Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 170ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Could be so much better...

1    9/16/2016   9/28/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 256  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 course located on the UW-Baraboo campus, mostly behind the buildings, and around the grounds.

Older Mach3 baskets, but all in decent enough shape and mounted well. A few tricky pin placements, and several that are tucked into nice spots. One pin position per hole.

Navigation is relatively easy, as the paths are pretty worn down. Signs on most holes help the cause.

The wooded sections offer some nice, tight lines to hit, with a little bit of hilly up and down. The rough is punishing, even on shorter holes.

A decent mix of open and wooded holes. You never really get bored with the layout.

Dual tee pads on most holes offer a nice change up for less experienced players. The short tees are quite short (for the most part). I found the long tees to be a decent challenge, especially with the wooded holes having a lot of tighter lines to hit.
Cons: The biggest problem with this course is the tee pads. They're mostly rubber, and they're horrid. Not even close to level, which is exacerbated by the fact that they're cut into two sections, so you end up with all kinds of ankle-busting fun halfway through your run up. Just a mess, and enough to make me not come back. Even serviceable tees here would be a dramatic improvement.

This course, while designed decently and having some really fun holes, is haggard. It's kind of the drunken uncle of courses...sitting off in the corner of your playable area, just stinking it up and reminding you why you don't invite him to your parties anymore. Just a little cleaning up and love, and you'd have something. Clean yourself up, Uncle Morty, and I'll come back and visit.

Apparently when they updated the student housing, they took out hole 18 and never bothered to replace it. Solid.

The wooded holes, for the most part, offer one line, and that's it.

Not overly cart friendly.
Other Thoughts: I think about some of the fun shots here, and want to go back. Then I think about the worst rubber tee pads I've ever seen, and I don't want to anymore.

If you're in town, and have to throw, make sure your standstill is dusted off, or be prepared to make like Fred Astaire for most of the round. All that aside, a solid course with plenty of fun factor.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/7/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 231  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 17 holes here. Theres a mix of rubber and concrete tee pads. Many of the holes have long and short tees. The baskets are all in pretty solid shape and catch fine. The signs, when present, are descriptive enough with distances from both tees, hole number and a basic hole diagram. The flow is generally pretty easy to follow with a couple exceptions. There's a nice mix of wooded and wide to semi wide open holes. There is a pretty solid amount of elevation variation here. It has a pretty great mix of left and right favoring shots as well. The course is free to play and there is a practice basket by hole 1.
Cons: The rubber tee pads are pretty awful. They are plenty long enough but are divided into 2 sections that are terribly uneven, slippery, and retain water. Just not good at all. Hole 18 is gone too. This would be easy to fix by just putting a basket from 15's long tee to just before 16's pad making it 18 holes again. Or they could use that additional basket to replace the one being held up by logs on 12 or 13 I think. Many signs missing or knocked down and a few spots where a next tee arrow would be very helpful. The majority of the holes are pretty short, especially on the short pads.
Other Thoughts: With all that said this is a pretty fun course. Not worth a real detour to play but fun enough to take a couple extra drive minutes to hit up. With some better pads, signs and making 18 holes this would be a realistic 4. But as is in current conditions I can't go above a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Baraboo

2-4    5/19/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course. There are a lot of different types of throws from wooded to wide open. The majority of the holes are a mix of the two. Good signs and tee pads to throw from.
Cons: There is no longer aneed 18th hole, there is now a college dorm where it should be.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boo U Rules!

5+    3/14/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 84  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is a great challenge from both Pro and Am tees (I once in a tournament shot E from the Ams and followed with a -10 from the Pros because I'd never played the Ams). The first five holes are wooded and technical, then 7-14 weave in and out of the woods and offer great technical challenge and a variety of shots (as well as some mild elevation changes to further confuse disc choice). The course once had awful rubber tee pads that have now mostly been replaced with concrete during a recent redesign.
Cons: The flaws are near the end.The last 4 holes are simply long and boring without much in the way of obstacles. Even if you aren't a huge bomber, it is fairly easy to get par on most of them (the 15th is the exception, requiring two perfect 330 foot shots to park it for the par), but deuces are unlikely and the land could have been used better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Free Courses Around

5+    7/12/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: Jimmy_Saskatchewan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Holes are very challenging but not impossible.
- Mapping and signage is great
- Pretty much all the tees are in great shape
- Lot of diversity in the way the holes are layed out
Cons: - A couple of the competitive tees are missing from recent construction.
- Parking lot for tennis court too close to line of play for hole 10. It is a blind pin so u may want to have a spotter or check it out prior to teeing off so u can avoid parking a disk into the fender of a BMW.
Other Thoughts: I LOVE THIS COURSE and am quite familiar with it but word to the wise: It is very easy to lose a disk in the foliage so pay close attention to the flight path of your disk.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    4/1/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: Gr8HornedRat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many of the wholes are challenging, especially from the long tees. The next tees are almost always visible from the previous pin.
Cons: There is a massive campus overhaul going on and the course is down 2 holes and has the possibility of others being closed temporarily or changed permanently. I never did find where 18 was even supposed to be. Most of the pads are either skinny concrete or uneven rubber. 3 holes have a sign or a tree right next to the long tee in the way of a RHBH follow though.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, after looking at the pictures I wasn't expecting much, especially since I knew the campus was under construction. I did still have a good time. My games was very hit or miss so I don't know how much that skewed my perception.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/8/2015   1/9/2015
Review By: Baueezy
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied hole difficulties, signs for most holes, pro and amateur tee pads for most holes, creeps along Ice Age Trail which helps with the imagery throughout.
Cons: Missing several baskets/holes due to construction (which severally hurts its true rating).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    6/17/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This very challenging course has two sets of tees for most if not all holes. Tough blind shots and doglegs, with wooded shots and open areas abound in this beautiful layout.
Cons: While I played the campus was under construction making it unplayable for several holes. The rough can be kind of thick and you really need people with you to help spot discs. It is also very tough to navigate if you haven't played it before.
Another drawback are the tee pads. Though some are nice there are others that are curled up and wavy, or simply a puddle of water. I wound up using the ground next to the tee more often than the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: Fix the tee situation and as soon as construction is done and I would consider this one of the nicest courses I've played at. But due to the above issues its nothing more than an average course right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 poor course

1    8/25/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: rayw
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: no pros.parking is good.
Cons: Poor maintained course. Don't know how it got a rating of 3.4. SOME Baskets not even out. Limbs down all over T boxes. Had trouble finding #1 .
Other Thoughts: Expected better for a course at a collage.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Almost everything a course should be

5+    6/7/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: rmerg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice wooded holes and elevation changes.
A few open long drive shots towards end of course.
Markers show where next hole is located.
Grass stays mowed often.
Cons: Not a big fan of the rubber tee pads, but are better than gravel/dirt pads.
Other Thoughts: I would rank up to a 4 if the pads went to concrete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.