Suwanee, GA 
Suwanee Creek Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really Nice Course

1    6/10/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: SuperDave1981
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads and great signage at every hole. Benches and trash cans are at some, but not most. This course is very well maintained. Nearly the entire course is mulched and there are very nice bridges, steps, and walkways that help tremendously to navigate the course. The Innova Disc Catcher Pins are in very good condition and all of them are equipped with a flag on top. The course also offers a couple water hazards, which I like - but nothing you could easily lose a disc in, which I also like!
Cons: I'm not sure how large this park is overall, but It would have been nice to have some longer distance on many of the holes. There's really no hole that you can really rip one for a distance shot. There are also a lot of blind pin placements. I like a blind throw every once in a while, but this course has too many, which makes it more difficult for first-time players. I also don't mind trees and other obstacles on a course, but this one has too many trees! Even though every hole is only a par 3, some make birdies impossible to achieve being that the line curves in a way that a disc cant fly. Only other downside of this course is the number of park-goers, which could interfere with gameplay. Parking in this course could also be a bit of a challenge being that very few parking spots are located at hole #1.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played a TON of courses, but I was very surprised at how nice and well kept this course felt. The team responsible for making what is it deserve a lot of credit. Clearing some trees and moving some pins would make this a great little course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Suwanee Creek Disc Golf

5+    5/7/2016   5/11/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 69  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs

Course flows pretty well except for between holes #12 & #13

Has some benches throughout course

More wooded than open fairways - which will be challenging to the casual player

Many holes have changes in elevations and there are some doglegs

Some holes have multiple basket placements

Almost all of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Water comes into play on holes #2 and #6 but the stream is shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Free Parking but can get filled quickly due to other parkgoers - multiple parking areas can allow one to start at hole#1, #4, and #12

Well-maintained

Course is mostly mulched

Restrooms
Cons:
Pretty short course overall - no par variety

Lots of trees where some fairways can be quite unfair and deflect discs into other trees - #17 comes to mind

Have to be careful to not trip on any exposed tree stumps

Blind drives on some holes

Walking path meanders throughout the course and parkgoers can cause some delays
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice short technical course where you'll likely see more parkgoers than players. You won't hardly find any opportunities to throw bombs here. It's a good course to work on your short game and getting an ace. Hole #17 is the worst of them all in my opinion...a good drive here can easily roll down the slope - so something should be used to prevent that from happening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Technical and Awesome

1    9/16/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: Cahulsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very technical. It requires the player to have several different throws in his/her arsenal. It is very well marked. Tee pads are all concrete with great signage, and nice sign markers directing to the next tee. Considering how wooded these holes are, the amount of clearing that has been done to create fairways is awesome.
Cons: If it is really a con, there's a lot elevation changes with some of it being steep. Hole #2 throws across a bit of a gully, which if you accidentally toss into - discs are retrievable, the decent is steep.
Other Thoughts: I'm a bit surprised at the rating for this course. It is a fantastic journey. As someone who doesn't have a particularly strong arm, I loved this course. It made me explore different throws, and will force me to better my short game. I will absolutely play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

2-4    8/16/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: Danderlion
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Concrete teepads (two per hole)
-Signs for every hole at each teepad
-Challenges your ability to hit lines
-Almost entirely shaded
-Several hole locations for each hole, although in the 3 times I've played the course the holes have not moved.
Cons: -No trashcans
-Slightly congested
-Parking is a little strange
Other Thoughts: This course is very different from almost all other courses I've played. In general all the holes are short and heavily wooded. Many have sharp turns after about 100 feet or so.

I never pull a driver out of my bag when playing this course, mainly putters and mid-range from time to time. This course will challenge you to hit tough lines. This course is all about finesse, no power shots needed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Design

1    5/24/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great design; very similar to Chastain park in the 1980's. 90% in the trees...Many elevation changes; no extremely long holes; almost completely in the shade; several holes are aces waiting to happen. Not much understory in the forest. Well maintained. Excellent signage and stairs make playing this course a breeze. Can be played quickly if shooting well.
Cons: Way too many opportunities for hitting a hiker, bike rider, walker, picnicker, etc prevent this from being an outstanding course.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for someone who really likes to rip it. It is a finesse course, one that requires many different types of shots. It is worth a play, just to experience the well designed holes and excellent course layout. I have played DG in Atlanta for 25 years and am very surprised this course is rated so low. The course is in a beautiful mixed hardwood forest with several massive, champion caliber trees. It is not like the pine dominated forests common in many Atlanta courses.

I would suggest parking and starting at 13 and 14 (left when entering park and then all the way to parking lot at end (past the pavilion)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 strong shot shaping course

2-4    5/7/2015   5/7/2015
Review By: fillaful
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love that this course has lanes to throw, and how much work was done on putting in stairs and markers. It's very easy to find your way the first time you play. The course is very clean and well kept. If you hit your line you will be rewarded. Love the elevation changes and there are chances of the elusive ace.

I like that this course is short but not simple.
Cons: There's not much parking right next to hole 1. There is parking a little further down though. There are people walking you have to keep an eye out for on a few holes. You will not get to grip it and rip it if that is your thing.
Other Thoughts: This course has improved and a lot of work had been put in to make the elevation manageable(stairs everywhere). Every hole feels like it's own hole. This course does not have it all, but is still very fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better than two stars

2-4    4/16/2015   4/16/2015
Review By: thadynomite1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Decent signage, great tee pads, well laid-out, good variety (balanced between favoring RHBH/LHBH players)
Cons: A little messy (no brooms at tee pads to tidy up),
Other Thoughts: This is my first review. I just couldn't let this course have two stars when East Roswell Park is rated 3.5 (I'm rating this one a 3.0). The course was in decent condition despite poor weather before I played it. The tee boxes are excellent: they're all concrete with grooves to prevent slipping.

PLEASE NOTE: upon entering the park, make a left. After a few seconds, you'll come up to the tee for hole #1. There are only four parking spaces, so if you want to play the holes in order, you may need to drive farther and walk back.

You probably won't need any drivers. This course is extremely short and wooded. Great for practicing up-shots and accurate throws. It's not my cup of tea (I prefer Alexander Park when I can "grip it and rip it") but a great course for a quick, short round.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good Technical Course

5+    3/2/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/28/2015
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Wooded, technical course. Great for shaping shots and practicing control. Great for utilizing mid-range discs and putters.

- Plenty of hills, but not too strenuous.

- Several parking lots, allowing one to start at different holes. Can start on #1, #4 or #12 for example, which helps spread groups out during busy periods. Starting on #4 is my preferred place.

- Course is in good condition. Baskets in good shape, concrete tees. Course is relatively new.

- Good layout, some sidehill paths, some fairly straight and level.
Cons: - Almost no holes that offer open areas or a chance to bomb it. Except for #1 and #13, there are no straight shots that allow any forgiveness.

- The complaint that some holes have trees, vines and brush within the 10-meter circle/green is a valid issue.

- Some holes (#15-18 come to mind) have sloping paths and footing can be difficult.

- There are a couple of places where it is confusing as to where to go to get to the next tee box, and it's not well marked.

- No practice basket (that I know of).
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I played disc golf upon (in decades, anyway) as I picked up the game. Not a bad course for beginners because of the short holes, though again there are no really open holes (save the 1st hole) to really drive for length.

Edited to add: a lot of reviews are saying how bad the design of the course is. I can't speak to what they want or expect from a course. Maybe they want easy birdie shots on every hole. This course isn't like that: some holes are indeed short and offer birdie and even ace opportunities. Other holes are like real-golf Links courses: one must pick spots and land accurately in them, then make the approach shot and putt and walk away with a good par. I find this course to be very good at challenging me to find the right shots and then make those shots. Be glad that you have this course to play on, play it as it lies, and enjoy your disc golf day.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

No Thanks - But it has potential

1    10/25/2014   10/25/2014
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2014
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is neither a pro or a con but I got the idea from the review of "craigd" to give the reader of this a review some perspective of the reviewer. My wife and I played together on this course. We are both senior citizens and have been playing for about 4 years. She is about a 550 rated player and I'm about a 750 rated player. Neither of us had ever been to this course before. We have played about 30 different courses in 8 different states. There are many informative reviews of this course and I will try not to be too repetitive.

Be sure to read the reviews of mullethead326 on 5/15/2014 and craigd on 5/4/2014 for detailed descriptions.


Now for the Pros:

Nice Park

Concrete T-Pads

Good use up hilly terrain with downhill, cross hill, and uphill shots.
Cons: Where do I begin? I drove into the park about 50 ft. and there was a fork in the road. The sign that told visitors what was in each direction mentioned nothing about disc golf. We took a guess and ended up in a parking lot that looked like the right place. It turns out the sign we thought was about the disc golf course had nothing to do with disc golf. We did find T-Pad #4 and started there. Thats not all bad, just weird. We still got to play all 18 and returned to the car after hole #3.

Many other reviewers mentioned the good signage. I disagree. It was at best fair. Sure there was a nice sign at each T-Box, but nice does not equate to informative. Let's start with the signs often being behind the T-Box so that when you are looking at the sign your back is to the basket. The fact that the T-Pads were rounded at the front did help us figure out which way to throw. The fact that MOST Baskets could not be seen from the T-Box did not help. I like an occasional blind shot, but this course had WAY TOO MANY. It wastes time and holds up other players when you have to walk the fairway to find the Basket and then walk back to the T-Box to throw. Additionally the signs OFTEN showed a slight turn between the T-Box and the Basket when it turned out to be a much more radical turn; a turn that a disc will not do unless you throw a big hyser or anhyser. However, those throws can't be done because of the canopy of trees overhead. OFTEN times the only way to know which way to get to the next T-Box after holing out is to look for a worn path. There may be more than one, so you are guessing. Some of the walks are rather long with no signage to tell you that you are heading in the correct direction. On the good side there was signage painted on the roads when you had to use them to get to the next T-Box. Sometimes the signs guiding the player to the next T-Box was too far from the Basket to be seen or facing in such a direction that it could not be seen from the basket. After holing out at a Basket there should be a sign easily seen from the Basket guiding players to the next T-Box.

The course definitely favors lefties. That did not bother me because I'm a righty with a fairly good forehand flick and it didn't bother my wife who throws both right and left handed.

This course is described as a "Good for beginner to moderate level players". I'm not sure where they came up with that evaluation. Of course, there is no definition of a beginner or moderate level player. So let's imagine a beginner that throws 100 ft. or less. What are their chances of getting a birdie? Almost none. It takes 2 great throws to get within putting range. I say "great throws" because the fairways are OFTEN so narrow that great throws are infrequent. Now lets look at the person who throws about 200 ft. They should be able to get within putting range off the T-box on 16 of the 18 holes. But they can't because their disc doesn't make the turn soon enough and flies straight into the jungle instead of turning toward the basket. Once in the jungle, as many other reviewers have said, there is way too many impediments to getting out. These include trees, vines, branches, etc. A few trees being removed would help but getting rid of vines and branches that are only 4 feet off the ground, or less, would make impossible shots become difficult. It a thrower ends up off the fairway, the next shot should be difficult ... but not impossible.

Narrow openings between the T-Box and the Basket make a hole challenging. When there is a 10 ft. gap 20 ft. in front of the T-Box that is a challenge. When there is a 10 ft. gap 80 ft. in front of the T-Box that takes a prayer for all but the exceptional players. These gaps 80 ft. from the T-Box where way too frequent.

Very few holes had a clearly defined path to the basket that a "beginner to moderate level players" had much more that luck to make.
Other Thoughts: This course is the strangest course I have ever played. It is more like a putt-putt golf course than a place where a beginner can get interested in the game or a moderate level player can hone their skills. It's frustrating to have an awesome drive with birdie written all over it, be 2 degrees off course and turn into a 4 or 5.

I may play this course again just to see if I can figure our what throws might work. If I play this course again I might just use a putter of the T-Box and try to place the shot in the middle of the fairway at the turn point, then use a mid range to lay up at the basket.

As a course designed for "beginner to moderate level players" this course has the potential to get a 4, or better, rating if the fairways were wider and less obstructed, the signs were properly placed and more accurate, and the "rough" was a little less than like being in jail.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Better than Rating Show

5+    10/23/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- Fun, short course
- Great place to work on your short game
- Well manicured park
- Tough lines will advance your game
- Great place to bring beginners
Cons: - Too many trees leave too much to chance.
- Some holes have VERY difficult lines, but make the most of them!
- 15, 16, and 17 are all doglegs to the right, maybe a bit of overkill here? Variety would make this stretch of the back 9 better.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is underrated. Is it my first option when I want to go play? No. Is it the worst course I've played? NO! Some of these reviews are WAY too harsh. Tough lines? Good! Advance your game! I believe that the course is short and challenging. It's tough to make par. Most holes are very tight.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.