Morton, IL 
Megiddo DGC Share
Uploaded By: sthomas128 Hole #16 (Taken 5/2014)
-- / --   -- / 216ft.   -- / 216ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unreal

1    6/20/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The creek is in play on a lot of holes which adds another element of difficulty.

The first four holes is one of the best openings to a disc golf course I have ever played.. I was speechless after finishing hole four.

Shot selection is unbelievable.. So many two part holes, it makes you hit lines, and place shots on almost every hole.. You will need every shot in your bag at this course.

The views are spectacular.. So many holes are signature holes.. The use of elevation was awesome, which leads to the next pro

The stairs and bridges were first class, and made the course so much more enjoyable. The teepads are great.

This course is difficult, most intermediate players will struggle to shoot under here which makes it a nice change of pace to other central Illinois courses. The lines are hard, but fair.


Cons: The navigation was a little rough at this point, but I'm sure they are going to work that out.

A little rough around the edges, but this course will be beaten in quickly
Other Thoughts: I do not live in the area.. I am from Mississippi, and I can honestly say this is one of the best courses I have ever played( and I've played some great ones).

This will give centralia a run for its money as Illinois best course sooner than later.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unlike anything in central Illinois

2-4    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. Just wow. This course is magnificent. I was amazed that a course like this is in central Illinois. If you're reading this, that means you're either thinking of playing here or you've played here and you want to know what I think. If you're in the former, make a trip and check it out!

This course has many pros. I hope I can capture them all in this review.

+ Very challenging and unique. The ravines and trees and height differences and little streams make this course very tough and also exciting. It's a fair course with a little bit of pinball action that rewards pulling off great shots and definitely punishes bad shots. You will step up to the tee and have to think about what line to take. The design is great. It's definitely an advanced course and not a beginner course.

+ It's very clear that there are people that care about the course. With the freshly made stairs, bridges, benches, tees, mud-stairs, etc... this course gets a lot of love and it's clear that there are people who put in a lot of work. Navigation is also not an issue because there are arrows pointing to the next hole after every basket. Big plus.

+ The orange baskets are a spectacle. They really stand out in the woods and are aesthetically very pleasing. They also catch very well.

+ Physically demanding. I played a round with my family and it was even fun for my mom who just walked along with us. Hiking in terrain like this is infinitely more fun than just walking in a flat park.
Cons: These cons are things that I'm sure will get fixed with time, which is why I'm going to drop a 4.5 for this course.

- There are definitely still spots where improvement is needed for easier navigation. E.g., more stairs and more bridges. This will make some of the walks less strenuous, especially when it's muddy after rain.

- Better maps at the tees. Currently the signs consist of hole number, distance, and a very rough depiction of the hole.

- Some of the holes are a bit monotonous. It'd be great to get some more open holes without so many trees. Currently there's only one pretty early on. Also some holes are a bit awkwardly designed, but this is only 2 or 3.

- It was a bit crowded, but that's to be expected when you have such a great course.
Other Thoughts: Big thumbs up. Absolutely worth a visit as it's the best course in central Illinois (in my humble opinion) and should be climbing into the top 10 in Illinois very soon. It's definitely the most challenging. Be ready, good luck, and have fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

must play

1    5/21/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: discgolf4lif3
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very challenging for all levels of players

good mix of lines

lots of elevation

Orange DGA Mach 5s

direction markers

course keeps you on your toes till the very last hole

several risk and reward holes

requires all the shots

makes you work for the birdie or scramble for par
Cons: not enough bridges

not enough stairs

no trash bins

no teepads

lines need cleaning up
Other Thoughts: Although the course needs work it is a must play if in the area! This course is a workout. Make sure to bring plenty of water, bug spray, and some hiking boots. Cant wait to see this course 100% complete with top pros playing it! Was well worth the drive! Plays alot like Camden 2 in Milan, IL

I would give it 4 out of 5. I can easily see this course being top 10 in IL. This is one of hardest courses I had the privilege of playing. My buddies and I are already making plans to come back ASAP

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Difficult Test of Disc Golf

5+    5/9/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 134  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course that really tests every aspect of your game. The course really offers no mental breaks and truly makes you think about every shot. Even the two easy deuce holes (6 and 16) are not automatic deuces. The course has some incredible holes that are truly considered signature holes. Hole 4 starts off with a huge hyzer line that you need to hit, while landing on one of two landing zones split by a creek. If your drive was placed perfectly your next shot will need to go straight up a hill to a guarded basket. It truly is an awesome par 4. Hole 8 also stands out, especially from the long tee. Hole 11 is a truly stunning hole, as you throw through a very tight gap to a basket on a peninsula. Its a remarkably challenging par 3 that can easily be 5'd. Even though this course is extremely hard, I list that as a positive here because challenge is not always a bad thing. The course really used the land well and the designer took some nice risks with elevation. Instead of shying away from the elevation in the woods, he used it to his advantage. Because of this, he had to do a lot of construction and that's borne out with the bridges and stairs he has created. The orange powder coated baskets are also awesome and a huge feature for a course that is in the woods. Finally, don't be fooled by the shorter length - I have seen 980 rated players shoot in the lower 60's. This course is addictive and it really makes you longing to come play it again to try to defeat it!
Cons: The course is certainly still a work in progress as it is a brand new course. With that in mind, the course does favor a Right Hand Back Hand and some holes truly offer no line or shot for a left handed player. The course really does wear on your body, so be prepared to be tired. The walks between hole 11 and 12 and 17 and 18 are not easy. Hole 18 was recently updated to include a second fairway for a left handed back hand shot but hole 18 is still a little bit of a poke and hope. Hole 17 has an awesome green and basket but the line off of the tee does feel a little tight. There is not much to complain about on this course!
Other Thoughts: UPDATE: Concrete tees were recently poured and they are nice! They are huge tees that are graded nicely to offer a nice run up. This course is a must play in the Central Illinois area. It is hard to compare it to any course in the area and that's a good thing. Variety is never a bad thing. It is almost exclusively wooded while still having significant length. After playing a half dozen rounds at the course I can accurately say that a scratch round (1000 rated) will be in the 54 range on a normal day. From the long tees a 1000 rated round could easily exceed 60. With Northwood Park and McNaughton Park nearby, Central Illinois has some amazing courses to offer. Westwood Park will be featured in the Ledgestone Insurance Open, a PDGA A Tier event in September.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging but Work in Progress

2-4    5/10/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very wooded section of the park. It has a small creek that winds thru the course. A steep ravine comes into play on many holes. The rough is very thick in places so keep an eye on your shot. Bring a good pair of water proof hikers for this one.

If you want to work on hitting lines this is the course to play.

The Orange DGA Mach 5's are awesome. They are easy to spot in the thick woods.

There are several really nice bridges and staircases.

The basket location on #17 is really neat. It's elevated with the pole sticking thru the log. It looks cool from the tee. Fun tight downhill hole.

Hole #11 is a really fun hole! You throw from the top of the ravine. It has a tight line but it is reachable for longer throwers.

There are directional arrows on trees near the baskets. The only spot of confusion I had was the area of #5 & #10s tee pads.
Cons: This is not a beginner friendly course. Landing zones are tight and the rough is thick. Please be careful hiking in this terrain. There are a lot of steep areas and debris.

Currently one set of tee pads are gravel and the others are just marked by stakes.

The tee signs are homemade.

There are several holes that need some more clearing to make them fair . #7 comes to mind.

Since this course is mostly in the woods it does get a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I'd compare the land to Camden 2 in Milan, IL on a smaller scale. It has tighter fairways though. I can see this course easily moving up to a 4 disc course after more work is completed.

With Northwoods only a few miles away this is a good 1-2 punch to hit while in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.