Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Front Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

1    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: dj3k
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
Pros: restrooms near by.
36 holes between two courses right next to each other.
locals are friendly.
the front course is a nice variety of different holes.
Cons: I thought it was confusing to navigate as a first time user of this course. I think the map I printed out from this site might be outdated. Luckily for me, a course local showed me around. The locals are friendly, a lot of college students. The back course is somewhat repetitive and boring. A lot the holes go back and forth right by each other with similar format.
Other Thoughts: I would still play this course again. With thirty six holes you can afford to skip over those you don't find challenging or interesting.

 Albert Oakland Park...

2-4    7/10/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very old course located in a mostly disc golf park. There are a lot of different lines you have to hit. A backhand AND forehand player would be a huge advantage here. Trees are put in just the right place so that their not unfair, but it's still challenging. Tee pads are a good size and give good grip even when wet.
Cons: Tee signs are bad. Period. Baskets are very old. spitouts and bounceouts are very possible. A high to low put would be best here. Left side chains have almost no chance of going in. Navigation can be a little of an issue here. 7-8 9-10 and 11-12 are all places you could easily get lost.
Other Thoughts: The walk from 11-12 really doesn't make sense. You walk over to the other course and pass hole 13 as your going to hole 12. Then you have to walk up 13's fairway to get to the tee. But those holes are definitely worth it. Holes 7 and 11 are very memorable. 7 is a big shot over some trees and 11 is a long downhill shot that you can let go high and let it glide all the way down.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Classic 'technical' course

5+    7/9/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
Pros: A technical course with great ace runs, a variety of shots are needed to make par, well maintained, reasonable for 'shorter' arms, good concrete tee pads, makes the player 'think' and play some lines (though a good thumber/tomahawk never hurts.).
Cons: A little short for the big arms, the course can be cheated a bit with OH drives, the fairways are grouped closely so you need to watch constantly for poor shots (especially when near the tee pad of hole 15), and the navigation is a bit tricky for first timers (to find the 'back' 9, you need to walk back near the parking lot and around a public swimming pool).
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Advanced. Very fun course; it has it's oddities, but it's great for testing your technical prowess as opposed to sheer driving distance. Many birdie opportunities available for those who can hit the right lines. Albert-Oakland is a Missouri disc golf classic - many folks learn to play the game here and this front course is the second oldest in Missouri.

 My Cherry Popper

1    8/7/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: ukebork
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: It was my first tourney location, and was a good course for me to enter into. Liked the open areas a lot, very scenic,
Cons: The Cedar trees are chemically treated to attract disc plastic, or at least MY discs. Lots of very strategically placed trees, which I guess could be a pro also.

 An old school classic that's still fun.

1    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Has a reasonably good flow. Large sign showing the layouts of both courses near tee 1 including the varying pin positions. Perfect for beginners and small arms. Not much in the way of "loss of disc" factor.
Cons: Like a lot of old school courses, its short. Tee signs are deteriorating. For its length, baskets are a little hard to find because of their gray color and placement. (They love their tucked pins in Columbia). Old school 18 chain DGA poleholes with shallow baskets let a lot of shots spit out that would stick on newer baskets.
Other Thoughts: Built in 1980, this is one of the oldest disc courses out there. Advances in disc technology are making it show its age, but it still offers the casual player a great opportunity to hit lines. I don't think any layout changes are neccesary, but what the front course could use is a little TLC. New baskets, or at least more visible numbers on the nickels of the existing ones.

If you find the assigned layout a bit underwhelming, there's some good safari potential. OTOH, if you find the back course, a bit too intense, this one will be more your speed. (It was a welcome change after the back course kicked my butt the previous day).

If you're passing through Columbia, hit this one and its sister course across the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Roadtrip to Columbia part 2

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 161  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots required here. Nothing crazy long, but the pins are well protected by large trees and brush.
Cons: Pins are so close to one another that an out-of-towner like myself wound up throwing the wrong basket on several holes. Might be good to Frankenstein a round if you are a local.
Update: I've played this course a couple times now, and my opinion has changed. Admittedly, the course layout is confusing first time around, but once its worked out, the course plays well
Other Thoughts: Having played this course a couple of times, I find it to be quite enjoyable, a nice course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.