Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Front Course Share
Uploaded By: Angiemoe   (Taken 10/2008)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice course

1    4/9/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: timmyd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Nice variety of shots for many different types of shots. Trees placed in excellent positions (not right in front of you and slightly guarding most pins). Many nice Ace opportunities!!!
Cons: gets a little confusing on where to go after hole 11. but its easy to pick up after you find it.
Other Thoughts: Must play here

 Old Course, but still fun

5+    9/19/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: VictorB
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
Pros: Historic course built in 1980. Concrete teepads are a plus. Technical shots, and recently redesigned, with more pin placements to add a little bit of length to the course. 2 holes formerly on the back course are now part of the front.
Cons: Historic course built in 1980 :) It's from a completely different era of disc golf, when the original aviar was an ultra distance driver. There are a few holes where you need a driver, but for the most part a good short range game is all you need to score well here.

Baskets are original 'Mach Zeros' and could use updating, but they are historic (25+ years old) and the club would like to keep them in and preserve that part of history.
Other Thoughts: Yes, the baskets are old, but they still catch fine. Course is historic, and the holes were long for the time period it was built in - and a lot of the trees that are there now weren't matured back then.

A lot of work was put in last spring to maintain the 18 hole layout - a 9 hole would be more modern, but maintaining a 36 hole park was the goal of the club and the city, and there is limited room to work with in urban Columbia.

 My Cherry Popper

1    8/7/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: ukebork
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: It was my first tourney location, and was a good course for me to enter into. Liked the open areas a lot, very scenic,
Cons: The Cedar trees are chemically treated to attract disc plastic, or at least MY discs. Lots of very strategically placed trees, which I guess could be a pro also.

 Albert Oakland

1    6/29/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: kcRhyno
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: its an easy course that can be fun for having some ace runs, or building up your confidance. grass was mowed and it was next to a really nice pool. you get a chance to see what some of the very first frisbee golf courses where like.
Cons: very difficult to navigate, at times we played the wrong tees to the wrong baskets. the baskets are extremly old and could use updated models. some of the fairways crossed very near other tees and baskets, makeing a potentially dangerous round if theres alot of traffic on the course. It could really use some tree trimming, some branches where almost touching baskets and it just seemed like it could be better groomed.
Other Thoughts: this is one of two courses in the same park. skip this one and thank yourself later. the Back course is much better and this one just needs to be redesigned.

 

5+    5/30/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: side by side courses, both completly different. one of the first courses to be installed in missouri. one of my favorite courses.
Cons: when we played on the holiday weekend this course was in bad shape. looked like the grass hasnt been mowed all year, needed alot of work for the mid america open in july.
Other Thoughts: after hole 5 the course changes. 15 is new 6, 6 is new 7,but longer pin, old 7 is gone, 8-9 same, old 10 gone, 11 is new 10, 12 is 11, then walk down path to back course 13, back 13 is front 12, back 14 is front 13, follow signs to new 14, old 13 is 15, 16-18 same. if you played here before you know what im talking about..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very tight

2-4    4/10/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: bizco17
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Right next to the lower 18 at this park which is a great course (IMO)
Cons: -Cramped, it seems like you are shooting over paths for other holes
-They probably should have made this a 9 hole course instead of trying to put 18 in the small space.
Other Thoughts: I'll still play this course from time to time, just for something different, but I really don't car for it. The tees are nice but so are all the tees in this park. If you go to this park, just do the back 18...that is a great course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't eve bother...

2-4    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The teepads were actually nice and textured...so playing in the rain was a bit easier.
Cons: 99% of the course. This course is completely outdated. Also...if you have a four leaf clover in your pocket, I highly suggest taking it with you as it requires a great deal of luck to score well on this course. The combination of outdated baskets and very poor fairways, makes this a forgettable course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Como let down

1    2/6/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 33  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only pro i could find with this course is the obstacles it has, and the pins are placed in decent spots.
Cons: The cages are the worst cages i have ever seen, they are really really shallow and outdated, i sunk a putt and when it fell into the basket, it couldn't hold it in. There were two cages missing they had a stick in the ground where one must once have existed i do not know where they went to. will not play it again.
Other Thoughts: Waste of my time personally. Back 18 is much better.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 columbia

1    11/30/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: well maintained, large mature trees, well established course (1980) , great locals, another 18 hole course on same property
Cons: short holes , big evergreens hurt
Other Thoughts: very nice course when combined with back course it makes a great day trip

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An old school classic that's still fun.

1    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 321  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Has a reasonably good flow. Large sign showing the layouts of both courses near tee 1 including the varying pin positions. Perfect for beginners and small arms. Not much in the way of "loss of disc" factor.
Cons: Like a lot of old school courses, its short. Tee signs are deteriorating. For its length, baskets are a little hard to find because of their gray color and placement. (They love their tucked pins in Columbia). Old school 18 chain DGA poleholes with shallow baskets let a lot of shots spit out that would stick on newer baskets.
Other Thoughts: Built in 1980, this is one of the oldest disc courses out there. Advances in disc technology are making it show its age, but it still offers the casual player a great opportunity to hit lines. I don't think any layout changes are neccesary, but what the front course could use is a little TLC. New baskets, or at least more visible numbers on the nickels of the existing ones.

If you find the assigned layout a bit underwhelming, there's some good safari potential. OTOH, if you find the back course, a bit too intense, this one will be more your speed. (It was a welcome change after the back course kicked my butt the previous day).

If you're passing through Columbia, hit this one and its sister course across the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.