Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: puttlikeablowfly Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 342ft.   3 / 411ft.   5 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 18 Holer Is Currently A 10 Hole Course!

1    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Due to some construction going on at the University Wisconsin-Extension Campus, the Baraboo Lions DGC nows plays the front 9 plus hole 17. The rest have been lost to the construction. I'm not sure what the long term plans are. The course starts in the woods up behind the parking lot. There is a course sign and a practice basket. The holes in the woods have the rubber mats for teepads. There are two for each hole and they usually add 50 to 80 feet to the hole and sometimes completely change the feel of the hole. That is, they aren't just longer, some add an hyser touch. The signs have the hole number, the distance for both pads and the par. The par listed is like a Junior High par. # 1 from the Rec tee is 146 feet and the sign says it's a par 4. The on-line map lists all pars as 3's. The course is fairly tight, not unfair, but technical. But I would consider it to be a recreational course due to the shortness. I, as an almost 60 year old rec player enjoyed the heck out of it. I think the average intermediate player would want more of a challenge. The course offers a number of fun little ACE ops such as # 9, a 160' downhill touch hyser shot. I really like the fact the the rubber pads were 12 feet long and the concrete pads were also very long. You really don't need them on this course but thanks all the same.
Cons: it was dry when I played and the pads were just great. All 10 signs were there. The course is short and really isn't all that challenging. Anyone beyond a Rec player will want more of a challenge than this course can throw at you.
Other Thoughts: Great course for us older guys who top out at 300. That's the number of feet we throw not the number of pounds we weigh. I enjoyed this course a lot. I just can't jusity giving it the ratings it been getting not that it's a 10 hole course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    6/11/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course rates quite high on fun factor, with a ton of fun short ace runs in hilly woods. Most of the course plays through thick woods with shorter technical shots and a variety of nice hole shapes. There are a few more open holes thrown in for variety, and a couple of long open holes where you can really rip a drive at the end of the course. Most holes make use of the elevation to add some interest and variety, and several pin placements have drop offs to add some risk when putting.

There are two tees on every hole, both rubber with good grip. The back tees often add a slightly different shot, not just extra distance, so there's some nice added variety. There are basic tee signs at both sets of tees, with hole distances and layouts, it's pretty easy to figure out where to throw. The flow is pretty good, we didn't have any real issues following the course. For the volume of casual players carrying coolers around the course, there was surprisingly little trash and vandalism here.
Cons: Even from the long tees, this course isn't all that challenging, and from the shorts more than half the holes are putter ace runs even for a mediocre player like me. The hills in the woods are suffering pretty badly from heavy traffic, and are quite eroded and muddy. There was quite a bit of traffic when we played, with several huge groups playing (though all were good about letting faster groups play through). As Harr said, the end of the course is a bit of a let down, especially with a couple holes playing over a road where there were several cars parked in the way of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth a stop if you're in the area, just don't expect it to be too challenging. It's a fantastic beginner course with lots of variety but not too much distance from the shorts, though it is possible to lose discs in the underbrush. More experienced players will enjoy the technical shots in the woods, and find a couple challenging holes from the longs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging pin placements
-Great mix of wooded holes and open bomber holes
-Lots of elevation changes
-Beautiful scenery
-The holes that have concrete tee pads are nice.
-Pro tee pads and Recreational tee pads
Cons: -Most holes don't have signs
-The holes that have rubber tee pads are very slippery
-Its really easy to loose a disc on most of the holes in the woods
-Most holes don't have garbage cans
-Not very good directions to get from hole to hole
-Lots of pricker bushes on the holes in the woods
-Lots of broken glass all over the ground
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a very fun and challenging course. It is a great course to stop by if you are going to the Wisconsin Dells.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course open all year

5+    5/31/2010   10/5/2009
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with a lot of variety. #1-5, 7, 9, and 14 are short and heavily wooded. #15-18 are wide open, but longer. The others generally have trees on one side that dictate your shot. Believe it or not, I use a different disc to tee off on each of the first nine holes, then usually bring out a couple of different ones on the back. The course is in the ground all year, so there's always a chance to satisfy the urge. UPDATE: As of Memorial Day 2010, I'd estimate that more than half of the tees have been converted to concrete. The Lions are raising money to convert the rest. Big improvement.
Cons: The rubber tees are very uneven on many holes, and the dirt can make them very slippery. We usually agree to tee off from the side on a couple of holes so we don't hurt ourselves (see "update" in pros). There are no multiple pin placements, although with the variety of shots required, this isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite layouts, and probably the course I've played more than any other, especially in the last five years.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Wavebird812
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is mostly wooded with some good elevation change on a lot of them. And thair are some realy long hole's like 15 and 16. 15 is awsome wide open 660 feet. Great hole becouse most of the holes are short and wooded
Cons: Rubber tee's. Some time's get wet and slipery. And is hard to throw from them. And can get crowded when school is in.
Other Thoughts: This course can be very challenging if you play from the pro tee's. But if you chose to play from the short one's it's pretty easy. But still fun. Good course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scenic drive, great course in the baraboo hills area

5+    6/20/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety, balance, and challenge. The wooded holes are designed the way wooded holes should be - tight, tight, and tighter with one defined flight path and just a little room for error if you miss the main fairway. The wooded holes oon the front 9 play along a nice ridge that offers decent elevation with the tight woods. A few open holes are thrown in to air one out as well, but still needing to be accurate to avoid the surrounding woods. The back 9 are more "city park" like, and play through mowed fairways bordering recreational areas like softball and soccer. The holes are designed with good "fairway splitting" shrubs or trees and longer tunnel like starting areas from the long tees. Multiple tees here offer good variety for all skill levels. The final 4 holes or so offer a chance to air it out over 400' and 660' on one. It's not just wide open, there is some elevation and a OB road as well. The wind here can really do damage too. All in all this is a very sound and well designed course that offers great balance and variety.
Cons: No water hazard and no huge downhill throw. Thus, the course does not offer that jaw-dropping and memorable variety and baalnce. The greens are mostly wide open and never really risky at all (old school design philosophy must be rampant in the Madison area). The rubber pads are really slippery when wet. There is sometimes confusion around the intersection area of holes around the back of the school and because signs are often missing or broken, you have to walk all the way to the basket to figure it out (for a newbie).
Other Thoughts: This used to be our favorite when we were in college at UW. We lived north of Madison all the time and we'd pile in, take Hwy 113 across the river - on a car ferry - drive through the baraboo hills around Devil's Lake state park, and hit up the scenic, challenging, and low traffic Baraboo Lions course ALL THE TIME. This course is worth your trip too. A great scenic drive from Madison, and only 15 minutes from the tourist hotspot of WI Dells. On a side note, the Lion's are an excellent organization, and the WI chapters really seem to be interested in supporting disc golf - I know the Kewaunee Lion's have really helped Winter Park. The course offers a great amount of balance, required execution, and beautiful terrain, but lacks a few of the big money items like a huge downhill throw, water hazard, and more than 18 holes. This is a solid 4, maybe not as technically sound as the Madison courses, but it always seemed to be more fun, more difficult, and FAR less traffic and douches littering and vandalizing. Could someone tell me how lazy people think an empty beer can weighs more than a full one - I mean they carry beer in the bag, but when they're done the empty can must be too heavy to carry - I don't get it, but enough digression.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Baraboo seems out of whack with my other 4-disc courses. I have to downgrade to 3.5. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Join the Circus Parade and come to Baraboo Lions DGC

1    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has an excellent amount of variety. It starts out in the woods for some tight and technical holes. Opens up for a hole and then back into the woods, then back out, and back in, and it finishes out in the open with some long long holes. Even some of the holes (11-14) that aren't in the woods do have some obstacles to force shotmaking rather than just ripping. Two of the holes are simply straight out ripper holes (660', 514').

2) I love to see distance variation on a course and this course handles that well ranging from 146' to 330' from the fronts and 160' to 660' from the longs.

3) Tight technical holes are well balanced with holes that require you to just miss a couple trees and set up your birdie. Also well balanced with the few wide open holes too.

4) Rubber tees are better than dirt (especially because the soil on the wooded holes is mostly sand and gravel (that would be dangerous to throw from. (See also complaint about tee pads).

5) Underbrush is fairly well taken care of. It could use a little more clearing in spots, but for the most part it seems to be maintained or trampled well enough to find discs.

6) Elevation changes on almost every hole on this course. There are only 2-3 holes that don't really change elevation but they use other key obstacles to challenge most players.

7) 9 is as close to the signature holes as there can be. It is a great downhiller tight and technical right to left. It takes some real finesse. I also really enjoyed hole #5 which is a big left to righter in the woods. Although these are the best two holes ont he course in my opinion they just aren't quite that true signature hole. All in all (from a design standpoint) I am saying there are way more good holes on this course than bad despite not having a true signature hole (as others have mentioned).

8) Dual tee pads allow this course to be completely technical from the shorts and the longs offer quite a bit more challeneg with tighter gaps to hit, longer approaches and less birdie runs. The last 4 holes are also all at least an average of 1 shot more compared to the shorts. The distance is a lot to make up for most disc golfers.

9) Garbage cans at most teepads keep the course mostly clean. Tee signs are nice and show hole layout and distance but a couple are missing.
Cons: 1) Normally I like to see the open rippers early to allow for getting your arm warmed up. Unfortunately the course would not really allow for a front nine back nine swap because of where it starts and finishes. You finish with the four longest holes on the course except for #6.

2) Course goes out and out and out, and then they threw the longest holes at the end to get you back to the parking lot. I think they could have designed a few more holes either in the woods or along them to try and avoid what seems a way to work you back to the parking lot. Why not end the course where #15 or #16 basket is. #17 is not a great hole and #18 is average. They could have still had some distance on #15 and 16 but remove 17 and 18 and tuck a couple more in the woods or in the area where 6, 7, and 8 are.

3) Rubber teepads are installed in two pieces mostly and where the seam is they seem to be buckling (not sure why exactly), but there are dips in both halves of the rubber pads. Not only is the rubber uneven, but they are also covered in the aforementioned sandy soil. The sand is near impossible to keep off the pads, but a concrete pad would be way better on this course. The ground simply isn't able to handle the rubber pads that can move around slightly and compact unevenly.

4) Course has very comacted soil from all the use over the years. The sand and gravel are on the surface everywhere. This creates some tricky runups to some shots especially since there are so many trees to knock you down. You will be throwing lots od mid ranges to the basket, and some might require a runup.

5) Underbrush is fairly well maintained but it could use a little more maintenance in some area. Discs are almost always findable, but some of the areas look a little thick and some spots are thorny.

6) Course could use a little more amenities like benches.

7) Paths leading everywhwere can be confusing so pay attention, not sure if they get used by other people hiking or not. Also because of these areas, some next tee signs might help. It canbe a little confusing in a couple spots where you are headed next.

Also #16 you shoot over a gravel road, #17 you shoot over that same gravel road and apparently some people like to park right in front of the disc golf teepads because there were 4 cars lined up about 60' from the tee on #17. I threw higher over them but it certainly altered my throw. There is plenty of parking out front!!!!!!

8) #12 tee sign shows split fairway but you only have a left to right route either the right to left route was never possible or it has become overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I agree with Texconsinite that this course with concrete teepads would be much better. I also feel a couple of hole changes would take boring holes and turn them into great holes. I liek his idea about chaning 13 and 14. I also think that 17 and 18 are wasted holes. I would rather see more holes in the woods or in that area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Challenging Course

5+    9/8/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: ylfgd85
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very well designed course. There is great use of Wisconsin's landscape. The holes go through the heavy woods surrounding the campus and the open fields and mixes of both.

All of the holes have rubber platforms to tee-off from and signs to show the layout of the hole and basket placement. Pars are written on the back on the basket signs. Most of the holes have to tee-off platforms to add variety and challenge to the holes.

Near the first tee platform they offer basket for putting practice.
Cons: The rubber platforms aren't perfectly flat on all of the holes. They can also be quite slick after it rains.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this course for beginners due to the difficulty of some of the holes and their length.

Definitely one of the best courses I've played so far.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun city

1    7/11/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: THROW-THE-HYZER
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great elevation good pin placement, beautiful scenery
Cons: The tee pads are horrible!!! bring grippy shoes and tee off to the side if posible! otherwise prepare to slip and fall
Other Thoughts: made my trip this time to WI if going to the dells skip over deforrest and come here!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Balanced Intermediate Course

5+    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course forces alot of extreme curves through the woods, and has a good balance of both. It also has elevation in play on every single hole. This course often combines steep hillsides with trees for several very interesting holes. This course has a nice mix of wooded holes and open holes, so both distance and accuracy are rewarded.

This course is actually quite pretty, even with no leaves on the trees yet, and the elevation changes add another entire dimension to what you face on this course. Also, the many mature trees here put a ceiling on many technical shots, which is a nice change from many Southern Wisconsin courses that leave the over-the-top route a little too open.There is also a small creek in play on two holes, though it was dry when I played.
.
From the short tees, this is mostly a technical workout for curving your midranges around corners, busting out the occasional driver on the handful of open, longer holes. (10, 15-18)

From the longs, I teed off with drivers on all but a few holes. Even from the longs most holes are park-able off the tee with a well-placed drive, though some are on the verge, where you will still need a long putt for a birdie (10,16). The exception is hole 15, which takes me two solid drives to even sniff putting range, though its wide open, so you have wiggle room to really air it out.

The terrain on this course makes for some risky putts, and many holes on this course are unusual. One thing this course has tons of are blind tee shots. On at least 12 of the holes, you can't see the basket from the (pro) tee. Usually it is obscured by foliage, but this course has several drastic uphill shots where the terrain itself blocks the basket from view (Holes 1 & 14). This type of terrain is an interesting and unusual feature, present at a few excellent courses like Justin Trails Big Brother, Fountain Hills, and Whistler DGC, but something I haven't seen too often.

Several holes have no obvious line to play, and force risk/reward through the trees. Either that or, the line is there but it requires a strange shaped shot to pull off a birdie, such as the short anny with a fade at the end needed to sneak up on Hole 2's basket from the tee, or the sudden kink right 40 ft off the tee, then long straight downhill tunnel shot line that you somehow have to follow from the Long Tee to park Hole 4.

Several holes on this course are of the feast or famine variety, where a 2 or 4 is very likely, rather than a bell curve of mostly 3's. Some others are the type of hole where a 2 or 3 is the norm. Others are a real stretch to get better than a 3 on, but not too hard to par. A couple of pro tees, due to length, are a stretch just to get a 3 on.

This course is much more technical than distance from the shorts, and a mix of both from the longs. From the short tees, I've birdied the same 3 holes in a row multiple times (12-14). However, the long tees, while still birdieable, do constrict the lanes on the technical holes more, and add distance to the open holes, which really turns it up a notch. They significantly change the look on almost all the holes, which is good.

This course is quite challenging from the long tees. Looking at my score, on a good day I shoot similarly from the pro tees here as i did last week from the short tees at UW-Parkside, another mostly tight technical course with a few longer open holes thrown in. However, with the added length of the the long tees here vs Parkside shorts, its alot easier to shipwreck your score than it is at Parkside. A bad day from the longs here would be a REALLY bad day at Parkside

Another notable thing about this course is how much harder the longs are than the shorts. On some other courses, most notably Parkside, the longs don't seem really much more technical than the shorts, just a bit longer. Here, the longs punish you, forcing tight shots down constricted spaces, or bring more trees into play, or significantly increase the distance (holes 15 & 16)

So, this course has lots of terrain, variety and challenges, depending on which tee you play from, but not the most challenging course around (that would probably be Heistand)

Its Acorn Park's little brother in Southern Wisconsin: A nice intermediate course with enough variety and challenge to keep you coming back, but basic in many senses.
Cons: Tee pads and signage. Only some holes on this course have signs, and all tees are rubber pads. Frankly, I don't care what surface I'm teeing off from, whether its dirt, gravel, concrete, blacktop or rubber, as long as its flat. These uneven and lumpy rubber pads are anything but, which is frustrating to drive off of, especially on the tightly wooded holes where you need precision. These are just sad. Its frustrating to try to do a run-up on these lumpy pads.

This is more of an FTF thing, and thus less important to me than the tee pads, but still worth mentioning. With the large number of blind tee shots on this course (a good thing if you ask me), it's pretty important to know where you're shooting at. That's where good tee maps come into play. Unfortunately, only about half of the holes have them, and the maps are fairly generic, not really showing trees, just general line (left, right or straight) and distance from both tees.

Though the holes on this course are interesting, several would be great with an alt pin location. By switching a few holes between left and right curves, (when the terrain and space is there to do so), it would enhance the challenge and replay factor of the course by effectively doubling the number of holes. For example, on hole 13, where the pin is behind the large tree, there is a wonderful hillside to the right (that same hillside that 14 plays up further down), that would be a prime location for an alt pin (or even another hole in that valley, maybe to replace the very short hole 14) that would totally change up the hole from a left curve around the tree, to a right curve through a narrow shule fairway up to a basket on a slope or over a ridge. It would completely change the hole. Hole 13 is quite good already, but its just a thought.

And another thing: Where the heck is the long tee for 16?????? I saw it from the pictures on the site here, but due to the lack of signage on the hole, I never knew it existed after half a dozen rounds on the course. Its across the first dirt road from the am tee, in the grass triangle by the main road, and it makes the hole significantly longer and harder, especially when the wind is blowing.

I like this course, and plan to go back many times, mainly because I love all the birdie opportunities, but I just can't quite rank it even with the other great courses due to its shabby tee pads (and somwhat the signage too).
Other Thoughts: This course is a 3.25, Quite Good, and very fun. With level concrete tees (which tend to stay level if installed right, especially important on such a hilly course) this course is a 3.5, no question about it. Even if they just levelled out the rubber mats on the shorts and put concrete down for the long tees, this would be a 3.5
On top of that, with a few alt pin placements, new tee maps at every hole, and maybe replace some of the easy birdie holes/less interesting open holes, this course could maybe even be a 4.0, excellent, because the terrain itself is just so darn cool to begin with.
I don't know if its possible, but if they somehow cut a few more cool new holes through the woods across the power lines from 12, plus added one next to 13 in the unused valley, and maybe a couple more misc ones through the woods elsewhere to bring it up to 21 or more holes on top of the concrete tees, this would become a destination course of S-WI, one of the best between Sparta and Milwaukee, and on par with UW-Parkside. but thats a BIG what-if.

As it stands now, its a very fun intermediate course that a facelift could do wonders on.
This is a pretty cool, well designed course with some interesting lines you have to play, but maybe an epic signature hole or two shy of the level of wow factor that excellent courses (even those with less terrain like UW-Parkside or Blue Ribbon Pines) have in spades. This course has several really neat holes though, just not too many that combine that coolness factor with enough challenge.

UW-Parkside has the maze of trees on #6, and the evil stone terrace of #4
Blue Ribbon Pines has the 400ft tunnel shot of #4.
Where is this course's signature hole? Several holes approach it, but none are quite there.
Hole 2 is interesting, very tricky, but probably too short to really be a signature hole
Hole 4 is unusual, but not unusual enough to wow you.
Hole 10 is one of the biggest curves I've ever seen, but too much of a given 3 from either tee, not enough scoring spread to be IT
Hole 11 is probably the closest thing this course has to a signature hole. Those three trees that guard the fairway are mean disc magnets, but if you clear them with a right curving line towards the basket, a birdie is very (easily) reachable.
And yet, though many holes on this course seem fairly easy, I have since found myself using several of them as comparisons for other holes on other courses. When more than one hole on a course sticks in your mind as a yardstick to measure future courses by, that says something about how fun and interesting that course is.

The tiniest bit too easy/short, overall, but it works perfect as rec course, not a championship course, so that's no biggie.
This course is worth checking out for sure. You will enjoy it and have you skills tested with a variety of shots. However, its just not quite in league with the great ones, the kind of courses I drool over when I sleep at night (though honestly, I'd probably drool in my sleep whether i dream about DG or not)

While the Madison courses are not open, this is my favorite 18-hole course less than and hour away to play, because it is so technical and so much fun.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.