Disc Golf Center
Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   4 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Pro/Am Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Better than expected

1    4/1/2015   4/1/2015
Review By: Gr8HornedRat
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many of the wholes are challenging, especially from the long tees. The next tees are almost always visible from the previous pin.
Cons: There is a massive campus overhaul going on and the course is down 2 holes and has the possibility of others being closed temporarily or changed permanently. I never did find where 18 was even supposed to be. Most of the pads are either skinny concrete or uneven rubber. 3 holes have a sign or a tree right next to the long tee in the way of a RHBH follow though.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, after looking at the pictures I wasn't expecting much, especially since I knew the campus was under construction. I did still have a good time. My games was very hit or miss so I don't know how much that skewed my perception.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/8/2015   1/9/2015
Review By: Baueezy
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varied hole difficulties, signs for most holes, pro and amateur tee pads for most holes, creeps along Ice Age Trail which helps with the imagery throughout.
Cons: Missing several baskets/holes due to construction (which severally hurts its true rating).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun

1    6/17/2014   9/18/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This very challenging course has two sets of tees for most if not all holes. Tough blind shots and doglegs, with wooded shots and open areas abound in this beautiful layout.
Cons: While I played the campus was under construction making it unplayable for several holes. The rough can be kind of thick and you really need people with you to help spot discs. It is also very tough to navigate if you haven't played it before.
Another drawback are the tee pads. Though some are nice there are others that are curled up and wavy, or simply a puddle of water. I wound up using the ground next to the tee more often than the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: Fix the tee situation and as soon as construction is done and I would consider this one of the nicest courses I've played at. But due to the above issues its nothing more than an average course right now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

poor course

1    8/25/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: rayw
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: no pros.parking is good.
Cons: Poor maintained course. Don't know how it got a rating of 3.4. SOME Baskets not even out. Limbs down all over T boxes. Had trouble finding #1 .
Other Thoughts: Expected better for a course at a collage.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Almost everything a course should be

5+    6/7/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: rmerg
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice wooded holes and elevation changes.
A few open long drive shots towards end of course.
Markers show where next hole is located.
Grass stays mowed often.
Cons: Not a big fan of the rubber tee pads, but are better than gravel/dirt pads.
Other Thoughts: I would rank up to a 4 if the pads went to concrete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun 18 with a variety of shots

1    7/31/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: govigsfly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun 18 basket course. Lots of shorter shots in wooded area, but also a few longer open shots. Has two tee pads for each basket - one is shorter and easier and the other is typically more challenging. Most baskets have nice signs with distance and map.
Cons: Might be a good idea to go in groups of 2 or more to help spot discs thrown into trees and tall grass.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really fun course to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I have played this course 100s of times!

5+    4/30/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: 11B Lee
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Alight I know not everyone wants a hole by hole break-down of the course…
Here's a quick down and dirty of the good followed by the hole descriptions.

This course starts out in the woods and the first 5 holes are more than likely my favorite multiple hole stretch. The first 5 are uphill, blind dogleg right, elevated dogleg left, dogleg right downhill, and then a narrow tree lined straight. You have everything in the first 5 holes. This course has a mix of concrete tees and rubber mat tees. Most of the rubber tees are still in good shape. And every hole except #7, #9, #12, and #14 has an amateur tee and a pro tee. The baskets with the exception of 2 are in very good shape.
Cons: There really isn't too much to complain about. The course itself is laid out nice. There is 2 things I'd complain about is:
1) People are very destructive. The course is on a college campus….. There isn't supposed to be drinking, smoking, or doing drugs. There is glass from beer bottles being smashed all over the tees. If you're reading this and have played here you know what I'm talking about. Spread the word and/or yell at these punks so this awesome course doesn't get shut down. Its super simple, if you're going to drink, bring a cooler and bring cans…. Then bring the evidence with you when you leave. As far as smoking/chewing/smoking other than Tabaco products…. Do it when there aren't 100 people looking at you on the open holes.
2) And this is just personal preference, #15-#17 it almost seems like they ran out of ideas for holes. They are just long open holes and after the first 14 were awesome it sucks to end your round walking through a soccer field and no trees or obstacles.
Other Thoughts: This course would be a 4.5-4.75 in my books if people would just be respectful and throw theyre garbage in the 25 garbage cans provided and didn't break glass on the tees.

Here's a break-down of the holes from the pro tees:
#1 uphill basket just to the left on hill crest.
#2 blind dogleg right with trees erratically then straightens out.
#3 elevated tree lined downhill basket just left
#4 blind dogleg right downhill (easy to go way past on approach shot).
#5 narrow tree lined pretty much straight.
#6 open straight.
#7 uphill trees everywhere.
#8 elevated dogleg left to straight.
#9 elevated downhill through heavy trees.
#10 HUGE dogleg left to tennis courts basket in gulley (style points if you hit the tennis player's vehicles).
#11 very narrow tree run basket sits at end after dogleg right.
#12 straight ends dogleg right.
#13 straight with HUGE evergreen blocking basket (either have to backdoor or hook left).
#14 uphill turns into a 90' dogleg left.
#15 Huge straight away through soccer field down lil' hill then up a hill. (if there is a soccer game going on just play from the close tees).
#16 straight over tennis court road basket by tree.
#17 up an embankment straight.
#18 straight into dogleg right uphill whole right side is trees.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    12/2/2012   12/22/2012
Review By: Whits
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost this course is very fun to play. It offers a variety of short wooded holes with several ace opportunities and some open long distance throws where you can air it out. The designer did a good job mixing up left and right shots as well as elevation changes, but nothing overwhelming to new comers.
I like the fact that the practice basket has 10 small rubber circles at different distances surrounding the basket. Makes for a good game of H-O-R-S-E!

Baskets remain in ground year round in case you get that itch during winter months!
Cons: A couple tee pads are rubber and completely uneven. Course is not as challenging to a seasoned veteran.Broken glass everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a blast. Definately give it a shot if youre in the area visiting the tourist trap of the Dells!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    10/7/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 70  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variation of throws are needed, especially in the wooded holes. I enjoyed the mixture of shorter and longer holes along with the use of the elevation changes. Baskets are okay, nothing spectacular but they work. Tee signs (when there) are very informational and useful for those who don't play this course often.
Cons: Some tee pads are cement but some are rubber and warped, not very easy to get a good footing on your drive. Also, not all tees have signs up, possibly due to vandals.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with a good variety of skills needed, a great way to spend an afternoon in Baraboo, I love coming to this town. Make sure to go downtown after and get a few drinks!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Baraboo? More like Barayay!

2-4    7/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
Pros: Course located close to Wisconsin Dells and I make it a point to stop here when we go to the Dells on vacation.

Has some good elevation on holes

Seemed to be well balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Not many people on the course.

Good baskets with nice practice basket and okay rubber/cement tee pads.

Has some good heavy wooded holes and a mix of moderate to open holes as well.

Navigation was okay, better once you have played it once.

Two tee pads per hole, only played from recreational ones.
Cons: Some tee pads were uneven otherwise not too much to criticize.



Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area and will be fun and somewhat challenging for many players. A good stop if you are in the area.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.