Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #14 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   4 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Could be so much better...

1    9/16/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 265  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 course located on the UW-Baraboo campus, mostly behind the buildings, and around the grounds.

Older Mach3 baskets, but all in decent enough shape and mounted well. A few tricky pin placements, and several that are tucked into nice spots. One pin position per hole.

Navigation is relatively easy, as the paths are pretty worn down. Signs on most holes help the cause.

The wooded sections offer some nice, tight lines to hit, with a little bit of hilly up and down. The rough is punishing, even on shorter holes.

A decent mix of open and wooded holes. You never really get bored with the layout.

Dual tee pads on most holes offer a nice change up for less experienced players. The short tees are quite short (for the most part). I found the long tees to be a decent challenge, especially with the wooded holes having a lot of tighter lines to hit.
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is the tee pads. They're mostly rubber, and they're horrid. Not even close to level, which is exacerbated by the fact that they're cut into two sections, so you end up with all kinds of ankle-busting fun halfway through your run up. Just a mess, and enough to make me not come back. Even serviceable tees here would be a dramatic improvement.

This course, while designed decently and having some really fun holes, is haggard. It's kind of the drunken uncle of courses...sitting off in the corner of your playable area, just stinking it up and reminding you why you don't invite him to your parties anymore. Just a little cleaning up and love, and you'd have something. Clean yourself up, Uncle Morty, and I'll come back and visit.

Apparently when they updated the student housing, they took out hole 18 and never bothered to replace it. Solid.

The wooded holes, for the most part, offer one line, and that's it.

Not overly cart friendly.
Other Thoughts: I think about some of the fun shots here, and want to go back. Then I think about the worst rubber tee pads I've ever seen, and I don't want to anymore.

If you're in town, and have to throw, make sure your standstill is dusted off, or be prepared to make like Fred Astaire for most of the round. All that aside, a solid course with plenty of fun factor.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1    7/7/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 17 holes here. Theres a mix of rubber and concrete tee pads. Many of the holes have long and short tees. The baskets are all in pretty solid shape and catch fine. The signs, when present, are descriptive enough with distances from both tees, hole number and a basic hole diagram. The flow is generally pretty easy to follow with a couple exceptions. There's a nice mix of wooded and wide to semi wide open holes. There is a pretty solid amount of elevation variation here. It has a pretty great mix of left and right favoring shots as well. The course is free to play and there is a practice basket by hole 1.
Cons: The rubber tee pads are pretty awful. They are plenty long enough but are divided into 2 sections that are terribly uneven, slippery, and retain water. Just not good at all. Hole 18 is gone too. This would be easy to fix by just putting a basket from 15's long tee to just before 16's pad making it 18 holes again. Or they could use that additional basket to replace the one being held up by logs on 12 or 13 I think. Many signs missing or knocked down and a few spots where a next tee arrow would be very helpful. The majority of the holes are pretty short, especially on the short pads.
Other Thoughts: With all that said this is a pretty fun course. Not worth a real detour to play but fun enough to take a couple extra drive minutes to hit up. With some better pads, signs and making 18 holes this would be a realistic 4. But as is in current conditions I can't go above a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/19/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course. There are a lot of different types of throws from wooded to wide open. The majority of the holes are a mix of the two. Good signs and tee pads to throw from.
Cons: There is no longer aneed 18th hole, there is now a college dorm where it should be.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

5+    1/8/2015   1/9/2015
Review By: Baueezy
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied hole difficulties, signs for most holes, pro and amateur tee pads for most holes, creeps along Ice Age Trail which helps with the imagery throughout.
Cons: Missing several baskets/holes due to construction (which severally hurts its true rating).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/17/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This very challenging course has two sets of tees for most if not all holes. Tough blind shots and doglegs, with wooded shots and open areas abound in this beautiful layout.
Cons: While I played the campus was under construction making it unplayable for several holes. The rough can be kind of thick and you really need people with you to help spot discs. It is also very tough to navigate if you haven't played it before.
Another drawback are the tee pads. Though some are nice there are others that are curled up and wavy, or simply a puddle of water. I wound up using the ground next to the tee more often than the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: Fix the tee situation and as soon as construction is done and I would consider this one of the nicest courses I've played at. But due to the above issues its nothing more than an average course right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Baraboo? More like Barayay!

2-4    7/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Course located close to Wisconsin Dells and I make it a point to stop here when we go to the Dells on vacation.

Has some good elevation on holes

Seemed to be well balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Not many people on the course.

Good baskets with nice practice basket and okay rubber/cement tee pads.

Has some good heavy wooded holes and a mix of moderate to open holes as well.

Navigation was okay, better once you have played it once.

Two tee pads per hole, only played from recreational ones.
Cons: Some tee pads were uneven otherwise not too much to criticize.

Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area and will be fun and somewhat challenging for many players. A good stop if you are in the area.

 Fun and Challenging

1    3/11/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 325  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really favors control and shaping lines over power and distance. The majority of the course snakes through very dense woods with decent elevation. There are a few holes at the end of the course that let you open up a little and go for some distance. All 18 holes were playable and easy to find. 15 throws beside a soccer field, the entire length of the field then another 250' slightly uphill to the basket. 16 and 17 are also a little longer than the rest of the course and each has a road to throw over or beside, but the signs did not say the road was O.B.
Cons: I really enjoyed the course and don't have any complaints. I would imagine the course can be sloppy after rain, especially with the steep terrain on the first few holes. The tees are rubber and in pretty good condition, but not all were perfectly level. Again, this had no effect on my game but some people may have an issue with them in less than perfect weather.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and liked the challenge of such thick woods with such narrow flight lines. It definitely requires chosing your line carefully before throwing, because one bad throw and you can easily turn a birdie hole into a boogie or worse. This course is worth checking out if youre in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: NorthernDisc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great looking course that winds through the campus. Several skill shot holes such as 9, that makes you throw through a small opening to miss a lot of trees before the basket.
Cons: Confusing now that it is under construction still. Some pins seem to have ended at spots that are now parking lot, so I don't know how this course is going to look after construction. Rubber tee pads filled with deep pools of water and some even have fallen trees on them. Next to a noisy practice field, so don't plan on relaxing.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course is pretty well laid out with a lot of shot shaping, but I just don't think it's living up to the high ratings it receives here.

 Fun little course

1    6/11/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course rates quite high on fun factor, with a ton of fun short ace runs in hilly woods. Most of the course plays through thick woods with shorter technical shots and a variety of nice hole shapes. There are a few more open holes thrown in for variety, and a couple of long open holes where you can really rip a drive at the end of the course. Most holes make use of the elevation to add some interest and variety, and several pin placements have drop offs to add some risk when putting.

There are two tees on every hole, both rubber with good grip. The back tees often add a slightly different shot, not just extra distance, so there's some nice added variety. There are basic tee signs at both sets of tees, with hole distances and layouts, it's pretty easy to figure out where to throw. The flow is pretty good, we didn't have any real issues following the course. For the volume of casual players carrying coolers around the course, there was surprisingly little trash and vandalism here.
Cons: Even from the long tees, this course isn't all that challenging, and from the shorts more than half the holes are putter ace runs even for a mediocre player like me. The hills in the woods are suffering pretty badly from heavy traffic, and are quite eroded and muddy. There was quite a bit of traffic when we played, with several huge groups playing (though all were good about letting faster groups play through). As Harr said, the end of the course is a bit of a let down, especially with a couple holes playing over a road where there were several cars parked in the way of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth a stop if you're in the area, just don't expect it to be too challenging. It's a fantastic beginner course with lots of variety but not too much distance from the shorts, though it is possible to lose discs in the underbrush. More experienced players will enjoy the technical shots in the woods, and find a couple challenging holes from the longs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic drive, great course in the baraboo hills area

5+    6/20/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 204  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety, balance, and challenge. The wooded holes are designed the way wooded holes should be - tight, tight, and tighter with one defined flight path and just a little room for error if you miss the main fairway. The wooded holes oon the front 9 play along a nice ridge that offers decent elevation with the tight woods. A few open holes are thrown in to air one out as well, but still needing to be accurate to avoid the surrounding woods. The back 9 are more "city park" like, and play through mowed fairways bordering recreational areas like softball and soccer. The holes are designed with good "fairway splitting" shrubs or trees and longer tunnel like starting areas from the long tees. Multiple tees here offer good variety for all skill levels. The final 4 holes or so offer a chance to air it out over 400' and 660' on one. It's not just wide open, there is some elevation and a OB road as well. The wind here can really do damage too. All in all this is a very sound and well designed course that offers great balance and variety.
Cons: No water hazard and no huge downhill throw. Thus, the course does not offer that jaw-dropping and memorable variety and baalnce. The greens are mostly wide open and never really risky at all (old school design philosophy must be rampant in the Madison area). The rubber pads are really slippery when wet. There is sometimes confusion around the intersection area of holes around the back of the school and because signs are often missing or broken, you have to walk all the way to the basket to figure it out (for a newbie).
Other Thoughts: This used to be our favorite when we were in college at UW. We lived north of Madison all the time and we'd pile in, take Hwy 113 across the river - on a car ferry - drive through the baraboo hills around Devil's Lake state park, and hit up the scenic, challenging, and low traffic Baraboo Lions course ALL THE TIME. This course is worth your trip too. A great scenic drive from Madison, and only 15 minutes from the tourist hotspot of WI Dells. On a side note, the Lion's are an excellent organization, and the WI chapters really seem to be interested in supporting disc golf - I know the Kewaunee Lion's have really helped Winter Park. The course offers a great amount of balance, required execution, and beautiful terrain, but lacks a few of the big money items like a huge downhill throw, water hazard, and more than 18 holes. This is a solid 4, maybe not as technically sound as the Madison courses, but it always seemed to be more fun, more difficult, and FAR less traffic and douches littering and vandalizing. Could someone tell me how lazy people think an empty beer can weighs more than a full one - I mean they carry beer in the bag, but when they're done the empty can must be too heavy to carry - I don't get it, but enough digression.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Baraboo seems out of whack with my other 4-disc courses. I have to downgrade to 3.5. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.