Disc Golf Store
Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Back Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #2 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Good variety of holes makes it fun

5+    8/23/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open holes and slightly wooded. A couple of holes feature thick woods or tunnel type shots.
-Challenging to advanced players without killing casual players
-Tee pads are spacious
-Multiple pin placements keep it fresh after several rounds
-Nice use of the pond on 16 and 17
Cons: -Long walks between some of the holes (3-4, 4-5, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, 15-16)
-Can be difficult to navigate on the first attempt (especially hole 2 which has the tee pad facing the woods; the basket is on the other side)
-A few iffy creek crossings, especially holes 7 and 10.
Other Thoughts: If it is your first time, take the time to print out the course map ahead of time, or try to hook up with a local to help guide you and reduce frustrations. Most of the holes have signs, but it can still be difficult to know where to throw when you can't see the basket. All in all, a solid course that should see you using every shot in your bag.

Update: The course has been redesigned a little with two new holes on the far east side of the park. So the map on the site is basically worthless. After playing hole 4, cross the parking lot to find the tee for 5. After playing 6 make your way back to the path and follow it all the way until you see the bridge on your left. Cross the bridge and you are at hole 7. The tee pad you can see from 7 fairway if you look left and across the path is number 8. After 9, make your way back to the path and head left until you reach the tee pad on the right. You will pass the tee for 12 on the left. After completing hole 10 cross the creek and follow the path to the right and the tee for 11 is right there. After hole 14, take the path to the right and the tee for 15 is just after you cross the bridge on the right. Once you have completed 15, head back to the path and over to the lake shot on 16. Hope this helps!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good contrast to the front course, but where's that next hole?

1    6/8/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. More challenging than the front layout, but not so bad that its a game killer. A mix of some open bombs with some cool tunnel shots. Number 9 is particularly cool with a blind creek guarding the basket. Has multiple and varied pins, some of which are cleverly tucked. Cool water shots on 16 and 17.
Cons: I don't recommend negotiating this one without some guidance as the flow can be aggravating and it can be easy to get off course. There are next tee signs at some of the pins, but a number of them are pointing the wrong direction. Thankfully, I had a few local players gracious enough to help an out of towner out. Several of the pins are blind from the teebox, so you'll want to see where you're shooting before you do it. Woods can eat your discs. Gets muddy after a big rain, and I would imagine flooded after a really big rain. They could use a few more footbridges.
Other Thoughts: The back course compliments the 'park golf' vibe of the older front course well with its woodsier terrain. This thing kicked my tail the one time out, (never play a round after six hours of driving), and after getting to know where everything was, I wanted another crack at it, but I had to leave before I had another chance. I think I could grow to like this a lot better with some practice. If you're in Columbia, give this one a shot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  This course has consumed me!

5+    5/22/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: dragger40
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are all challenging in one way or another and if its not so challenging today it will be tomarrow due to multiple pin locations on most every hole.
The use of several trees (as well as several kinds of trees) makes for some tricky and well thought out shots. Water hazards also play into the mix and can ruin your game in an instant if not smartly thrown.
Cons: Tees signs could be better maintained and it can be tricky crossing the creeks when the water is high but niether are a deal breaker and niether have ever kept me from playing.
Other Thoughts: I am new to the game and I am very addicted due solely to this course. I have played several other courses due to my line of work putting me out of town alot but I just cant wait to get back home and try to better my score on this often challenging course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek Dun Rose

1    3/24/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would have really liked this course. The holes are fun and, save for a few wide open ones, fairly challenging. There are some ace runs and plenty of guardian trees and tough basket placements. Hole #9 looked really fun. More on that in the Cons...Of the holes that were playable, (15 of the 18) I liked them. Even the shorter holes have good pin placements, either requiring a nice low tunnel shot or making you hyzer or annie around some trees. There is OB everywhere in the form of creeks, a pond and a walking path. Potentially a really fun course!
Cons: Now for the bad parts: Hole 5's basket is across a creek. The problem is that there is no bridge to get to the basket. I had to walk all the way back up 5, go over a bridge (towards the basket for hole 3), then walk all the way back to the pin, hole out, then walk all the way back to the tee box for 5, then walk to 6. Just totally ridiculous. So, after that excursion, I was walking the holes to make sure that there was no creek cutting me off from the basket again. Lo and behold: #9 was unplayable due to the creek also and #14 probably could have been played if I wanted to walk a whole lot extra. Couple all of that with poor signage, including showing multiple pin placements, but not telling you which spot the basket is in, and I just can't give this course a good rating. If not for the creek issue, I would have given it at least a 3.5 though. The pin placements are mostly visible, although there were several blind shots where you throw and pray. And, the quirky little thing of 13 being past 14 was kinda weird too.
Other Thoughts: I guess if the creek is down, it's not a big deal to cross, but it only rained for a few hours this morning, and I played late in the afternoon. Big problem. I didn't have time to play the front course, thanks to all of the extra walking. I hope I just didn't see the bridges, and if some locals prove me wrong, I'll happily upgrade my rating. If it hasn't rained, though, this would be a fun course to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 90ís era tournament-quality course

5+    3/6/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Albert-Oakland back course was originally a temporary course used for the Mid-America Open. It's a pretty good example of a 90's era tournament-quality course. It has some good length to some of the holes and has a good mixture of open and wooded shots. There are some low-ceiling shots and strategic trees that force you to manage the course, so you can't just bomb away. The course also uses a creek and lake to add water OB on several holes as well as using a paved walking path to create more OB areas. Unlike the front course, there are a few shots here where you can air it out. Discs have changed significantly since this course was installed, so it does not have Par 5 distances but at least one hole (#7) is probably a legit par 4 in the long placement. There may be some other long placements as well that I'm not aware of. Judged just on the quality of the shots, it is a very good course.
Cons: The temporary course this was based on did not take into account flow and ease of play. It was a tournament course, and the focus was on setting up the best shots. It was made for tournament players, and it was assumed they could follow the group ahead of them and find all the holes. The design really wasn't significantly altered, and that creates some problems for recreational players.

You have to walk back down the fairway of # 5 to get to # 6, and you have to walk down the fairway for # 6 to get to # 7. You then have to walk across the fairway for # 10 to get to the tee for # 8. There are very long walks between the basket for # 4 and the tee for # 5 and between the basket for # 14 and the tee for # 15. There are directional signs on the baskets pointing to the next tee, but the poor flow of the course leads to backups and confusion. You often encounter lost players looking for the next tee.

At some point, hole # 12 must have become a problem as it encouraged you to hyzer around a tree over a walking path (despite the path being OB.) Hole 12 now shoots from the old tee for # 13 that opens the anhyzer route and avoids the walking path. All good, except the tee sign for #12 is missing. So you just have two slabs of concrete to choose from and nothing telling you to avoid taking the shot that was causing enough of a problem that they moved a hole. Nice.

Hole # 13 was moved, except now you have to walk past the tee for # 14 to play it and walk back up the fairway one of them (take your pick) to get to the tee for # 14. The tee sign for # 13 still has the map of the old hole with the old distances.

Wear waterproof shoes. You have to cross the OB creek several times, and you do it by looking for the shallow spots.
Other Thoughts: Whoever wrote "Single use park; disc golf only!" on the course description evidently overlooked the aquatic park, tennis courts, sand volleyball pit, picnic pavilions and all the paved walking paths that are also in the park.

Based solely on the quality of the shots, this is a very good course. If the shots are what are important to you, I'd suggest this course without hesitation. However, if the overall flow and easy of finding your way around are important to you, this might not be your cup of tea. I felt I had to reduce the overall rating due to the poor flow, but there are some good golf shots on this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Road Trip to Columbia

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 147  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Back course is well laid out and maintained. Three potential ace runs stand out in my mind. Enjoyed the pin placement. I felt the course had a decent mix of open and tight holes
Cons: Overall I very much enjoyed playing the back course.
Other Thoughts: I took a day trip with a buddy of mine, played three courses: Oakland front, back and Indian Hills. This is my number two for this trip

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 where i learned

5+    10/19/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: there are a few long holes that allow you to show off your arm 3, 4, 10, 18. In the woods i wouldn't say it is tight but like 7 you will have to make the chute before you are in the fairway. i play here a lot and i am always challenged
Cons: i would like a couple of longer holes
and not very much elavation, with the new course layont going from hole 4 to 5 will take a new player on a wild goose chase, the new 5 and 6 are great but disrupt course flow, from basket on 4 walk toward school and parking lot, tee for hole 5 is on northeast corner of parking lot and after hole 6 take pathway into woods and cross bridge to hole 7
Other Thoughts: the park has inspired me to map out a frankenstein course using the front and back courses

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dogfish
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of the woods. You are rewarded with clear shots if you stay on the fairways but it's not like those other courses where if you get offtrack you want to throw your discs away. Throw over a pond on holes 16 and 17. Mowed and hole changes frequently. And even though it goes through woods, the fairways are cleared out except for the trees strategically left there. The best part is the use of the creeks that meander throughout. Multiple pin placements give nice variation. Easy Navigation. The course is forgiving enough for beginners but creative enough to give experienced players a challenge to get that low score. Also the Oakland front course is right there as a very nice complement for 36 holes of golf. Indian Hills is close-by if you just can't get enough.
Cons: I really can't think of anything bad to say about this course. There aren't huge elevation changes but then you don't really notice it given the creative design.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course I've played. It's in Columbia, MO--great college town so there's plenty of things to do.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.