of patience and confidence to enjoy this round. If you are easily frustrated or can't throw straight, this is going to be a handful of hours trying to get through this course.

This course is going to frustrate a lot of people. But they are still going to love playing it.

This is a great compliment to Northwoods which is five minutes away.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.