Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Back Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 295ft.   4 / 295ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/2/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: My wife and I played this with another couple and found it to be a nice course overall with a nice variety of open and wooded holes, many of which played along or over a stream. The landscape variety kept it interesting and made for a nice walk in the woods in addition to the DG play.

Concrete pads and signs.

Many tees are located near interesting workout stations which added to the fun of the course even though not technically part of the DG course.
Cons: Flow was confusing at times so a map is required for first timers.

Each tee had a hole map, but some were confusing and not oriented correctly so we weren't always sure which way to throw.

Some holes required a lot of walking between one basket and the next tee.

At one point we ended up on the front course since the two run close together on later holes.

A couple of shots were too tough for the wives so they skipped those holes, such as the two shots over the pond (16 & 17) and one that played over the creek through a narrow, bushy area (9).
Other Thoughts: Only played the back half due to time but liked it and will return next time we are in Columbia.

 Home

5+    7/8/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: COMODG
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course layout. 3 pin placements for each hole, so it changes frequently. Mix of wooded and open holes. It is more powerful than the front course. Some holes require HUGE drives.
Cons: Scorecards with maps would be amazing for this course. The baskets could be replaced in the near future. Also, the grass gets a little tall from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I play the most. It changes a couple of times each season, and I think it is an excellent place to play and practice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

5+    10/15/2011   1/12/2012
Review By: Sammish
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lot's of variety in the course. Plenty of challenge, yet plenty of opportunities to make up ground if you have a bad hole. The first few holes are fairly open except for 2. Starting with hole 7 you will need to have more careful shot selection to deal with the trees. Until 16 and 17 when you will have to throw over water. Finally 18 is pretty open, but long uphill. It is the best practice course in Columbia because of the variety of hole locations.
Cons: Not much elevation change. Sometimes hard to figure out where to go next. Definitely, helps to have someone with you if you haven't played the course before. For first timers you should know that after hole 4 you will need to cross the parking lot to the east to find hole 5. After playing hole 6 you will need to walk west to the sidewalk and follow it around to the South through the woods and take the left at the split in the walk to get to hole 7. After hole 14 you will need to follow the sidewalk to the North to get to 15. If you walk West from 14 you just run into the front course.
Other Thoughts: Definitely the place to play if you are going to play only one course in Columbia

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Albert Oakland Park...

2-4    7/9/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located in a park with technical shots and long bombers. Great mix of holes. This course will challenge every shot in your bag. Hole 2 is a HUGE hyzer over some very tall trees. Very fun to play. The wooded holes have a well-defined fairway, while still staying fairly technical. The rough will punish errant shots, but wont put your disc in jail. A small creek runs through the back nine. The water is placed in just the right area for a risk/reward shot. Will you go for it? Or will you lay up and take your three? There is also a small pond in the middle of the course which comes into play on 2 holes. It is, however, very easy to clear if you don't have a huge arm. The baskets are in good condition and work just as well as any other baskets. Tees are concrete, big enough, and still have good grip when wet.
Cons: Not good signage. That's all I have to say about that. It can be hard to find the next hole if your not playing with a local, especially when the front course comes in the same area. No benches or trashcans anywhere. The creek can be very muddy. I wouldn't go in for a disc... Some of the "rough" areas can be thorny, and I think I saw some poison ivy around. There can be some joggers/bicyclists on the walking path, but it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: This course has great potential, but it lacks some amenities. The arrows pointing to the next tee would be very helpful if the weren't spun in the wrong direction...

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    5/20/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied hole types requiring different types of shots, plenty of room to air it out but not strictly a 'big arm' course, concrete pads, lightly-worn solid baskets, reasonably accurate tee signs, clean course, water hazards, good use of wooded area to make some more technical holes, fairly easy walking.
Cons: Can be difficult to navigate the first time, hole 5 is accessed by walking across a parking lot and plays near a road, could use some more creativity with basket location (for example: 3,4, and 5 are all 'straight at the basket' drives of various lengths), can get crowded with non-DG traffic, needs more trashcans, discs can be lost here both in the woods/undergrowth, and water (creek and lake).
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Noob - Pro. Probably the most balanced public course in Columbia; very popular with all types of players (many people in Missouri get their DG start here). It pairs well with the shorter and more technical front course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely worth playing

2-4    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is very well maintained and clean. I have always been impressed how well the grass is mowed and how little trash there is out there.

The course itself is a lot of fun. There is ton of diversity which I am a big fan of. While there are no 600 ft behemoth holes, there is plenty of variation in distances and use of the land. A nice balance of open, park-like, and wooded holes with tons of well placed mature trees to wreak havoc on would-be great shots. There is even water that can come to play on at least half the holes on the course in the form of a pond and a deep creek that snakes throughout much of the course. The concrete tee pads are luxurious. Some of the largest tee pads I have played on, period. You could set up an RV on these things.
Cons: At one point, this course had very good signs. At this point, the signs are mostly worthless. There are a few that seem to still be accurate, but many have become outdated and unhelpful.

The flow of the course is very confusing. It is super easy to get lost. I have no idea how someone who has never played out here before would find their way. About half of the holes require you to walk back across the fairway you just through across to get to your next tee.

The baskets are just okay. At one point they were awesome, but because this is an old course, the baskets reflect that. Not a big issue, just thought I would throw that out there.
Other Thoughts: The flow and signage issues keep this from being outstanding in my book. This would easily be a 4-4.5 for me if those issues were ever resolved...but I don't see the flow issue ever being completely corrected. The signage issue would bump this to a 4 by itself.

I still love playing out here and head that way whenever I am in the area. It is probably the best course in the middle of the state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 columbia

1    11/30/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging , nice locals, course in great shape , another full 18 at same course makes for great day trip
Cons: short holes
Other Thoughts: water ate some discs of me and my brother but was a good time even with 150 miles each way to get there

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good variety of holes makes it fun

5+    8/23/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open holes and slightly wooded. A couple of holes feature thick woods or tunnel type shots.
-Challenging to advanced players without killing casual players
-Tee pads are spacious
-Multiple pin placements keep it fresh after several rounds
-Nice use of the pond on 16 and 17
Cons: -Long walks between some of the holes (3-4, 4-5, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, 15-16)
-Can be difficult to navigate on the first attempt (especially hole 2 which has the tee pad facing the woods; the basket is on the other side)
-A few iffy creek crossings, especially holes 7 and 10.
Other Thoughts: If it is your first time, take the time to print out the course map ahead of time, or try to hook up with a local to help guide you and reduce frustrations. Most of the holes have signs, but it can still be difficult to know where to throw when you can't see the basket. All in all, a solid course that should see you using every shot in your bag.

Update: The course has been redesigned a little with two new holes on the far east side of the park. So the map on the site is basically worthless. After playing hole 4, cross the parking lot to find the tee for 5. After playing 6 make your way back to the path and follow it all the way until you see the bridge on your left. Cross the bridge and you are at hole 7. The tee pad you can see from 7 fairway if you look left and across the path is number 8. After 9, make your way back to the path and head left until you reach the tee pad on the right. You will pass the tee for 12 on the left. After completing hole 10 cross the creek and follow the path to the right and the tee for 11 is right there. After hole 14, take the path to the right and the tee for 15 is just after you cross the bridge on the right. Once you have completed 15, head back to the path and over to the lake shot on 16. Hope this helps!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good contrast to the front course, but where's that next hole?

1    6/8/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. More challenging than the front layout, but not so bad that its a game killer. A mix of some open bombs with some cool tunnel shots. Number 9 is particularly cool with a blind creek guarding the basket. Has multiple and varied pins, some of which are cleverly tucked. Cool water shots on 16 and 17.
Cons: I don't recommend negotiating this one without some guidance as the flow can be aggravating and it can be easy to get off course. There are next tee signs at some of the pins, but a number of them are pointing the wrong direction. Thankfully, I had a few local players gracious enough to help an out of towner out. Several of the pins are blind from the teebox, so you'll want to see where you're shooting before you do it. Woods can eat your discs. Gets muddy after a big rain, and I would imagine flooded after a really big rain. They could use a few more footbridges.
Other Thoughts: The back course compliments the 'park golf' vibe of the older front course well with its woodsier terrain. This thing kicked my tail the one time out, (never play a round after six hours of driving), and after getting to know where everything was, I wanted another crack at it, but I had to leave before I had another chance. I think I could grow to like this a lot better with some practice. If you're in Columbia, give this one a shot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip to Columbia

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 143  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Back course is well laid out and maintained. Three potential ace runs stand out in my mind. Enjoyed the pin placement. I felt the course had a decent mix of open and tight holes
Cons: Overall I very much enjoyed playing the back course.
Other Thoughts: I took a day trip with a buddy of mine, played three courses: Oakland front, back and Indian Hills. This is my number two for this trip

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.