Round Lake, IL 
Fairfield Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #5
3 / 275ft.   3 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Gold Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Squaw Creeek

5+    3/9/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: MadSnapper
Played: 97  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course has 2 layouts.
Beginer level White Course and a Championship Gold course for advanced and Professional level players.

This is by far the best course in Lake County IL.
Cons: It can get busy when its nice out, and be sure to bring bug spray in the summer months.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in Illinois

5+    5/28/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: Tom McManus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 39.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well designed course that provides the opportunity to use multiple types of shots. There are some open long holes and there are some super long wooded holes with fair routes to the basket. It is a fair course in that it is not only right friendly.

Nice tee pads, easy to navigate from one hole to the next. Good signage, benches in some locations. Plenty of garbage cans and it is always well maintained.

The regulars do a nice job of picking up garbage and Round Lake Park District is very open to suggestions.
Cons: There are one or two spots that are low lying and could use some stone and drain tile to move water
Other Thoughts: Great course!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Golden standard

5+    11/26/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: randallmadison
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Championship caliber course
-Concrete tees
-Multiple pins & tees
-Great elevation changes and mix of wooded, open shots, & distance
-Most of course set away from jogging path and separate from rest of park
-Great baskets with colors
-Well maintained with lots of mulching
-Make time to play this course. It rivals anything you can find in the Joliet circuit.
Cons: -Bugs riteous in summer
-No benches at all. Bring a seat if playing gold
-1 port o john in summer only
Other Thoughts: It's a destination course you drive for and could play all day. Not much to improve upon. Happy discing!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely one of the best in IL!

5+    10/17/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: mcastigl521
Played: 84  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The white course is excellent for beginners, and still challenging enough for skilled players. The gold course is a BEAST, and is not really recommended for beginners. However, skilled players will absolutely enjoy this part of the course. OBs are clearly marked, and the park district upkeeps the course fantastically. In summer of 2015 a tree came down on the #9 white basket, smashing it into the earth. This happened on a Thursday night, and the basket was completely replaced by the next Wednesday for leagues.
Cons: Since the front 9 of both courses share fairways, it tends to get a little backed up at busier times. Once the courses split in the back 9, the flow is a lot better. My biggest complaint would be the lack of abatement for mosquitoes. The holes in the back are nestled among many areas where water is meant to collect. This water is a breeding ground for skeeters, and summer of 2015 was an absolute nightmare!
Other Thoughts: If the park district can be swayed to do something about the water before the mosquitoes can hatch, that would help this course to be a destination for discers from miles around. The tall grass is tough, but it is well needed to punish bad shots, as runups are made much tougher than a clean fairway shot.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in the area. 4.75

5+    11/1/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: jasonc
Played: 147  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Squaw Creek Gold and Fairfield White layouts offer excellent variety throughout both courses with multiple par 4's and par 5's. Multiple OB water hazards and elevation changes that are unmatched in the greater Chicagoland area.

-Tee pads are grooved concrete and hold up well in bad weather conditions.

-Tee signs provide hole distances and clarification on the shared baskets/tees as needed.

-Next tee signs have been installed at points where navigation can become tricky if you don't see the signs.

-2 Kiosks in the parking lot provide scorecards/course maps.

-2 practice baskets with a little history.

-Overly generous wide fairways have been mowed to cut down on time looking for discs in the long prairie grass.

-Each hole offers a unique challenge. Easy birdie holes are few and far between.

-The first 4 holes are rather open as a reminder of what the old Fairfield used to be and how far this piece of property has come with help from Brett Comincioli, Chuck Kennedy and the Round Lake Area Park District staff members.

-Hole 5 is the beginning of the wooded holes. While fun, they are challenging and frustrating, but only if you don't stay on the fairways.

-Numerous signature holes. #10 and #15 always come to mind when asked. Both are par 4 and offer tight fairways in the woods with OB hazards, doglegs and elevation changes between the tees and baskets.
Cons: All are kind of a reach but here goes...

-Tee signs leave a bit to be desired on the longer holes where the basket is not visible from the tee.

-Potential for safety concerns with the bike/walking path on a few holes. However, you would really have to try to hit someone with a disc while completely shutting out your surroundings to make this happen.

-Lack of benches.

-1 porta-potty in the parking lot.

-Only 1 DGCR entry for 2 distinct disc golf courses. While some tee pads and fairways are shared along the way, I believe there is more than enough separation to list Fairfield White and Squaw Creek Gold on individual pages.
Other Thoughts: Full disclosure...this is my home course. If I could, I would give it a 4.75 because it is not perfect, but pretty darn close. I believe it is better than a 4.5.

-Bring along plenty of bug spray in the summer months. Check for ticks in the spring and fall.

-If you need to play a quick round, go for Fairfield White. However, if you are looking for a long, grueling round, Squaw Creek Gold is for you.

-Fairfield might be out of the way for folks looking to stay closer to the highway, it is absolutely worth the drive. I still think it is amazing that the Park District does not charge a fee to play a round here. Round Lake Area Park District, please take my money!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

1    9/26/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: mceskri
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 courses, white & gold.

White course is definitely for beginners and amateurs. The Gold is definitely for the pros.

This place really tests all of your abilities from wide open shots that the wind can really play with to heavy wooded precision shots. I loved that they start you off out in the open, then you slowly make your way into the woods hole by hole. It's extremely well kept and has lots of new wood chips as of 9/26/2015.

Vintage Old baskets from the first disc golf courses in IL was a nice touch.

Good signage to direct you throughout the course. Would be tough to get lost here.

No mosquitoes when i played, as many others mentioned. It sounds like they're bad in the summer months only.
Cons: A bit crowded on the weekends, but once we started moving through the course, the spacing improved.

I wish they had signage to show where the baskets are located off the tee. As a first time player of this course, I threw a lot of blind shots having no clue where the basket was.

Other Thoughts: I learned the difference between a professional course and an Amateur course by playing this one.

This place is the real deal. Met some really nice players who helped us navigate too, since my Udisc app was not mapped correctly.

The course took 2 people about 1.5 hours to play.

Make sure you read the signs at the tee box, some holes share the same tee box, but have two baskets, others have two tee boxes and one basket. Be aware of this, there are signs telling you where to go though and the basket will be white/yellow if it's shared.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging yet fair

2-4    8/20/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 125  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mowed fairways, great variety between par 3, 4, and 5s. Beautiful shots through the woods with defined lines, no stupid poke and hopes. I really loved the par 5s, they were 4-able and if you 3 them it would take perfect shots, which is how it should be.

Great variety between woods and open fairways. Reminds me of one of my favorite courses, Blue Lake in Oregon.

Nice stream running through on a few holes.

Really cool old school practice baskets!

Cons: Mosquitos can be really bad, watch out! That is not the course's fault though.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/18/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I played course because it had high reviews. I was not disappointed. It was the first disc golf course that part of it had a links golf look and feel to it.Other parts were more traditional disc golf course that had fair fairways and was very playable.When I say playable I .mean course is not over burdened with upstructions that you can't manufactor a shot
Cons: Memory isn't to good course was about ten miles off interstate
Other Thoughts: I thought course was well worth playing

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best Course(s) in Illinois?

2-4    7/26/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 80  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2015
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Two separate layouts provide multiple challenge levels and an increased variety of holes
- Well-designed course with excellent mix of shot types, hazards, and hole lengths
- Course maintenance is fantastic and navigation easy
- Practice hole and baskets are a great touch
- Large, grippy concrete tee pads and color coded baskets that catch well
Cons: - No benches throughout
- Tee signs show hole number and distance only, no map or description of fairway shape
- While two layouts are very nice, I wish there was a layout with a difficulty level between white and gold
Other Thoughts: Fairfield Park's unique dual layout makes the most out of a great piece of land without overcrowding or watering down the quality of the disc golf by trying to cram in two completely distinct 18 hole courses. The White and Gold layouts would be great courses in and of themselves, but it is their combination in a single location that really elevates Fairfield Park.

The course has always been well maintained during my visits, and while they don't have the best amenities (only a single port-a-potty, no pro/snack shop) there are enough little extras that make this feel like a disc golf course, and not just some baskets in a park. After you pass the large, colorful course map there is a "warm up hole" near the parking lot. I wish more courses had this. It is really nice to get a handful of tosses in on a shorter, open hole to warm up your arm before the first hole, and being able to do that to an actual basket is great. Once you have thrown enough to this basket, you can take a couple of steps to two more practice baskets, and get some putting in before finally making your way to the first tee pad.

The course starts you off gently with 3 largely open holes where long grass shapes the fairways. I am generally not a fan of using tall grass as rough, but these holes are straightforward enough, and with wide enough fairways, that it isn't much of an issue (The tall grass here also isn't nearly as thick as many others I have encountered). While these holes don't require the level of shot shaping as the rest of the course, being open, they force you to deal with the wind frequently present, and have enough other small things going on to not be boring and still go well with the flow of the course.

Once you play 4's long turning shot (stay out of the rough on the right side!) and enter the woods on 5, the real test begins. The majority of the holes at Fairfield play through tight, but very fair, wooded allies. The elevation won't blow you away, but you will be throwing left, right, up and down to fast greens and over water for the next 10+ holes. There really is a delightful variety here not found at many other courses. The round finally comes to a close as you exit the woods with a massive 810'/905' downhill shot back towards the parking lot with plentiful OB.

Navigation is generally easy here, as there are plenty of signs directing you to the next hole. The tee signs only have the number and distance, which is usually sufficient, but a visual description of the hole would be nice, particularly since many of the longer gold holes are blind and require a good bit of walking to find the basket if you aren't familiar. Benches at the tee would really be nice as well with all the walking you will be doing, and would add to the "completed" feel of the course. There are a decent number of trash cans throughout, and the tee pads are large and grippy. The baskets aren't the best, but still catch well.

My last little nit-pick for this course might sound a bit odd. After each of my rounds, both on the white and gold layouts, though I enjoyed them immensely I found myself wishing there was a third layout in between the existing two. This might just be my own skill level falling between the cracks a bit, but since my rating tends to float right around 900, I figure there are enough people that may feel the same way as me that it is worth mentioning. The white layout has a lot of fun shots, but really lacks distance for the majority of the course. I went almost the entire course without pulling out anything faster than a buzzz, and drove with a putter on the majority of shots. Holes 3, 4, and 17 give this layout a huge chunk of its length.

When playing Gold, however, I occasionally felt overwhelmed by the massive, tightly wooded shots, and watched my score balloon to almost 150% of what I shot on the whites. Others in my group suffered even worse. The gold layout is well designed, but definitely aimed towards more advanced players, particularly holes 10-15. I don't expect each course to cater to my specific skill level, and I didn't really count this against the course in my rating, but a third layout that was more than pitch n' put distance for 2/3rds of its holes, but not quite averaging 450' per hole, would be great. I guess my point here is, if you are a mid-level player with a rating in the ballpark of 900, expect to either be beaten down by Gold, or not sufficiently challenged by large stretches of white.

Fairfield is a fantastic course (two courses? course and a half?) that has everything from water carries, long bomber shots, tight ace runs, and massive par 5s that require you to hit landing zones. There really is something for just about everyone here, and I don't think anyone would regret making the trip to play one or both of these layouts. As usual, bring bug spray, don't let the mosquitos get you down, and have a blast playing some terrific disc golf.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fairfield - Squaw Creek Gold

5+    3/20/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: klemrock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great mix of lefty/righty holes. Good use of elevation. Good mix of open/wooded holes. Tough but fair OB on several holes, including several water holes. Easy navigation throughout entire course.
Cons: Can be crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course maintenance, but players should litter less.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.