Dunbar, WV 
Wine Cellar DGC Share
Uploaded By: knettles Hole #12 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Beautiful, yet unfinished.

1    8/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: dylangrantclark
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course was very fun to play! It wasn't too far off of the interstate, and was quite easy to find. The holes were challenging enough, yet very fun to play. The walk was absolutely beautiful, and the entrance into the disc golf course was very beautiful.
Cons: It was rather easy to lose a disc, it took some time to find them and could be difficult to retrieve them. The course is only nine holes, at the time we played it, but there are more baskets.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the funnest courses I've played. I would love to return and play it once it is finished!

No "Wineing" after playing this course

1    8/21/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1260  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 27.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Details are laid out very well except for the tee signs.

As you enter the park, there are 2 signs. One pointing to the lake and the other to the
Disc Golf course ( to the left of the old abandoned Wine Cellars). Follow the sign and the blacktop path to another signpost saying hole #1. Follow that up the hill a little more and # 1's t will be there along with a bench.

Very steep course, but they have several benches dotted along the way so one can sit a spell.

Don't really need a map of the course as it's very well laid out.

Fast greens

Tight course

Innova baskets make location the basket much easier in this tight wooded course!

Did I say, attention to detail. Jim has a lot of rocks placed stratigically along the course. This work both makes it look more atractive, but also helps in the process to stop some errosion <applause, repeat>

# 3 is a heart beater as you through straight uphill with the basket at the plateau of the hill. Good flight lines, but miss them and you'll pay dearly as it a very steep slope when your off the fairway.

# 7 has a mando, As it protects # 8 tee box and it gives you a beautifull ACE run towards the basket. Go for it and go long, again a steep slope to transverse to the basket.

#9 (new version, to be completed by next week said Ben <co-designer, volenteer> is going to be sick. As one would throw down the very steep hill and then fade to the right and over a creek with the basket hiding behind a grove of trees <but the basket is just hiding from across the creek, there's plenty of room for putting once you get there).

Decent sized tee pads.
Cons: Didn't have a a layout of the hole on the tee sign (but was told by designers that would be corrected).

No cement tees, but ground up black top surface (not really a con, but it depends on what your preferance is, I guess.

A very narrow road taking you to the park, Please becarefull as there a lot of younger kids playing about at the apartments as you start up the hill to the course.

smallish parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Meet the designers Ben, Jim and his son on hole # 6. I introduced myself and they then did the same. They asked me a couple personal questions about OB and mandos and I told them of my thoughts.

They told me that the new tees signs will have a more descriptive layout of the hole after future expansion (as they plan to add another 9 holes in the near future :)

I'm going to keep an extra eye on this course and come back after their next expansion phase is completed as from the work they done and what they we're talking about doing in the next phase, is going to make this course one of the better if not the best course to play in the Charleston area (IMO) Keep up the GREAT work people. I'm impressed-------------- - +


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    6/6/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: zfish102
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good technical shots
Not hard to find
Clean area
Very nice baskets
Cons: Tricky to find first hole
Can be muddy in paths from hole to hole
Long walk from 8 to 9
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course to play fi you're looking for some technical shots through the woods. The sides of the fairways are still thick with some brush so keep an eye on your disc if you hit a tree. Future development can definitely be made with the park, especially would be nice to see some holes between 8 and 9 so there isn't such a long walk without tossing a disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical Finesse

2-4    5/17/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: knettles
Played: 77  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of shots due to vegetation and terrain.
-Asphalt regrind tees (similar to gravel).
-Nice Innova baskets.
-Scenic park setting.
Cons: -No long open holes (me being picky).
-Has some flat sections of trail that get super muddy.
Other Thoughts: My original review stated how this course suffered from many of the holes being too short. I have taken that back due to the constant and awesome work done by the designers to improve the course. They have lengthened (and improved) a couple holes and should have the full 18 ready in the coming months. I'm really excited to see what the rest of the holes will look like when they're done. Since this course's inception, it's done nothing but gotten better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.