Disc Golf Center
Huntsville, AL 
Brahan Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Toughest Steady Ed course I've played to date!

5+    7/8/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 343  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course that plays through mature pine trees. Many different lines and shot shaping needed here. Plenty of shade in the hot Alabama summers. Brand new baskets! Good concrete teepads. Tons of ace runs and even two holes for the long bombers. Can be played quickly and is not strenuous due to the flat terrain.
Cons: Tee signage - It's movable and doesn't give you the distances or a layout of the hole.

Can be very busy. Especially for league night on Wednesdays. Seventy to 90 players are currently showing up for leagues.
Other Thoughts: This course can challenge all skill levels. It's very easy to shoot 10 or more under par on a good day when you're hitting your lines or shoot a 10 over par when you're smacking trees just missing your lines! The pressure for advanced players to get those birdies is immense.

I say it's the toughest Steady Ed course I've played to date due to the others being almost void of trees. These tall pines at Brahan Spring have just kept growing. It gives today's players an idea of what disc golf was like in the late 70s/ early 80s. Maybe they will try throwing a lid here instead?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Walk in the Forest

1    8/21/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage, I found the tee signs helpful in navigating the trees to the hole. Very informative and accurate.
Amenities, located in a larger park so a bathroom was nearby and parking was more than adequate. Benches on most holes and frequent trash cans.
Variety, uphill, downhill, righty, lefty, straight, two open holes.
Challenge, you'd better be able to hit a line, or your experience may not be enjoyable. Lots of tight lines and early trees right off the tee pad. Frankly, if you are a beginner or if you cannot hit a line, you may want to find another course.
Navigation, I found the navigation better than most. There are next tee directional signs on just about every hole and the players have worn out a path to the next tee. Just follow the path.
Not crowded, but not deserted.
Upkeep, very well maintained when I was there, 8/21/15. Obviously, some TLC from the local club.
Oldest existing course still in use, accroding to the sign on the kiosk, but I believe the layout has changed somewhat since Steady Ed was there.
Friendly locals.
Baskets, both a Pro and a Con. I like that the same baskets are on all holes and they are still in good shape, but they are old and smaill-ish. None of my missed putts were the fault of the basket, they caught adequately well.
Cons: Not many, but a few.
At least two tees were missing those nice tee signs talked about above.
Frankly, some of the lines to the basket just seemed like "poke and hope" I'm not saying the lines weren't there, but I could not see how any LHBH was gonna reach them.
Length on some holes were fairly short, but that is probably due to the age of the course.
Other Thoughts: Loved the course, OB was generous, design was interesting and challenging.
The whole course is in a grove of trees and quite beautiful.
Didn't really match up to a modern course, but fun in its own right.
2 and a half stars for the quality of the course, 1 star for hisory and fun.
3 and a half stars.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great mid course

1    2/5/2015   2/7/2015
Review By: colkiewicz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.Concrete Tee Pads.
2.Hole layout sign at each Tee pad.
3. Well maintained.
Cons: 1.Can be hard to navigate.
2.Trees and lots of them.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast playing this course the other day. It was my first time there and I was quiet impressed. I live about 1.5 miles from the Indian Creek course so I play there all the time. However, I was in the area and decided to play this course with a co- worker. I enjoyed how the course has manageable distances between the tee box and the baskets. This is now my number 2 course in Huntsville.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice for a quick round! Accuracy over Distance

2-4    4/15/2016   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Older baskets but in good shape.
- Appropriately sized concrete pads with the perfect amount of roughness for grip. Seriously, you do NOT need a 20' run-up for these holes - mmmkay?
- Not a lot of signage for "next tee" but the course flows well enough and is small enough where this is not an issue.
- I really like how 9 and 18 end near the parking lot which makes just playing a quick 9 a real possibility.
- Many of the holes have multiple paths to the basket making shot selection easy for both LH and RH players alike.
- The lack of any sort of shule makes it easy to recover from errant throws.
Cons: - The design of the course is a little repetitious and other than #1 and #2 there really is no place to grip it and rip it.
- This course is almost too easy. Anyone above an Am2 should be scoring well below 54. #18 for example is just a 198' spike hyzer to an easy peasy deuce.
- #16 has a missing tee sign.
- For some reason the walk from #6 to #7 is confusing as all get out.
- Baskets are really starting to show their age. As I understand it, some of the locals stated that they are in the process of installing new ones. They could really improve this layout by installing some extra sleeves and having alternate pin positions.
- This plot of land is really flat.
Other Thoughts: I would love a course like this near me. This is an easy but challenging enough course to be interesting which favors accuracy over distance. I honestly believe that players at all levels (except for maybe Am2s and above) would have a good time here so that makes this a fantastic course to introduce newbs to the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a goodie

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's fun to play here to see how the game has changed over the years. The course is fair and fun with very cool, pretty tall pine trees. You won't lose any discs here and it's fun for the whole family.

To keep it real, I play this course with two cyclones and an aviar and wear really tight short shorts. (Sorry about the visual)
Cons: Normally, I'd say that the short length of the course is a con, but in this case I think it's great to be able to play an old school layout.

I really don't have any major complaints.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, I recommend stopping by for a quick, fun round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DiscKey
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for all levels of play! Chance of losing a disc for beginners is almost zero. The course plays through giant pines that outlines the lines you need to through on a lot of the holes. One set of boxes when we played it, but we also played from some locations that I believe are future "pro" tees that will add to the length. We were in town for a tournament and plate this course once, but we also went by for a practice round the day before and again after the tournament and there were always people of all ages throwing plastic! It was a great experience to play one of the oldest disc golf courses around! Not to mention my friend aced the hardest hole there I the tourney! BOOM! This course will need you to be able to throw a variety of shots/discs...... Look for different lines high/low, hyzer/Anhyzyer, thumbers/overhand..... They are all there!!!
Cons: The only con really was the length. It was relatively short, but with the new tee locations we played, it will lengthen! Also, with the various routes you can take, this course can play as long or short as you want it to.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Minutes from Redstone! PLAY BOTH!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Mike7807
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very easy going course that can give you a great round if you hit the all gaps. A few ace runs makes this course fun for experienced players and beginners.
Cons: If you have problems hitting gaps, it can be a beast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wood Course

2-4    7/2/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 56  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced and challenging course that plays through and around highly-trimmed old-growth pines in NW Huntsville. Imagine a course that winds through a forest of telephone poles if you aren't familiar with old-growth pine. The course is over 35 years old and is in awesome shape. Tee pads were well-sized, paths are beat in, navigation was easy, plenty of benches and garbage cans scattered around the course, practice basket adjacent to hole 1, and the shade from the pines was welcome on a hot summer day.

The course is remarkably balanced lefty vs. righty and line shaping is required for success over distance and big arms. In fact, there are only 2 or 3 holes on the course that really let you grip and rip and even then, only one of those has any distance to speak of. The bulk of the holes are in the 220-260 range and require a variety of turns/fades from the tee to be in the hunt for 2's. Elevation is used well and typically works to encourage multiple lines to the basket. This was one of, if not the first wooded course I've personally played that doesn't remove overhand shots from the strategy as the pines are trimmed well up above the forest floor and if you're willing to weave a thumber or tomahawk through the maze of trees, you have the option. A couple of opportunities for ace runs on the front and back nine. The forest floor is covered in pine needles and pine cones so skip shots can either go unexpectedly far or not far at all. The greens are nominally packed earth and a little dusty. Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc, though the ditch along hole 2 was deceptively good at obscuring plastic. Very little low growth on the course, but the two or three bushes throughout are strategically placed.
Cons: Plenty of shot variety, but not due to length for the most part. Only two holes over three hundred feet. There were rumors of poison ivy in the ditch running along hole 3, but I was luckily not in it. Some of the pin/next tee placements and fairways are just on the edge of being too close to each other, so on busy days/tourneys it's a good idea to pay attention.

Other Thoughts: My first experience with this course was a two round FREE tourney put on by the local DG club (Rocket City Chain Gang). I had a lot of fun due in large part to the course and the people. The course was easy to find, easy to enjoy and not so challenging that an advanced noob couldn't get a good score. Experienced players with good mid and short games are going to throw a ton of 2's on this course and have low scores. Beginners are going to see a ton of different shots and have to think about their own strengths and weaknesses throughout the course. The distinctive thunk sound reverberating through the woods while playing was equal parts frustrating and entertaining. I had a great time playing this course and recommend it to anyone visiting the Huntsville area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    7/2/2009   5/29/2011
Review By: jon_mt
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 39.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for working on control of mid-ranges.
Cons: Played two years ago and had to wait nearly every hole. Game is popular, so is this really a con?
Other Thoughts: Course have "matured" over the years as the trees get larger and get thinned out. Played here back in the late 70's and early 80's. Back then, it was rare to see someone else. We gotta remember how the game has evolved over the years.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play if You're in the Area

5+    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging for beginners, a great warm up for more experienced players, and fun for both.

The course has concrete tees, accurate tee signs, adequate other signage (mandos, next tee, etc.), and is well kept. The course is also well shaded, mostly grass covered, and has little underbrush. The course is well designed with two open holes and the other sixteen snaking through the woods, coming back toward the parking after the front nine.

The course offers diverse shots and multiple line opportunities on most holes. The course has a rare ability to make you think heavily about your line throughout the majority of course play. A few legitimate ace runs (9 and 18 stand out).

The course is very old. It's really to play as a little piece of history, and because it exemplifies how well a disc golf course can be maintained over time.
The locals are usually as varied as they are nice. I've met college kids, families, PDGA pros, elder players, and many others.
Cons: The most glaring con is that it is a very short course. Only three holes 300+ ft (only one of those more than 325ft). This is just a symptom of being such an old course.

Other Thoughts: I make sure to play this course every time I go to Huntsville. We usually play Brahan as a warm up before going over to play Indian Creek or UAH (both within reasonable driving distance).

There are multiple bathrooms in the area and a convenience store within walking distance (or less than 15 second drive). A water fountain by the horse shoe courts and a playground across from the disc golf course are also nice amenities.

I would recommend playing Brahan at least once, even if you're really against short courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.