Disc Golf Store
Huntsville, AL
Brahan Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    10/17/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Installed in 1976, this claims to be the oldest existing course, and it's still fun and challenging to play. The first two holes start are in an open field and the rest of the holes are played in the woods among many, many mature pine trees.

For the most part, the course is fairly short, but not necessarily easy. There are lots of different lines through the trees which help keep the course interesting.

The tee pads and baskets are in good condition. When I played here on 10/17/09, there were signs with diagrams and distances on each hole. I don't recall them when I was here a year ago and they are a nice addition to the course.
Cons: This course is pretty straight forward. There is little elevation, no water and no OB (except the road which doesn't really come into play).

I felt like the course was crammed in kinda tight, but was surprised when I played in a tournament here I didn't have any problem with discs flying too close to my group. I'm sure it's possible to hit someone with an errant shot here, but I guess the course is a bit more spacious than it appears.
Other Thoughts: I expected a course this old to be a birdie fest, but was surprised to find that's not necessarily true. There are definitely some easier holes on the course, but there are also some more difficult ones. And with this many trees, it doesn't take much to miss your line hit a tree.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. It's a great place to teach newer players some accuracy. Advanced players will enjoy the challenge of seeing how low they can score here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Built in 1976!

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 basket course sits on a fairly small piece of mostly wooded (tall mature pine trees) land. I think 16 holes are played through the trees. It's short by today's standards but still challenging due to it's technical nature. Being accurate is the key here. The course is well signed. The pads are great. I like the fact that there is a nice balance of hyser, anhyser and straight holes. This courses requires a lot of thinking and looking for the right flight path. At least on the 430' # 1, most players get a one chance to air it out. There's almost no underbrush to deal with.
Cons: This is another course where what you see is what you get. It's not a course for the big arms. There's no water or elevation. It's mostly a recreation course. Hey, enjoy it for what it is. A classic old time disc golf course. Kind of the Wrigley Field of disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: My son and I brought two professional baseball umpires from the AA Southern League out for their first disc golf experience. I think they're sold on it and will continue to play. I attribute a lot of their initial success and enjoyment to this course. It's very much beginner friendly. No searching for lost discs here. No water hazards to worry about. Just an enjoyable throw in a nicely shaded Georgia Pine forest.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with excellent signs, teepads, and baskets. Navigation was easy- there are well-worn paths, signs on trees, and markers in the basket to help you get to the next hole. The course is old, but it is in excellent shape and appears to be well taken care of. It plays on flat ground around lots of very tall pine trees. The trees are so tall that leaves and branches are not in play, just lots of tree trunks to avoid. It is shaded nicely helping to ease the sometimes oppressive Alabama summer heat. The grass/pine straw fairways make it easy to find your discs. You have no danger of losing your disc on any of the holes (except possibly during periods of extreme rain, then the ditch lining a couple of the holes might hold water, but it was bone dry when I played.) This is one of the oldest courses around and it is pretty cool playing a piece of history.
Cons: The course is crammed into a relatively small area, and due to its popularity it can get crowded and feel somewhat cramped. The biggest negative for me, however, was the lack of variety- holes #1 and #2 are wide open, then the rest all look the same- 250'-300' around the pines to the basket 16 times in a row (look at the pics and you will see). We also had a couple of drunks ask us for money and cigarettes as soon as we pulled in the parking lot, but that happens at lots of courses!
Other Thoughts: This is a very old course, so it is what it is. You can get by with only 1-4 discs in your bag. It is great for beginners and families, or if you want a fun, casual round, but more advanced players will want more of a challenge after a couple of rounds here. This is a nice course, but so many courses have advanced beyond this one over the last 30 years. If you are in the area I do recommend playing it at least once. Also, Huntsville has plenty of courses and continues to grow as a nice disc golf destination.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange Heaven

2-4    5/18/2007   3/18/2009
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice beginner course. Easy to navigate with signs on every tee. Good practice for work on your short game.
Cons: For the advanced player this course will be kind of boring. Not many chances to "rip" a drive. Older course that needs a makeover.
Other Thoughts: There are better courses in the area to play. Check out UAH or Redstone before this course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    3/17/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: wirerat123
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course for players of all levels, you will see masters, newbies, and everything in between on this course at any given day. It's a great place to practice your different shots. It requires solid accuracy for the fairways, but as you improve, you can find new routes on every hole. One of the best places to groom a beginner from total newbie to advanced intermediate.
Cons: Somewhat repetitave, BUT if you are creative with your shot selection it can be a new challenge almost everytime you come out.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in the area, I'm still less than a year in experience, and Brahan Springs is still teaching me new things every time I go. In my opinion, it's the best course overall in the area for someone looking for a great place to hone and perfect your skills without crushing your confidence.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bumpin Bark Park

5+    8/17/1993   2/17/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Occupying a flat, wooded plot - and one of the courses used for the PDGA World Championships in both 1983 and 1993, Brahan Springs is a classic.
Designed in the day when high tech was a super pro (midnight flyers were maaaayyybe just available then) - this course was very challenging in its infancy. Disc technology has transformed it into a pitch and putt - but the fact that it hasn't suffered the kind of tree loss that so many of its ilk have - it remains a fun and challenging little course. Flat makes it an easy walk. The woods make for some tight lines, with room for some creative shot making choices.
Teepads and signs were adequate when I was there last, and apparently still are.
Cons: Lack of topography makes a few holes sort of repetitive. Overall length is short by today's standards - so it's not a "big event" venue anymore.
Other Thoughts: When visiting Huntsville, "Bumpin Bark Park" is definitely worth a visit. Take your mids and putters and get yourself a fun warmup. Or take your newbie friends out and have a friendly laugh as they whack some pine trees with your favorite disc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: wooded pine forrest with no under brush good mix of shots needed,lots of skip shots which is always fun.
Cons: Not much in terrain variety,watch you see at hole one is what you get through out
Other Thoughts: It is not very tough,but I enjoy playing here.Its a good place to practice various shots with all the trees yet there are many routes you can find.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Technical, and Fun

5+    12/10/2008   12/12/2008
Review By: BmaEngnr92
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good conrete tee pads and Mach III baskets build a strong foundation for the course. There's well defined routes on each hole, and it's a great course to pick up a lot of birdies and have some ace runs. It's also a great place for beginners due to it's friendly nature, and you're likely to meet a lot of the locals out here later in the afternoon (beginners.....great place to pick up some advice and tips ;) ). It's really the best course in the area for a fun, casual round of golf, that certainly won't wear you out.
Cons: There isn't a lot of variety here; minus 1 & 2, every hole winds through mature pines and are all pretty short. It can get pretty crowded during the summer as well.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the oldest courses around, opening in 1976. So there is a lot of history in those old trees, and they have the scars to prove it! The way I rate my courses is how the course delivers in what it is supposed to be. Meaning, if you're looking for a fun, technical, short course, this one most certainly delivers. It is what it is, but I think that it serves a purpose in the area. If you want a bomber's course, go to UAH; a slightly more difficult version of Brahan, go to Mastin, a much longer and more demanding wooded course, go to Monte Sano, and if you just want a sweet mixture of everything, go to Redstone. Some may disagree, but I feel this is still one of the better courses in the area due to it's history and fun atmosphere, even if the big arms and new discs have passed it by. If your in or around Huntsville, you must play Brahan Springs, or you'll really be missing out.

Favorite Holes: 3, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course!

1    11/15/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very nice playable course for all. It has enough challenge to make the course somewhat difficult and beginners will also enjoy it as well.
Cons: It's compacted into a small area and a lot of the shots are mainly the same over and over. Not much variety.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an ideal course for newer players looking to hone their skills. Located in a small, square pine tree forest, the course weaves in and out of the many trees, testing your entire bag. The design is very good, with a lot of shot variety and every hole seems to have lots of different ways to get to the basket, but only 1 true fairway that requires good control of your discs to get the many birdies. There is very little elevation change and no shule. There are good concrete tee pads and tee signs on every hole. The are bathrooms across the road from hole 15.
Cons: This is your basic pitch and putt course, with very little challenge other than to get the birdie. With the way the trees are spaced out, there is always a recovery gap to the basket even after a bad drive. There are usually a couple of bums hanging around hole 3, but from my experiences, they have not been a bother. There are no benches, but the course is so short, you likely wouldn't sit down much anyway.
Other Thoughts: Although an easy course, there are enough trees to where every hole requires an accurate shot to get the birdie. As easy as it is for pros to shoot double digits down, the slightest bit of wind and being off target and it is just as easy for pros to shoot par or worse. It is one of the oldest courses in the nation and still a very fun course to play for all skill levels. You can play a quick round in no time. If you are a newer player or still trying to hone your skills, then I would recommend playing this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.