Yarmouth, ME 
Pratt's Brook Park Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    7/31/2015   8/3/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 149  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is nicely taken care of. It was freshly mowed, and the mower obviously understood the course, as a few tee pads that were tucked away were mowed out.

Elevation is used nicely with gentle uphill and downhill shots.

The trees here feel like they were shaped for disc golf fairways, and most of the holes feature some type of tunnel shot. Hole 5 is the most scenic of these, with tunnel forcing a low, downhill shot, although there is spike hyzer route over the top for people with over 300 feet of power).

Holes are mostly in the 200-275 range. Navigation was pretty easy. Tee signs were simple but showed the contours well enough.
Cons: The fairways are lined with tall pines, and often thick brush is just off the fairways. I can't see playing here frequently and not ending up with a disc caught up in a tree. I lost a disc on hole 3. I saw right where it went and never found it.

The tee pads are natural and aren't even outlined with wood or anything.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't mind having this sort of course in my neck of the woods. It's a nice public course that is worth visiting if you're around. But given the wealth of great courses in the greater Portland area, I wouldn't go far out of your way. I had a little gas left in the tank after a full day at Sabattus and was glad to visit here to finish off the day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is

1    5/4/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: Reedteaches
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: FREE- a huge rarity in these parts. Also well maintained.
Cons: Lots of holes that cross or come close to each other, and once or twice I struggled to find the next tee. Very short.
Other Thoughts: Though the trees are thick in spots, no hole here could be described as a Maine "woods" hole. Would love to have seen the course designer take a few holes into the woods to help alleviate the crowding of the hole sin the open space.

 Great little course

1    6/28/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: Alibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
Pros: If you live nearby like me. This course is an excellent practice course, and it is also free, which is hard to find in Maine. Also it is in a beautiful area and the well maintained.
Cons: It would be a better course if some of the holes were longer. Also the trees are very thick which makes in challenging to find your disc, so you should bring a backups.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a great little course.

1    5/31/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one actually has some cool holes. Short, but cool. Two plays about two hundred feet, across a small wetland, (that I assume is OB) and fades to the right where a basket is hidden from the tee by shrubbery. Three features a tight early gap but introduces the possibility of throwing a spike hyzer over the top of the gap guarding trees. Six is close to three-hundred feet in length and requires a wicked leftward fade to even have a shot at the deuce. Eight is a long, straight shot through a relatively narrow tunnel. Nine is one of those shots where the basket is behind a big obstacle and the fairway allows to go around it in either direction.

It's quite well kept and the park appears to be popular although it seems to appeal more to dog-walkers than discers. There are a lot of good courses in the area so one that appeals mostly to beginners is not unwelcome here. It could certainly introduce new players to the game, especially since the holes won't seem overwhelming. It's easy to find the way around the course and if one can read a tee sign, there shouldn't be too much trouble here.
I'm not sure who actually plays here, or who is meant to play for. For new players, the tall confers must be a nightmare. Show up with a disc or two and you will often lose it or have to climb a tree. If you can't throw low here, you could have some serious problems as disc-grabbing trees are thirsting for newb-hyzers. Five is the worst in this regard as the hole slopes downward and the branches meet in the middle, meaning that even a flat throw will encounter branches unless the disc is layed up. I spent a good amount of time peering into the branches trying to figure out which tree I was going to have to climb before realizing that I'd made a miracle pass through.

The holes are unchallenging but that isn't too much of a con given the likely clientele. What's a bigger problem, (though perhaps not much of one, because it's likely never crowded) is how much these fairways intersect. For example, the throw from the first tee will pass directly over the ninth basket. That's the most egregious case of a basket being in the middle of a different fairway, but it's not the only one. In other cases, such as three and four, the fairways just cross each other. Again, it's not likely that people will be on three and four at the same time, but still....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.