Peabody, MA 
Peabody Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: bgiggey Hole #4
-- / --   3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/27/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The holes are pretty well designed so that a variety of skill levels can enjoy them. There are a few straight on ace runs like hole 1, but many of the others will force you to hit a line. There is some good elevation that comes into play. One hole was a163 feet long downhill, and I had to consider what to throw without overthrowing it.

The tee signs are nice and navigation was easy. The fairways are covered with wood chips (those weren't just put. in for the course, were they?), so I imagine it holds up well after a rain.

The parking lot even features "Disc Golf Parking Only" signs, so we are now officially a protected class.
Cons: The tee pads are natural and have some ruts. They could stand to have some rubber tee pads.

There isn't a ton of challenge for a top player, but these also aren't a series of deuce-or-die holes.

You may screw up your drive when you start thinking, "Wait, the locals really pronounce 'Peabody' that way?"
Other Thoughts: This is exactly what the greater Boston area needs more of. Full 18-hole courses aren't going to be feasible in a lot of places, but there are certainly 10 acres of woods here and there that can be the setting of a nice 9-hole course. People on the North Shore suddenly have options, and this isn't a bad one. If I lived nearby, I'd be here a lot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/5/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: AwanaTrek
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISC GOLF PARKING ONLY signs - NICE!!!
Great use of a fairly tight space
Like the layout and variety of shots and a few ACE runs thrown in.
Tee Boxes are good size and level
Nice baskets and very visible
Wood chips all down the fairway will inhibit weeds but miss the fairway and the roughs get rough.
Cons: Only 9 holes but it will be difficult to get many more.
Other Thoughts: They will not be able to get 18 holes into the piece of land but a few more can be added to bring the pond into play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Quick

2-4    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Me I'm Counting
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I debated a 4 star rating. The course is very well designed and constructed. The maps and next tee posts are beautiful and informative. The course is a very fast play. By myself, it took about 30-35 minutes to play 9.

Starts easy, and increases in difficulty once you get to 6-7-8-9. 8 is a "real deal" hole, that is the best on the course. I really enjoyed playing it, and would definitely go back.

Very close to 128, and easy to find. Well marked, very clean (so far).
Cons: No real "cons" in the typical sense, but a few observations. Obviously it would be nice if this were an 18 hole course, but there really isn't space. Wear good traction shoes. The mulch is a rough cut.

Hole 9....I'm not sure how I feel about it. It is only ~245 ft., but I don't really think an average player has a chance for birdie as-is, since the turn is so sharp. There could be an opportunity for brush clearing there to open up more plays.
Other Thoughts: I told all my friends it plays like a "Devens Beginner Course". It just has a similar vibe, IMO.

Will need undergrowth attention and likely tee pad maintenance in the future (stone dust). Glad to see a trash can, nice map, etc.

If you are in the area, give it a shot, very fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/1/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: franko
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This an example of efficient use of a small piece of property. Most of the holes work through tight, technical lines, while still remaining beginner friendly because of the length. Only one hole is greater than 300' which is ideal considering the intent of the course was to introduce new players to the game. The fairways are fair, and considering there are only 9 holes, there is a good mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer lines to hit. Quality tee signs is always a plus, and this course has them.
Cons: At the time I had played, there hadn't been much foot traffic, which can be bad in terms of undergrowth and saplings popping up. I can imagine that with summer on the way, there could be some poison ivy to battle in some spots. Hopefully locals will give the course love and help with upkeep. I'm unfamiliar with the transition from designer/builder to local community upkeep in a situation like this, where a not-so-local designer installs a course. Hopefully it will be smooth!
Other Thoughts: If you're a seasoned player, and you're looking to open up on a couple of holes, this isn't the course to do it. However, if you're looking for a quick evening round, and you're local to the Peabody/Salem/Danvers area, this is a good spot to get in a quick 9. It would be nice to see another 9 added in the future (if space allows?)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.