Layout Extinct

Jeffersonville, VT 
Smugglers Notch - Fox Run - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 / 24 Basket

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fox Run Compliments Brewster Ridge Nicely!

1    8/13/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fox Run is the second course on site here at Smuggler's Notch. While Brewster Ridge plays as a true New England wooded course, the currently 9 hole Fox Run plays much more as a open meadows type course. When you combine the two courses, they've made Smuggler's Notch a true disc golf destination. The drive up here is scenic, especially the incredibly tight, twisty turns of Smugglers Notch Pass, the Green Mountains are beautiful and once you arrive, there are a bevy of golfing options available to you.

To start with, the total package of amenities, takes a back seat to probably no course I've seen. Maybe only Bryant Lake Park, in Eden Park (Minneapolis) compares to Brewster/Fox Run in it's amenities. The pro shop is well stocked with discs and anything else golf related you'll need for your playing time here, plus drinks and snacks. Outside are honey buckets, cold water to fill your bottles and a wonderful shaded area with picnic tables.

One of my favorite aspects of this course was the four tee pads for each hole. Playing from most challenging, the Golds to the Blues, Whites and on down to the beginner Reds gives players the option of playing to their own level or splitting their group. Each tee had an informative sign giving all the useful information. Sometimes, two colors would play from the same tee pad. I like this as it sometimes forces one of the tee colors to kind of "play up" a tee color and maybe play a hole slightly and or more difficult than you've been playing on the rest of your round.

The tee pads are rubber mats with a wooden border for the Golds only. The other colors were just driving off the grass. I would believe that this will shortly be fixed. The baskets were the Chainstar models. There were lots of helpful little bridges and wooden walkways built over wet areas.

I really like the fact that there are some shorter holes here, actually giving you that chance for a ACE or the tough birdie.

Nick, the Pro Shop guy, knows his stuff and is very helpful. $10 to play all day is more than fair. There is a professional scorecard available that is first class all the way showing not only the distances for all four tees on both courses but also the course map for both courses.

This is not a little 9 hole course. From the Golds, it plays 3805 feet with three legitimate Par 4's making it a Par 30 course. The Whites are in some case 200 feet shorter than the Golds.
Cons: The holes on Fox Run are numbered 19-27. I find this a little confusing especially when they are considering putting in another 9 to make this a full 18.

Lots of very challenging holes. Lots of pretty holes but once again no real "Wow" factor for me. There's some elevation here but nothing dramatic. # 20 is 700' from the Golds but it's a pretty gradual downhill.

Teeing off grass was OK today on a dry August day but I don't think I would like it on a rainy day of any kind.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course. It gives you a different look than Brewster Ridge, more open. Combining the two makes for a full day of golf. Throw in the little Village 9 Pitch & Putt and that's three courses for us course baggers. By playing from a tee that challenges your particular skill level, you can certainly make your round/day as challenging as you want to make.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Aging with Excellence

5+    6/1/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: jspring
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the third year that this 9 hole course has been in existence, and it gets better every year. The continual mowing has created lush and grassy fairways that are reminiscent of a ball golf course in areas. It is one of the most beautiful courses I have ever played, and is just plain fun to play. Playing currently as 19-27, this course has a few "signature" holes, but hole 20 is unforgettable. a long downhill, 700 ft par 4 with )B on both sides. The fairway is over 100 ft. wide, but can still be a challenge to hit due to how far you have to throw to get it there. I think this is one of the best 9 hole loops in New England - here are some reasons:

Diversity: While many holes play in the meadows, there are tight wooded tunnel shots that break up the more open overall ethic of the course. This course plays over and around wetlands, but is designed to keep the OB in play without overwhelming the player and offering bail out zones. Uphill, downhill, flat, long, short, open, wooded - this course has everything.

Length: This course challenges players with length. From the gold tees, the length plays for even the best in the world, but also allows less-than superhuman arms to score with excellent placement. With 3 Par 4s, this course plays at Par 30, and from the golds, 30 is a great score. Playing at nearly 4000 ft. These 9 holes are Championship caliber.

OB: The use of OB is designed to challenge player's to make decisions. Most holes have one side of the hole lined with OB, providing players with the option of challenging the OB to get the best position, or playing it safe and having to work from a less than ideal position.

Tees: I am rating this course from the Gold tees, and they are nice grippy rubber that plays well even when wet!

Elevation: There is elevation factors on nearly every hole of the course, but very much so on 19, 20, 24, 25, 26 and 27.

Hole 20 is the signature of all Brewster Ridge disc golf at this point, but hole 21 and hole 27 are also holes you won't forget about any time soon.
Cons: The shorter tees are grass except where the blue and gold tees share. The grass tees are kept short and are on flat ground, but it will be nice when they are upgraded. I am rating this course from the Gold Tees.

Not great when you throw your disc in the wetlands area, but it is a penalty for a reason.
Other Thoughts: The course will be expanded to 18 holes and include new alterations to the current 9-hole layout soon with co-designed service from Steve Brinster. Very excited to play this course in an 18-Hole version, especially since ther ewill be a large water element! I think this course will be an amazing sister-course to Brewster when finished and has a chance to be even more fun to play!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

2-4    5/24/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 149  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While the adjacent 18-hole Brewster Ridge course plays primarily in the woods, this is meadow golf. I'll come back to that in a second. First off, with the more open nature of the course, the views here are spectacular. The Green Mountains loom just across the street. Of the 135+ courses I've played, this is absolutely in the top 5 for scenery.

Back to meadows. You don't need heavily wooded holes to make for good design. Hole 19 (the holes are 18-27) is my favorite hole of any of the 27 holes on site. The blue and gold tees shoot across a grassy marshy area to the landing area on the other side. There maybe a dozen trees dot the fairway for the rest of the several hundred feet to the basket. There are landing zones, and your preferred throwing style will dictate where you want to land. It's a pretty, well manicured hole that has good design.

Hole 24 is another great hole, playing along the hilly electrical easement. The blue and gold tees shoot from a little ridge with a big bump in the middle of the fairway that you need to clear before the fairway descends on the other side and curves to the left. Fun shot.

The first hole (hole 18) is a fun downhill bomb with only two trees in the fairway, but they dictate how you throw your drive.

The guy at the pro shop forewarned me about the transition from 23 to 24, but the map makes it clear as well.
Cons: Most of the tee pads are just grass. The gold tees were rubber.

Hole 26 and 27 had fairways mowed nicely, but the main "rough" is just taller grass. I'm not a fan of this, since it doesn't give you a tougher shot; it just makes it harder to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I played both the blue and red tees. The reds are appropriate for beginners but were not simple shots. I enjoyed the blues.

This is one of the longest 9-hole courses I've played, and it's also one of the best. This is a pretty natural extension from the Brewster Ridge course, and I'd recommend playing both. It's $10 for unlimited play on both and well worth it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fox run Medows

5+    8/19/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: iskionrocks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As the Title states this is a meadow course. A great compact layout starting with in sight of the proshop makes this a great course. Wide open holes with ob on either side create a challenge. Just because this is a 9 hole course dose not mean it is a pitch and put. Play the nine hole loop on Brewster and play the back nine on Fox run for a great late after noon round. With the openness of the course you can play well into the dusk hours. Tees are rubber on golds and natural grass on red white and blue. Great mix of shots and super fun layout.
Cons: Super sunny in the middle of the day
Other Thoughts: Great views of the highest peaks in Vermont through out the course. Fair Fairways provide the challenge on the more open layout. This course will improve your game.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.