Disc Golf Store
Hot Springs, AR 
Cedar Glades Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #10 (Taken 1/2011)
5 / 737ft.   5 / 912ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A chainsaw and one hour away from greatness!

1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great deal of elevation that is used superbly on a number of holes. The course is wooded, which means shade. The shade is good for 15-20 degrees of apparent comfort if not actual air temperature. There are a number of "signature" holes that are difficult, but fair and which use elevation and slope to great effect.

The course is well marked in most places. I love the tee boxes - concrete is overrated IMO. These give a good stance and are easier on the knees because they allow the foot to slip a little, but not enough to adversely affect throws. One or two had an uneven spot or two but this was not a problem. They tend to be short, but you don't need a run up on the vast majority of holes.
Cons: There are no open holes. Several of the long tees are just stupidly difficult. I can't remember the hole, but there is a 900 ft hole with a "fairway" that is only 10 wide, at most, for the first 300 feet and then just extremely narrow afterwards. Many of the short holes have no defined fairway, just a bunch of trees to navigate. Luck is way too much of a factor on many of the holes on this course.

There are numerous forgettable, short holes with lots of trees and no well-defined path. On some holes, you cannot see the basket that is less than 200 ft away, which is a drawback IMO. This can test skill of course, but it tests luck a bit more.

This course is very rocky and will reallly tear up the less durable plastics in a single round.

This course could be greatly improved with a chainsaw and some selective pathmaking on quite a few holes. Giving a player a path to hit off the tee, even a very narrow one, is a good thing, especially if there is sufficient penalty for missing that path. Some holes do this perfectly, many offer no path at all.

There are a few holes where navigation can be an issue despite good signage on most of the course.

There are 2-3 holes that could have used longer tee boxes (but I still like these tee boxes).
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a few locals which helped with the navigation since the kiosk was out of course maps and scorecards. This is a very nice course that you should not miss if you are in Hot Springs or nearby.

There are some incredibly fun holes on this course but there are also more than a few "filler" holes that keep this course from ranking higher in my opinion. Despite the technical nature of this course, in many cases, errant shots are not penalized sufficiently. Because many holes are so short, even if you hit a tree off the tee, you can still par without much trouble.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't drink the water

1    1/15/2011   1/18/2011
Review By: bjflash
Played: 430  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes and a good mix of long and shorter holes, as well as multiple teepads. Picnic tables and garbage cans were scattered throughout the course. Even though there are LOTS of trees, it seems like you could maybe find a path to every basket if you're good AND lucky (the great equalizer). Holes 8 (by the stream) and 10 (longest) are the signature ones for this course that I'll remember. Also, hole 4 was unique in that the two tees were at very different angles to the basket, which sat up on a hill.
Cons: No potable water in the entire park! I went into the bathroom and started to fill my bottle after I finished my round, only to look up and see a sign saying "Non-potable, do NOT drink". Other watersources outside, like the hoses nearby, also have signs indicating this. I found this very surprising, since Hot Springs is just a few miles away and has natural spring water you can drink from local fountains. Anyway, make sure you bring plenty of supplies by stocking up in town before coming out.
Other Thoughts: Pretty unique features for a county park, like a rock climbing wall (bring your own equipment), a Remote Control Airplane area, as well as a mountain bike trail system that includes a downhill pumping course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spa City DG

5+    5/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course. Lots of trees. Lots of different shots.
Cons: Summer means ants and heat waves. The fire ants can seriously cause you pain if you aren't careful where you're walking and where you put down your bag. I've had to throw off my shoes and socks more than once to get the little devils out of them. No place to get drinkable water at all at the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A sure "Must Play"

2-4    3/7/2010   3/10/2010
Review By: LetsPlayGolf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was able to play this course 3 times in 4 days, twice from the longs and once from the shorts. Here are my thoughts:

-Very challenging from the longs, makes you use several shots.
-Great use of elevation
-Great setting: creek, trees, hills, views
-Kiosk with information, maps, scorecards
-Restrooms at Hole #1
-Peaceful setting, great place for golf!
Cons: -Little yellow signs helped, course map at kiosk helped, but the layout was still confusing. Course crosses itself three or four times and it really seemed as if it did not have to. Cross 18 from 2 - 3. Cross 11 Long from 5 - 6. Cross 5 to get to 18.
-#7 from the Long is a ridiculous hole. I played with no leaves on trees and there was absolutely zero shot from the tee box, I can't imagine what it would be like in the Spring and Summer.
-I know the PDGA wants signs at the Short tees instead of the Long tees, but this is really a pain. I had to find the Short tees, to see the distance, layout, and sometimes location of the Long tees, then back-track to the Longs to play. I personally think this needs to be readdressed and the PDGA encourage Tee Signs at ALL tees. This alone added 30 minutes to my Long Rounds as I was trying to learn the course.
-12, 13, 14, 16 & 17 were disappointing after the first 11 holes. Seemed as though they were just thrown in to finish out the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very fun and challenging course. I must admit, I was a little disappointed in the grand scheme of things. This course felt as though the first 11 holes were designed for advanced players and the last 7 were for beginners.

With all that being said, I would not discourage ANYONE from playing this course... It is a must play if you are in the Little Rock/ Hot Springs area. Just do not go into it expecting the best course you have ever played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

1    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Discsloth
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained, has tech holes and demands to shape shots, to think like a hunting eagle, or a myth.
Cons: Some holes simply way too short. Gimme birdies are about as fun as falling into an abyss of staplers.

The Humbler (hole #11) is pretty bad-ass.
Other Thoughts: This course is not mountainous. It is hilly.

Real disc golfers play ALL holes as par 3. Come on, guys and gals.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very scenic area with a good mix of shots various hole lengths not big on elevation but this was fun
Cons: took some time on a few different holes to find the right basket because the obvious target might not be the right one.some holes are really hard to find might wanna play with a local first time.Very steep elevation on a couple of holes. some of the baskets seem crowded together for the size of the course
Other Thoughts: I would play it again,restrooms right there

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course...worth the drive

4/10/2007   5/23/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location
Awesome scenery
Some holes VERY challenging
Pretty good signage considering it's in a dense forest
Really stretches your ability and strategic thinking
Some radical lefts and rights
Nice use of elevation
Cons: A couple of holes were confusing (more a nature of the density and distance from tee) - but once you played it once, you get the hang of it
Not many negatives for me because I like this kind of course (though sometimes they punish me greatly)
Other Thoughts: It would be nice to have a sign to direct you once you get back into the park area because the "intuitive" place to park is a healthy (though beautiful) walk over to the first tee and there is a much closer lot, but it wasn't too obvious the first time there.
Try to get a map, it will help...we were told that sometimes there are some there for the taking...there is on on the board to look at....
There are some birdies out there as a reward for accuracy and there are some holes that I felt GREAT about getting a boogie...

Well worth the drive....

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.