Morton, IL 
Megiddo DGC Share
Uploaded By: sthomas128 Hole #17 (Taken 5/2014)
-- / 281ft.   -- / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/18/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: Donkeybong
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You have a reason to buy new shoes when you are done with this course. WOW. this one is rough. Great course. extremely hard and not for newbies like me.
Cons: Still not 100% complete. need more bridges and stairs. very difficult terrain.
Other Thoughts: This course will be a great course once I get better. It is challenging and could be a problem in early spring. creeks running through it everywhere.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Megiddo, Best course in the region

5+    8/15/2014   8/15/2014
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 140  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 21.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love a great woodsy course and this one is one of my very favorite. It has lots of elevation changes and hazards which make it my kind of course. It is a great risk and rewards type of course without the fear of loosing your disc. The rough for the most part is not that rough.

Accuracy is all important on this tight course. There are a few holes that are longish too, but control is the name of the game here. If you want to shoot par you had better sometimes think in stages rather than just throwing for the pin all the time.
Great tee pads, multiple tees on a few holes with more coming which will make it better suited for beginners to advanced players.

Mach V baskets and good signage with pointers to lead to next tee.(some of these need to be better fastened down because they move)
Cons: For some folks the footing may prove challenging at times due to its hilly nature.

I am not complaining I am a woodsman and like this sort of thing.
The creators have done a lot of work on the pads and bridges and stairs.

Still there is certainly a high probability that the tricky footing at muddy times may be unsuitable for everyone.
This is not a course to bring Grandpa and Grandma unless they are woods wise and sure footed.
Better signage is needed to point to #13, I think anyway.
Other Thoughts: Fun, challenging and not too busy. I love this course and "Risk and reward" style golf.
For the advanced player there is a lot of short 2 able holes (with an accurate throw) but get off line a bit and you may have some exciting recovery shots if you hope for par, or a four even.
Most holes are reachable and tempt you to try.

Great job with the design of this course in utilizing the hills and woodsy setting.

It can be fun to play, but at the same time if you don't demonstrate good control of your flights you could find yourself doing a lot of hiking up and down steep hillsides retrieving your discs.

Hole 9 is a great example I feel. This little 225? footer gives you ideas of an easy two but for right handers especially, you had better execute well or you will be doing as I did the first time and ricochet off a tree and have to descend to the bottom of the hill faced with a ridiculously crazy recovery shot if any chance of par is to be had.
My prediction is that this hole will break a lot of hearts. I see extra strokes added to scores by this one and many other similar tricky holes on this course.

Another result of going off the fairway is that you will get a lot of exercise. These hills aren't huge but they are steep enough that if you have to do much extra hiking about for bad throws the fatigue factor could come into play for many of us.

I love to throw from the tops of hills and there are many nice holes here to please me. Of course that means walking up hills, there is plenty of that too.
There are a great number of bridges and stairways that have been built and I imagine there are more of those to come.
At the time I played there were no benches yet, I imagine they are coming (And will be welcome).

My hat is off to the designers and workers who have created a gem for Illinois golf lovers. It is in my opinion the best course in the region. It is a true world class championship caliber course I think, even though the holes are for the vast majority very short, they demand great accuracy if a low score is to be shot.

I love a course which allows someone with a control type of game to compete well with the big guns. This course is that type of course I think.

It is a bit rough at the edges as it is a young course (10-2014) but I believe with time it will mature into a great course.

Right now it is very tight in spots, some may say "way too tight and unfair", but as I have witnessed time and again, courses mature and become more and more open with use and vandalism by people who damage trees and even cut them down to make the hole easier for themselves. :( So I approve of starting a course crowded and tight knowing that with time it will open up.

In my opinion I believe that there are too many water OB's, the water OB's should be mostly played as casual... where there isn't deep pools to worry about.

The course is only 5 min off I-74 which makes it really easy to stop in and play if you are driving past Morton (Peoria), Illinois.

Highly recommend this one to everyone who likes a challenging woodsy course.

Here is a link to some large images I have taken on 10-14. More to come as I can get them. There is also a link in the Links/Files tab on the Megiddo page here. https://www.flickr.com/photos...648599249200/

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Holy Monkey B@lls!!!

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenges: It's there. This is a rough and tumble course with long tunnel shots and lots of elevation changes.

Bridges and stairs: Someone put more money into stairs and bridges and it works. Thank GOD they're there.


Cons: Mud: After a rain this course is a soup of mud. The walking paths aren't all fully fleshed out and it can be slick. It's a work in progress so this won't be a MINUS that much longer.

Par: Some of the pars are a wee bit off. Most of the holes are Par 3 when they're marked Par 4.

Tee signs: Again, work in progress. What they have works fine for now.

Sight lines: You won't always be able to see the pin from the pad. You have to trust the tee sign. This is especially true for HOLE 4.

Bugs: You are the prey here.
Other Thoughts: Great course which is tough and fair. It's physically demanding and is probably not quite ready for carts. Not a beginner course. You need a lot of patience and confidence to enjoy this round. If you are easily frustrated or can't throw straight, this is going to be a handful of hours trying to get through this course.

This course is going to frustrate a lot of people. But they are still going to love playing it.

This is a great compliment to Northwoods which is five minutes away.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unreal

1    6/20/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: dmbrun2
Played: 88  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The creek is in play on a lot of holes which adds another element of difficulty.

The first four holes is one of the best openings to a disc golf course I have ever played.. I was speechless after finishing hole four.

Shot selection is unbelievable.. So many two part holes, it makes you hit lines, and place shots on almost every hole.. You will need every shot in your bag at this course.

The views are spectacular.. So many holes are signature holes.. The use of elevation was awesome, which leads to the next pro

The stairs and bridges were first class, and made the course so much more enjoyable. The teepads are great.

This course is difficult, most intermediate players will struggle to shoot under here which makes it a nice change of pace to other central Illinois courses. The lines are hard, but fair.


Cons: The navigation was a little rough at this point, but I'm sure they are going to work that out.

A little rough around the edges, but this course will be beaten in quickly
Other Thoughts: I do not live in the area.. I am from Mississippi, and I can honestly say this is one of the best courses I have ever played( and I've played some great ones).

This will give centralia a run for its money as Illinois best course sooner than later.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unlike anything in central Illinois

2-4    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 116  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow. Just wow. This course is magnificent. I was amazed that a course like this is in central Illinois. If you're reading this, that means you're either thinking of playing here or you've played here and you want to know what I think. If you're in the former, make a trip and check it out!

This course has many pros. I hope I can capture them all in this review.

+ Very challenging and unique. The ravines and trees and height differences and little streams make this course very tough and also exciting. It's a fair course with a little bit of pinball action that rewards pulling off great shots and definitely punishes bad shots. You will step up to the tee and have to think about what line to take. The design is great. It's definitely an advanced course and not a beginner course.

+ It's very clear that there are people that care about the course. With the freshly made stairs, bridges, benches, tees, mud-stairs, etc... this course gets a lot of love and it's clear that there are people who put in a lot of work. Navigation is also not an issue because there are arrows pointing to the next hole after every basket. Big plus.

+ The orange baskets are a spectacle. They really stand out in the woods and are aesthetically very pleasing. They also catch very well.

+ Physically demanding. I played a round with my family and it was even fun for my mom who just walked along with us. Hiking in terrain like this is infinitely more fun than just walking in a flat park.
Cons: These cons are things that I'm sure will get fixed with time, which is why I'm going to drop a 4.5 for this course.

- There are definitely still spots where improvement is needed for easier navigation. E.g., more stairs and more bridges. This will make some of the walks less strenuous, especially when it's muddy after rain.

- Better maps at the tees. Currently the signs consist of hole number, distance, and a very rough depiction of the hole.

- Some of the holes are a bit monotonous. It'd be great to get some more open holes without so many trees. Currently there's only one pretty early on. Also some holes are a bit awkwardly designed, but this is only 2 or 3.

- It was a bit crowded, but that's to be expected when you have such a great course.
Other Thoughts: Big thumbs up. Absolutely worth a visit as it's the best course in central Illinois (in my humble opinion) and should be climbing into the top 10 in Illinois very soon. It's definitely the most challenging. Be ready, good luck, and have fun!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 must play

1    5/21/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: discgolf4lif3
Played: 74  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very challenging for all levels of players

good mix of lines

lots of elevation

Orange DGA Mach 5s

direction markers

course keeps you on your toes till the very last hole

several risk and reward holes

requires all the shots

makes you work for the birdie or scramble for par
Cons: not enough bridges

not enough stairs

no trash bins

no teepads

lines need cleaning up
Other Thoughts: Although the course needs work it is a must play if in the area! This course is a workout. Make sure to bring plenty of water, bug spray, and some hiking boots. Cant wait to see this course 100% complete with top pros playing it! Was well worth the drive! Plays alot like Camden 2 in Milan, IL

I would give it 4 out of 5. I can easily see this course being top 10 in IL. This is one of hardest courses I had the privilege of playing. My buddies and I are already making plans to come back ASAP

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Difficult Test of Disc Golf

5+    5/9/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging course that really tests every aspect of your game. The course really offers no mental breaks and truly makes you think about every shot. Even the two easy deuce holes (6 and 16) are not automatic deuces. The course has some incredible holes that are truly considered signature holes. Hole 4 starts off with a huge hyzer line that you need to hit, while landing on one of two landing zones split by a creek. If your drive was placed perfectly your next shot will need to go straight up a hill to a guarded basket. It truly is an awesome par 4. Hole 8 also stands out, especially from the long tee. Hole 11 is a truly stunning hole, as you throw through a very tight gap to a basket on a peninsula. Its a remarkably challenging par 3 that can easily be 5'd. Even though this course is extremely hard, I list that as a positive here because challenge is not always a bad thing. The course really used the land well and the designer took some nice risks with elevation. Instead of shying away from the elevation in the woods, he used it to his advantage. Because of this, he had to do a lot of construction and that's borne out with the bridges and stairs he has created. The orange powder coated baskets are also awesome and a huge feature for a course that is in the woods. Finally, don't be fooled by the shorter length - I have seen 980 rated players shoot in the lower 60's. This course is addictive and it really makes you longing to come play it again to try to defeat it!
Cons: The course is certainly still a work in progress as it is a brand new course. With that in mind, the course does favor a Right Hand Back Hand and some holes truly offer no line or shot for a left handed player. The course really does wear on your body, so be prepared to be tired. The walks between hole 11 and 12 and 17 and 18 are not easy. Hole 18 was recently updated to include a second fairway for a left handed back hand shot but hole 18 is still a little bit of a poke and hope. Hole 17 has an awesome green and basket but the line off of the tee does feel a little tight. There is not much to complain about on this course!
Other Thoughts: UPDATE: Concrete tees were recently poured and they are nice! They are huge tees that are graded nicely to offer a nice run up. This course is a must play in the Central Illinois area. It is hard to compare it to any course in the area and that's a good thing. Variety is never a bad thing. It is almost exclusively wooded while still having significant length. After playing a half dozen rounds at the course I can accurately say that a scratch round (1000 rated) will be in the 54 range on a normal day. From the long tees a 1000 rated round could easily exceed 60. With Northwood Park and McNaughton Park nearby, Central Illinois has some amazing courses to offer. Westwood Park will be featured in the Ledgestone Insurance Open, a PDGA A Tier event in September.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging but Work in Progress

2-4    5/10/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2014
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very wooded section of the park. It has a small creek that winds thru the course. A steep ravine comes into play on many holes. The rough is very thick in places so keep an eye on your shot. Bring a good pair of water proof hikers for this one. You'll get an awesome workout hiking this course.

If you want to work on hitting lines this is the course to play. This is a very demanding course even from the short tees. The long tees are going to tear you up!

The Orange DGA Mach 5's are awesome. They are easy to spot in the thick woods.

I updated my review from a 3.5 to 4.0 now that concrete tees have been poured. So much more fun throwing now.

There are several really nice bridges and staircases.

The basket location on #17 is really neat. It's elevated with the pole sticking thru the log. It looks cool from the tee. Fun tight downhill hole.

Hole #11 is a really fun hole! You throw from the top of the ravine. It has a tight line but it is reachable for longer throwers.

There are directional arrows on trees near the baskets. The only spot of confusion I had was the area of #5 & #10s tee pads.
Cons: This is not a beginner friendly course. Landing zones are tight and the rough is thick. Please be careful hiking in this terrain. There are a lot of steep areas and debris.

Tee pads have now been poured to concrete but many need fill around them.

The tee signs are homemade.

There are several holes that need some more clearing to make them fair . #7 long comes to mind.

If you are a left handed player you are going to despise this course. While there are many good routes for right backhand and right forehand the left hander player has some really tricky lines to hit.

Since this course is mostly in the woods it does get a little repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I'd compare the land to Camden 2 in Milan, IL on a smaller scale. It has tighter fairways though. I can see this course easily moving up to a 4 disc course after more work is completed. I moved this course up to 4 with the concrete tees being added.

With Northwoods only a few miles away this is a good 1-2 punch to hit while in town. Pekin McNaughton is only 10-15 minutes away as well. Plan an entire day at these 3.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.