Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Front Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 192ft.   3 / 192ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Variety is the spice of life

5+    10/10/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: SublimeStyle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
Pros: The top course at Albert Oakland is a moderately difficult course which offers a variety of shots. This course is not a championship level course, no majors will ever be held here, but it is a very solid respectable course. It rewards players with a well rounded game.

One of the things I really enjoy about the top course, is the fact that each hole can be played so many different ways. A lot of people take enjoyment out of different aspects of disc golf, and for me the mental game and strategy is something I enjoy. So if you're into walking up to your shot and thinking it all out and executing. You can get a lot out of this course.

You will not lose a disc! Very hard to lose a disc here. At least on the top course.

The course is so close to Show Me Disc Sports, a dedicated disc golf store.

Great local community/club players are friendly
Cons: If you are a right hand player who is exclusively backhand, you will struggle. This course rewards a well rounded skill set. You don't have to have an incredible forehand. But you have to be able to do it.

Layout is slightly confusing, particulary 9 to 10, and hole 6.

To get to 10, you walk from one side of the pool to the other. Still on the same side of the tennis courts.

Hole 6 has the hole 15 sign, with 15 crossed out in marker...

Other Thoughts: I play this course quite frequently, and I still get great enjoyment out of it. An above average course. Sort of the type of thing you expect from your typical town disc golf course. Just done better. With a huge variety of shots. Some shots I have not seen on any other course!

Albert Oakland Classic Headrick Fun

1    8/15/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Any time I get to play a course I know Steady Ed was working on while I was in diapers, it is kind of special. Albert Oakland's front course was in line with the ones that I had played previously. Not extreme by todays standards, but still fun to play. Not a simple pitch and putt type of course. Concrete tees and signs that are ok, and baskets that are old but still functional. A nice park that makes great use of mature trees that are scattered fairly evenly throughout. A slight bit of slope from one end of the park to the other. The holes flow pretty nicely, and are similar but not repetitive or boring. A couple near the stream are more heavily vegetated. A good place to learn the game.
Cons: Not the most challenging course. Sort of crowded in a small space. Multiple baskets are visible from some tees, and I wan't always positive which basket was the right one. A lot of people were playing the course, and sometimes groups on other holes were near where I was going to throw. I had to search for the 10th tee for a minute, it is on the other side of the building from the 9th basket. Hole numbers were changed around 11 or 12 and not clearly marked.
Other Thoughts: Albert Oakland Park's front course is an old school gem. No stunning signature hole, and maybe a little outdated, but making very good use of what is there to be used. It is fun, and has another course on site. With the new John Houck designed Harmony Bend course nearby, could be part of a fun comparison of modern and OG disc golf styles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Albert Oakland

5+    12/21/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: TDGSTONE
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2016
Pros: Navigating the course is fairly easy. There are arrow signs on each hole. Only confusing part is from hole 9 to 10 you have to cut across the parking lot. Course is not very difficult but also not easy. A lot of fun shots. A few ace-able holes. The teepads are good size and concrete so they are always in good condition.
Cons: Only a couple holes may come into play with each other but it really is not a problem.
Other Thoughts: There are a variety of shots, forehands and backhands. Great for beginners.

Fits My Definition Of An Average Course!

1    10/21/2015   10/31/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Albert Oakland Park is 11 acres of scattered mature trees, green mowed grass and some rolling hills. It's really kind of a lovely old park. Why then does the disc golf course seem to universally merit the same bland response from every reviewer? What's missing here?

Personally, I liked the front 9 quite a bit but after struggling with my navigation on the back 9, the course lost much of it's previous luster.

The course has these old school fiberglass signs. The listed information is not always accurate. The baskets are brand new DGA models with the # on top. They have a next a next tee arrow on the bottom. This helps with the navigation.

Distances seem to fall mostly in the 200-300 range although there are some longer holes. There isn't much brush to contend with, just the scattered trees.

I was fine until I attempted the back 9. As I wandered past the pool, I found a tee marked 10 A. Now I didn't know anything about a A and B course or A and B tee pads. This was the first "A" anything I had encountered. As I played the back 9, I think I somehow got turned around and ended up on the Back Course. After talking to some players just starting their round there, I was directed back to the Front Course.

And truthfully, by now I was tired and frustrated with Albert and both of his Oakland courses, so I just packed it in and called it a day.
Cons: Confusing navigation on back 9.

What's with 10 A?

Tee signs on front 9 which weren't accurate or up to date.

Other Thoughts: I did throw an amazing semi-uphill roller on # 8, up past the mando and through a fairly tight gap, that rolled to a stop under the basket. I should have stopped right then and there. I would have left in a much better frame of mind.

The navigation issues on the back 9 kind of soured me on Albert Oakland. But then most every other reviewer writes of the same issues.

I gotta side with markmcc who states, "As a travelling disc golfer I rely on signs and navigation aids more than local players, and I understand that keeping signs current isn't a priority. However, good signage is a plus on any course, and this one could use a little attention."

This last quote was stolen from markmcc without his permission or knowledge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Park Course

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 166  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my mind this is a typical city park course. Acres of mowed grass with scattered mature trees. For most holes little or no brush to worry with.

Most of the holes are in the 200' - 350' range, so this is not a particularly long course. Many of the more open holes offer a variety of possible lines around the few trees in play, but there are a couple of wooded holes that require an accurate drive down a specific fairway.

Good flat concrete tees and nice, new looking baskets. The baskets all have numbers on them which is helpful given the navigation issues described below.

At least two and as many as four pin positions on each hole. While it leads to some of the navigation issues listed below, I'm sure it makes for a more interesting course for local players

Holes 12 and 13 are back in the woods and bring a creek into play for added interest. And Hole 16 requires about a 200' carry over a pond to the basket near the edge, for another interesting hole.
Cons: My biggest cons were tee signs and course navigation. The signs are older fiberglass signs in various conditions. Some were clear enough to read well, others were faded, and still others were missing all together. More frustrating was that several holes had baskets in positions not shown on the tee signs, so the diagram and holes distances were often wrong.

As an example, the Hole 15 sign shows the basket off on the right edge of the fairway near a creek. After walking around for a while I found it another 100' up a hill to the left.

Hole 14 was even worse. No tee sign at all. After walking out and looking at a couple of different baskets (Holes 15 & 11) I finally wandered down a narrow muddy path in the woods to the right and found the basket about 150' down that path.

The walk from the basket on 9 to the tee on 10 is long and not obvious, as is the transition from hole 11 to 12. Having the map is a big help here.
Other Thoughts: As a travelling disc golfer I rely on signs and navigation aids more than local players, and I understand that keeping signs current isn't a priority. However, good signage is a plus on any course, and this one could use a little attention.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    3/17/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: n.maglio
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Most holes are shorter but technical
Cons: fairways are tight and overlap with others slightly. layout is easy enough to navigate as long as you can find your way from hole 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and it is where I played my first round ever. baskets have been recently updated.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    2/26/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: dj3k
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: restrooms near by.
36 holes between two courses right next to each other.
locals are friendly.
the front course is a nice variety of different holes.
Cons: I thought it was confusing to navigate as a first time user of this course. I think the map I printed out from this site might be outdated. Luckily for me, a course local showed me around. The locals are friendly, a lot of college students. The back course is somewhat repetitive and boring. A lot the holes go back and forth right by each other with similar format.
Other Thoughts: I would still play this course again. With thirty six holes you can afford to skip over those you don't find challenging or interesting.

 The front

1    5/21/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: humchris85
Played: 134  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There is a second 18 hole course at the same park
- Good use of the trees available to provide clear fairways
- Easier than the back course (also a con IMO) making it better for beginners
- One of the creeks that is on the back course also comes into play on one hole of the front course
- Nice concrete tee pads
- The first 9 holes loop back to the parking lot, allowing you to stop back by your car and add more cold beverages to your bag
- Tee signs are out here, but are of poor quality at this point
- Pool with waterslides available for the kiddies. Drop your wife and kids off here while you play 36 holes
- Park seems well maintained, grass was all cut nice and short when I was there
- Lots of chances for aces with a few longer holes mixed in
- Multiple pin positions on every hole but hole 6
- Restrooms are available onsite
- Not many places you could lose a disc around here
- Signs on the baskets pointing you to the next tee
Cons: - Not the most challenging course for Advanced or Pro players
- Long walks from 9-10 and 11-12 could get people confused on their first time through
- Multiple baskets visible from a few tee pads, at least once I can remember it not being any of the baskets that we could see
- Speaking of baskets, the baskets here are all old and in definite need of being replaced
- Tee signs are inaccurate. The distances are off and there is no way to be able to tell which position the pin is in. I did meet someone out there who was taking down correct distances to get new signs made, so this could change soon
- A few extra concrete tees around that aren't part of the course could confuse people
- I could see noise from the pool getting annoying on a few holes
- Poison Ivy around on a couple of the holes near the back of the course
Other Thoughts: Albert Oakland Park's front course is a pretty short and straightforward course utilizing an area of the park with less park users than the back course. It plays among some nice old trees in a well groomed area. The concrete tees were in good shape for how old the course is. From talking to some locals I found out that this course was the home of the very first Ice Bowl, a neat little bit of history. Most of the holes were short and straightforward, not requiring much thought as to how to throw them. A few of the holes did change that up though, forcing you to shape your lines to have a safe path at the basket. As I saw it this is certainly the course for beginners here at Albert Oakland Park, though that isn't to say that a more advanced player couldn't still have fun out here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 oakland top

5+    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: ustenido
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2014
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful course; founding course of the Ice Bowl charity events. Multiple pin placements (some of the longer ones are not listed on this site because there are more than 3 pin locations). And Columbia's department of parks and recreation has truly turned the tide in course cleenup and tree maintenance.
Short technical shots that are great to prwctice midrange accuracy.
Trees are tall enough to require sever overhand shots for birdie, although the trees are spread out enough to make recovery easy.
Big tee pads.
Multie shot types - the bottom course forces several hyzer RHBH. The top course allows for any prefered drive off the tee, with the exceptiin of holes 4 & 6. 4 is a hard dogleg left, so yiu need a good forhand or rhbh ani. 6 seems boring, but you need a perfectly placed hyzer bomb, an extremely accurate sidearm, or a good forhand roller.
13 & 10are tbe best. 10 has a long and short teepad.
Pve anchor markers are cor coded to match alleged new signs for basket placement. The in use anchor plug is attached to the tee sign. But tee signs are currently out of date
Water on 12 & 13
Ob sidewalk on 10, 11
Cons: It is rare to find a course that can be a challenge for both touring professionals amd recreational players. It is fun, short, long, flat, uphill, downhill etc. Lots of ace opportunities if you can hit tight pinch points in the fairway.
Lots and lots of users.
Needs new signs with accurate distances and par.
Needs directional signs fro. 7-8, 9-10 and especially 11-12 (foow sidewalk south west and you'll find 12 & 13 adjacent. 13 is approached first. Both are right, or on the north side of sidewalk
Other Thoughts: Not a wide range for scattered shots. The entire course is on about 11 acres, which leads to some safety concerns for players and pedestrians.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical.

5+    7/8/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: COMODG
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of technical holes. Some open up for larger drives. 3 pin placements.
Cons: Its an Oakland park course. Could be kept up better, baskets could be replaced, and I can see how people could get lost their first time playing it.
Other Thoughts: This is where I like to practice shorter more technical holes. The people who are usually playing here are great people. If you are playing it for the first time and get lost just ask someone, they will be more than happy to point you in the right direction.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.