Franconia, PA 
Branchwood Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun easy course that has flexibility!

1    6/8/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: - Easy to navigate and play.
- Course takes roughly 15 minutes to play by yourself.
- Due to the proximity of tee areas to baskets, you can mix around and shoot from different tees to different baskets to add longer, more challenging shots.
- Nice 2 disc course. A putter and a mid-range are all that you need!
- All holes are ace runs!
- Good course to build player confidence and to introduce people to the sport without overwhelming them.
Cons: - Course pars are a little off. A par 4 for a 140ft shot is crazy, but at least you can walk away under par from the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is tucked away in a park in PA. It was a little tough to get to the park due to detour signs, but if you follow your GPS despite the detour signs, you will find the park easily.

This is a fun course where your chances of losing a disc are impossible. Every hole is wide opened with some loosely scattered trees to help you learn and shape lines. I had a pleasant experience playing this course.

 Beginners, children, or midrange practice

2-4    6/10/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good, high quality signage.

All baskets are in good shape.

low chance of disc loss

good for children/learning/midrange
Cons: dirt tees.

The 18 hole course is cramped into a small area

little elevation change. The whole course is sort of on one very very subtle slope, so no elevation challenge.

baskets are pretty low to the ground and sort of an older model.

Many of the signs mark holes as Par 3 or 4 and none of the holes should really be above Par 2 for the most part.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun little course but I wouldn't really recommend it unless you are going to visit the park for another reason and happen to have your discs with you.

If you are trying to teach a young child to play, this is a decent course to teach them.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good basic beginner course

1    3/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very wide open, set in a residential park. It is super simple to navigate and is a great way to get 9 holes in if you have only a short period of time (approximately 20 minutes). The tee signs are great because with so many holes so close together, you wouldn't know which basket to throw at if it weren't for the signs. The grass was well manicured.
Cons: All holes are laid out in a very small area, with very few obstacles (trees). There are no elevation changes, rocks, or bushes within the bounds of the playing area. There are also only natural tee boxes, which can be muddy depending on the weather. The holes are all very short.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to go to practice your mid range game and putting. Some holes (2, 6, 7, 9) are labeled as par 4's, which is insane. These are all par 3's. You could easily make up your own navigation pattern (which others have done in previous reviews here) to make for longer shots and to make the trees more in play to challenge yourself. This course is not worth any sort of far drive to visit, but is worth visiting if you are in the area and new to the game. This can help build some confidence in your game before trees and other water hazards from other courses get you frustrated. Also a great course for bringing out young children to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course!

5+    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: Chuckie1974
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is flat and very beginner friendly! The tee boxes are marked and most are very straight (not dog-legged). Basketball courts, tennis courts, picnic areas, playground, and a fishing stream is nearby for increased family fun. My family and I have had some great times out here! You could probably navigate this course with a putter and a mid-range disc. However, a few holes are guarded heavily with trees so bring some accuracy when you come! Easy to score well! Have fun!
Cons: The tee boxes are muddy, so stand off to one side or the other or you may fall on your backside and give everyone else a laugh. No dog-legs and not much of a challenge for all of you who have monsterous arms!
Other Thoughts: The course is in good shape considering it is only February 2012. Hope to see you out there!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great safari possibilities

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 139  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for getting some practice. Midrange, putting practice. Perfect for teaching. Great course for taking a buzz or putter and running the whole course in 15 minutes. Nice park
Cons: Very short
Rough natural tees
Other Thoughts: As others have said this appears to be a great place to bring those new to the game and not destroy their confidence. Nice use of trees on half of the course. This course has great opportunities for some safari golf. It does not appear to be very busy and I saw some great lines if you make up your own tee pads and use some of the sheltered baskets and use the small patch of woods. This was a fun tiny course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Branchwood DGC

5+    5/1/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect place to take a newbie to learn the basics. It is in a nice public park that is well maintained; nice place to be outside.
Most holes are simple, short par 3's but a few require you to shape your drive a bit. Trees come into play on several holes.
Great place to practice your mid-range game/putting if you are a more experienced player. Also good place to play a few quick rounds if you only have a little bit of time.
Cons: If you take the course for what it is, a basic beginner's course, there are no major cons. Lack of tee-pads is my only real issue. Proximity to the baseball field on hole 2 could also pose a problem if a disc got away from you.
Other Thoughts: With so many great courses no too far away its not worth it to go out of your way to play this one. However, if you want somewhere to take your family or are just starting to play, this is a good place to go. Also, I ran into a local my last time there who showed me a safari layout that makes the course a bit more interesting (see review from 6/8/09 for details).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect for the kids

1    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: Sabooo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I checked out this course based on the reviews I read here. I'm hoping to get my kids interested in the sport this summer, and this course is just exactly what I was looking for.

The keys for me are the short lengths of the holes, the friendly (and forgiving) open fairways, and easy navigation.

Great place to work on approach shots for the more experience player.
Cons: Grass tees are eroding so that there is a bit of a pit forming in the area of the tee.

There is lots of opportunity for errant discs to cross fairways. One should stay alert while playing.

Other Thoughts: I hope to haunt this place with the kids this summer. Hope to see you there!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course for Beginners

1    10/11/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Off the beaten path, but easy to find, Branchwood Park DGC is a well manicured nine-hole course. As you approach the park, there is adequate signage to point you to the start of the course. Once at the tees, the tee signs do a decent job pointing you toward the basket (even though it's usually less than 200' away and usually wide-open).

The baskets at the course are in great shape.

There is a subtle mix of fairways (e.g. wooded vs. open), though most are wide-open. The fairways are a sufficient distance from any other house,road, path or other part of the park so that safety isn't much of an issue at this community park as it can be at others.
Cons: While there were a few holes that incorporated trees, most were just straight shots from tee to basket and fairly short in length (all holes except for one were under 200'...with the exception being 220'). The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.

There were a few holes where, despite the tee sign, it was easy to accidentally throw at the wrong basket.

The tees were natural and didn't really have a defined line from which to throw.

In several instances, the proximity of baskets to the next tee was a bit too close to be totally safe.
Other Thoughts: Despite the pedestrian feel of the course, I found myself enjoying a fast round in a nice public space. While this course would be an afterthought for a seasoned player (or great practice for long-distance putting and approaches), for the beginner, this course will allow a player to work on form and technique without very many demoralizing tree hits or the requirement for numerous long-distance drives.

While I wouldn't say that the course is a disc golf destination, if you happen to be driving through the back roads of the county and have time for a quick round, check out Branchwood Park.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Practice for midrange

5+    9/7/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Drago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, I usually have the park to myself.
Cons: short, simple, no tee pads - just signs
Other Thoughts: I take my family here. Good for my four and six year old boys. I usually take one or two discs to practice midrange shots and putting. Simple shots around and through trees with no elevation. Good place to hit an ace.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners paradise

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with baskets still relatively new. Holes very short and bunched up together. Some woods but not much, and very little challenge to each hole. Ignore the par 4 on the signs (which are pretty accurate).
Cons: If more of the area can be used, it should be. Way too many short holes. With holes these short, this is meant for a player with little experience. A good place for a short ace or to challenge your mid-range game.
Other Thoughts: Park is very nice with other amenities available and will play in the immediate area again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.