Disc Golf Store
Huntsville, AL 
Brahan Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 429ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 HOLY GINORMOUS PINE TREES

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DiscKey
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for all levels of play! Chance of losing a disc for beginners is almost zero. The course plays through giant pines that outlines the lines you need to through on a lot of the holes. One set of boxes when we played it, but we also played from some locations that I believe are future "pro" tees that will add to the length. We were in town for a tournament and plate this course once, but we also went by for a practice round the day before and again after the tournament and there were always people of all ages throwing plastic! It was a great experience to play one of the oldest disc golf courses around! Not to mention my friend aced the hardest hole there I the tourney! BOOM! This course will need you to be able to throw a variety of shots/discs...... Look for different lines high/low, hyzer/Anhyzyer, thumbers/overhand..... They are all there!!!
Cons: The only con really was the length. It was relatively short, but with the new tee locations we played, it will lengthen! Also, with the various routes you can take, this course can play as long or short as you want it to.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Minutes from Redstone! PLAY BOTH!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Mike7807
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very easy going course that can give you a great round if you hit the all gaps. A few ace runs makes this course fun for experienced players and beginners.
Cons: If you have problems hitting gaps, it can be a beast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wood Course

2-4    7/2/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced and challenging course that plays through and around highly-trimmed old-growth pines in NW Huntsville. Imagine a course that winds through a forest of telephone poles if you aren't familiar with old-growth pine. The course is over 35 years old and is in awesome shape. Tee pads were well-sized, paths are beat in, navigation was easy, plenty of benches and garbage cans scattered around the course, practice basket adjacent to hole 1, and the shade from the pines was welcome on a hot summer day.

The course is remarkably balanced lefty vs. righty and line shaping is required for success over distance and big arms. In fact, there are only 2 or 3 holes on the course that really let you grip and rip and even then, only one of those has any distance to speak of. The bulk of the holes are in the 220-260 range and require a variety of turns/fades from the tee to be in the hunt for 2's. Elevation is used well and typically works to encourage multiple lines to the basket. This was one of, if not the first wooded course I've personally played that doesn't remove overhand shots from the strategy as the pines are trimmed well up above the forest floor and if you're willing to weave a thumber or tomahawk through the maze of trees, you have the option. A couple of opportunities for ace runs on the front and back nine. The forest floor is covered in pine needles and pine cones so skip shots can either go unexpectedly far or not far at all. The greens are nominally packed earth and a little dusty. Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc, though the ditch along hole 2 was deceptively good at obscuring plastic. Very little low growth on the course, but the two or three bushes throughout are strategically placed.
Cons: Plenty of shot variety, but not due to length for the most part. Only two holes over three hundred feet. There were rumors of poison ivy in the ditch running along hole 3, but I was luckily not in it. Some of the pin/next tee placements and fairways are just on the edge of being too close to each other, so on busy days/tourneys it's a good idea to pay attention.

Other Thoughts: My first experience with this course was a two round FREE tourney put on by the local DG club (Rocket City Chain Gang). I had a lot of fun due in large part to the course and the people. The course was easy to find, easy to enjoy and not so challenging that an advanced noob couldn't get a good score. Experienced players with good mid and short games are going to throw a ton of 2's on this course and have low scores. Beginners are going to see a ton of different shots and have to think about their own strengths and weaknesses throughout the course. The distinctive thunk sound reverberating through the woods while playing was equal parts frustrating and entertaining. I had a great time playing this course and recommend it to anyone visiting the Huntsville area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play if You're in the Area

5+    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging for beginners, a great warm up for more experienced players, and fun for both.

Course:
The course has concrete tees, accurate tee signs, adequate other signage (mandos, next tee, etc.), and is well kept. The course is also well shaded, mostly grass covered, and has little underbrush. The course is well designed with two open holes and the other sixteen snaking through the woods, coming back toward the parking after the front nine.

Shots:
The course offers diverse shots and multiple line opportunities on most holes. The course has a rare ability to make you think heavily about your line throughout the majority of course play. A few legitimate ace runs (9 and 18 stand out).

Other:
The course is very old. It's really to play as a little piece of history, and because it exemplifies how well a disc golf course can be maintained over time.
The locals are usually as varied as they are nice. I've met college kids, families, PDGA pros, elder players, and many others.
Cons: The most glaring con is that it is a very short course. Only three holes 300+ ft (only one of those more than 325ft). This is just a symptom of being such an old course.

Other Thoughts: I make sure to play this course every time I go to Huntsville. We usually play Brahan as a warm up before going over to play Indian Creek or UAH (both within reasonable driving distance).

There are multiple bathrooms in the area and a convenience store within walking distance (or less than 15 second drive). A water fountain by the horse shoe courts and a playground across from the disc golf course are also nice amenities.

I would recommend playing Brahan at least once, even if you're really against short courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

2-4    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long level concrete tees, informative signage, multiple lines, variety of shots, very shaded. That's about everything I need!
Cons: Could use a couple more signs pointing out the next tee and arrows on the pad for when people turn the signs backwards. I stood there for a few minutes looking for the basket before I realized it was in the other direction. Some garbage on course, but don't think it was from the golf community. Really not much to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course! It forced me to use more discs or throw them better so it is definitly a game improver for the locals. The shorter distance requires skill over power, yet remains beginer friendly with multiple routes to the basket.. This also allows tight shots if you think you are good or a safer route until your game improves. I will be back and bringing others with me next time!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wooded pine forrest with no under brush good mix of shots needed,lots of skip shots which is always fun.
Cons: Not much in terrain variety,watch you see at hole one is what you get through out
Other Thoughts: It is not very tough,but I enjoy playing here.Its a good place to practice various shots with all the trees yet there are many routes you can find.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center