Round Lake, IL 
Fairfield Park Share
Uploaded By: MindBodyDisc  

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Definitely one of the best in IL!

5+    10/17/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: mcastigl521
Played: 63  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The white course is excellent for beginners, and still challenging enough for skilled players. The gold course is a BEAST, and is not really recommended for beginners. However, skilled players will absolutely enjoy this part of the course. OBs are clearly marked, and the park district upkeeps the course fantastically. In summer of 2015 a tree came down on the #9 white basket, smashing it into the earth. This happened on a Thursday night, and the basket was completely replaced by the next Wednesday for leagues.
Cons: Since the front 9 of both courses share fairways, it tends to get a little backed up at busier times. Once the courses split in the back 9, the flow is a lot better. My biggest complaint would be the lack of abatement for mosquitoes. The holes in the back are nestled among many areas where water is meant to collect. This water is a breeding ground for skeeters, and summer of 2015 was an absolute nightmare!
Other Thoughts: If the park district can be swayed to do something about the water before the mosquitoes can hatch, that would help this course to be a destination for discers from miles around. The tall grass is tough, but it is well needed to punish bad shots, as runups are made much tougher than a clean fairway shot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best in the area. 4.75

5+    11/1/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: jasonc
Played: 145  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Squaw Creek Gold and Fairfield White layouts offer excellent variety throughout both courses with multiple par 4's and par 5's. Multiple OB water hazards and elevation changes that are unmatched in the greater Chicagoland area.

-Tee pads are grooved concrete and hold up well in bad weather conditions.

-Tee signs provide hole distances and clarification on the shared baskets/tees as needed.

-Next tee signs have been installed at points where navigation can become tricky if you don't see the signs.

-2 Kiosks in the parking lot provide scorecards/course maps.

-2 practice baskets with a little history.

-Overly generous wide fairways have been mowed to cut down on time looking for discs in the long prairie grass.

-Each hole offers a unique challenge. Easy birdie holes are few and far between.

-The first 4 holes are rather open as a reminder of what the old Fairfield used to be and how far this piece of property has come with help from Brett Comincioli, Chuck Kennedy and the Round Lake Area Park District staff members.

-Hole 5 is the beginning of the wooded holes. While fun, they are challenging and frustrating, but only if you don't stay on the fairways.

-Numerous signature holes. #10 and #15 always come to mind when asked. Both are par 4 and offer tight fairways in the woods with OB hazards, doglegs and elevation changes between the tees and baskets.
Cons: All are kind of a reach but here goes...

-Tee signs leave a bit to be desired on the longer holes where the basket is not visible from the tee.

-Potential for safety concerns with the bike/walking path on a few holes. However, you would really have to try to hit someone with a disc while completely shutting out your surroundings to make this happen.

-Lack of benches.

-1 porta-potty in the parking lot.

-Only 1 DGCR entry for 2 distinct disc golf courses. While some tee pads and fairways are shared along the way, I believe there is more than enough separation to list Fairfield White and Squaw Creek Gold on individual pages.
Other Thoughts: Full disclosure...this is my home course. If I could, I would give it a 4.75 because it is not perfect, but pretty darn close. I believe it is better than a 4.5.

-Bring along plenty of bug spray in the summer months. Check for ticks in the spring and fall.

-If you need to play a quick round, go for Fairfield White. However, if you are looking for a long, grueling round, Squaw Creek Gold is for you.

-Fairfield might be out of the way for folks looking to stay closer to the highway, it is absolutely worth the drive. I still think it is amazing that the Park District does not charge a fee to play a round here. Round Lake Area Park District, please take my money!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/26/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: mceskri
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 courses, white & gold.

White course is definitely for beginners and amateurs. The Gold is definitely for the pros.

This place really tests all of your abilities from wide open shots that the wind can really play with to heavy wooded precision shots. I loved that they start you off out in the open, then you slowly make your way into the woods hole by hole. It's extremely well kept and has lots of new wood chips as of 9/26/2015.

Vintage Old baskets from the first disc golf courses in IL was a nice touch.

Good signage to direct you throughout the course. Would be tough to get lost here.

No mosquitoes when i played, as many others mentioned. It sounds like they're bad in the summer months only.
Cons: A bit crowded on the weekends, but once we started moving through the course, the spacing improved.

I wish they had signage to show where the baskets are located off the tee. As a first time player of this course, I threw a lot of blind shots having no clue where the basket was.

Other Thoughts: I learned the difference between a professional course and an Amateur course by playing this one.

This place is the real deal. Met some really nice players who helped us navigate too, since my Udisc app was not mapped correctly.

The course took 2 people about 1.5 hours to play.

Make sure you read the signs at the tee box, some holes share the same tee box, but have two baskets, others have two tee boxes and one basket. Be aware of this, there are signs telling you where to go though and the basket will be white/yellow if it's shared.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging yet fair

2-4    8/20/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: TimMcD
Played: 117  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mowed fairways, great variety between par 3, 4, and 5s. Beautiful shots through the woods with defined lines, no stupid poke and hopes. I really loved the par 5s, they were 4-able and if you 3 them it would take perfect shots, which is how it should be.

Great variety between woods and open fairways. Reminds me of one of my favorite courses, Blue Lake in Oregon.

Nice stream running through on a few holes.

Really cool old school practice baskets!

Cons: Mosquitos can be really bad, watch out! That is not the course's fault though.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

2-4    8/18/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I played course because it had high reviews. I was not disappointed. It was the first disc golf course that part of it had a links golf look and feel to it.Other parts were more traditional disc golf course that had fair fairways and was very playable.When I say playable I .mean course is not over burdened with upstructions that you can't manufactor a shot
Cons: Memory isn't to good course was about ten miles off interstate
Other Thoughts: I thought course was well worth playing

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best Course(s) in Illinois?

2-4    7/26/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 74  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2015
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Two separate layouts provide multiple challenge levels and an increased variety of holes
- Well-designed course with excellent mix of shot types, hazards, and hole lengths
- Course maintenance is fantastic and navigation easy
- Practice hole and baskets are a great touch
- Large, grippy concrete tee pads and color coded baskets that catch well
Cons: - No benches throughout
- Tee signs show hole number and distance only, no map or description of fairway shape
- While two layouts are very nice, I wish there was a layout with a difficulty level between white and gold
Other Thoughts: Fairfield Park's unique dual layout makes the most out of a great piece of land without overcrowding or watering down the quality of the disc golf by trying to cram in two completely distinct 18 hole courses. The White and Gold layouts would be great courses in and of themselves, but it is their combination in a single location that really elevates Fairfield Park.

The course has always been well maintained during my visits, and while they don't have the best amenities (only a single port-a-potty, no pro/snack shop) there are enough little extras that make this feel like a disc golf course, and not just some baskets in a park. After you pass the large, colorful course map there is a "warm up hole" near the parking lot. I wish more courses had this. It is really nice to get a handful of tosses in on a shorter, open hole to warm up your arm before the first hole, and being able to do that to an actual basket is great. Once you have thrown enough to this basket, you can take a couple of steps to two more practice baskets, and get some putting in before finally making your way to the first tee pad.

The course starts you off gently with 3 largely open holes where long grass shapes the fairways. I am generally not a fan of using tall grass as rough, but these holes are straightforward enough, and with wide enough fairways, that it isn't much of an issue (The tall grass here also isn't nearly as thick as many others I have encountered). While these holes don't require the level of shot shaping as the rest of the course, being open, they force you to deal with the wind frequently present, and have enough other small things going on to not be boring and still go well with the flow of the course.

Once you play 4's long turning shot (stay out of the rough on the right side!) and enter the woods on 5, the real test begins. The majority of the holes at Fairfield play through tight, but very fair, wooded allies. The elevation won't blow you away, but you will be throwing left, right, up and down to fast greens and over water for the next 10+ holes. There really is a delightful variety here not found at many other courses. The round finally comes to a close as you exit the woods with a massive 810'/905' downhill shot back towards the parking lot with plentiful OB.

Navigation is generally easy here, as there are plenty of signs directing you to the next hole. The tee signs only have the number and distance, which is usually sufficient, but a visual description of the hole would be nice, particularly since many of the longer gold holes are blind and require a good bit of walking to find the basket if you aren't familiar. Benches at the tee would really be nice as well with all the walking you will be doing, and would add to the "completed" feel of the course. There are a decent number of trash cans throughout, and the tee pads are large and grippy. The baskets aren't the best, but still catch well.

My last little nit-pick for this course might sound a bit odd. After each of my rounds, both on the white and gold layouts, though I enjoyed them immensely I found myself wishing there was a third layout in between the existing two. This might just be my own skill level falling between the cracks a bit, but since my rating tends to float right around 900, I figure there are enough people that may feel the same way as me that it is worth mentioning. The white layout has a lot of fun shots, but really lacks distance for the majority of the course. I went almost the entire course without pulling out anything faster than a buzzz, and drove with a putter on the majority of shots. Holes 3, 4, and 17 give this layout a huge chunk of its length.

When playing Gold, however, I occasionally felt overwhelmed by the massive, tightly wooded shots, and watched my score balloon to almost 150% of what I shot on the whites. Others in my group suffered even worse. The gold layout is well designed, but definitely aimed towards more advanced players, particularly holes 10-15. I don't expect each course to cater to my specific skill level, and I didn't really count this against the course in my rating, but a third layout that was more than pitch n' put distance for 2/3rds of its holes, but not quite averaging 450' per hole, would be great. I guess my point here is, if you are a mid-level player with a rating in the ballpark of 900, expect to either be beaten down by Gold, or not sufficiently challenged by large stretches of white.

Fairfield is a fantastic course (two courses? course and a half?) that has everything from water carries, long bomber shots, tight ace runs, and massive par 5s that require you to hit landing zones. There really is something for just about everyone here, and I don't think anyone would regret making the trip to play one or both of these layouts. As usual, bring bug spray, don't let the mosquitos get you down, and have a blast playing some terrific disc golf.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fairfield - Squaw Creek Gold

5+    3/20/2015   3/20/2015
Review By: klemrock
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great mix of lefty/righty holes. Good use of elevation. Good mix of open/wooded holes. Tough but fair OB on several holes, including several water holes. Easy navigation throughout entire course.
Cons: Can be crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course maintenance, but players should litter less.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Blew me away!

2-4    8/17/2014   3/10/2015
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being from New Jersey and having played many of the somewhat boring nine-holer's in this area, my expectations were not very high for this course, however what I found, was a gem, and I feel confident saying that this course can hold its own with the best of them.

Variety- With this course, you could definitely tell that tremendous thought was put into nearly each and every hole. This course will test each and every asset of an individuals game, and more! The long wooded par 5's, are well thought out, and require precise shots, and execution to score well. The marsh, and small runoff "ponds" are put into good use requiring a good mental game. Additionally, there is a very solid mixture of wooded and open holes, that add to the variety. Each hole is fair and some have multiple options from the tee, allowing players to throw a variety of different lines, depending on how aggressive they want to get.

Par is tough- I really enjoy courses such as this that make you work for your birdie on every hole, while par is often a very good score. These types of courses make players maintain a smart mental game throughout the entire course. Each shot is as important as the next, and each shot very rewarding if played properly.

Elevation- although elevation is not common in this area, the elevation on the property was put into good use, forcing a player to execute shots that are not often found in this area.

Two distinct layouts- Honestly, I believe that they would encounter no problems calling each of the layouts their own separate course. For the majority of the holes, each tee is completely different, and for each hole, there is a separate gold tee and basket, as well as a separate white tee and basket. These layouts are made very easy to follow by the color coordination of the baskets.

Creek- the creek and marshy areas were great additions to the course, providing much necessary OB and once again making the player think before throwing a drive.

Navigation- Next tee signs and the close proximity of most holes to one another allows this course to be easily navigable while still maintaining a proper flow.

Cons: Most of the cons for this course relate to it being fairly new at the time I played it.

Signage: This relates to the tee signs. Each sign only displays the distance, rather than including a map as well, which would be very helpful, especially because most of the baskets cannot be seen from the tee. I am sure, given the local volunteers that this will be fixed overtime.

The first few holes are a bit too open for my taste, and do not require the thought process that many of the other wonderful holes that can be found on this hole present.

The course could have been made more interesting if the creek was brought into play more, but I understand the environmental hazards that this could have ignited.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was very pleasantly surprised with the caliber of golf that this course brings to the table. I believe wholeheartedly that this course can definitely compete with the best in its area and even its region. NOTE: In my book, the course is more of a 4.75, but due to the fact that most of the cons do not relate to the design and caliber of golf, I decided to give this one the bump to a 5.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Best in North Suburbs, Maybe Chicagoland

2-4    12/26/2014   1/5/2015
Review By: BuzzzChief
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the terrain. Those that remember the old Fairfield, won't believe this is the same land. Every hole is thoughtfully placed and works with the natural flow of the land. The par 5's are real monsters, but are very fair. Clear layout, easy to make your way around. Very well maintained. Good teepads.
Cons: Tee signs could have more detail. That's seriously my only complaint. The first time through, I needed to walk up a lot of holes first to see what was going on.
Other Thoughts: This is clearly the best course in the North suburbs, and possibly all of Chicagoland. It's great to have something up here that rivals the premier courses in other areas. I would maybe put this course up there with the Peoria area courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/13/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 110  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a suburban disc golf Mecca.

Fairfield Park features two beautifully designed layouts, each one completely unique. The gold layout makes for a brutally challenging round of 18 holes, while the white layout is great for more casual rounds.

Both layouts begin with 4 open holes, each one longer than the one before. This gives players the chance to stretch out their arms and prepare for the round ahead.

Hole 5 is an excellent hole and offers the first taste of the round to come. It is relatively open for most of way, with the last 75 ft of fairway lying in a thickly wooded tunnel perched on a hill side. In the white layout, this hole can lead to a four (or five) if you miss the tunnel, or an extremely rewarding two if you hit it perfectly. From the gold layout you're throwing to the same pin, but you're about 150 feet back and there are trees on the right that add some extra challenge.

The round really starts to dive into the woods at hole 7.

At hole 10, the white and gold layouts separate completely, each playing their own unique holes. They do not come together again until the end of the round. I've never seen this done on a course as well as it was done here.

Great course signs and the colorful baskets (white baskets for the white layout, gold baskets for the gold layout, white and yellow for shared baskets) help prevent any confusion that might be created by having two distinct layouts.
Cons: The signs at this course do not have any visual aid to help golfers understand the hole; they only have hole # and distance.

The designers used the limited elevation on site well, but the park as a whole was fairly flat.

The land is a bit swampy, bring some boots!
Other Thoughts: Make sure you print out a course map before your round.

For locals: In the Chicago suburbs, there really is no comparison to this course. I was looking at my past reviews to try and determine which suburban course could give Fairfield a run for its money. Prior to this review, I had rated Eagle Ridge (Oswego), Community Park (Channahon), and Highland Park (Joliet) the highest among suburban courses with ratings of 4.0... Fairfield Park blows each of these courses away.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.