Disc Golf Store
Huntsville, AL 
Brahan Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice for a quick round! Accuracy over Distance

1    4/20/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Older baskets but in good shape.
- Appropriately sized concrete pads with the perfect amount of roughness for grip. Seriously, you do NOT need a 20' run-up for these holes - mmmkay?
- Not a lot of signage for "next tee" but the course flows well enough and is small enough where this is not an issue.
- I really like how 9 and 18 end near the parking lot which makes just playing a quick 9 a real possibility.
- Many of the holes have multiple paths to the basket making shot selection easy for both LH and RH players alike.
- The lack of any sort of shule makes it easy to recover from errant throws.
Cons: - The design of the course is a little repetitious and other than #1 and #2 there really is no place to grip it and rip it.
- I don't know if this is normal but I really didn't like how there were cars parked behind #18 basket while folks while at the horseshoe pits. This is not a good and parking there needs to be limited or prohibited.
- This plot of land is really flat.
Other Thoughts: I would love a course like this near me. This is an easy but challenging enough course to be interesting which favors accuracy over distance. I honestly believe that players at all levels would have a good time here so that makes this a fantastic course to introduce newbs to the sport.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a goodie

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's fun to play here to see how the game has changed over the years. The course is fair and fun with very cool, pretty tall pine trees. You won't lose any discs here and it's fun for the whole family.

To keep it real, I play this course with two cyclones and an aviar and wear really tight short shorts. (Sorry about the visual)
Cons: Normally, I'd say that the short length of the course is a con, but in this case I think it's great to be able to play an old school layout.

I really don't have any major complaints.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area, I recommend stopping by for a quick, fun round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 HOLY GINORMOUS PINE TREES

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DiscKey
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for all levels of play! Chance of losing a disc for beginners is almost zero. The course plays through giant pines that outlines the lines you need to through on a lot of the holes. One set of boxes when we played it, but we also played from some locations that I believe are future "pro" tees that will add to the length. We were in town for a tournament and plate this course once, but we also went by for a practice round the day before and again after the tournament and there were always people of all ages throwing plastic! It was a great experience to play one of the oldest disc golf courses around! Not to mention my friend aced the hardest hole there I the tourney! BOOM! This course will need you to be able to throw a variety of shots/discs...... Look for different lines high/low, hyzer/Anhyzyer, thumbers/overhand..... They are all there!!!
Cons: The only con really was the length. It was relatively short, but with the new tee locations we played, it will lengthen! Also, with the various routes you can take, this course can play as long or short as you want it to.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Minutes from Redstone! PLAY BOTH!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Mike7807
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very easy going course that can give you a great round if you hit the all gaps. A few ace runs makes this course fun for experienced players and beginners.
Cons: If you have problems hitting gaps, it can be a beast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wood Course

2-4    7/2/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 35  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Balanced and challenging course that plays through and around highly-trimmed old-growth pines in NW Huntsville. Imagine a course that winds through a forest of telephone poles if you aren't familiar with old-growth pine. The course is over 35 years old and is in awesome shape. Tee pads were well-sized, paths are beat in, navigation was easy, plenty of benches and garbage cans scattered around the course, practice basket adjacent to hole 1, and the shade from the pines was welcome on a hot summer day.

The course is remarkably balanced lefty vs. righty and line shaping is required for success over distance and big arms. In fact, there are only 2 or 3 holes on the course that really let you grip and rip and even then, only one of those has any distance to speak of. The bulk of the holes are in the 220-260 range and require a variety of turns/fades from the tee to be in the hunt for 2's. Elevation is used well and typically works to encourage multiple lines to the basket. This was one of, if not the first wooded course I've personally played that doesn't remove overhand shots from the strategy as the pines are trimmed well up above the forest floor and if you're willing to weave a thumber or tomahawk through the maze of trees, you have the option. A couple of opportunities for ace runs on the front and back nine. The forest floor is covered in pine needles and pine cones so skip shots can either go unexpectedly far or not far at all. The greens are nominally packed earth and a little dusty. Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc, though the ditch along hole 2 was deceptively good at obscuring plastic. Very little low growth on the course, but the two or three bushes throughout are strategically placed.
Cons: Plenty of shot variety, but not due to length for the most part. Only two holes over three hundred feet. There were rumors of poison ivy in the ditch running along hole 3, but I was luckily not in it. Some of the pin/next tee placements and fairways are just on the edge of being too close to each other, so on busy days/tourneys it's a good idea to pay attention.

Other Thoughts: My first experience with this course was a two round FREE tourney put on by the local DG club (Rocket City Chain Gang). I had a lot of fun due in large part to the course and the people. The course was easy to find, easy to enjoy and not so challenging that an advanced noob couldn't get a good score. Experienced players with good mid and short games are going to throw a ton of 2's on this course and have low scores. Beginners are going to see a ton of different shots and have to think about their own strengths and weaknesses throughout the course. The distinctive thunk sound reverberating through the woods while playing was equal parts frustrating and entertaining. I had a great time playing this course and recommend it to anyone visiting the Huntsville area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Course

5+    7/2/2009   5/29/2011
Review By: jon_mt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 37.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for working on control of mid-ranges.
Cons: Played two years ago and had to wait nearly every hole. Game is popular, so is this really a con?
Other Thoughts: Course have "matured" over the years as the trees get larger and get thinned out. Played here back in the late 70's and early 80's. Back then, it was rare to see someone else. We gotta remember how the game has evolved over the years.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play if You're in the Area

5+    11/9/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: CGarcia
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging for beginners, a great warm up for more experienced players, and fun for both.

Course:
The course has concrete tees, accurate tee signs, adequate other signage (mandos, next tee, etc.), and is well kept. The course is also well shaded, mostly grass covered, and has little underbrush. The course is well designed with two open holes and the other sixteen snaking through the woods, coming back toward the parking after the front nine.

Shots:
The course offers diverse shots and multiple line opportunities on most holes. The course has a rare ability to make you think heavily about your line throughout the majority of course play. A few legitimate ace runs (9 and 18 stand out).

Other:
The course is very old. It's really to play as a little piece of history, and because it exemplifies how well a disc golf course can be maintained over time.
The locals are usually as varied as they are nice. I've met college kids, families, PDGA pros, elder players, and many others.
Cons: The most glaring con is that it is a very short course. Only three holes 300+ ft (only one of those more than 325ft). This is just a symptom of being such an old course.

Other Thoughts: I make sure to play this course every time I go to Huntsville. We usually play Brahan as a warm up before going over to play Indian Creek or UAH (both within reasonable driving distance).

There are multiple bathrooms in the area and a convenience store within walking distance (or less than 15 second drive). A water fountain by the horse shoe courts and a playground across from the disc golf course are also nice amenities.

I would recommend playing Brahan at least once, even if you're really against short courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and compact course and it compliments the diverse Huntsville area courses nicely. It's nestled in a really nice mature pine forest with little to no shule. Plentiful shade will be welcomed during the hot summer days. It's also really compact. In fact, you can just about see every basket from anywhere on the course. During non peak times a quick round could be had in about 30 minutes if desired. Although it's almost 35 years old you can hardly tell. It's well kept, clean, and has plenty of amenities.

Beyond the ample parking, you'll find a basket for some quick putting practice. There's a nice kiosk near hole one with plenty of info about the course. Concrete tee pads, nice signs, and next tee indications are all here. A bathroom near the ball fields at the bottom of the hill is there if necessary.

Hole one is the course's longest hole. It's a wide open, gradual downhill shot coming in at around 430'. Hole two offers another wide open shot but is slightly uphill and around 300'. Beyond those two it's into the woods. There you'll find some shorter holes, mainly between 200 and 300 feet. Although short, the holes do ask for some accuracy. There are a few guarded strait shots with several route choices. Also there's some sweeping fairways and even a couple of pronounced doglegs here as well. Given the land available, there is a good design here and it's very fair.

I am told that during high school football season the back nine is lighted by the stadium lights so some night golf is possible.
Cons: Some more elevation would be welcomed. Being so flat and tight, some of the more open course fans might get a little "short wooded hole" fatigued. Additionally, those who prefer the longer holes with some par 4 and 5's mixed in are going to be a little disappointed too. Some might consider its somewhat unchallenging nature to be a con especially if this is your local course and you play it over and over.

I am told by locals that the nature of the course makes it one of the busiest in the area. They say at peak times large groups with less than desirable etiquette can interrupt an otherwise enjoyable round.
Other Thoughts: I thought it was pretty cool playing one of the oldest courses in the world. The nostalgia itself is worth the visit. I really can't imagine anyone being just totally disappointed in this course. For the beginner, the shortness can be friendly training and the experienced will enjoy the birdie opportunities and upshot practice. As I mentioned it's really a fun little course. Enjoy!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

2-4    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long level concrete tees, informative signage, multiple lines, variety of shots, very shaded. That's about everything I need!
Cons: Could use a couple more signs pointing out the next tee and arrows on the pad for when people turn the signs backwards. I stood there for a few minutes looking for the basket before I realized it was in the other direction. Some garbage on course, but don't think it was from the golf community. Really not much to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course! It forced me to use more discs or throw them better so it is definitly a game improver for the locals. The shorter distance requires skill over power, yet remains beginer friendly with multiple routes to the basket.. This also allows tight shots if you think you are good or a safer route until your game improves. I will be back and bringing others with me next time!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old but Classy

1    2/1/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several good things about this course
1. Tees are concrete and long enough for the holes
2. Signs are well marked with throwing options and OB's are labeled on each sign
3. There are arrows hung on tree to let you know which way to the next tee
4. Transitions are easy and out of hams way
5. Course plays really fast and my group was never held up
6. Very begginner friendly. It would be hard to loose a disc here.
7. Most of the hols present a challenging shot that you must think about before you shoot. Its easy to get into a long second shot situation.
8. Very well maintained with no under brush
Cons: There a few of cons that I saw but nothing that would be aggrevating,
1. There are only two long shots, the first and second tees, both of which can be birdied fairly easily, the second hole makes fore a good ace run
2. I think all the other holes are under 300 ft
3. The holes become repeatitive after about the 5th hole
4. There isn't alot of room to work with, you have to be careful to make sure you don't hit someone so keep your eyes open for people who are within your throwing distance
5. I didn't like some of the mandos but the did make you think.
Other Thoughts: Over all it's a good course, not a great one, I would like to see a couple of alternate hole, maybe a couple more long shots. I didn't have lng to play so this was definatly the right course to play. It's quick, fun, and has great potential for a lot of birds. If you have an hour and you are passing through huntsville, stop in and play a course from the 70's. You won't be dissapointed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.