Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro/Am Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Home course

5+    12/2/2012   12/22/2012
Review By: Whits
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First and foremost this course is very fun to play. It offers a variety of short wooded holes with several ace opportunities and some open long distance throws where you can air it out. The designer did a good job mixing up left and right shots as well as elevation changes, but nothing overwhelming to new comers.
I like the fact that the practice basket has 10 small rubber circles at different distances surrounding the basket. Makes for a good game of H-O-R-S-E!

Baskets remain in ground year round in case you get that itch during winter months!
Cons: A couple tee pads are rubber and completely uneven. Course is not as challenging to a seasoned veteran.Broken glass everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a blast. Definately give it a shot if youre in the area visiting the tourist trap of the Dells!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    10/7/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 92  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variation of throws are needed, especially in the wooded holes. I enjoyed the mixture of shorter and longer holes along with the use of the elevation changes. Baskets are okay, nothing spectacular but they work. Tee signs (when there) are very informational and useful for those who don't play this course often.
Cons: Some tee pads are cement but some are rubber and warped, not very easy to get a good footing on your drive. Also, not all tees have signs up, possibly due to vandals.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with a good variety of skills needed, a great way to spend an afternoon in Baraboo, I love coming to this town. Make sure to go downtown after and get a few drinks!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Baraboo? More like Barayay!

2-4    7/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Course located close to Wisconsin Dells and I make it a point to stop here when we go to the Dells on vacation.

Has some good elevation on holes

Seemed to be well balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Not many people on the course.

Good baskets with nice practice basket and okay rubber/cement tee pads.

Has some good heavy wooded holes and a mix of moderate to open holes as well.

Navigation was okay, better once you have played it once.

Two tee pads per hole, only played from recreational ones.
Cons: Some tee pads were uneven otherwise not too much to criticize.



Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area and will be fun and somewhat challenging for many players. A good stop if you are in the area.

 Fun and Challenging

1    3/11/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 323  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really favors control and shaping lines over power and distance. The majority of the course snakes through very dense woods with decent elevation. There are a few holes at the end of the course that let you open up a little and go for some distance. All 18 holes were playable and easy to find. 15 throws beside a soccer field, the entire length of the field then another 250' slightly uphill to the basket. 16 and 17 are also a little longer than the rest of the course and each has a road to throw over or beside, but the signs did not say the road was O.B.
Cons: I really enjoyed the course and don't have any complaints. I would imagine the course can be sloppy after rain, especially with the steep terrain on the first few holes. The tees are rubber and in pretty good condition, but not all were perfectly level. Again, this had no effect on my game but some people may have an issue with them in less than perfect weather.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and liked the challenge of such thick woods with such narrow flight lines. It definitely requires chosing your line carefully before throwing, because one bad throw and you can easily turn a birdie hole into a boogie or worse. This course is worth checking out if youre in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed

1    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: NorthernDisc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great looking course that winds through the campus. Several skill shot holes such as 9, that makes you throw through a small opening to miss a lot of trees before the basket.
Cons: Confusing now that it is under construction still. Some pins seem to have ended at spots that are now parking lot, so I don't know how this course is going to look after construction. Rubber tee pads filled with deep pools of water and some even have fallen trees on them. Next to a noisy practice field, so don't plan on relaxing.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course is pretty well laid out with a lot of shot shaping, but I just don't think it's living up to the high ratings it receives here.

 18 Holer Is Currently A 10 Hole Course!

1    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 943  Reviewed: 876  Exp: 38.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Due to some construction going on at the University Wisconsin-Extension Campus, the Baraboo Lions DGC nows plays the front 9 plus hole 17. The rest have been lost to the construction. I'm not sure what the long term plans are. The course starts in the woods up behind the parking lot. There is a course sign and a practice basket. The holes in the woods have the rubber mats for teepads. There are two for each hole and they usually add 50 to 80 feet to the hole and sometimes completely change the feel of the hole. That is, they aren't just longer, some add an hyser touch. The signs have the hole number, the distance for both pads and the par. The par listed is like a Junior High par. # 1 from the Rec tee is 146 feet and the sign says it's a par 4. The on-line map lists all pars as 3's. The course is fairly tight, not unfair, but technical. But I would consider it to be a recreational course due to the shortness. I, as an almost 60 year old rec player enjoyed the heck out of it. I think the average intermediate player would want more of a challenge. The course offers a number of fun little ACE ops such as # 9, a 160' downhill touch hyser shot. I really like the fact the the rubber pads were 12 feet long and the concrete pads were also very long. You really don't need them on this course but thanks all the same.
Cons: it was dry when I played and the pads were just great. All 10 signs were there. The course is short and really isn't all that challenging. Anyone beyond a Rec player will want more of a challenge than this course can throw at you.
Other Thoughts: Great course for us older guys who top out at 300. That's the number of feet we throw not the number of pounds we weigh. I enjoyed this course a lot. I just can't jusity giving it the ratings it been getting not that it's a 10 hole course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    6/11/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course rates quite high on fun factor, with a ton of fun short ace runs in hilly woods. Most of the course plays through thick woods with shorter technical shots and a variety of nice hole shapes. There are a few more open holes thrown in for variety, and a couple of long open holes where you can really rip a drive at the end of the course. Most holes make use of the elevation to add some interest and variety, and several pin placements have drop offs to add some risk when putting.

There are two tees on every hole, both rubber with good grip. The back tees often add a slightly different shot, not just extra distance, so there's some nice added variety. There are basic tee signs at both sets of tees, with hole distances and layouts, it's pretty easy to figure out where to throw. The flow is pretty good, we didn't have any real issues following the course. For the volume of casual players carrying coolers around the course, there was surprisingly little trash and vandalism here.
Cons: Even from the long tees, this course isn't all that challenging, and from the shorts more than half the holes are putter ace runs even for a mediocre player like me. The hills in the woods are suffering pretty badly from heavy traffic, and are quite eroded and muddy. There was quite a bit of traffic when we played, with several huge groups playing (though all were good about letting faster groups play through). As Harr said, the end of the course is a bit of a let down, especially with a couple holes playing over a road where there were several cars parked in the way of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth a stop if you're in the area, just don't expect it to be too challenging. It's a fantastic beginner course with lots of variety but not too much distance from the shorts, though it is possible to lose discs in the underbrush. More experienced players will enjoy the technical shots in the woods, and find a couple challenging holes from the longs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging pin placements
-Great mix of wooded holes and open bomber holes
-Lots of elevation changes
-Beautiful scenery
-The holes that have concrete tee pads are nice.
-Pro tee pads and Recreational tee pads
Cons: -Most holes don't have signs
-The holes that have rubber tee pads are very slippery
-Its really easy to loose a disc on most of the holes in the woods
-Most holes don't have garbage cans
-Not very good directions to get from hole to hole
-Lots of pricker bushes on the holes in the woods
-Lots of broken glass all over the ground
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a very fun and challenging course. It is a great course to stop by if you are going to the Wisconsin Dells.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course open all year

5+    5/31/2010   10/5/2009
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 122  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with a lot of variety. #1-5, 7, 9, and 14 are short and heavily wooded. #15-18 are wide open, but longer. The others generally have trees on one side that dictate your shot. Believe it or not, I use a different disc to tee off on each of the first nine holes, then usually bring out a couple of different ones on the back. The course is in the ground all year, so there's always a chance to satisfy the urge. UPDATE: As of Memorial Day 2010, I'd estimate that more than half of the tees have been converted to concrete. The Lions are raising money to convert the rest. Big improvement.
Cons: The rubber tees are very uneven on many holes, and the dirt can make them very slippery. We usually agree to tee off from the side on a couple of holes so we don't hurt ourselves (see "update" in pros). There are no multiple pin placements, although with the variety of shots required, this isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite layouts, and probably the course I've played more than any other, especially in the last five years.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Wavebird812
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is mostly wooded with some good elevation change on a lot of them. And thair are some realy long hole's like 15 and 16. 15 is awsome wide open 660 feet. Great hole becouse most of the holes are short and wooded
Cons: Rubber tee's. Some time's get wet and slipery. And is hard to throw from them. And can get crowded when school is in.
Other Thoughts: This course can be very challenging if you play from the pro tee's. But if you chose to play from the short one's it's pretty easy. But still fun. Good course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.