Westfield, IN 
Westfield Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #9 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Clean Fun Surprise

2-4    11/11/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Based on the hole distances listed, I was expecting to see a simple pitch and putt, and planned to try and raise my ace count at Westfield, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised at the challenge here at this short, 2x9 course. That's not to say anyone should break out a driver on this course. Far from it. You'll be throwing mids and putters the whole way, even with Recreational level skills, but with some of the creekside baskets in the 'B' positions, you're actually going to have to really place your tee shot if you want to stay dry. And the shot out through a light grove of trees to the basket beside the bridge on 2 is actually tricky.

Wonderful signage at all 18 tees go with a nice course map at the small parking area at the north end of the park, across from the school. New Discatchers and excellent park maintenance give the impression of cleanliness and fun. The other park amenities (shelters, playgrounds, trash cans, paved walking path and sturdy bridges) add to the feeling. And the variety of disc golf shots is actually pretty good. There are some slight up- and down-slopes to give a little challenge gauging distances, and several of the tees use the park trees well to shape a variety of shots, while limiting the chance of going into thick rough, so you'll seldom lose a disc. Dual basket positions add to the interest.

Overall, you can come to Westfield to enjoy working on your short game, and even go for a few tricky greens to decide if you don't mind fishing one out when you've gunned for that next ace.
Cons: Natural turf tees somewhere in the vicinity of the sign aren't terribly specific. Normally, you'd see a toeboard or marker stones, but I suppose this way, you could throw from near the spot and reduce erosion... A few of the lines of flight go over the paved walking path, and the school does use the park creek for science class activities, so throw carefully, folks! Even the finishing hole flirts with the skate park fence as you try o stay to your left and avoid the creek.

The long, LONG walk from the north half of the course to the south is probably around 900 feet. If you play the tees in order, you'll be covering that walk four times. That doesn't appeal to me, so I played 1/10, 2/11, walked to the south section to play those, and came back to finish 8/17 & 9/18. On the other hand, there is parking and another playground by the south holes.
Other Thoughts: There has been a lot of highway construction over the past two years here, leaving the nearest exit a bit further away than it used to be, but the park is still accessible next to the school.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yrs experience, rated 900+/-, played 244+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short Course With Odd Layout

1    10/7/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: DGDanG
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is well-maintained, and each hole has a tee sign.
Cons: Short course - every hole is around 200 ft.
Grass tees, confusing layout.
Other Thoughts: This course plays Holes 1 and 2 in the front section of the park, then you have to walk down a long alley/pathway to get to the back section to play 3 - 7, then you come back to the front, play 8 and 9, then play the same 9 holes as 10-18... thus, you walk to and from both sections of the park twice... It could be a lot simpler, it seems they just wanted to squeeze a course into an already small park and just made do with what they had available.

However, while the holes are all short, and are largely laid out in a simple and boring course, they are at least somewhat varied enough to give you a good round to focus on your short game, or, if nothing else, try for aces.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park / Course

1    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner/Intermediate level course. Shorter holes favor beginners. Still plenty of challenge for them; water, trees, elevation. Some intermediate players / advanced players will have no challenge here. Played some of the holes with my putter. Fantastic starter course for not only Westfield, but anyone interested in the sport.

9 grippy Innova Discatcher baskets that are labeled with basket numbers. 2 holes per basket. There are also 2 basket locations per hole that go back and forth.

Tees - 2 natural tees per basket. Alternate tees are labeled as holes 10-18 similar to Sahm. For 9 hole courses, it is a must to have dual tees in my opinion. It changes things up a bit. I don't have a problem with natural tees but some may (see cons). Concrete tees in future? The second set of tees (10-18) changed the line on a few of the holes.

Signs - Great signs that have picture of holes, distance, par, and signs to next hole. Also shows location of both tees. Each tee has its own sign. Course map.

Variety - Mix of open and lightly wooded holes. No hole is not completely flat. Lots of elevation changes on southern portion of park. Creek runs through course and intertwines with many holes. Plenty of trees new and old to challenge beginners.

Water hazard - Creek on course interferes with 10 of the 18 holes (5 of holes if you consider this a 9 hole course). Holes 1/10, 2, and 9/18 have biggest hazards. Other hazards are if you overshoot or throw a wild throw. No real chance of losing a disc if you're willing to get wet.

Peaceful course, especially on the walk from northern half to the southern half. I enjoy the walk but some may not (see cons). There was a really cool and historic cemetery during the walk.

Easy to navigate. Signs galore!

Ace run for advanced players.

Clean park with benches, bench swings, and trash cans.

Playgrounds on both halves of the park for kids.

Easy to get to. Even when highway will be finished, course is and will be easy to get to.
Cons: Natural tees - I don't have a problem with natural tees, but some players do. They can become wet and slick after rains. Here they take away from the overall play of the course.

Hole 9/18 gets pretty close to the skatepark. Narrow fairway between creek and skatepark.

Long walk from holes 3/12 to 4/13 and from 7/16 8/17. I liked it but some will complain. Took about 4 minutes. Takes longer if you read the historic sign at the cemetery (which is awesome).

Shorter course - not too challenging for advanced players but course isn't aimed towards them.

Walking path can be an issue but I did not have any problems. It was peaceful.

Poison ivy in some of the rough. Try not to overshoot near holes with thick rough.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my girlfriend (beginner) and she really enjoyed it. Several courses we play are too challenging for her and she gets frustrated. This course was perfect for her. I also enjoyed this course because of potential for an ace.

If you are in a time crunch, you have several options. You could play 1-9 or 10-18. You could only play the holes on northern end 1, 2, 8-10, 17, and 18. You could play the holes on the south end 3-7 and 12-16.

I played all 18 and only did the long walk down and back once. I played 1-7, 12-16, 8-11, then 17 and 18. If you don't like the walk and want to only do it once, that's the way to go.

I feel although it's not necessarily a con, concrete pads would improve this course and I would update my review to a higher score if they did. It would make it more playable. It's a great start for Westfield and perfect place to learn how to play. I would recommend it to any beginner or intermediate player learning a new disc of wanting to try something new.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

City slicker!

5+    5/16/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park with nice mature trees and some new, smaller trees. A shallow creek (usually about 4"-5" deep) plays on about half of the holes. Well maintained park. Water and restrooms available. Decent parking.

Brand new DISCatcher Pro 28 baskets. Nice overall course map/rules sign at the start of the course. Good tee-signs with full graphics of the hole and hazards, par, distances, etc. Next tee signs where needed.

Great course for kids and families to try out and improve their game. Some rolling terrain comes into play. Good course for more experienced players to practice their short game (or teach a new player). Short course, plays quickly, good for a lunch round or a quick one after work!

Some very nice benches on the course and trash cans.
Cons: No tee-pads (yet). may be too short for more experienced players. (If it had tee-pads, it would be a 3.5 course.)
Other Thoughts: Easy to get to. The park is generally not very crowded. There is a paved trailed that goes through the park and can come into play on a coupe of holes. Please use caution there and give trail users the right-of-way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.