Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 191ft.   3 / 270ft.   4 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Pro Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun

1    6/17/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This very challenging course has two sets of tees for most if not all holes. Tough blind shots and doglegs, with wooded shots and open areas abound in this beautiful layout.
Cons: While I played the campus was under construction making it unplayable for several holes. The rough can be kind of thick and you really need people with you to help spot discs. It is also very tough to navigate if you haven't played it before.
Another drawback are the tee pads. Though some are nice there are others that are curled up and wavy, or simply a puddle of water. I wound up using the ground next to the tee more often than the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: Fix the tee situation and as soon as construction is done and I would consider this one of the nicest courses I've played at. But due to the above issues its nothing more than an average course right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Baraboo? More like Barayay!

2-4    7/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
Pros: Course located close to Wisconsin Dells and I make it a point to stop here when we go to the Dells on vacation.

Has some good elevation on holes

Seemed to be well balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Not many people on the course.

Good baskets with nice practice basket and okay rubber/cement tee pads.

Has some good heavy wooded holes and a mix of moderate to open holes as well.

Navigation was okay, better once you have played it once.

Two tee pads per hole, only played from recreational ones.
Cons: Some tee pads were uneven otherwise not too much to criticize.



Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area and will be fun and somewhat challenging for many players. A good stop if you are in the area.

 Fun and Challenging

1    3/11/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 273  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really favors control and shaping lines over power and distance. The majority of the course snakes through very dense woods with decent elevation. There are a few holes at the end of the course that let you open up a little and go for some distance. All 18 holes were playable and easy to find. 15 throws beside a soccer field, the entire length of the field then another 250' slightly uphill to the basket. 16 and 17 are also a little longer than the rest of the course and each has a road to throw over or beside, but the signs did not say the road was O.B.
Cons: I really enjoyed the course and don't have any complaints. I would imagine the course can be sloppy after rain, especially with the steep terrain on the first few holes. The tees are rubber and in pretty good condition, but not all were perfectly level. Again, this had no effect on my game but some people may have an issue with them in less than perfect weather.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and liked the challenge of such thick woods with such narrow flight lines. It definitely requires chosing your line carefully before throwing, because one bad throw and you can easily turn a birdie hole into a boogie or worse. This course is worth checking out if youre in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed

1    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: NorthernDisc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great looking course that winds through the campus. Several skill shot holes such as 9, that makes you throw through a small opening to miss a lot of trees before the basket.
Cons: Confusing now that it is under construction still. Some pins seem to have ended at spots that are now parking lot, so I don't know how this course is going to look after construction. Rubber tee pads filled with deep pools of water and some even have fallen trees on them. Next to a noisy practice field, so don't plan on relaxing.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course is pretty well laid out with a lot of shot shaping, but I just don't think it's living up to the high ratings it receives here.

 Fun little course

1    6/11/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course rates quite high on fun factor, with a ton of fun short ace runs in hilly woods. Most of the course plays through thick woods with shorter technical shots and a variety of nice hole shapes. There are a few more open holes thrown in for variety, and a couple of long open holes where you can really rip a drive at the end of the course. Most holes make use of the elevation to add some interest and variety, and several pin placements have drop offs to add some risk when putting.

There are two tees on every hole, both rubber with good grip. The back tees often add a slightly different shot, not just extra distance, so there's some nice added variety. There are basic tee signs at both sets of tees, with hole distances and layouts, it's pretty easy to figure out where to throw. The flow is pretty good, we didn't have any real issues following the course. For the volume of casual players carrying coolers around the course, there was surprisingly little trash and vandalism here.
Cons: Even from the long tees, this course isn't all that challenging, and from the shorts more than half the holes are putter ace runs even for a mediocre player like me. The hills in the woods are suffering pretty badly from heavy traffic, and are quite eroded and muddy. There was quite a bit of traffic when we played, with several huge groups playing (though all were good about letting faster groups play through). As Harr said, the end of the course is a bit of a let down, especially with a couple holes playing over a road where there were several cars parked in the way of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth a stop if you're in the area, just don't expect it to be too challenging. It's a fantastic beginner course with lots of variety but not too much distance from the shorts, though it is possible to lose discs in the underbrush. More experienced players will enjoy the technical shots in the woods, and find a couple challenging holes from the longs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Scenic drive, great course in the baraboo hills area

5+    6/20/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety, balance, and challenge. The wooded holes are designed the way wooded holes should be - tight, tight, and tighter with one defined flight path and just a little room for error if you miss the main fairway. The wooded holes oon the front 9 play along a nice ridge that offers decent elevation with the tight woods. A few open holes are thrown in to air one out as well, but still needing to be accurate to avoid the surrounding woods. The back 9 are more "city park" like, and play through mowed fairways bordering recreational areas like softball and soccer. The holes are designed with good "fairway splitting" shrubs or trees and longer tunnel like starting areas from the long tees. Multiple tees here offer good variety for all skill levels. The final 4 holes or so offer a chance to air it out over 400' and 660' on one. It's not just wide open, there is some elevation and a OB road as well. The wind here can really do damage too. All in all this is a very sound and well designed course that offers great balance and variety.
Cons: No water hazard and no huge downhill throw. Thus, the course does not offer that jaw-dropping and memorable variety and baalnce. The greens are mostly wide open and never really risky at all (old school design philosophy must be rampant in the Madison area). The rubber pads are really slippery when wet. There is sometimes confusion around the intersection area of holes around the back of the school and because signs are often missing or broken, you have to walk all the way to the basket to figure it out (for a newbie).
Other Thoughts: This used to be our favorite when we were in college at UW. We lived north of Madison all the time and we'd pile in, take Hwy 113 across the river - on a car ferry - drive through the baraboo hills around Devil's Lake state park, and hit up the scenic, challenging, and low traffic Baraboo Lions course ALL THE TIME. This course is worth your trip too. A great scenic drive from Madison, and only 15 minutes from the tourist hotspot of WI Dells. On a side note, the Lion's are an excellent organization, and the WI chapters really seem to be interested in supporting disc golf - I know the Kewaunee Lion's have really helped Winter Park. The course offers a great amount of balance, required execution, and beautiful terrain, but lacks a few of the big money items like a huge downhill throw, water hazard, and more than 18 holes. This is a solid 4, maybe not as technically sound as the Madison courses, but it always seemed to be more fun, more difficult, and FAR less traffic and douches littering and vandalizing. Could someone tell me how lazy people think an empty beer can weighs more than a full one - I mean they carry beer in the bag, but when they're done the empty can must be too heavy to carry - I don't get it, but enough digression.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Baraboo seems out of whack with my other 4-disc courses. I have to downgrade to 3.5. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced Intermediate Course

5+    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course forces alot of extreme curves through the woods, and has a good balance of both. It also has elevation in play on every single hole. This course often combines steep hillsides with trees for several very interesting holes. This course has a nice mix of wooded holes and open holes, so both distance and accuracy are rewarded.

This course is actually quite pretty, even with no leaves on the trees yet, and the elevation changes add another entire dimension to what you face on this course. Also, the many mature trees here put a ceiling on many technical shots, which is a nice change from many Southern Wisconsin courses that leave the over-the-top route a little too open.There is also a small creek in play on two holes, though it was dry when I played.
.
From the short tees, this is mostly a technical workout for curving your midranges around corners, busting out the occasional driver on the handful of open, longer holes. (10, 15-18)

From the longs, I teed off with drivers on all but a few holes. Even from the longs most holes are park-able off the tee with a well-placed drive, though some are on the verge, where you will still need a long putt for a birdie (10,16). The exception is hole 15, which takes me two solid drives to even sniff putting range, though its wide open, so you have wiggle room to really air it out.

The terrain on this course makes for some risky putts, and many holes on this course are unusual. One thing this course has tons of are blind tee shots. On at least 12 of the holes, you can't see the basket from the (pro) tee. Usually it is obscured by foliage, but this course has several drastic uphill shots where the terrain itself blocks the basket from view (Holes 1 & 14). This type of terrain is an interesting and unusual feature, present at a few excellent courses like Justin Trails Big Brother, Fountain Hills, and Whistler DGC, but something I haven't seen too often.

Several holes have no obvious line to play, and force risk/reward through the trees. Either that or, the line is there but it requires a strange shaped shot to pull off a birdie, such as the short anny with a fade at the end needed to sneak up on Hole 2's basket from the tee, or the sudden kink right 40 ft off the tee, then long straight downhill tunnel shot line that you somehow have to follow from the Long Tee to park Hole 4.

Several holes on this course are of the feast or famine variety, where a 2 or 4 is very likely, rather than a bell curve of mostly 3's. Some others are the type of hole where a 2 or 3 is the norm. Others are a real stretch to get better than a 3 on, but not too hard to par. A couple of pro tees, due to length, are a stretch just to get a 3 on.

This course is much more technical than distance from the shorts, and a mix of both from the longs. From the short tees, I've birdied the same 3 holes in a row multiple times (12-14). However, the long tees, while still birdieable, do constrict the lanes on the technical holes more, and add distance to the open holes, which really turns it up a notch. They significantly change the look on almost all the holes, which is good.

This course is quite challenging from the long tees. Looking at my score, on a good day I shoot similarly from the pro tees here as i did last week from the short tees at UW-Parkside, another mostly tight technical course with a few longer open holes thrown in. However, with the added length of the the long tees here vs Parkside shorts, its alot easier to shipwreck your score than it is at Parkside. A bad day from the longs here would be a REALLY bad day at Parkside

Another notable thing about this course is how much harder the longs are than the shorts. On some other courses, most notably Parkside, the longs don't seem really much more technical than the shorts, just a bit longer. Here, the longs punish you, forcing tight shots down constricted spaces, or bring more trees into play, or significantly increase the distance (holes 15 & 16)

So, this course has lots of terrain, variety and challenges, depending on which tee you play from, but not the most challenging course around (that would probably be Heistand)

Its Acorn Park's little brother in Southern Wisconsin: A nice intermediate course with enough variety and challenge to keep you coming back, but basic in many senses.
Cons: Tee pads and signage. Only some holes on this course have signs, and all tees are rubber pads. Frankly, I don't care what surface I'm teeing off from, whether its dirt, gravel, concrete, blacktop or rubber, as long as its flat. These uneven and lumpy rubber pads are anything but, which is frustrating to drive off of, especially on the tightly wooded holes where you need precision. These are just sad. Its frustrating to try to do a run-up on these lumpy pads.

This is more of an FTF thing, and thus less important to me than the tee pads, but still worth mentioning. With the large number of blind tee shots on this course (a good thing if you ask me), it's pretty important to know where you're shooting at. That's where good tee maps come into play. Unfortunately, only about half of the holes have them, and the maps are fairly generic, not really showing trees, just general line (left, right or straight) and distance from both tees.

Though the holes on this course are interesting, several would be great with an alt pin location. By switching a few holes between left and right curves, (when the terrain and space is there to do so), it would enhance the challenge and replay factor of the course by effectively doubling the number of holes. For example, on hole 13, where the pin is behind the large tree, there is a wonderful hillside to the right (that same hillside that 14 plays up further down), that would be a prime location for an alt pin (or even another hole in that valley, maybe to replace the very short hole 14) that would totally change up the hole from a left curve around the tree, to a right curve through a narrow shule fairway up to a basket on a slope or over a ridge. It would completely change the hole. Hole 13 is quite good already, but its just a thought.

And another thing: Where the heck is the long tee for 16?????? I saw it from the pictures on the site here, but due to the lack of signage on the hole, I never knew it existed after half a dozen rounds on the course. Its across the first dirt road from the am tee, in the grass triangle by the main road, and it makes the hole significantly longer and harder, especially when the wind is blowing.

I like this course, and plan to go back many times, mainly because I love all the birdie opportunities, but I just can't quite rank it even with the other great courses due to its shabby tee pads (and somwhat the signage too).
Other Thoughts: This course is a 3.25, Quite Good, and very fun. With level concrete tees (which tend to stay level if installed right, especially important on such a hilly course) this course is a 3.5, no question about it. Even if they just levelled out the rubber mats on the shorts and put concrete down for the long tees, this would be a 3.5
On top of that, with a few alt pin placements, new tee maps at every hole, and maybe replace some of the easy birdie holes/less interesting open holes, this course could maybe even be a 4.0, excellent, because the terrain itself is just so darn cool to begin with.
I don't know if its possible, but if they somehow cut a few more cool new holes through the woods across the power lines from 12, plus added one next to 13 in the unused valley, and maybe a couple more misc ones through the woods elsewhere to bring it up to 21 or more holes on top of the concrete tees, this would become a destination course of S-WI, one of the best between Sparta and Milwaukee, and on par with UW-Parkside. but thats a BIG what-if.

As it stands now, its a very fun intermediate course that a facelift could do wonders on.
This is a pretty cool, well designed course with some interesting lines you have to play, but maybe an epic signature hole or two shy of the level of wow factor that excellent courses (even those with less terrain like UW-Parkside or Blue Ribbon Pines) have in spades. This course has several really neat holes though, just not too many that combine that coolness factor with enough challenge.

UW-Parkside has the maze of trees on #6, and the evil stone terrace of #4
Blue Ribbon Pines has the 400ft tunnel shot of #4.
Where is this course's signature hole? Several holes approach it, but none are quite there.
Hole 2 is interesting, very tricky, but probably too short to really be a signature hole
Hole 4 is unusual, but not unusual enough to wow you.
Hole 10 is one of the biggest curves I've ever seen, but too much of a given 3 from either tee, not enough scoring spread to be IT
Hole 11 is probably the closest thing this course has to a signature hole. Those three trees that guard the fairway are mean disc magnets, but if you clear them with a right curving line towards the basket, a birdie is very (easily) reachable.
And yet, though many holes on this course seem fairly easy, I have since found myself using several of them as comparisons for other holes on other courses. When more than one hole on a course sticks in your mind as a yardstick to measure future courses by, that says something about how fun and interesting that course is.

The tiniest bit too easy/short, overall, but it works perfect as rec course, not a championship course, so that's no biggie.
This course is worth checking out for sure. You will enjoy it and have you skills tested with a variety of shots. However, its just not quite in league with the great ones, the kind of courses I drool over when I sleep at night (though honestly, I'd probably drool in my sleep whether i dream about DG or not)

While the Madison courses are not open, this is my favorite 18-hole course less than and hour away to play, because it is so technical and so much fun.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.