Disc Golf Store
Logan, UT 
Cache County Fairgrounds Share
Uploaded By: Jacob S Hole #2
3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A bit of a hidden gem

2-4    9/12/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 40  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 23.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous and well-maintained course with shady trees and a stream running right through it

-Good variety of distances, elevation and shot selection. Pretty textbook park-style course

-Sensible mandos. They aren't just put there to add challenge. They serve a distinct purpose.

-Quality, full-color teesigns that make navigation a breeze
Cons: -No real teepads. Though the teepads that do exist are all concrete, they are just sidewalks.

-Being a fairly new course, and in a large multi-use complex, you have to deal with a fair amount of people who don't know what's going on and will park themselves in the fairways
Other Thoughts: Hole 9 and 16 are definitely the signature holes here. This is a great course, and well worth a play if youre in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A breathe of fresh air

5+    7/22/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: luckypeak
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great flow
-Wonderful use of the space, to get 18 holes in the area
-Good mix of backhand and forehand shots
-Water hazards
-Par 59 6000+ feet
-During the day you will have the place to your self
Cons: -During the summer months in the evening the fairgrounds is quite busy, it becomes difficult to play the entire course
-Events at the Fairgrounds require the course to be removed from time to time throughout the summer
Other Thoughts: The course is wonderful for the area, its nice to play a course that isn't put in on un maintained land. The course is well groomed shaded and a pleasure to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    6/21/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: tstack10
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stopped by this course on my way up to Bear Lake and was pleasantly surprised. Course is located in a fair grounds park that has a good variety of holes. A few elevation changes and a bunch of trees and mandos to make holes a little more challenging. This is one of few courses I play that has had holes around 600 feet as par 4s.

Hole 1 starts next to a open seating pavilion. Elevated tee to basket long and behind some trees and a creek. After most holes here is a sign you can see and the tee pads are usually marked.

Front nine is mostly grass and trees but the back nine is played along a creek that your discs can land in but when I played they were easy to go in and get out of you didn't mind getting a little wet. Using course map helps as there is an island hole #14 and there other events set up. There were monster tricks getting ready for a show when we played. Check website link for more info on events.
Cons: There were a fair amount of people at the fair grounds, camping, hanging out and I had to skip some holes because of it. A few easy holes but overall it was a fun course, with excellent baskets. Fun to see a great course in Logan.
Other Thoughts: Signature hole is #9-short throw to take an ace run at between some mondo trees and a creek. The basket is actually in a stump or an old tree to make the basket slightly elevated. To the left there is the rodeo area that adds a little country that Logan is known for. I would recommend this course to anyone and cannot wait to play again when I'm in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the area

2-4    6/9/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park atmosphere, fun course.
brand new baskets, nice people.
Longer holes than a normal park course.
Cons: Course is a little easy. Not many obstacles. Holes rely on distance and mandos to provide most of the challenge.

Navigation wasn't too bad, but I got confused a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: They were setting up for some kind of a fair when I was there, so there were lots of kids and sometimes vehicles in play, sometimes on the fairway, making holes unplayable. Also four of the baskets were pulled by the time I went to play a second round. Not sure how often this will happen, but it is a fairground so it's bound to be a recurring issue.

I personally thought they're a little liberal with the course pars. I was getting 3's about half the time on the par 4's and it was my first time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great addition to outdoor activities in Logan

2-4    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 5/28/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located at the Cache County Fairgrounds, just east of the Logan City pool and rec center. The grounds are well maintained, and the baskets, though of only single-chain design, are well placed and usually easily spotted. The holes include a combination of large open fields and tree-lined fairways. There is something for everyone at this course - holes for distance power players and holes for more technical players.

The course includes five par-4 holes (#1-546', #8-404', #11-547', #16-590', and #18-570'). It also has five holes with water hazards in the form of a small creek (er…ditch) about 10' wide that runs along the east and south ends of the fairgrounds. Holes #9, #10, #11, #15, and #17 have water in play.

Locals are friendly and will help lost players.
Cons: I played the course the first time on Saturday May 24, 2014, and then again on Memorial Day, May 26, 2014. The first time we played we were hopelessly lost. The baskets were clearly visible scattered around the pleasing grounds of the fairgrounds, but we were at a near complete loss when it came to finding most of the tee boxes, and when we did find a tee box it was usually impossible to know which tee box went with which basket - there were no sign posts and no signage, so we had to make it up as we went along.

The tee boxes included combination of painted marks on roads and cement pads already in place, while others were spray painted on grass - v. difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: We were better prepared when we played on Memorial Day - we printed a map and were able to follow another group around the course. This time the course made more sense, yet this course will benefit greatly from better-marked tee boxes and signage.

All in all this is a 5-star course, but will receive 4 stars from me until they resolve the tee box and signage issues. Luckily I was told that the signs and tee box issues should be addressed within the next month!

Because I have family in the area, I look forward to playing this course many times in the future. Logan, you are lucky to have such a fine course. Enjoy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfect Course

5+    5/23/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: abarker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the perfect peaceful, relaxing, challenging-- but not frustrating course.

It has a variety of long shots (5 par fours), wide open shots, tight fairway tunnel shots, mandos, short technical shots, a few really easy holes, and an Island hole. This course requires skill to get low scores as there are opportunities to go out of bounce on nearly every hole, but it is almost impossible to lose, or have to search for a disc.

The course is located in the well maintained Cache County fairgrounds. There are hundreds of tall mature trees to provide you with shade almost your entire round, and a small peaceful stream that runs along the side of many of the holes. If you're looking for a disc golf course with a ball golf feel, this is it.

The fairgrounds is also located less than a mile away from Infinite Discs (1125 W 400 N #120), which is Utah's largest disc golf store. Great opportunity to play one of the best courses in Utah, and restock or try the newest plastic on the market.
Cons: Because the primary purpose of the area is the Fairgrounds, there are several times each summer where the baskets are removed and the course comes down completely. Check http://cachevalleydiscgolf.com to make sure the course is available before heading up to Logan.

Other Thoughts: Weekends are often busy with small events, camping, and family reunions. If other events are in the way, make an alternate tee location or skip a hole entirely.

We want to make sure this course stays, so use all courtesy and caution -- every other fairgrounds use has the right of way. Don't throw if people or vehicles might be remotely in the way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.