Columbia, MO 
Albert Oakland Park - Back Course Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #14 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not bad for the area

5+    5/10/2010   4/1/2011
Review By: ZNCram1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The wooded holes play really well and are enjoyable. Also they are faily secluded lets you kind of get away.
Cons: Along with the very good holes the are some pretty bad ones link #2 wich basically has you throw blindly into a big patch of trees with no opening in them whatsoever. The course could also use some help in directing you on where next hole is. Could be very confusing for people new to course
Other Thoughts: This course is not great not bad it has some very good holes but also some awful one ie #2

 Bad

1    11/5/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: eggmixer
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.6 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Not as pathetic as other courses in Columbia
Cons: Most pins at "A" placement which I'm sure contributed to the crappiness of this course. Flat, not very challenging, awful layout, almost impossible to locate tees without a guide
Other Thoughts: I guess if you live in and around Columbia and have no other frame of reference for a decent course, you might give this a 3 out of 5.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 What signs!!!

1    10/12/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are all challenging.
Very nice tee pads.
Water comes into play.
Ace runs even for my short arm.
Multiple and varied pin locations.
Cons: Most of the signs are useless.
No flow to the course.
Hole #2 no shot for short armed old man, I know sounds like a personal problem.
Other Thoughts: If I had not played with someone that had played this course I would have been lost, to me one of the most important things a course needs to take care of is good signs.

I really liked how the water was brought into play but I do think some bridges would be a great idea.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 nice overall course

5+    9/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: VictorB
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice mixture of shots - shorter technical holes, as well as long par 4 pin placements (championship placements play par 58). Recently updated, with 2 new holes on the east side of the parking lot from #4. Lots of new pin placements as well. Park is maintained pretty well.
Cons: Course signs need to be updated with new layouts - the club and city are currently working on this issue, should be new signs by next season hopefully. A few of the longer placements are currently difficult to spot if you aren't familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: Potentially the most balanced course in Mid-Missouri, and featured course during the Mid-America Open in July. Stretched out, there are a few 500'+ holes on the course, but lots of fun (but not easy) ace runs when it's in a shorter setup.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely worth playing

2-4    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is very well maintained and clean. I have always been impressed how well the grass is mowed and how little trash there is out there.

The course itself is a lot of fun. There is ton of diversity which I am a big fan of. While there are no 600 ft behemoth holes, there is plenty of variation in distances and use of the land. A nice balance of open, park-like, and wooded holes with tons of well placed mature trees to wreak havoc on would-be great shots. There is even water that can come to play on at least half the holes on the course in the form of a pond and a deep creek that snakes throughout much of the course. The concrete tee pads are luxurious. Some of the largest tee pads I have played on, period. You could set up an RV on these things.
Cons: At one point, this course had very good signs. At this point, the signs are mostly worthless. There are a few that seem to still be accurate, but many have become outdated and unhelpful.

The flow of the course is very confusing. It is super easy to get lost. I have no idea how someone who has never played out here before would find their way. About half of the holes require you to walk back across the fairway you just through across to get to your next tee.

The baskets are just okay. At one point they were awesome, but because this is an old course, the baskets reflect that. Not a big issue, just thought I would throw that out there.
Other Thoughts: The flow and signage issues keep this from being outstanding in my book. This would easily be a 4-4.5 for me if those issues were ever resolved...but I don't see the flow issue ever being completely corrected. The signage issue would bump this to a 4 by itself.

I still love playing out here and head that way whenever I am in the area. It is probably the best course in the middle of the state.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but confusing

1    5/19/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: green_hornet915
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout but they were moving hole when I was there and the last part of the course was not very well marked. The holes that I did play were challenging and had a good amount of difficulty much better than the frount 18
Cons: Need to finish the additions and it will be a good course to play it is my number two choice when I am in Columbia.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    5/30/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course originating from a temp course for the mid america, good mixture of holes, ob water and paths makes a challange
Cons: pecker knats
Other Thoughts: along with the front course being redesigned, the back course loses holes 13 and 14, and adds 2 new holes between original 4 and 5, so old 5 is now 7 , 6 is 8, 7 is 9, so on til hole 15, rest of course is same, maybe a few different pin placements

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Go to the Outback?

1    7/22/2009   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the holes overall. Very challenging course for any level of player. Nice array of longs versus shorts. Two courses back to back is always a plus! Many benches and nice hole signs.
Cons: Although the concrete tee's are nice, some of them do not exactly 'point the way' towards the basket locations (In fact #2 is downright ridiculous!); so my son and I sent on repeated treks back and forth trying to figure out what exactly we were throwing at. There are some considerable treks between some of the holes as well.
Other Thoughts: Although there are some negatives, the fact of the matter is that once you are familiar with where everything is, this is a really fun course to play@

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Como Thank You

1    1/26/2010   2/6/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Changes in distance on every hole, no repeat shots, makes you use everything in your repertoire, one of my favorites have played it many times.
Cons: Short holes, lots of ace runs, makes it fun but can make it boring as well, I like long holes and unleashing my cannon but this makes for a good change of pace but can throw off a long arm players game.
Other Thoughts: Don't under shoot on 16 or 17 u will have to go for a swim.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 columbia

1    11/30/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging , nice locals, course in great shape , another full 18 at same course makes for great day trip
Cons: short holes
Other Thoughts: water ate some discs of me and my brother but was a good time even with 150 miles each way to get there

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.