Disc Golf Center
Baraboo, WI 
Baraboo Lions DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   4 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Pro/Am Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Baraboo? More like Barayay!

2-4    7/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: Course located close to Wisconsin Dells and I make it a point to stop here when we go to the Dells on vacation.

Has some good elevation on holes

Seemed to be well balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Not many people on the course.

Good baskets with nice practice basket and okay rubber/cement tee pads.

Has some good heavy wooded holes and a mix of moderate to open holes as well.

Navigation was okay, better once you have played it once.

Two tee pads per hole, only played from recreational ones.
Cons: Some tee pads were uneven otherwise not too much to criticize.



Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area and will be fun and somewhat challenging for many players. A good stop if you are in the area.

 Fun and Challenging

1    3/11/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: alexaaron
Played: 300  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really favors control and shaping lines over power and distance. The majority of the course snakes through very dense woods with decent elevation. There are a few holes at the end of the course that let you open up a little and go for some distance. All 18 holes were playable and easy to find. 15 throws beside a soccer field, the entire length of the field then another 250' slightly uphill to the basket. 16 and 17 are also a little longer than the rest of the course and each has a road to throw over or beside, but the signs did not say the road was O.B.
Cons: I really enjoyed the course and don't have any complaints. I would imagine the course can be sloppy after rain, especially with the steep terrain on the first few holes. The tees are rubber and in pretty good condition, but not all were perfectly level. Again, this had no effect on my game but some people may have an issue with them in less than perfect weather.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and liked the challenge of such thick woods with such narrow flight lines. It definitely requires chosing your line carefully before throwing, because one bad throw and you can easily turn a birdie hole into a boogie or worse. This course is worth checking out if youre in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed

1    8/13/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: NorthernDisc
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great looking course that winds through the campus. Several skill shot holes such as 9, that makes you throw through a small opening to miss a lot of trees before the basket.
Cons: Confusing now that it is under construction still. Some pins seem to have ended at spots that are now parking lot, so I don't know how this course is going to look after construction. Rubber tee pads filled with deep pools of water and some even have fallen trees on them. Next to a noisy practice field, so don't plan on relaxing.
Other Thoughts: I can tell this course is pretty well laid out with a lot of shot shaping, but I just don't think it's living up to the high ratings it receives here.

 18 Holer Is Currently A 10 Hole Course!

1    7/7/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 731  Reviewed: 681  Exp: 37.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Due to some construction going on at the University Wisconsin-Extension Campus, the Baraboo Lions DGC nows plays the front 9 plus hole 17. The rest have been lost to the construction. I'm not sure what the long term plans are. The course starts in the woods up behind the parking lot. There is a course sign and a practice basket. The holes in the woods have the rubber mats for teepads. There are two for each hole and they usually add 50 to 80 feet to the hole and sometimes completely change the feel of the hole. That is, they aren't just longer, some add an hyser touch. The signs have the hole number, the distance for both pads and the par. The par listed is like a Junior High par. # 1 from the Rec tee is 146 feet and the sign says it's a par 4. The on-line map lists all pars as 3's. The course is fairly tight, not unfair, but technical. But I would consider it to be a recreational course due to the shortness. I, as an almost 60 year old rec player enjoyed the heck out of it. I think the average intermediate player would want more of a challenge. The course offers a number of fun little ACE ops such as # 9, a 160' downhill touch hyser shot. I really like the fact the the rubber pads were 12 feet long and the concrete pads were also very long. You really don't need them on this course but thanks all the same.
Cons: it was dry when I played and the pads were just great. All 10 signs were there. The course is short and really isn't all that challenging. Anyone beyond a Rec player will want more of a challenge than this course can throw at you.
Other Thoughts: Great course for us older guys who top out at 300. That's the number of feet we throw not the number of pounds we weigh. I enjoyed this course a lot. I just can't jusity giving it the ratings it been getting not that it's a 10 hole course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    6/11/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course rates quite high on fun factor, with a ton of fun short ace runs in hilly woods. Most of the course plays through thick woods with shorter technical shots and a variety of nice hole shapes. There are a few more open holes thrown in for variety, and a couple of long open holes where you can really rip a drive at the end of the course. Most holes make use of the elevation to add some interest and variety, and several pin placements have drop offs to add some risk when putting.

There are two tees on every hole, both rubber with good grip. The back tees often add a slightly different shot, not just extra distance, so there's some nice added variety. There are basic tee signs at both sets of tees, with hole distances and layouts, it's pretty easy to figure out where to throw. The flow is pretty good, we didn't have any real issues following the course. For the volume of casual players carrying coolers around the course, there was surprisingly little trash and vandalism here.
Cons: Even from the long tees, this course isn't all that challenging, and from the shorts more than half the holes are putter ace runs even for a mediocre player like me. The hills in the woods are suffering pretty badly from heavy traffic, and are quite eroded and muddy. There was quite a bit of traffic when we played, with several huge groups playing (though all were good about letting faster groups play through). As Harr said, the end of the course is a bit of a let down, especially with a couple holes playing over a road where there were several cars parked in the way of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that's worth a stop if you're in the area, just don't expect it to be too challenging. It's a fantastic beginner course with lots of variety but not too much distance from the shorts, though it is possible to lose discs in the underbrush. More experienced players will enjoy the technical shots in the woods, and find a couple challenging holes from the longs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging pin placements
-Great mix of wooded holes and open bomber holes
-Lots of elevation changes
-Beautiful scenery
-The holes that have concrete tee pads are nice.
-Pro tee pads and Recreational tee pads
Cons: -Most holes don't have signs
-The holes that have rubber tee pads are very slippery
-Its really easy to loose a disc on most of the holes in the woods
-Most holes don't have garbage cans
-Not very good directions to get from hole to hole
-Lots of pricker bushes on the holes in the woods
-Lots of broken glass all over the ground
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a very fun and challenging course. It is a great course to stop by if you are going to the Wisconsin Dells.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course open all year

5+    5/31/2010   10/5/2009
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 112  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with a lot of variety. #1-5, 7, 9, and 14 are short and heavily wooded. #15-18 are wide open, but longer. The others generally have trees on one side that dictate your shot. Believe it or not, I use a different disc to tee off on each of the first nine holes, then usually bring out a couple of different ones on the back. The course is in the ground all year, so there's always a chance to satisfy the urge. UPDATE: As of Memorial Day 2010, I'd estimate that more than half of the tees have been converted to concrete. The Lions are raising money to convert the rest. Big improvement.
Cons: The rubber tees are very uneven on many holes, and the dirt can make them very slippery. We usually agree to tee off from the side on a couple of holes so we don't hurt ourselves (see "update" in pros). There are no multiple pin placements, although with the variety of shots required, this isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite layouts, and probably the course I've played more than any other, especially in the last five years.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Wavebird812
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is mostly wooded with some good elevation change on a lot of them. And thair are some realy long hole's like 15 and 16. 15 is awsome wide open 660 feet. Great hole becouse most of the holes are short and wooded
Cons: Rubber tee's. Some time's get wet and slipery. And is hard to throw from them. And can get crowded when school is in.
Other Thoughts: This course can be very challenging if you play from the pro tee's. But if you chose to play from the short one's it's pretty easy. But still fun. Good course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scenic drive, great course in the baraboo hills area

5+    6/20/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 191  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety, balance, and challenge. The wooded holes are designed the way wooded holes should be - tight, tight, and tighter with one defined flight path and just a little room for error if you miss the main fairway. The wooded holes oon the front 9 play along a nice ridge that offers decent elevation with the tight woods. A few open holes are thrown in to air one out as well, but still needing to be accurate to avoid the surrounding woods. The back 9 are more "city park" like, and play through mowed fairways bordering recreational areas like softball and soccer. The holes are designed with good "fairway splitting" shrubs or trees and longer tunnel like starting areas from the long tees. Multiple tees here offer good variety for all skill levels. The final 4 holes or so offer a chance to air it out over 400' and 660' on one. It's not just wide open, there is some elevation and a OB road as well. The wind here can really do damage too. All in all this is a very sound and well designed course that offers great balance and variety.
Cons: No water hazard and no huge downhill throw. Thus, the course does not offer that jaw-dropping and memorable variety and baalnce. The greens are mostly wide open and never really risky at all (old school design philosophy must be rampant in the Madison area). The rubber pads are really slippery when wet. There is sometimes confusion around the intersection area of holes around the back of the school and because signs are often missing or broken, you have to walk all the way to the basket to figure it out (for a newbie).
Other Thoughts: This used to be our favorite when we were in college at UW. We lived north of Madison all the time and we'd pile in, take Hwy 113 across the river - on a car ferry - drive through the baraboo hills around Devil's Lake state park, and hit up the scenic, challenging, and low traffic Baraboo Lions course ALL THE TIME. This course is worth your trip too. A great scenic drive from Madison, and only 15 minutes from the tourist hotspot of WI Dells. On a side note, the Lion's are an excellent organization, and the WI chapters really seem to be interested in supporting disc golf - I know the Kewaunee Lion's have really helped Winter Park. The course offers a great amount of balance, required execution, and beautiful terrain, but lacks a few of the big money items like a huge downhill throw, water hazard, and more than 18 holes. This is a solid 4, maybe not as technically sound as the Madison courses, but it always seemed to be more fun, more difficult, and FAR less traffic and douches littering and vandalizing. Could someone tell me how lazy people think an empty beer can weighs more than a full one - I mean they carry beer in the bag, but when they're done the empty can must be too heavy to carry - I don't get it, but enough digression.
UPDATE: As I build up more and more reviews, I make it a point to sort all courses I've reviewed by rating. Baraboo seems out of whack with my other 4-disc courses. I have to downgrade to 3.5. But it is amazingly solid and well balanced!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Join the Circus Parade and come to Baraboo Lions DGC

1    9/10/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 851  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has an excellent amount of variety. It starts out in the woods for some tight and technical holes. Opens up for a hole and then back into the woods, then back out, and back in, and it finishes out in the open with some long long holes. Even some of the holes (11-14) that aren't in the woods do have some obstacles to force shotmaking rather than just ripping. Two of the holes are simply straight out ripper holes (660', 514').

2) I love to see distance variation on a course and this course handles that well ranging from 146' to 330' from the fronts and 160' to 660' from the longs.

3) Tight technical holes are well balanced with holes that require you to just miss a couple trees and set up your birdie. Also well balanced with the few wide open holes too.

4) Rubber tees are better than dirt (especially because the soil on the wooded holes is mostly sand and gravel (that would be dangerous to throw from. (See also complaint about tee pads).

5) Underbrush is fairly well taken care of. It could use a little more clearing in spots, but for the most part it seems to be maintained or trampled well enough to find discs.

6) Elevation changes on almost every hole on this course. There are only 2-3 holes that don't really change elevation but they use other key obstacles to challenge most players.

7) 9 is as close to the signature holes as there can be. It is a great downhiller tight and technical right to left. It takes some real finesse. I also really enjoyed hole #5 which is a big left to righter in the woods. Although these are the best two holes ont he course in my opinion they just aren't quite that true signature hole. All in all (from a design standpoint) I am saying there are way more good holes on this course than bad despite not having a true signature hole (as others have mentioned).

8) Dual tee pads allow this course to be completely technical from the shorts and the longs offer quite a bit more challeneg with tighter gaps to hit, longer approaches and less birdie runs. The last 4 holes are also all at least an average of 1 shot more compared to the shorts. The distance is a lot to make up for most disc golfers.

9) Garbage cans at most teepads keep the course mostly clean. Tee signs are nice and show hole layout and distance but a couple are missing.
Cons: 1) Normally I like to see the open rippers early to allow for getting your arm warmed up. Unfortunately the course would not really allow for a front nine back nine swap because of where it starts and finishes. You finish with the four longest holes on the course except for #6.

2) Course goes out and out and out, and then they threw the longest holes at the end to get you back to the parking lot. I think they could have designed a few more holes either in the woods or along them to try and avoid what seems a way to work you back to the parking lot. Why not end the course where #15 or #16 basket is. #17 is not a great hole and #18 is average. They could have still had some distance on #15 and 16 but remove 17 and 18 and tuck a couple more in the woods or in the area where 6, 7, and 8 are.

3) Rubber teepads are installed in two pieces mostly and where the seam is they seem to be buckling (not sure why exactly), but there are dips in both halves of the rubber pads. Not only is the rubber uneven, but they are also covered in the aforementioned sandy soil. The sand is near impossible to keep off the pads, but a concrete pad would be way better on this course. The ground simply isn't able to handle the rubber pads that can move around slightly and compact unevenly.

4) Course has very comacted soil from all the use over the years. The sand and gravel are on the surface everywhere. This creates some tricky runups to some shots especially since there are so many trees to knock you down. You will be throwing lots od mid ranges to the basket, and some might require a runup.

5) Underbrush is fairly well maintained but it could use a little more maintenance in some area. Discs are almost always findable, but some of the areas look a little thick and some spots are thorny.

6) Course could use a little more amenities like benches.

7) Paths leading everywhwere can be confusing so pay attention, not sure if they get used by other people hiking or not. Also because of these areas, some next tee signs might help. It canbe a little confusing in a couple spots where you are headed next.

Also #16 you shoot over a gravel road, #17 you shoot over that same gravel road and apparently some people like to park right in front of the disc golf teepads because there were 4 cars lined up about 60' from the tee on #17. I threw higher over them but it certainly altered my throw. There is plenty of parking out front!!!!!!

8) #12 tee sign shows split fairway but you only have a left to right route either the right to left route was never possible or it has become overgrown.
Other Thoughts: I agree with Texconsinite that this course with concrete teepads would be much better. I also feel a couple of hole changes would take boring holes and turn them into great holes. I liek his idea about chaning 13 and 14. I also think that 17 and 18 are wasted holes. I would rather see more holes in the woods or in that area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.